Press Trust of India Tuesday, February 13, 2007 at 1100 hours IST
Mumbai, February 13: Anil Ambani group company Reliance Capital Ltd has acquired over six per cent stake in Global Broadcast News Ltd (GBN), which operates the English news channel CNN-IBN and Hindi channel IBN7.
Reliance Capital acquired 16.75 lakh shares, representing 6.27 per cent stake of Global Broadcast News through an open market transaction on BSE on Monday.
--------------
So how you expect CNN-IBN to telecast these bribe scanndel CD as Amar Singh is chamcha of Ambani.
RE:Reliance Capital(Anil Ambani) acquires 6% stake in GBN
by Katli on Jul 24, 2008 10:43 AM Permalink
SONU, Good work Buddy, this is the real revelation, Now anybody can think why Rajdeep S is out of sorts in this issue.
This Burqa Dutt, Pranoy Roy, Rajdeep Sardesai, Vinod Dua, Arnab Goswami they all are paid agents of the Italian Congress. Amar Singh who had crores of rupees to thrown around, he must have passed a few hundreds to this Rajdeep and bought him over. That's why he chose not to air this stingop. Any journalist would die to get hold of such a footage and tear the mask off the face of these corrupt politicians of whatever hue. That he chose not to air it, proves that he has been bought over.
RE:Rajdeep Must have quoted and got his price
by Praveen on Jul 24, 2008 10:45 AM Permalink
thats a valid point. if u watch the debate the bjp is hardly given time to speak & congressmen r allowed to speak fm gandhi's birth.. all medias glorify congress & gandhi fly...
Rajdeep's strong leanings which were evident in a rather subtle way so far have been now brazenly exposed. Keep up Mr Sardesai. Long live journalism of convenience!
RE:Bribery CD
by Raghu Bhatkhande on Jul 24, 2008 10:56 AM Permalink
Correctly say. Rajdeep is always congress agent. He is always Antinational person.He is always anti BJP& his journalism always duble standard.
RE:Bribery CD
by ravi srinivas on Jul 24, 2008 10:58 AM Permalink
This a rather strong statement i think the media especially Rajdeep & Arnab were going on & on saying BJP is playing to the gallery & all the crap but the point they have failed take is that the Mp's and the politicians were paid huge amounts and whole world knows about it.
Its such a shame on Mr. Sardesai's part that the issue of bribery fumbbles him from showcasing it on TV(reason: the investigation is not over). if the evidence is very very clear, investigation is a namesake. why did his channel showcased the footage of an andhara lady whose cloths were torn off in the public. his channel should have waited till the investigation was over. Since this poor lady can do no harm in whatever magnitude one can think of, they feel free to do things they want. coz after all this channel is also executed by humans. this bigamy of media will also prove fatal in coming times. Mr. Sardesai, u are no more than a fagot. i remember how u were simply hurling at Mr. Modi and how did he corner you on your so called journalism skills.
RE:U blow your JOB Mr. Sardesai
by Sankar Mitra on Jul 24, 2008 10:53 AM Permalink
It is evident that Rajdeep decided to wait till the completion of trust vote. Otherwise, the trust vote could be in jeopardy. Mind you, till the vote was over, he did not know who was going to win - UPA or the opposition. In my opinion, he has done the right thing by handing over the tape only after the voting was over. Unfortunately for the opposition, it has not helped them. If UPA was going to loose, it would have been a help for them by crating a pandemonium by claiming that the tapes are not genuine and it is meant to malign the UPA.
RE:U blow your JOB Mr. Sardesai
by Vladimir Stalin on Jul 24, 2008 10:47 AM Permalink
No. No. I think Rajdeep would have still aired the show if the woman with torn clothes happened to be his wife Sagharika Ghose. Did we not see how alert he is when he passed on the vital evidence to the Lok Sabha Speaker from where it would never be released for public viewing. Let us give him credit where it is due. Poor Rajeep Sardesai. No wonder Balasaheb Thackeray called him some time back as a dogg in his Samna.
How much was Rajdeep bought for by UPA..The sting was not made to use..no wonder his channel CNN IBN does not have any sting..compare with Times Now..Do jounalism..not politicking.
RE:How much money had Rajdeep taken from UPA
by Vladimir Stalin on Jul 24, 2008 11:09 AM Permalink
Guys like Rajdeep they come cheap. Just a few hundreds, I believe. If only the BJP had made a couple of thousands as offer. he would have fallen on to their lap, drooling and all. They lost the race to Congi not only inside the parliament but outside too.
