Nuclear energy is only costlier than coal of all the other non-renewable resources. But thermal(coal) has very big environmental costs and is dirtiest source(if you have heard about global warming). Renewable resources have their limits which is why no country has been able to harness them to make them major contributors yet but work is on. 1. Solar - too expensive - 5 times Nuclear. Good future potential. 2. Wind - Limited scope but currently doing better than Solar. 3. Hydel - Big but limited by rivers and no major possibilities in near future.
Thorium is a research project and has been ongoing in India for more than 30 years but we are working in isolation and other countries working together by sharing technology so we are behind. Unfortunately, energy can not be wished into appearing and among all that is available, N Power has most potential which India has not been able to utilize. Which is why Kalam/MMS /others think India would do better with Nuclear Energy.
People who are genuinely afraid that India might have sold out to US have nothing to fear. India can import from any country in NSG and there are 45 of them. If US offers best reactors then buy from there. Also only reactors which India dictates will be in Nuclear safeguard and rest can be used for defense research. What is the problem there? BJP supporters: even BJP would have signed this or similar deal as in their heart they want rapid progress and are rightists which makes them natural allies of US.
Meeting of two losers. P.Patil is occupying the most expensive real estate in India, India wiil be better served if occupied by homeless people, at least they will bless India to wash away the bad karmas of Sonia/MMS. Patil is more useless than a mans tits.
Indians should NOT be under the misconception that MMS has accomplished anything of grandeur by signing the nuclear deal. Get ONE fact straight in your head--USA wants the deal more than India wants, the tatus have only complied. For their gain and NOT India's. The environmental reasons will DEMAND the need for nuclear power for any reason that can afford it and NOT oil producer or dependent. They (Congress) have only done it for robbing the country. $100 billions are at stake of the Indian treasury.
USA would be willing to sign the nuclear deal with a paanwala, rickshawala, chamar, or a homeless person staying in Rashtriya(Patil) Bhavan.
INDIA can be self sufficient with its own natural resources and brains and manpower.
NONE of these politicians except a handful have earned the right to be cremated on Indian soil. One such persons (name withheld) should be moved from Raj Ghat to Porkistan. You know who. N.
RE:MMS meets Patil
by Sandeep on Jul 25, 2008 08:15 AM Permalink
If you have a specific reason why you are against nuclear deal and have better alternatives, please post. Don't simply post some hypothesis based on speculation and then try to say that is a fact.
The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, also Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT or NNPT) is a treaty to limit the spread of nuclear weapons, opened for signature on July 1, 1968. There are currently 189 countries party to the treaty, five of which have nuclear weapons: the United States, the United Kingdom, France, Russia, and the People's Republic of China (the permanent members of the UN Security Council) .
Only four recognized sovereign states are not parties to the treaty: India, Israel, Pakistan and North Korea. India and Pakistan both possess and have openly tested nuclear bombs. Israel has had a policy of opacity regarding its own nuclear weapons program. North Korea acceded to the treaty, violated it, and later withdrew.
Now US is saying without NPT we can go ahead with this so called deal but it will not work with permanant members of security council except US for its own interest, besides that India, Pakistan, and North Korea - have not signed the CTBT aswell
How dangerous it could be to keep our weapons down before the enemy does? or is this america wants us to do...
simple check and mate "chit bhi meri aur pat bhi" then, when everytime pakistan will threaten us Pizza man will run to US for help?
PRESIDENT BUSH IS GOING OUT/DOWN IN DISGRACE AND A LAUGHING STOCK ON COMEDY CENTRAL...
Congress/MMS are similarly going out in disgrace and under the shadow of shameful bribery. This victory of confidence vote reeks of underhand dealings. USA has deep pockets to "buy" foreign heads of states historically, the last being Pervez Musafir $10 Billion and counting. He was royally taken for a ride and hoodwinked. Embarrassing.
In Bush's library this will be the ONLY success of his legacy--he will buy it at any cost, and our politicians (NOT leaders) can be bought for pennies on the dollar.
USA, France, Australia, Russia need this deal more DESPERATELY than India does.
USA opposes India's entrance in the UN security council. Its being dickering around for India to recognized as nuclear weapons country and admittance into G8 group.
You have witnessed how Germany, France, Russia, China show the finger to USA when their National Interest is at stake. India has the same stature to do what it needs to do what is in its best interest---BUT ALAS we have (non) leaders in the drivers seat. Give any dhotiwalla a bottle of Black label whiskey and a white blond for the night--they will sell their mother.
ONLY A "LEADER" WITH MARTYR QUALITIES CAN CHANGE THE DIRECTION OF INDIA--I DO NOT SEE ONE ON THE HORIZON.
There are lot of talks about 1 2 3 Agreement between India & USA and italmost led to the topple of Central Government. What is 123 Agreement? This is called 123 Agreement because this comes under USA 's Atomic Power Act Section 123. see how India 's Sovereinty & Independence are pledged... After this Agreement USA will supply all fuel, machinery / equipment & technology to India for producing Nuclear Power. All these days from about 22 Nuclear Power Plants, India is producing power as well as Atom. It's a high security / secret that from where which is produced, how much is produced, where it is supplied, what research is being done with that, etc. to anybody. But if we sign this Agreement, we have to disclose these secrets and also agree to 14 of our Nuclear Power Plants to be under the scanner of International Atomic Power Organisation. The fuel utilised to produce Atomic Power can be recycled for reuse and this plant will be under direct supervision of IAPO. If India does nuclear test, this agreement gets cancelled. But a) USA will take back all the machinery / equipments / technology supplied to India thus far. b) Those 14 plants will continue to be under scanner irrespective of the status of the agreement. On the other hand, if any of the commitments given by USA is breached by them, then there is no clause for cancelling this agreement. The agreement is apparently like this... USA can either hug India or slap India . India will not ask why are we h
RE:What is 123 agreement?
by Milind on Jul 24, 2008 11:05 PM Permalink
India will no
India will not ask why are we hugged or why are we slapped. India cannot hug or slap USA for breach of agreement.
The most important requirement for India 's Economic Growth in the coming years will be the power & infrastructure. The argument put forth favouring the 123 Agreement says that we need Nuclear Power Production to be increased to meet the demand. Power Production in India Presently following are the figures:
Thermal Power 66%
Hydel Power 26%
Solar & Wind Power 5%
- Presently Rs.600 Crores are spent for producing this power.
Nuclear Power 3% - If this is to be increased to 6%, it requires additional Rs.50,000 Crores.
Naturally it will be wise to increase other 3 modes of power production rather than the expensive & dangerous Nuclear Power
But what is of concern is the hypocrisy of the Left and BJP.
- When a Congress MP defects to the BJP and cross votes - it is moral. - When 6 SP MPs cross-voted by defecting to the BSP, it is moral. - When Mayawati threatens to split SP vertically, it is moral. - When Jaswant Singh goes to Mulayam Singh with a proposal to topple the Government it is moral. - When Jaswant Singh goes to Mulayam Singh with a proposal to make him PM in exchange for votes for BJP's Presidential candidate - it is moral - When Yediruppa buys 12 MLAs and makes 9 Ministers, it is moral.
Only when UPA responds in kind, it is immoral. It is this selectvity that smacks of hypocrisy
RE:Knickerwallah Hypocrisy
by Kalidas Sawkar on Jul 24, 2008 10:40 PM Permalink
You made only mistake in thinking that UPA responded in kind. It was BJP's guilt complex, they think the world is just as they are.
RE:Knickerwallah Hypocrisy
by sekhar raja on Jul 24, 2008 10:45 PM Permalink
what did congress do that BJP is blamed? i am a neither a fan/supporter of BJP or Congress.but do realise all these rogues never did anything to this country.infrastructure,power,agriculture,economy all are in a dismal state after 60 yrs of independence. they are all responsible.
RE:There is a difference between entrapment and sting operation.
by Ravan Raj on Jul 24, 2008 10:00 PM Permalink
Pity on u Mr.Guest.You are trying to hide the crime by another one.How the country can survive with persons like You.
by Babeeta Jain on Jul 24, 2008 10:04 PM Permalink
All Right (or) Guest are the same. He is a stinky stupid ediot with cow dung in his brains. He also writes all shit in cricket columns. I hate this guy.
RE:RE:There is a difference between entrapment and sting operation.
by Beachy Babes on Jul 24, 2008 10:20 PM Permalink
Babeeta, who is the bigger idiot? You cannot even spell the word correctly and wrote "ediot". What kind of education you have had so far? Matriculation?
by Babeeta Jain on Jul 24, 2008 10:56 PM Permalink
No need to read too much into typos Mr. Beachy
by anirban bandyopadhyay on Jul 24, 2008 10:08 PM Permalink
Ask more money from congress and try to write rubbish things in a better way. Guest, you may go to mental doctor, you started one point, ended in another. Read twice before you post.
by Satish Singh on Jul 24, 2008 10:05 PM Permalink
tu hai kaun re mamu...naam hai guest but gaddar ki tarah likh raha hai.. band kar nautanki...aur bol ki sab politician ssaaalllee cchhoorre hai..jarurat padne par woo kuch bhi kar sakte hai..kuch bhi means kuchh bhii..no limit for them... mujhe dukh hai ki hamare desh me cchorro ka rraajya hai..
by !Maximus! on Jul 24, 2008 10:05 PM Permalink
It ain't an educated reply Ms. Jain. Looks like you have failed all reasoning.
If you have valid points, do counter-argue. Personal abuse doesnt necessarily affect the abused, but definitly shows the class of the abuser. Plus, rediff keeps history of all messages. :)
by Kamal on Jul 24, 2008 10:10 PM Permalink
Whent he original poster can use the term rape, dog term is not such an harsh word.
by Beachy Babes on Jul 24, 2008 10:16 PM Permalink
Kamal, you are such a dumb! The original poster was merely giving an example. He did not alleged that someone raped somebody! Get some education, Just learning to write in English does not make you educated. It is evident you did not understand the original post.