Somnath Chatterjee had shown not only to his party but to all politicians and the country as a whole that what it means to be a Speaker of a Democratic India. If the CPM had not got the lessons yet better they know some ideals and principles of their own party. A Speaker resigns from his party and becomes neutral before he takes the office and he is bound by the oath he make until he finishes his term. And only on his own will he has the right to resign. Very few statesmen are adhere such principles. Prakash Karat knows only to bark and tries to prove his point which is often absurd. And Karat, you cannot impose on a country your nonsense and stupid ways stay and fight in your party itself because we are talking of Democracy. Don't you know that communism is ruined and doomed? And don't ever dare to exploit the poor of India with your ideology. They will erase you. John David, France
Dear Somnathji, You are not a communist. You are speaker of Indian parliamnet. You have prooved it.congradulations for your stand. Party has not made you, you & dada have made the party to survive in all their strategies so far in Indian history. If you sort of people are not there for the policy there will be no karats & yechuris. Your 4 decades of politics have to teach them atleast some lesson as a human being apart from being a communist. All "isms" is only for the enlighment & enrichment of the human being especially for the downtrodden. Dont forget each & every MP's from each & every party they reprsent have atleast their moral responsibility to fulfill inspite of their parties & states they are elected. Dont worry Dear Speaker of Indian Parliamnet. You are being viewed as an individual still having some conscience at heart that you are doing justice to our parliamnet system. Hats off to you chatterji.for being prooving yourself as an indian . SAmy
What is his contribution to our nation? What his party did for India's progress? Bengal is being ruled by Communist for the past 30 plus years, how come they couldnt get rid off poverty? THEY (COMMIES)THINK THEY ARE THE MODERN ROBINHOOD ESPECIALLY THIS IDIOT KARAT.WHAT CAN THEY DO FOR THE NATION? LOCKOUT, STRIKE, BREAKING RULES AND LAWS, EXPLOITING THE POOR FOR THEIR BENIFITS. AND SEND THEIR KIDS OVER SEAS TO GET EDUCATION. AND GAVE SPEACHES AMERICA. JUST TO GET ATTENITON. BY DOING SO THEY GET ATTENTION IN THE NEWSPAPERS. OTHERWISE WHO CARES THIS OUTDATED IDIOTS WITH STALE IDEOLGY.
RE:Karat
by Faceless Spirit on Jul 25, 2008 08:14 AM Permalink
Has any Bangali ever begged to you Mr Raj Sreedhar? Communist rule has transformed the Bengal villages. Come and see. Everything in Bengal is not as bad as you think.
Somnath Chatterjee has certainly raised the prestige and status of the Lok Sabha Speaker's post by the non-partisan and exemplary manner in which he conducted the trust vote over the two days. The Communists have conveniently and outrageously forgotten that the Speaker is above the party and must act in a non-partisan manner at all times. The Speaker belongs to the entire house and not to a particular party. This is as per the Constitution as well as the established norms. The Left has already lost the battle against the nuclear deal and will also face the rebuke of the electorate in the forthcoming general elections in 2009. They are highly unlikely to repeat their record performance of 59 seats in this Lok Sabha as they stand thoroughly exposed for their shallow ideas and empty rhetoric in favour of a false ideology that has been jettisoned the world over!
It is not Somnath Chatterjee but the rabid, ideologue Prakash Karat who is the villain of the piece. Firstly,for forcing the trust vote owing his stubborn stand based on little more than blind ideological hatred of the United States. Secondly,for acting in a vengeful and disgusting manner towards his own party's senior-most and most distingished politician, who is respected across party lines.
People are blaming Mr. Somnath Chatterjee for not listening to the unjustified call of CPM party. Pl. note that he had made it absolutely clear that he did not like the left front opposing the govt. on the issue of nuclear deal. His decision has been prooved right by the post trust vote result, in which he did not have to even vote. Having lost the motion, the expulsion of Mr. Chatterjee can only be seen as face saving device for Mr. Karat, who was baselessly opposing the nuclear deal bill. Mr. Somnath Chatterjee's name will be written in golden letter in the history and I can assure you, he will still WIN as independent from his constituency.I am pleased to see that his collegues from other parties are paying him the due respect which he deserves. In fitness of things, Mr. Karat needs to apologise to Mr. Somnath Chatterjee.