It could have been a great for any Television Channel at this moment.
Then why did Rajdeep not air the content?
If it was only gaining TRP for the channel, then Rajdeep surely could have aired the content.
I guess why he did not air for the following reasons :
1) The tehelka controversy must be in his mind. After thehelka, NDA crucified the journalists involved and ruined their personal and professional lives.
The family and friends were victimised.
The question was never raised, why the person took the bribe. But questions were raised what was the motive behind the sting.
Who is the financial investor behind Tehelka?
The investors were harassed, even jailed.
Yes, that was NDA at its best.
So, this must have weighed heavy on Rajdeep and his channel.
2) May be some portion of the content looked as if it was a "honey trap" set by these MP's. [ This is my guess only.]
This too must have created hesitation in his mind.
3) Since these 3 MP's managed to take the content in CD to handover to speaker, and expressed the readiness to expose in the Parliament, Rajdeep could not have dared to broadcast fearing it could amount to contempt of the Parliament. He must have waited for the reaction from the Parliament.
Taking such a decision is not easy, particularly when it involves politicians.
RE:Once bitten, twice shy
by kb on Jul 24, 2008 10:51 AM Permalink
once in public mr serdesai said"i am editor-in-chief of a news channel. i have to run this channel and to make it sucessful i will do anything."
by benudhar parida on Jul 24, 2008 10:43 AM Permalink
Hi dear r u believing Journalists performs their responsible perfectly?
I think and or suggest to arrest the journalist first they can say what is the reality. OK PARIDA - Indore
by NAVAL PATEL on Jul 24, 2008 10:44 AM Permalink
if thats the case, i believe rajdeep must quit journalism and play a safer job, job. was he not aware of such a threat, and not only he, those who shooted the video were also aware. if u mean to say media has no courage to speak truth.... hehehhee, how can i believe the footages they showed. there will be an unprecedented argument on the reality of the content. :)
Rajdeep might have thought that BJP MPs are really accepting bribes and tried to trap them with this mean. All guys know his pro Congress leanings. But BJP turned the tables and trapped him, Congress and SP.
I strongly suspect that he has tampered with the tape now and given the tampered one to the speaker.
RE:tampered?
by prabhat mohanty on Jul 24, 2008 10:36 AM Permalink
- When Rajdeep sets up camera in BJP MP's house, obviously he has taken their permission to trap the supposed to be briber, not the bribed politicians.
by venkat on Jul 24, 2008 10:42 AM Permalink
There could be a middleman between Rajdeep and BJP. He could have convinced Rajdeep that BJP men are really voting for cash while actually it was a trap laid by BJP for Amar Singh, Rajdeep and Ahmed patel. So, it is not very obvious that he had taken BJP permission to do this.
by Rajeev Venkat on Jul 24, 2008 10:41 AM Permalink
boss i more than agree with you. i like this guy but undoubtedly he has an anti-BJP bias. i recall one interview with Modi in which Modi really put him in his place. that was a fantastic interview, should have seen this guy's face.
RE:RE:tampered?
by venkat on Jul 24, 2008 10:43 AM Permalink
Yes, how many exit polls he has projected his anti BJP stance. Any news, u take, there will be some anti BJP dose in it. That sagarika ghose literally was shedding tears out of joy and saying Singh is King, macho man etc once UPA won trust vote.
It does not seem to me that they are impartial though they have great talents in journalism
by NAVAL PATEL on Jul 24, 2008 10:46 AM Permalink
well thought off the situation... i appriciate this.... moreover, its a possible scenario based on rajdeeps inclination towards congress
Mr Rajdeep How much money was paid to you to stop airing this story??? You have shown innumeable number of sting operations in your channel of different cases but you refused to telecast this one because you feared to take head on PANGA with the ruling party..u r no different..no one is a fool not to understand why u didnt air those tapes...people stop watching CNN IBN where the editor in chief himself is earns money by unscrupulous means..
RE:how much money did u get paid mr sardesai????????
by Bhajji on Jul 24, 2008 10:48 AM Permalink
all are equally bad, if BJP were so true to themselves that why did they make mokery of the house by displaying cash, they knew that media was 24 x 7 hooked to the Trust Vote and its proceeding, might be Rajdeep sensed the wicked plans of Advani who is so desparate to become PM. my thumbs up to Rajdeep on doing this he has taken a right step infact BJP shud also have done the same rather than doing tamasha in the house, i wonder how they manage to bring in so much of cash in the Parliament, must be few bundles given for entry.