I have often said that I am a politician by accident. I have held many diverse responsibilities. I have been a teacher, I have been an official of the Government of India, I have been a member of this greatest of Parliaments, but I have never forgotten my life as a young boy in a distant village.
Every day that I have been Prime Minister of India I have tried to remember that the first ten years of my life were spent in a village with no drinking water supply, no electricity, no hospital, no roads and nothing that we today associate with modern living. I had to walk miles to school, I had to study in the dim light of a kerosene oil lamp. This nation gave me the opportunity to ensure that such would not be the life of our children in the foreseeable future.
The government has gone for the vote of confidence ostensibly on an issue that in the first place should have just needed approval or rejection by the parliament.
Sovereignty of a country is at stake here. Agreements of international nature should be approved by parliament and that should not be a prestigious issue.
This has set a dangerous precedence. Now, with this unscrupulous (as claimed) victory of vote of confidence, any future government can enter into all kinds of international agreements totally bypassing the parliament.
It's a shameless victory (yet again!!) for the UPA and unfortunate for the people of India.
RE:vote of confidence on an issue that just needed parliament approval
by Jay on Jul 22, 2008 10:32 PM Permalink
You got no knowledge about the international issues, especially the ndeal. better work as a farmer in a village!!!!
RE:vote of confidence on an issue that just needed parliament approval
by arjun on Jul 22, 2008 10:35 PM Permalink
woh sahi hai bhai.... yeh farmer yaani aam janta nahi hai kya....? ;) kitna sar peet peet kar farmers ke liye ladte hai congress waale....ye guest farmer banega tho mushkil nahi naaaaaa hoga.....
We pay to watch a magic show. The magician does it so fast that we are never able to make out what is happening and then next day again we purchase tickets to watch it again but...
Democracy is same. We all pay to watch the show. Again fail to understand what is happening. Purchase every day, every time a new hope, new ticket but the magicians (our leaders) are experts. So just enjoy the show and see that you do not loose all your money.
No magic has changed our lives, no democracy will change the nation unless we know the science behind magic but that is too difficult
RE:Manmohan Singh is dishonest
by Rightman on Jul 22, 2008 10:25 PM Permalink
So, you found out that MMS is the only dishonest politician in India. Funny...
My heartiest congratulations to UPA, ably led by Dr Manmohan Singh, on the historic win. Karat& Advani & their ignorant& stubborn party members’ myopic views should hang their heads in shame. They should do introspection & at least learn a few lessons instead of focusing on single agenda trying to bring down democratically elected government. Just imagine the colossal wastage of man hours wasted in the country during that last few days.
As far Mayawati's outbursts she should keep her mouth shut ,face criminal cases gracefully instead of dreaming about prime -ministeship etc .What qualification does she have to hold the august office !!.She should be boycotted. Quodos also to Chidambaram, Lalu Prasad& Amar Singh for being great team members.As for the allegationgs of cash for vote let it be investigated with due legal processes being followed. Murthy from USA Murthy from USA
Though the UPA won, the democracy, the great Indian democracy lost. Everyone knows that the debate in the parliament was simply a charade. The MMS government bought the MPs beforehand in order to ensure their own victory. Now that the MMS govt. has survived we will get to see the details of the covert deal that this government has struck with criminals like Sibu Soren and alike.
At last the curtain has rung down and the UPA Govt has won as anticipated by the writer unequivocally in all his write ups and to the deep sigh & relief of the nation which has been witnessing the trauma of political uncertainty for the last several days.The soft spoken & sober looking Manmohan,true to the etymological meaning of his name,mesmerised the hearts of all those swinging between "vote for" or vote against"showed to the world what he is!!Though the modes employed by his party in which it perfected the art of winning such motions are highly all questionable,Manmohan went on record to be the the 7 th P.M to have won a vote of confidence.Congrats Dr Singh!You may continue with all your agenda which you feel is good for the nation unmindful of the stray dogs barking at the royal elephant when it passes through.But a word of caution!!Kindly beware of any evil advice tendered to you irrespective of the stature of such person tendering it.Have your own judgment & act as per your conscience to erase the wide spread impression that you dance to the tunes of some body else.The nation has conferred you the highest honour considering your intelligence & wisdom.Kindly do not bely its expectations.Keep all the psychopants miles away from you.You befittingly taught to the opposition that even the tamest could become the bravest when time warrants to go ahead with the good task he undertakes with a clean & pure heart besides sincerity of purpose.Kudos to you Prime Minister!!
RE:BJP and Mayawati Karat are cowards
by SachinTheGreat on Jul 22, 2008 10:19 PM Permalink
Yes they did not take 25 crores from Congress that is why they are Cowards..............
Now what? The persons opposing the Nuclear agreement should resign from MPship and again go to people for vote. They should not wait for normal parliament election in Nov 2008. It is victory of sane opinion over dictatorship by left.
RE:BJP humbled
by jet on Jul 22, 2008 10:29 PM Permalink
Any sane person can understand that lot of MP's took crores of money to support UPA, U r an idiot and and moron who is just barking against BJP.