With his long and chequered legal paractitioner's background, it is not surprising to see Somnath Chatterjee trying to raise various legal angles to justify his defiance of the directive from his party which gave him all possible support to come up to his present stature as a seasoned politician and parliamentarian. Perhaps in his moment of far-reaching decision he conveniently decided to forget that he swore to abide by the rule book of the CPI-M when he joined the party and he was clearly not prepared to forego the authority and prestige enjoyed by the LS Speaker, alongwith various accompanying perks, when the same party's top leadership asked him to step down as the Speaker. It is common knowledge that dedicated communists uphold their loyalty to the party's final decisions overcoming personal dissents or reservations and Somnath's audacious decision to defy the directive of the highest forum of his party can possibly be a fall-out of his conviction that he was not really bound by the party's decisions which are unpalatable to him. So, was Somnath wearing all these years a communist mask to avail of an effective spring-board for elevating himself to various positions of authority in public life ?
RE:Somnath's advocacy for sticking to Speaker's chair
by merry sailor on Jul 25, 2008 04:10 AM Permalink
what is bigger CPI-M or the dignity of the speaker's post......hello...once a person assumes the speaker's post he is no longer affilitaed to any party...read the constitution mr.bhadra......i guess the oath to the speaker's post is bigger than the CPI-m oath....for heaven sake apprecite someoen who has shown some moral courage for once.....u commies!!!!
by Ramesh Kapoor on Jul 25, 2008 12:52 AM Permalink
For a few dollars more! Somnath Chaterjee is no communist, he knows at 79, he has only a few years of life to live, and he wants to make hay whilst it sunshines. If he can accummulate wealth until next general elections, so much the better, his retirement will pass through peacefully. Forget his legal background, because of being out of practice he has gone stale. He will need to refresh his knowledge and it may be too late.
by springvale on Jul 25, 2008 05:25 AM Permalink
Dear Ramesh, get your facts right before blogging idiotic comments like this. Already Karat has proved himself a complete shit, why you are so eager to join his rank?
by Vinay Gupta on Jul 25, 2008 05:45 AM Permalink
Both karat and somnath are shit. Spring, do u really know what is expected from the speaker? He cannot behave based on his preconceived ideology. How can he hate 130 members of parliament. I feel you have been carried away by the media reports on Somnath
RE:RE:Somnath's advocacy for sticking to Speaker's chair
by Superman on Jul 25, 2008 01:04 AM Permalink
Bengalis are more idealistic than Punjabis are....no Bengalis would be caught taking bribes. Somnath is a rich man. He does not need a few crores to live...
by palash ghosh on Jul 25, 2008 06:11 AM Permalink
he may not have taken bribe in cash but would have defnitely taken in kind--i.e post of president ship or governorship or some other pluk post. It is absoultely nonsens bengalis do not accpet bribes. CAnt generalise
by M on Jul 25, 2008 01:02 AM Permalink
40 years is along time to wear a mask and no one noticing it. There are times when a person might follow what his conscience told him to rather than the what he sworn 40 years ago. While as a outsider I think discipline is important in any party or organization, freedom of mind and expression is important as well. Without that is it a close room without a window. In this particular case the party (of few in the party) might have acted hastily without taking others within the party into confidence. Look at the whole situation. After four years of being close to power what it has to show other than protesting about everything all the time. Mr. Laloo Prasad Jadav took the responsibility of rail and have showed that he can make a difference compared to most (if not all) of his predecessors. On the other hand because of Nuclear Deal issue party sat with BJP, considered Mayabati as future PM candidate, expelled one of the veteran leader, accused of double speak (Karat on "It is upto speaker") and finally other issues which party protested for long will now be cleared fast. Four years of patience is thrown out just like that by few. I feel sad about the whole situation.
