before MMS is thrown out of office in another 6 months by the indian public MMS wants to gift the american nuclear insdutry 1 lakh crores. he wants to curse all indians by giving them power at 10 rs per unit (that is you pay 3 times your current power bill ).in the last 4 years the buffon economist was never bothered about the millions of the middle class who struggle every day to pay thier monthly housing EMIs.
Does the buffon economist know a simple 1 BHK accomdation in any of the suburbs of mumbai,banglore,delhi,pune cost Rs 30 lakhs . EMI works out to more than 30,000 Per month. So at the age of 30 he is in debt trap for his entire life. Just becasue the buffon economist never botherd about the speculation in the housing market.
RE:A PM without a vision
by a a on Jul 01, 2008 02:24 PM Permalink
bob... did the PM ask u to take loan?? u would have taken floating becoz of ur greediness dont blame the PM.
by Bob Seth on Jul 01, 2008 02:31 PM Permalink
a a . i am talking here about reasonable cost for housing/food/clothing. people who have dubious/immoral/corrupt/easy ways of making money will not have any problem if they aprciate by 500% in 4 years.
by Anush Alfred on Jul 02, 2008 05:33 AM Permalink
Dear Bob, While I'm sympathetic to your plight of paying your monthly EMI(which was a stretch even by middle class standards) I think its unfair to blame the PM or govt for it. Land value is NOT determined by the govt, but by the demand for plots/houses. If you live in a metropolitan, prices are definitely gonna shoot up as more and more people want to move in. If the demand is high...the price will go higher. Now, coming to your point of affordable "roti, Kapada, Makkan" by the govt, the fact that you own an apt, are having a comp and internet and working full time shows that you are well off that a vast majority of people...so pl. dont whine. When you were a kid, how many 25-40 yr olds owned a house? How much has the average salary of a professional risen up? If you are getting paid more and have better facilites now , why do you cringe about paying more? It is ridiculous to blame the govt just becoz u wanted to buy a house AND NOT RENT ONE (like people used to do before) so that it is a good investment/prestige issue. Given this age of debt and everything on credit, more and more people are taking on loans they can afford to pay(or being stretched thin) all becoz the bank approved their loan. If you could learn from the mortgage crisis in the US, I think it will be good for you to sell your house and move in to an apt and use the remaining money as savings. And dont blame the govt. If you paid the actual cost of petrol you will know how cheap u r payin
by Rama Moorthi on Jul 02, 2008 10:05 PM Permalink
My view this government totally failed on expenditure front despite imposing new stupid taxes like FBT,Service Tax,etc. It is the duty of the govt which is generating revenues to ensure welfare of citizens through proper and prudent spending. Even in necessary areas like health care and education this govt failed miserably. PM and FM are good economists in paper only. Even middle class is struggling now to meet the demands, then imagine the plight of poor man.
by kieran frank dsouza on Jul 01, 2008 01:32 PM Permalink
absolutely right Bob. UPA is run by buffoons and puppets the strings seem to be pulled by US!! Hope MMS is kicked out or even resigns without signing the stupid deal. Hardly 60 years of independence and moron Indians are forgetting how they became slaves in the first place - by signing stupid deals!!!
by nkseth on Jul 01, 2008 02:06 PM Permalink
Bob is absolutely right. The land mafias are working overtime for the last 4 years after the end of Mr Vajpayee's term. Mr Sherly should know that even in suburbs of small city 1BHK accomodation is not available in less than 15 Lakhs. Leave aside a poor Indian, even a middle class Indian can not afford this price for a small 1 bed room accomodation. We should be thankful to Left, if they show the door to this government, if they have guts. we have the greatest economist PM and the greatest economist FM and see the condition of our country. Both of them have raised their hand. They have not bothered about the hardship the people are facing since last 2 years. This is only one issue govt. and that is Neuclear Deal only.
