Total 73 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >
My Salute
by Pradip Mukherji on Jun 27, 2008 01:10 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I could meet him in a party in kolkata . We heard some story from him in the year 1997-98 about Babladesh war.
He was very warm , witty, lovable person and also very fond of beauty .
My salute to this great indian .

RE:My Salute
by ashish bhagat on Jun 27, 2008 03:25 PM  Permalink
first learn the correct spelling of bangladesh than recount your experiences

RE:My Salute
by bharat chodankar on Jun 27, 2008 03:45 PM  Permalink
you could meet him but you didnt meet him.
KINDLY NOTE THIS FORUM IS ONY FOR THE PEOPLE WHO MET HIM. JACK

RIP Sam Bahadur!!
by shashwat chaturvedi on Jun 27, 2008 01:10 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

In a country that rarely celbrates its most illustrious sons, the innumerable armymen who die everyday safe-guarding our borders, it is hard to come across a military person who was as loved by civilians as was by his commanding officers. India has been lucky to have son like you, and how I wish there were a few more like you. But sadly, there can be only one Sam Bahadur.

Now, please do teach God a thing or two on how to run things better and at times put him/her in his/her place with you non-chalant wit. We will indeed miss our Field Marshal with those handlebar moustaches, quite very much...

RE:RIP Sam Bahadur!!
by ashish bhagat on Jun 27, 2008 03:26 PM  Permalink
why dont you try and emulate him yourself instead of praying that their should be one more like him.

by shashwat chaturvedi on Jun 27, 2008 01:37 PM  Permalink
I just happened to recall a quote on soldiers. It goes like this:

God and soldier. All people adore. In time of war but not before. And when the war is over and all things are righted, God is neglected and an old soldier slighted...

I don't know if it applies to Sam Bahadur, but it does to a lot many bahadurs in our armed forces..

RE:RE:RIP Sam Bahadur!!
by ashish bhagat on Jun 27, 2008 03:26 PM  Permalink
correct

by Viraf Mehta on Jun 28, 2008 01:47 AM  Permalink
How true Shashwat. Your quote is absolutely brilliant. As a country, we deserve to give the highest quality of treatment to our defense personnel. It is because of them that we are able to live a free life. Hope our government wakes up.

respect
by eshank bahuguna on Jun 27, 2008 01:07 PM  Permalink 

its the only word that comes to mind , when I think of this gentleman , because I believe that soldiers serve the country not like politicians who serve themselves , his work in the war was conmendable to the least , and nation should be thankfull to him forever. he like other great people is the pride of our nation.

Jai hind.

Sam
by mohammed ali on Jun 27, 2008 01:04 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Salutations to this great son of India. He is an inspiration to the future generations. Indians will always be indebted to him for the victory of 1971.

These are the Men of Honour we feel rpoud of!!!!
by sumant mishra on Jun 27, 2008 01:04 PM  Permalink 

Dear Sam,
I am honouredand lucky enough to be born in the same country where u r born.Never met you but ur stories are enough to inspire a generation.

I feel like saying
" Aey aansuoon dum bhar ke liye tyo ruk jao,
Aankhoon mein unki tasveer jhalak uthi hai".

Regards
Sumant Mishra
New Delhi

Have you met Sam Manekshaw
by kondapalli Rao on Jun 27, 2008 12:59 PM  Permalink 

My homage to this great soul of our soil. My heartfelt condolences to the bereaved family.

GREAT SOLDIERS DON'T DIE THEY FADE AWAY- contd.
by vijay pherwani on Jun 27, 2008 12:55 PM  Permalink 

He briefly introduced himself as then being on the board of directors on several Tata Group Cos.

I just stared at him amazed and spellbound as the soldier (in a nation of babus) who won us the greatest and the most decisive war against Pakistan, securing the world record of the maximum POWs ever in the history of human conflict. I managed to stutter " Sir I am proud of this moment and shall live to a day to tell my grandchildren that I saw the great man in flesh and blood".
I walked away to board my flight.

Jai Hind

Yes I met him not once but many times.
by jose ree on Jun 27, 2008 12:53 PM  Permalink 

I stay in Wellington, in my childhood when I went to Staff College. My sister told me about this great person, ever since I always go to Staff College hoping that this great man may come that way. In that few aspects I have met him. My salute to this great man, From Rebello

GREAT SOLDIERS DON'T DIE THEY FADE AWAY
by vijay pherwani on Jun 27, 2008 12:49 PM  Permalink 

I clearly remember the day- 24th June 1999, I was walking towards the business lounge as my early morning flight was delayed to Delhi by abt half an hour, picking up the morning newspaper, I walked across the lounge noticing 2 gentlemen deeply engrossed in discussion. The older person probably in 80s upright, grey swept back hair, dressed impeccably in a blue blazer was being quizzed by a middle aged bald portly man "...and what did you tell Nehru....?" to which the tall old man could be heard replying ".....I told him....and I also told Indira Gandhi that her policies ......" I tried hard to catch their conversation which was out of earshot but could only hear broken sentences.

I tried hard to place this gentleman but couldn't do so. Well this continued for some time and the portly man left as his flt. was announced, a few minutes later it was my turn to leave for the security check when I with my strolley in tow crossed this seated tall gentleman when suddenly my memory struck me and I started moving towards this gentleman who was sipping black tea, I offered my hand to him, who by now seeing me had stood up and dwarfed my 5ft 11 frame as I said "am I speaking with Field Marshal Sam Manikshaw", locking my hand in a vice like grip, staring me with his light piercing eyes, his deep voice resonating "yes son you are" I felt myself go weak in my knees searching for words. He briefly introduced himself as currentl being on the board of directors on several Tata Gro

Total 73 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >