In showering kudos on Prime Minister Singh, the IARC said he "could have concluded that domestic opposition prevented him from moving forward on the agreement. However, the visionary leader of India's reforms in the early 1990s, he knew our future bilateral relations were at stake."
Manmohan is a good PM and one of the respected politician,who always behaved like a statesman!though ,i support BJP but i was totally appalled by their behaviour in the parliament! and Mr Advani, being one of the senior most politician behaved in a shameful manner! its not appropriate to critisise rather abuse some one like Manmohan singh in such a bad way!
RE:Manmohan is a good PM..
by Chanakya on Jul 24, 2008 11:17 AM Permalink
while I am not a congress supporter, I don't think in this particular aspect of NUKE deal, the Prime Minister had any pressure from Sonia
by MSAT on Jul 24, 2008 11:23 AM Permalink
And what will you do, friend, if a white lady turns up invitingly for you!!! Do what is required to be done, or keep posting stupid messages in such forums!!!!
by ramesh kumar on Jul 24, 2008 11:54 AM Permalink
I too supported BJP but the the way they conducted themselves to pull down the Govt. on nuclear deal which only they inititaed and Shri Vajpayeeji promised to support the Govt. on this issue made me wonder whether people like me will support BJP in future unless they keep national interest above then persobal interest. When everyone in Mahabhrat war was bent upon to kill abhimanyu by the unholy alliance, even Lord krishna had no alternative to resort to unfair means. BJP, left and all unholy aliances were hell bent to pull down to Govt not on nuclear deal (as BJP was itself a party to the deal and no opposition party talked of deal in the debate)) but for meeting their personal agenda. BJP for making Advani as PM and third front on making Mayawati as PM. If u do immoral acts then it is OK and if the other party does the same to pay u ine the same coin, then u shout "it is foul play"
Our Mr. Singh is a real Stateman as he could retain his chair for few more months by buying politicians to win vote of trust. I think he should no longer be considered as an honest person. Four years our PM was sleeping but now when the election time comes, he know congress will surely get defeated in the coming election, so now he is banging the Nuclear drum & trying to get it passed it in hurry. Once again these politicians has shown that only their party & vote bank is important rather than India. Once again these politicians has made mockery of democracy & our country.
RE:BJP should test Neutron/H Bomb
by Nitin jain on Jul 24, 2008 11:37 AM Permalink
Manmohan is mirror of Indian Democracy and indian people. so do not feel pain. actually we as Indian must think that level of Moral of Indian has went down and how to improve it. manmohan act like any other india is acting in this country. i mean whatever is happing in parliament is happing in Indian street daily and mind of Indian.
RE:BJP should test Neutron/H Bomb
by victor on Jul 24, 2008 11:23 AM Permalink
Mr Singha should know that the UN is precisely there for that very purpose to settle issues like Tibet etc.
We need not take law in our hands when the elected body is presiding.
Regarding missiles, nukes and thermos these can do nothing but bring some misery to the people.
See what happened in Iraq, missiles brought colatteral dammage but the will of the people remains.
The US SOLDIER IS A GREATER SUFFERER THAN HIS IRAQ COUNTERPART.
iF the money can buy the lawmakers (MPs) --the law executers are small fry comparatively to be bought out at less amount, including IB and CBI and judges, with promises of powerful positions.
In the next year the current power bearers will rob the Indian treasury 10 folds over. So it is a wise investment.
ALL the BS in the present environment for nuclear deal is nothing more than political and money kickbacks and extremely shortsighted for India' welfare. The NEXT US government would have fought it more aggressively to look better than Bush's term. BE it Obama or McCain. $100 Billion is on the table.
A strategic alignment with USA is natural, it had to happen, regardless of Indira's fallout with Nixon/Kissinger. Congress had NO reason to be dictated terms by USA.
AS a PM I would have USA support India's seat as a permanent seat on UN security council, member of nuclear weapon state, and last but least equal member of G8 plus.
BUT alas you and me are stuck with corrupt politicians from Nehru downwards. They will sell their mother for money and power so to sell out Bharat Mata is NOT a surprise.
A revolution is not far away once the literacy level rises. Which it will. The NRIs are going to play a very important in this.
