The purpose of the bomb blasts was to create fear and deepen the religious divide and mistrust between the Hindus and Muslims.
Sad to say, but I think the terrorists have succeeded to some extent .And the only people who are going to benefit are the politicians. It is a great tragedy.
My request to Muslims is ... When a Muslim organization or a terrorist is arrested or even suspected .... don't immediately start denying or justifying the act.
Don't become silent if a Muslim group is indicted or found guilty. Condemn that group even though they are Muslim. Condemn the persons in the loudest possible voice.
Let me explain. When there were communal riots in Gujarat. A large majority of Hindus outside Gujarat protested against Modi.
But the same is not the attitude of the average Muslim. I don't see public condemnation of Al Queda or ISI or any major terrorist groups by Indian Muslims. I can see widespread Muslim anger if there is an offensive cartoon published. But I don't see Muslim showing their anger on Islamic terrorists. The usual response from Muslims is that there is no proof and it is a conspiracy against Muslims...
Dear Muslims, please show your anger on Islamic terrorists. This will help to weaken them and strengthen our country. Without the support of the mainstream Muslim community, terrorism cannot be eliminated.
MY country must come first before my faith and religion whether I am Hindu or Muslim.
RE:together we can win the war against terror
by satya samanta on Jul 31, 2008 01:55 PM Permalink
WHOM U R TELLING?CAN 10% OF THEN MOTIVATE 90%?HAD IT BEEN TALIBAN WOULD NOT HAVE CAPTURED AFGANISTAN. ONLE SEE, BE SILENT.NO MORAL IMPROVEMENT POSSIBLE IN THAT ISOLATED GROUP. SEE WHT SAKEEL AHMAD, A MINISTER IN CONGRESS GOVERNMENT HAVING HOME PORTFOLIO TELLING. TO HIM IT IS DUE TO UPRISING OF RELIGIOUSNESS AMONG HINDUS AFTER 1988-99. TO MUSLIMS, A HINDU TO BE SECULAR IS ONLY TO BEAT HINDUS, FIRE THEM KILL THEM, MISBEHAVE THE MANUSCRIPTS ETC......... COULD NOT THINK, WHT PHYLOSPHY IS IN THAT RELIGION. IF KILLING IS PERMISSIBLE AND RELIGIOUS DUTY, THEN I CERTAINLY DONT BELIEVE, THAT AT ALL A RELIGION.
by Shyam on Jul 31, 2008 02:29 PM Permalink
In other words, segregate and isolate islamic terrorists from islam. As crime and terror are against Islam issue fatwa against the terrorists and their outfits. Convince the families / parents of terrorists about the wrong activities of terrorist. If there is one wrong person in a family, he / she has to be dropped to protect the family. Identify terrorist and Muslim as two different beings and make your thinking and action clean and transparent. The first step in this direction could be helping the police in nabbing the culprits, whether they are muslims, hindus, christians, buddhists, sikhs or jains. Do not see the terrorist's religion, community or family. Get yourself merged in the mainstream without trying to keep yourselves aloof and feeling as minorities. India has protected you in difficult times, including when Pakistan sent thousands of dead bodies of Hindus. Remember the history of this country and be a part of it.
If you think you cannot, the best option would be to leave a country which you cannot love and shift to a place of your love and choice.
by truthsayer on Jul 31, 2008 01:53 PM Permalink
Dear Nat Raj
We feel this phenomenon is nowhere Islamic, so we protest calling it Islamic Terror.
This phenomenon is best described as "People Brutalised into Insanity"
So please keep religion out. Do not force us against wall by calling it "Islamic Terror-ism"
I agree muslims must condem it. Infact most muslims agree this kind of violence must stop.
But point here is that 99.995% muslims are peaceful despite raw deal all muslims keep receiving in present system. When 0.005% of muslims react violently to wrongs against whole community, you should not blame it on Islam or Muslims in general. that is point 1.
Point 2. is that when 5000 muslims are killed in Gujrat, muslims do not blame system. when Killers go scot free, and when killers are rewarded by majority of majority community, "sense of Insane reaction" builds up, which 0.005% of community fails to resist.
by Nishant on Jul 31, 2008 03:52 PM Permalink
oye idiot, dimag ko use kar, ek bar tum log mare to pichhwade me dard hota hai kya?? tu apne appko truthsayer kehta hai?? truth should be neutral like natraj said he did not mention anything like you are imagining in your dirty brain. So please go and tell your brothers and sisters to help keeping these terrorists under control. I know you peoples mentality, how you think. There are less people like natraj and more like you dumbos.
