I was always wondering how a few thousand foreigners could come to a strange, unknown and a vast country like India and rule over it for years and years.
After seeing the way members of parliament behaved during the trust vote, I have come to understand how they did it.
Some body wrote on this forum that MMS and the Congress will sell nation to George Bush and the USA. I wish this happens soon, I would prefer any day that India be ruled by the US rather than the bunch of illiterate fools and scoundrels we saw on the TV yesterday.
Just a simple arithmetic and some assumptions indicate that the UPA actually lost the trust vote. The 19 votes lead included 12 BJP/NDA et al members plus 10 abstentions, and deducting the 12 votes brings down the figure of 275 to 263 and opposition figure to 268. Amar Singh and group has openly said he connived with others to induce BJP/NDA members to vote for the UPA. What this indicates, is that in a corrupt system, corrupts carried the day. This is as far as the trust vote goes.
Now, will the UPA ever table the 123 Agreement in the parliament? I am not opposed to any NDeal which benefits the country as a whole, but the method which was used and is being used throws a lot of suspicion on the demeanours of the people involved. How soon will the power get generated, and who will be involved in producing this energy.
RE:Happiness in Glory!
by thebedazzled on Jul 23, 2008 07:21 PM Permalink
I think this is a very naive reader writing this analysis above. Who lose the vote? If MP's voted for UPA, it won. They are MP's 1st and parties later. They are supporting the N- Deal, only if UPA won (or bought) their trust. So pls do simple arithmetic with Panchvi Pass se tez guys.
RE:Happiness in Glory!
by Ramesh Kapoor on Jul 23, 2008 07:45 PM Permalink
Pehle paisa fir Bhagwan! Well, if the were MPs first, and party members later then, the whole outcome would have been different. It is not the N-Deal that got voted on but a Trust Vote. Just as it was said yesterday, UPA may have won the battle but lost the war. There will be a lot to be answered by those who cross-voted, and it has nothing to do with Panchvi Pass.
BJP ke note show dekhkar aaisa laga ki bin badal aur barishme BJP ka mor notonke par lagaakar nach rahatha lok sabhame magar usko ye pata nahi tha ki pichwada pura khul ho gaya hai aur Duniya ke samne aapni ijjat ja rahi hai. Sardarne barabar nishana lagaya aur mor sadan ke aandar dher ho gaya !!
RE:BJP ka Mor Nacha kisne Dekha !!
by Vedprakash Sharma on Jul 23, 2008 07:13 PM Permalink
ppl like u are Culprit for today’s situation. Somebody exposed the bribe case and simply we are apposing it, instead of supporting it. I thing Corruption become a part of life so we cannot make difference
RE:BJP ka Mor Nacha kisne Dekha !!
by RAVINDRA BHOSALE on Jul 23, 2008 07:42 PM Permalink
The MP who was floting notes infront of the Chair is tented, he had taken commission on his MP fund to be transfered to other area, instead of utilising in his own area. I am in still dout that the notes were belong to BJP for purchase of MPs but they couldnot purchase and therefore they have used it to demoralise the MMS in house. BJP leaders can go to any extreem, they are not clean as you think. In last few days Adwani is trying to make many political deals with money power but unfortunatly faild. Bad luck. They are totaly exposed yesterday.
To whom congress wants to prove that they have WON ? After all what they have won ? They were slaves of LEFT and now they are relieved. That's it. So there is no change for a common man by this WIN. NukeAgreement ? Congress Govt in last 60 years could have provided such basic amenities (electricity) to villages, if their governance was clean and order. Do you think a NukeAgreement would change the way these Politic Babus think and work ?
No use of elections , when any buffon like manmohan Singh can retain his prime minitership by buying MPs of other parties. Why should a common man waste his time by voting. Indian democracy has gone to the dogs because of bribe givers (MMS) and the dalals.