by Sherly Dsouza on Jul 01, 2008 01:13 PM Permalink
R u paying the actual price of Power? i think no..then y u bothered abut Rs.10 per unit...is the goverment forcing to stay in mumbai suberbs...move to a new small city...its not the job of the govt. to provide us with a 1 BHK Flat..
by Bob Seth on Jul 01, 2008 01:23 PM Permalink
my dear one day you have to pay up, once the fiscal defici increases , the paymnet will come in the from additional taxes ie surcharges, cess ,service tax etc. so i have to be bothered .tell me one small city where housing cots is within the reach of middle class. tell me what is the job of the govt if it cannot have policies where roti kapda makkan is available at reasonable cost. the problem is people who have acess to dubious/easy sources of money are least bothered about such issues. It is only difficult for people who have some principles in life.
by Vijay Swaminathan on Jul 01, 2008 01:26 PM Permalink
Sherly, thats exactly the point he was trying to make. The Govt is NOT doing its job. Is providing 60,000 crores a way of shutting out farmer suicide? I dont think so. Give them a green revolution, they will live to see another day and you and me will get some morsel to eat. Read the article. Someone was flustered that Kashmir was going back to the 1990's. Govts job is
Nuclear power provides only 2 percent electricity. It does not matter for the electricity production if these will be shut. Nuclear plants are really for the production of nuclear weapons, electricity is just a by-product. USA wants to roll back India's nuclear weapons programme. This is the real issue.
I do not know how many millions of Dollars are already distributed as bribes, but it must be substantial to buy so many people.
RE:Real Issue
by Saurav Basu on Jul 01, 2008 01:01 PM Permalink
Absolutely.....Some of the morons in this community cannot appreciate that the left and the BJP have absolutely different agendas in scuttling the nuclear deal. For the left, the deal is anti china, for the BJP it is anti India
by vinnie n on Jul 01, 2008 01:02 PM Permalink
hey whorreson, we all heard your commie bullshit. not stop writing here and get the hell out of this site. die in bengal or in china or bangaldesh
by Niraj Kumar on Jul 01, 2008 01:09 PM Permalink
Your credibility is at rock bottom. There are hardly any takers of your arguments but you keep flashing them every now and then like a machine who has been given a command by its master to spread misinformation. You are following Mao's strategy - If you tell a lie many times, it becomes truth.
I noticed that for the first time you have admitted that you don't know somthing - how much money has been distributed as dollors. Before this you were claiming to know all the details, like MM Singh is agent of US, what US real intentions are etc. etc. I thought you were deep inside CIA and know all the truth. How come you miss this one.
By the way, what if nuclear energy constitutes only 2% of power generation today. This is myopic view. We need energy security through alternate sources of energy as coal and petroleum won't be available for eternity.
by Ryan on Jul 01, 2008 08:36 PM Permalink
aren't you the guy (??) who says a PhD from Oxford is worthless? Guess a PhD from China is of more value.. lol
Left has converted P.M.of India as one issue P.M. Reason is like Hindutava is one issue for BJP for winnig the election and ruling the country by their vote bank the same way left want to win the election by their vote bank or forcibitly capture the country with their poor orinted policies and with china & Rusias support. What is the use of such kind of government and P.M. who could not work , who could not con sult with opposition parties on important matters and could not take in to confidence their own partners. People talk of genocide in Iraq and other countries but what was happening in J&K.iF Muslim popullation of that state do not want to live with India then why they are not allowed to go or live that country of their choice.What was the great achivement was being achieved by killing so many people and creating haterd among people that even could not take journey to their choice. It is very important to find out the solution of J&K problem at any cost before encouraging any reprochment with Pakistan and any other Muslim country because those very countries were funding the J&K seperatist on the name of Allah without understanding the meaning of same. Regarding 123 agreement we want every thing modern and comfirtable without knowing cost of it so to enjoy life new techology has to be adopted.To use it safely some safegaurds have to be adopted.Regarding slavry of USA it was still their in the form of migration of youth for better life hence there was no issue at al