The NRIs MUST be allowed to vote. Dual citizen will allow this. NOT a PIO card to pay exhortation's fees just to visit India.
NRIs and their relatives and professional associates talk the same talk but unfortunately stay away from the "dirty" pol
RE:A CORRUPT HANDICAPPED PERSON CAN SAY ANYTING..ASK THE QUESTION HOW MUSH HE GOT PAID?
by Girish Rao on Jul 24, 2008 11:10 AM Permalink
yaar permanent seat on UN is a waste of time. Anyhow US will always go unilaterally if it feels UN is not listening to it. ANd moreover 30% of UN's budget is funded by US so UN has to listen to US and bend to it. Moreover we have Russia and possibly France to support us if somebody in UN does harakiri. Being a member of UN also requires us to pay huge amount of money. So all in all UN seat is a waste of money and time.
Our PM was the FM in 1991 and he had pledged our Gold to steer India out of a Economic Mess. Under his earlier Innings as FM we had started to liberalize and we now have a decent economic status . We have to trust our Dr Manmohan Singh and we can hope to see good results by 2015 to 2020. If this Govt moves away from Communal appeasement and moves towards Uniform Civil Code , that would be the best. Take care he should not become one More Mr Mikhail Gobachev in his deal with the West.
RE:Indian Nuclear Deal & PM
by victor mohan on Jul 24, 2008 11:34 AM Permalink
THE PRICE OF GOLD WAS Rs 300/= to 320/= per gram. NOW IT IS Rs 1300/= to 1380/= per gram. NOW WE CAN SEE THE ECONOMICS OF THE INDIAN FM'S. WE SHOULD SELL NOW AND BOUGHT THEN.
childish and have a myopic view. Either they are die-hard supporters of the BJP or the supporters of Left and their view is constrained by that. They do not understand that some things should be looked at in the bigger picture. I am very glad that Manmohan Singh is the PM and not some Gandhi or Advani, only he has the vision for the future of India. I can easily visualise a Gandhi pm giving up on the deal due to political opposition.
RE:People criticizing are extremely
by reformer on Jul 24, 2008 11:23 AM Permalink
Mr Girish, There are many people who are not Pro-BJP or Pro-Left and still criticizing this deal, are they myopic? You must check your eyes. seems that you are blind
RE:RE:People criticizing are extremely
by reformer on Jul 24, 2008 11:38 AM Permalink
Ask any comman man. People still don't believe that there is only and only benefit through this deal. if it was so, why the money was used to buy the MPs. definately Sonia or MMS didn't spend through their pockets. Then who paid for horsetrading? There is other side of this deal which neither you nor me knows.
Kudos to the prime minister...thou never a congress supporter i terribly wnted this government to win the confidence vote and take the nuclear deal forward.....manmohan will always be remembered for changing the destiny of this country.....all those software guys spitting venom on the primeminister should thank him whan he liberalised the indian economy as a FM.....else we would have still been an underdeveloped country paying for the nehrus socialist policies.....so rise above your political leanings and for once hail the prime minister who had risked his chair for the sake of the country.....
The Left and BJP will get further infuriated reading this story. It is difficult to understand these people's minds who are just very intelligent but just have a personal grudge against the UPA ministers. These UNPA or third front leaders oppose everything for the sake of opposing. They just want only whatever they say or advice should be followed. When we have such contradictory views, in democracy, people vote and whoever wins, the other concedes defeat and goes along with the majority view. During general elections also politicians buy votes, rig elections and there are many who do not vote. Still, the elected representatives who form a government carry forward their ideas and people abide by it. If the opposition goes on opposing everything the ruling government does, how can it function? It is better to have a dictatorial regime than such people who have just their egos to satisfy.
The Sikh community has sacrificed for the country and the nation is proud of this great son,s of soil.Yet again A Sardar has shown the Advani and BJP that he is more patriot than any of these RSS/VHP people.Nation is proud of yet another Sardar.Sach ye hai hamara sardar.
RE:Nation is proud of Sikh community
by Edwin on Jul 24, 2008 11:14 AM Permalink
I too love sikh community. Hail sikhs. . .They serve the nation . . . & not creating rifts in the society like Advani & BJP.