by Superman on Jul 25, 2008 12:59 AM Permalink
It is more important to be a social democrat in todays scenario than a Stalinist what Prakash Karat is. It is not one way traffic. Somnath gave back CPM more than what he got from the party. He gave the party a respectable, suave face. For 30 years, he was the face of CPM in the parliament. He is among the only few in CPM, who can speak English and Hindi properly without stumbling. Other speakers of CPM are pathetic. They gurgle, mumble, put verb in front of the sentence and make mockery of logic. But Somnath is altogether a different class. What Indrajit Gupta did for CPI, Somnath did the same for CPM....he won 10 loksabha elections, more than the members of the CPM politbureau combined. "Loyalty towards the party" does not mean one has to toe baseless proposition of Karat...Somnath is definitely loyal....he made no anti-party activities in last 40 years...Now "dedicated communist" is a term more pejorative....it means one who took communist theories without questions...and soon follow it like a dogma....An eminent barrister like Somnath can never be a fool like Biman, Buddha, Prakash, VS or Pinarai to follow something without questioning the validity of it. When the whole communist party has become an outdated Tamasha, act of Somnath showed a future for the party...hopefully it will inspire the future generation of the party to eschew Stalinistic ideal and follow the apth of social democracy like a true patriot.
by Anil Bharali on Jul 25, 2008 01:29 AM Permalink
Stalinistic style is not fit for parliamentry democracy that is for prolitariate dictatorship.
by Soumitree Ghose on Jul 25, 2008 05:13 AM Permalink
Well...u need to brush up ur basics. he did swear to abide by the CPM rulebook - not the karat rulebook! when all parties -including his own - had elected him as the speaker, the speaker's chair becomes a non-partisan impartial position without party affiliations! asking him to step down just because his party has withdrawn support is like a little kid taking away his bat & ball from the game just because he himself got out! and dude...when somnath joined the party ranks & the stature that he enjoys -or rather enjoyed in the party - karat just saw a glimpse of it from the last elections! karat was stil wiping his nose with a wimpy cloth during the time somnath was an authority in da party...so much for 'party rules'!!
by palash ghosh on Jul 25, 2008 06:09 AM Permalink
what is you point mam. What is Karat rulebook. He was kicked out by the party not the General Secretary. ANother garbage bin Subhas Chakraborty also needs to be kicked out
by Vinay Gupta on Jul 25, 2008 06:36 AM Permalink
Ghosh, though I am not even a remote supporter of left but I agree with u that somath is kicked out by party and not by Karat.
But most of the idiots cannot understand it ecause they think in the same way as feudal Congress think. They cannot understand the working of a cadre based party. They have been brought in Dynasty rule so cannot appreciate your view point
His consideration to avoid voting might be different, but under prevailing situation a finger can be raised against Somnath Chaterji, 79. he should immediately resign his MP seat.
RE:Somnath should resign and come out of 'that Tainted Club' led by 'No longer Honest PM.
by satyarthi on Jul 25, 2008 12:53 AM Permalink
Somnath should not allow himself to be seen in the company of Amar Singhs. Forget about REDs for the time being.
RE:Somnath should resign and come out of 'that Tainted Club' led by 'No longer Honest PM.
by Arijit on Jul 25, 2008 12:42 AM Permalink
Mr. Somnath Chatterjee is the right answer for PSEUDO-COMMUNISTS. In my opinion, under the prevailing circumstances, he MUST NOT RESIGN. As per the Indian Constitution, the power conferred to the MPs does not indicate that Mr. Chatterjee will be dethrone from the position of Speaker , and there is no question to resign from his MP position too. Karat, Bardhan, Yechuri are not elected members. They have never seen Parliament. Their job is to shout like BARKING LUMPEN COMMUNIST DOGS OF 19th CENTURY. History speaks that days are not far off when PSEUDO-COMMUNISM/MARXISM will be wiped out from India. JAI HIND.
That constitution does not permit existing members to write lettrs to politiburo members . Expelled member`s letters are not even read. Communism and democratic rights?
RE:Don't waste Time
by Kannusamy Nallathambi on Jul 25, 2008 02:32 AM Permalink
Dear Sir, No need for you to explain your stand at this juncture. You have done justice atleast to your conscience. At 79 atleast you must be satisfied for what you have done. Self satisfaction is the utmost. I can understand your feeling., to the party & policies of party you have given whole(most) of your life. Dont worry Sir. You are being admired by most of common indians like me. cheer up sir, You are not a speaker of communist party, you are speaker of Indian parliament. I congradualte you & your family to come out of being ousted from the the party. Still at your heart you are for the party. PArty decisions can change but your position is not for the party, you are Whole of Indias parliament. Dont get upset about hte party followings. Cheer up for being you done justice to the post of speaker of Indian PArliament. DAda dil ka dard nikalo dada ( Baba) SAmy