by Gopal Sharma on Jul 31, 2008 01:50 PM Permalink
I couldn't agree more. Beautifully put. All of us irrespective of religion need to come out and come out now. Loud and clear with no confusion. I am sure all of us are faithful to our country and we just need to show that now, more than ever.
by girija sankar on Jul 31, 2008 02:08 PM Permalink
The article is excellent in the present circumstances. People, both hindus and muslims should keep close watch in thier respective localities. It is we hindus and muslims who are making loud noises when somebody in our community is rounded up. But the law enforcing authorities should not harass anybody in the name suspicion. No third degree torture should allowed on any suspects. Once a person is let off after the so called torture, he becomes a sympathiser or join in a bad company out of sheer furstration or revenge, especially if the person is from a poor family. But at the same time, the Govt should take immediate action against those people who are responsible for the communal violence whether he is a hindu or muslim. There are many such people who are roaming freely with police protection. In any communal riots, it is poorest of the poor who suffers. Yes, ordinary hindus and muslims, who are poor, do not want any confrontation. They are interested only in earning for thier daily bread. Try to uderstand what the politicians or the religious leaders are barking and do not mind them at all as they will give you only lip sympathy.
TERRORISM IS A DECLEARED WAR AGINST HUMINITY.. ISLAAM IS REALY IN DENGER.THE SAITANS ARE USINING THE BANER OF HOLY ISLAM. BECAUSE OF IT ALL OTHER FAITH GOING TO HATE ISLAM SLOWLY.SO IT IS A TASK OF ISLAMTO DEFEAT THE SAITAN
Most of the intellectual media & leaders of the so called secular parties claim that the recent bombings were result of the muslim massacre in Gujarat happened some 6 years back, conveniently forgetting the inhuman killings of 60 innocent Hindu pilgrims in Godhra.
Now, in the same equation if Hindus start retaliation, what will happen to the entire Muslim community in India?
Arent they indirectly provoking the Hindus to revenge?
RE:Justice?
by SHIHABU KP on Jul 31, 2008 01:47 PM Permalink
Please don't think...the attack is belongs to Muslim community or Islam...A muslim can't kill innocent people...We muslims, will not support this attacks..we also against this attack as u feels.. Shihabudheen Bangalore
Let there me no doubt in anybody. Muslims do not support terrorism. Yes majority of them may be muslims, but they are using the name just for political purpose. When terrorists found that there plan of dividing India by creating enimity failed, they have started using the name "Indian mujahideen" They just want to bring down India. Its we who have to decide whether we have to go by their plan or fail their plan. A person who kills any innocent needs to be hanged. And this applies to everyone. And also there should be justice to all . No matter which religion he belongs to.
RE:RE:Muslims do not have sympath towards terrorists
by prasun banerjee on Jul 31, 2008 01:32 PM Permalink
Excellent.May 'GOD BLESS YOU'.Tthere should be spirit like this. Thanks.
RE:Muslims do not have sympath towards terrorists
by chirkut on Jul 31, 2008 01:40 PM Permalink
You are a real Indian, "Indian Muslim". This is what we expect from all Indians irrespective of cast, creed, region, gender, religion. Today, India in general and Muslim community in particular need more and more people like you.
by sss on Jul 31, 2008 01:47 PM Permalink
Why that adjective "Indian muslim" ...no Hindu calls himself as Indian Hindu.....
by Jasad Dusty on Jul 31, 2008 06:28 PM Permalink
Are you 100% sure and do you have any solid evidence that the people involved in the recent carnage were Muslims.
For your information, there are books and books written by non-Muslims conclusively proving that the Muslims/Arab had no hand in the 9/11 incident in New York. A French author is even serving 20 years jail terms of writting one such book.
I was watching Shri Ashrambaba last night on India TV in an interview with one of their TV news reporters.
The holy man was complaining about the false allegations levied against him by his enemies and the way he and his institutions were being maligned. In the end with tears in his eyes the poor man said, “They can hang me to death even if they can prove one signal incident of wrong doing by me in the entire episode”.
Wondering, if they can do this to their own eminent and holy Hindu man of God, what they would not allege and say about other poor and defenseless people, just shows their mind set.
by mariappan on Jul 31, 2008 01:59 PM Permalink
Dear Mr.Indian Muslim, What you have expressed here is the opinion of many a muslim, I vouch for it because almost all muslim friends of mine are aghast and almost apologetic of what has happened, but my question to you as to them is, why do you remain silent and condone when someone is trying to exploit religion for their own selfish purposes. Do you condone ur child if he/she lies or steals, you dont right, in the similar manner why dont you people take it upon yourself to corner these terrorists. Terrorists are after all not born in a day, first they fall for small petty crimes and at some point when they get indoctrinated and come in contact with the enemies of india. As the saying goes " no thief can be reformed unless he wants to reform" so also no amount of policing or anti terror laws will bring terrorism to naught, unless and until the muslim community collectively decides to put an end to this menace. If not the consequences will be for the ordinary law abiding muslim and not the terrorists for any human being worth his salt will not take it lying down indefinitely. The sooner the community decides to end this menace the better is for all humanity.