RE:No use of elections
by Atindra Sanyal on Jul 23, 2008 07:04 PM Permalink
No sir. Indian politics has gone to the dogs because intelligent and gifted people like you are happy sitting at a PC and typing away instead of going out there and building the nation, then standing for elections, then legislating, then governing the nation. Think about it.
by Jalaj Singh on Jul 23, 2008 07:19 PM Permalink
We cannot downgrade ourself like them. We are brought up in a culture which does not permit us to become a dirty politician. Neither we have money to contest high expenditure elections
by Atindra Sanyal on Jul 23, 2008 07:34 PM Permalink
Thats my point sir. India needs people like you BECAUSE you are not like them.
by Jalaj Singh on Jul 23, 2008 07:06 PM Permalink
He has a point but we cannot target MMS, it is the fault of our system. Our law allows criminals, abductors, rapist, murderer to cast their vote in Parliament, the stick of law is for poor and middle class man and not for MP's. Our constitution which was written long back needs a drastic reforms, which should check all such type of rubbish in Indian Democracy. After seeing all this yesterday I have same opinion not to waste my vote on any party. What is the use when they switch over, sell themselve and abstain themselves. Just imaging how much they are responsible person and public servant. Shame on Indian Democracy......
Krishna, that would be the perfect timepass. This country is good and will keep sailing well. Some guys are less and some are more matured; but sign os maturity everywhere (except MMS and anyway he is politically dead; so discounted.) Basically a heartful Burp... eh.. that's it.
There is an old saying "Yatha Praja thatha Raja"People get what they deserve.The entire nation is now in self firstmode 7 that reflects in the approach who represents us in parliament.How many of us who read these articles on English language portals even cares to vote/ let us not act holier than thou when each one of us indulge in corroupt practices if given an opportunity.
RE:What r u complaining for?
by Jignesh D on Jul 23, 2008 07:09 PM Permalink
Dude its "yatha Raajaa tatha prajaa". Which actually means opposite of everything you said. Noob!
Whatever happened in LS was nothing but high profile drama. It is really really shameful that our netas instead on focussing on real issues indulge in such things.
One thing is for sure - one govt. goes another comes , another goes third one comes but the drama continues......
In thermodynamics (a branch of physics), entropy is a measure of the unavailability of a system’s energy to do work. And according to a law - Entropy is always increasing.... we are all witnessing such a 'real life' system where all human energy is being wasted in trivial pursuits and the 'Real' energy for good work is invisible. Going by the stated LAW of nature, well... doomsday isnt far off...... how far??? that is the BIG question.
When the cash for question scandal appeared, speaker and PM both said, its a sad day and they couldn't sleep but when BJP given some proof and asked for immmediate and complete investigation. Speaker Somnath's reaction was very mute. Congress is obviously not interested in investigation but just resort to counter allegation. It doesn't want to check that its caught on tape. Lot of people on this forum also want to be escapist rather facing the truth that money changed hand because they are so ignorant or pakies and 20 people who abstained has been approached and cross voting is being done by all the sheddy opposition parliamentarian for money. With this kind of impaired vision, we the people will suffer for giving selective clean chit to Congress and will legitimize corruption further and it will be a standard practice. BJP is the only party better then others to rule the country atleast their leaders are nationalists.
RE:Selective morality
by suhas deshmukh on Jul 23, 2008 07:10 PM Permalink
So much for BJP's morality and governance. We have seen the external affairs minister escorting terrorists to Kandahar. We have witnessed govts. not approving cases against the union home minister. we have witnessed the betrayal of common man by the finance minister by allowing UTI to sink.
by sunil mallya on Jul 23, 2008 07:31 PM Permalink
We have witnessed terrorists being released for the sake of release of 1 Congress ministers daughter in the past. People used to say on tv that terrorists were released for 1 life then y not for so many which were at stake. Atleast 160 lives at stake in Kandahar. And if they were lost then Congress would have made a issue out of it too. We have witnessed Govts where 6 MPs come out of jail to vote in favor of it. We have seen ministers in the Union Cabinet getting convicted for henious crimes like murder etc.
RE:RE:Selective morality
by Bond Kumar on Jul 23, 2008 06:34 PM Permalink
Almost everybody in there is corrupt. At least, some people are don't start communal riots.
by thebedazzled on Jul 23, 2008 07:26 PM Permalink
both of them are corrupt yaar. no point fighting for any1 of them and defending them