How much power will be generated through nuclear technology? How much will it cost? Who will provide the technology? What about the environmental effect, how the nuclear waste is going to be handled? What if the US decides to stop supplying raw materials and technology? etc. I think Govt. should have taken the scientists opinions on these issues before even thinking about the deal. In stead, the Govt. has used unscrupulous means to stay on the power and push the deal. I can say for sure, it is a black day for democracy.
RE:RE:Shameful
by sunil bandi on Jul 23, 2008 04:48 AM Permalink
You stupid,How much means your parents and you can atleast sleep well under fan,thats is sure.Do you know where we are getting power now,Go check how much Pollution it is.
RE:Shameful
by Fried Yakov on Jul 23, 2008 03:49 AM Permalink
That is for the subsequent governments to decide. I only hope they keep the interests of the people in mind.
RE:India and USA are no allies
by Fried Yakov on Jul 23, 2008 03:48 AM Permalink
Well people like you said that when MMS started the policy of liberalisation and Rajiv started the process of computerisation and brought in Sam Pitroda for the telecommunication revolution.
RE:India and USA are no allies
by Snehi on Jul 23, 2008 03:42 AM Permalink
Look at the 'wonderful' performance by the BJP and the LEFT. This trust vote was really meant for the discussion of the most vicious subject THE N-DEAL These parties took it as a chance to make political mileage out of it. How many sentences (rather words) were uttered by these people about the N-deal? Did they mention anything critical about the subject. Could they not read the many debates in several forums? They had several points to state which could 'lock' the congress. They should have narrow down the debate to N-deal. They wanted to prove their political superiority. But the intelligent opponent managed them in the way the congress drew the line!!. I doubt very much 'they are for the N-deal”. Then what for all these noise? Tell the people.
The West Bengal was well developed state some 30 years back. By the mis-rule the state is brought down to the level which forced them to preach 'capitalism'. Budha is a capitalist wearing a communist gown. People are aware of it. Budha wants to bring the past glory of Bengal by adopting capitalist methods. Then why did they make this state to the present condition? They may not accept this.
Advani's speech was very saddening. He claimed that the deal will be renegotiated. Is it possible? Within the next few months MMS will commit billions of rupees worth of contracts. No government can disown such commitments. Do not fool the people.
Look at the similarities. Both are victims of terrorism. Both have rivarly with the communist China. Also please bear in mind that Indians are RESPECTED in America, we are respected for our education, sucess, culture everything. On the trade front USA is tired of Chinese games and want an alternative...get it? I think we are the point where we took the decision to march ahead into the developed wold!
RE:America is India's natural ally
by shibaji Das on Jul 23, 2008 03:41 AM Permalink
I agree to Ajit! for that matter, I am a complete non politcal person but still I respect Dr. Manmohan Sigh! He is the guy who brought in the economic boom to India else, most of us would have been happy earning Rs. 4-5k per month, today I sit in a corporate office in US. Anyways, its not about me or you personally but as a whole, as a country. Just like the economic boom, I believe that this will bring in an era of modernization as we chase the "E" - Buzz word for energy of today and future! Jai Hind - a proud Indian!
RE:America is India's natural ally
by jaya krishnan on Jul 23, 2008 03:42 AM Permalink
This is a classic case of a swine which meanders in it's own mire and convinces itself that there can be no heaven higher than this :)
Look at the 'wonderful' performance by the BJP and the LEFT. This trust vote was really meant for the discussion of the most vicious subject THE N-DEAL These parties took it as chance to make political mileage out of it. How many sentences (rather words) were uttered by these people about the N-deal. Did they mention anything critical about the subject. Did they not read the many debates in several forums? They had several points to state which could 'lock' the congress. They should have narrow down the subject to N-deal. They wanted to prove their political superiority. But the intelligent opponent managed them in the way the congress draw the road.!!. I doubt very much 'they are for the N-deal”. Then what is all these noise. Tell the people.