by Trikunsh Sharma on Jul 31, 2008 01:52 PM Permalink
I dont often use the word Sir. But for you excellent comments Sir. We need people like you accross all religions all over the world.
by kareem on Jul 31, 2008 02:02 PM Permalink
yeah exactly ..i wrote it before..but we should wake up,we must think what we can do against this terrorism
RE:YOu can definitly rely on Modi: 'The Hindu Hriday Samrath'
by chetan shetty on Jul 31, 2008 01:44 PM Permalink
modi should be next prime minister of india te o have a hindu state...why cant we have a hindu state while all other countries say they are islamic...see condition of monorit, ies in these states like pak, indonesia,iran, middle east....
by kareem on Jul 31, 2008 02:05 PM Permalink
we want to go down?or up??look at UK and US ..not pak and bangladesh
by vijay patel on Jul 31, 2008 01:54 PM Permalink
Modi has competition from Bal Thakeray as Hindu Hriday Samrath. Even Raj Thakeray and Togadia would like to compete for that title. First round goes to Modi.
by Dravid on Jul 31, 2008 01:37 PM Permalink
make him pm. try begging people to vote for him. if he succeeds, it is good for india.
Even as murmurs of SIMI role in the serial blasts persist, a Special Tribunal on Monday asked the Centre if it had any "fresh material" to "connect" the organisation to "bomb blasts, riots, destructive activities". "You say that SIMI is connected to bomb blasts, riots, destructive activities. Place specific material before me, you (Centre) cannot presume their involvement," said Justice Gita Mittal, the presiding officer of the Unlawful Activities Prevention Tribunal. "It is the right of a person to know by what activities he is being banned," observed the court. Mere mention for an "immediate curb or control" over SIMI in the notification is not enough, it added, "reasons have to be stated". Both SIMI and the Centre have been asked by the Tribunal to file detailed written submissions in the case. The Tribunal has to file its report in the Home Ministry on the legality of the notification by August 6, 2008. Counsel for SIMI Mobin Akhtar argued that "the Centre each time improves on its own previous orders for a ban".
RE:SIMI is behind blasts?
by venkat on Jul 31, 2008 01:31 PM Permalink
Did Justice Gita Mittal clarified what is specific material? As a lay man I think have we video the incident from planting to blasting. Another lawyer may say the video is fabricated and the SIMI activists are actually innocent. Who knows?
by Suraj Singh on Jul 31, 2008 02:05 PM Permalink
G W Bush and USA did not need a Tribunal to declare Osama Bin Laden guilty or set up Guantamo Bay camps.
by Shyam on Jul 31, 2008 02:04 PM Permalink
Of all the organisations, Judiciary/ Courts is the worst functioning one in this country. They have become more political, publicity friendly, corrupt and non-working. While lakhs of cases keep pending for decades, any case of publicity interest is their special interest. They do not want to be watched for their acts and behaviour. When the police and common man put their life in terrorism, the courts sit in a room and keep talking nonsense, help terrorists get with least or no punishments. They keep asking for more and more evidence as if the criminals, particularly trained terrorists would leave all the clues for their own arrest. Courts are aiding terrorism by their improper working in most cases. We need big reforms in courts first.
RE:RE:SIMI is behind blasts?
by Suraj Singh on Jul 31, 2008 02:06 PM Permalink
A notable exception being Justice Kode. In Bombay High Court cases from 1974 are being heard!
There should be special courts to trial accused in terrorist acts. Verdict and appeal proceedings should come within 6 months. Then donot wait for enforcing punishment. Keeping them in jail cause further problems, either they will kidnap flights to ensure release or they will raise emotions to escape punishment. And our cunning politicians try to take all mileage out of it. Such deterant action could help bring control over the menace.
RE:Immediate trial and punishment is necessary
by Shyam on Jul 31, 2008 02:11 PM Permalink
No use, dear. Even if the judicial proceedings are completed in one month, the terrorists will make petition to the President of India who will not dispose it for five years - till people forget it or there are series of other attacks or somebody kidnaps some minister's kin and demand release of the terrorists.
RE:RE:Immediate trial and punishment is necessary
by Sosale Vallabha on Jul 31, 2008 01:27 PM Permalink
I Agree your view, Now this is the time that Judges should take strigent action and punish the culpurits in the interest of nation.