The artical by Ms Neerja is devoid of objective anlysis and suffers from preconcieved prejudices. No one seems to listen what th PM is saying-- that the is in the interest of NATION and he has courage of conviction to sacrifice even his government to pusue National interst. No one is seeing the merit that here is a politician who is not sticking to chair by hook or crook at any cost. Instead of appriciating it he is being labled as coward/ indecisive/ taking things too personally. No one is questioning the Left who are holding the whole Nation to ransom. The PM has said he ll operationalise the deal ONLY IF the Parliament OKs it but he should be allowed to finalise a proposal which he can put before the parliament.And for this if he seeking support of othe parties including SP then what is wrong in that? is it democratic ONLY if he seeks support of Left and undemocratic if he seeks support of SP ? And just because there was a demonstration at Kashmir doesnt mean that Govt should not do any thing else or that Govt was not paying attention to it as it was ONLY nuclear deal cenering.In a country of India's size Govt has to tackle many things at a time. It is fact that with dimnishing stocks of petro fuels we hav no chhoice but to pursue Nuclear energy. Left has NOT reason to oppose the deal except that they are against the idealogy of USA. Therefore it is NOT PM but the LEFT who are taking things personally aty cost of National interst. Left has history of scarificing Natio
this article has concisely put all the grievances of people of India verses Prime Minister of India and his role while solving the problems of people at large affected by current policies while focusing more on deals rather than what he ought to do in office as a manager who thinks more as a LEADER RATHER THAN AS A DEALER
Although the Indian government wants to promote the proposed Indo-US nuclear deal in terms of power generation, the deal has very little to do with power generation. Nuclear power contributes about 2 percent of the current electricity generations in India. At present, India was producing 3,300 MW. In 2020, the production would be 7,000 MW. According to the Planning Commission and the Prime Minister, the capacity of nuclear power would be 20,000 MW in the year 2020. In order to get there India will buy second-hand reactors from the U.S. to produce 13,000 MW of nuclear power. India will have to spend about Rs. 2 lakh crore for reactors and another Rs. 8 lakh crore to set them up with fuel facilities to achieve that goal. The Indian budget is only Rs. 6.5 lakh crore per year. Thus, India will spend two times more than the country’s annual budget on setting up these vintage reactors only. Even if India were to achieve a 50% increase in nuclear power generation (which is unlikely) such a step would only increase India’s overall electricity output by one percent at most, and would only increase India’s overall energy output by a fraction of one percent. The reason, USA is pushing so hard that India should accept the deal, is, that, this deal is nothing but nuclear non-proliferation treaty in a different name. If MM Singh is a democrat, he should have organized a Referendum or at least a voting in the joint session of the Parliament.
RE:Arrange a Referendum
by Saurav Basu on Jul 01, 2008 01:04 PM Permalink
Idiot, cannot you read what he has written..........Is it your intellectual capacity that has made you a congressi sycophant
If we sign the deal, we cannot conduct any more nuclear tests. India will not be able to utilize its vast thorium reserves by importing heavy water reactions from Russia. Finally, nuclear energy even by 2030 can only solve 5% of India's energy needs. When your electricity bill will jump up 5 times, we will find these same nuclear energy mongers blaming the government
this passage seems to be true upto some extent....communists r doing the right thing at the right time.....they r doing all the things which is in the national interest of this country.....otherwise if power is given to the BJP OR CONGRESS......they will sell this whole country to the US AND IT'S ALLIES.....GO AHEAD REDS WE R WITH U.....
RE:RE:good passage.....choudhary has seemed to be more intelligent.....
by LN on Jul 01, 2008 12:53 PM Permalink
It's a same that people like you have so low self esteem for yourself and think that India is a mule which can be sold US. Even if that's possible, that'll be still better than selling the country to China, isn't it? What you think, bloody commie?
this writer short sighted person can't see the bigger picture. Just because India has 40% poverty that doesn't mean that we shouldn't put an effort for resolving other important issues. Poverty was there for long time and will be there for another 50 years. Dr Singh's ultimatum to Sonia Gandhi, because she is the president of congress and has a right.