RE:Historic events
by Observer on Jul 23, 2008 03:04 AM Permalink
We know what happened 200-250 years ago when British came to India for business. Subsequent generations benefited from the deals then kings made with British in the interest of people ;-).
by vick party on Jul 23, 2008 06:02 AM Permalink
when China/Pakistan tests again in 20-25 years to upgrade their nuclear weapons we will have to test at the cost of $50billion (cost to build new reactors to benefit from the deal) and loss of more than 35000 MW of electricity and sudden outage of power in the grid for millions of people and thousands of factories.
by thoughtfulindian on Jul 23, 2008 03:02 AM Permalink
I am sure u dint find a chance to leave ur country of origin...Finding faults with people who left India for better living ( or just living ) is very common amongst us..
Indian_American community does not have many success stories lobbying US Congress for India's interest, unlike other comminities. US is keen on nuclear deal because of their business interest and not because of Indian lobby. US may be too willing to give credit to (and use) Indian-American lobby to sell their business to India.
RE:It's business interest, not lobbying
by west on Jul 23, 2008 03:44 AM Permalink
observer - good point. but if it's solely driven by business, why didn't pakistan get the same thing or other countries got the same thing?
by Observer on Jul 23, 2008 04:28 AM Permalink
Because India offers huge market and tremendous profit potential. Secondly, US may be thinking Pakistan is not mature and even risky for this business - and many more. I would ask counter question : US offers lot of military aid to Pakistan, why not India. Also US rebuffed India and made Pakistan as pertner in fight against terrorism post 9/11, why not India? I have not said anything in favor or against nuclear deal. My point is about giving false impression that it is because of Indian lobby.
by thoughtfulindian on Jul 23, 2008 03:05 AM Permalink
True...Indian community is not a great force..May be we can appreciate their gud intentions and hard work (hwoeevr minimal the impact may have been) OR this indian community leader is trying to boast of something just for the heck of it..
Indian_american community does not have many success stories lobbying US Congress for India's interest. America is keen on nuclear deal because of their business interests, and not because of Indian-American lobby. US may be too willing to use (and give credit to) Indian-American lobby to sell its business to India.
Winning of most corrupted UPA Govt under MMSingh and Sonia (Full of criminals) and controlled by bribes indicates the most danger sign of Indian democracy. Indian democracy is under control of criminals, MMSingh and Sonia are their leader. What a combination !! Still some people and media think MMSingh is honest person and Sonia is a saint. what a joke !!
RE:It is not historic day, but it is a BLACK day
by My Reminiscence on Jul 23, 2008 02:50 AM Permalink
Judge by the outcome not by their background...when it comes to character, every one is from same lot....no exceptions to LK Advani, Chandrababu Naidu, Venkaiah Naidu, Mayawathi, DeveGouda...DO you think opposition is a team of saints…
And there are certain comedy creatures…..like Karat, AK Bardhan.. nobody understands them….They don’t know anything except committing some historical blunders and repenting them later….Live in India and dreaming about …China…..
RE:It is not historic day, but it is a BLACK day
by lsuman ses on Jul 23, 2008 03:24 AM Permalink
Let's get real! Indian democracy was corrupt and it is now, so will be; unless Indians unite together and throws these mafias out of their chairs.
so, all Indians who are sitting here in USA are fools. Only Devs& ajay kumar are intelligent and can forsee the future of India.
You idiots if given a chance you will come here shameless without second thought to make money. what a heart you have got - we can eat American Money of Outsourcing but should not let america to eat our Money.
RE:so, you think you are intelligent !
by nikhil shah on Jul 23, 2008 02:44 AM Permalink
HE HE HE ...yeah sala chamdi...sahi bola... devas aur ajay dono...sale america ka paise dollar kamana hai...lakin sirf HUM hi HUM nahi chalta hai...let US earn...and see india interest too.
RE:so, you think you are intelligent !
by My Reminiscence on Jul 23, 2008 02:56 AM Permalink
Chandi...don't get excited..either america outsources to India or Indians coming to USA....its all for business....Americans are not throwing money for nothing...Indains are not working for charity...everyone will have to think about their benefits...Don't think that everyone will be hellbent on coming to USA, though you and me are here for money...