This is a totally useless deal for India. There are other means of generating power which will be much more feasible and economical. Nuclear energy produced will always be very less and will not satisfy India's massive energy demands and the means to acquire it will not be cheap either. Also this jeopardizes India's nuclear program and internal security as India will be forced to sign the non proliferation treaty and should allow inspectors to visit our nuclear plants. The only people who will benefit is US corporates as they will sell us nuclear reactors and make billions of dollars. Does India, a country where 50 % people live on 2 dollars a day need this expensive deal ? Either way it seems India is fked again because of our short sighted,stupid,corrupt and selfish politicians.
RE:N-deal
by ravi shankar on Jul 22, 2008 11:45 PM Permalink
cost effective? for whom... the last report on rediff puts the nuclear deal worth at about $100 billion.
RE:N-deal
by Rahul on Jul 22, 2008 11:22 PM Permalink
Nuclear energy is cost effective ? Where did you pull that info from ? Out of your a$$ ? Nuclear energy is much more expensive than any producing any other form of energy. Do some research before you come blabbering here. Our politicians are as stupid as blind idiots like you and hence they are about to sign this useless deal. No wonder India is still a third world country with idiots like you.
The BJP was truly in a bind. It could not have the UPA win. That would make a Mayawati victory.
Neither could it let UPA win the trust vote. That would ensure UPA as the frontrunners to win the next Lok Sabha polls.
So what could it do?
It didn't make any efforts to stop its suscept members from defecting to the UPA. On the other hand to camouflague this, it enacted a drame. Smuggled a briefcase of one crore ruppes into parliament and enacted a drama - lowering the prestige of the country in the eyes of the world.
The body language of a deepily distraught Advani summed it all - senile as he is, he knew his dreams of Prime Ministership is smashed.
The BJP ended up as bad losers. From claiming it was the front-runner to winning the next elections, it has been reduced to almost to a also ran fo the next elections. The NDA is disintegrating and most of its constituents would very soon consolidate around the UNPA.
Winning of most corrupted UPA Govt under MMSingh and Sonia (Full of criminal) and controlled by bribes indicates the most danger sign of Indian democracy. Indian democracy is under control of criminals, MMSingh and Sonia are their leader. What a combination !!
Congratulations to the person who said "Minorities, particularly the Muslims, have first right over the national resources" ... this is a great win for minorities in 'secular' India!
RE:Congratulations
by pjothilingam on Jul 22, 2008 11:22 PM Permalink
I am confused about the message.Do you imply that most of the imported reactors should be placed in areas where the " minorities" are in majority?
gr8 happening .n gr8 politics by advani n arun jately...bjp had been winner all over d show..on 1 hand they shown d world hw their MPS were bribed ,..proving 2 d world that cong had used corrupt practice 2 win d trust vote...n on another hand allow its 7 MPS 2 do d cross voting in favour of motion ,..ensuring that left , maya n all other parties do not cum in power n reduce bjp on 3rd place in d process...bec had cong lost, it wud have been left n maya all d way...GR8 SHOW BY BJP...THIS IS REALLY CALLED POLITICS..
RE:wht 2 say
by raghabendra ray on Jul 22, 2008 11:26 PM Permalink
well said jeet....i like this politics..i think this is good for the country...nuclear deal is on the way..and also more reform to come in future...opprtunist maya is away...but the only problem in mulayam in the government...well..over all nice...
RE:RE:Congrat's UPA
by patrick on Jul 22, 2008 11:14 PM Permalink
It is disgusting how you katele lan*ds pakis masqueder here on rediff under different names and abuse BJP
RE:Congrat's UPA
by no south on Jul 22, 2008 11:09 PM Permalink
Is no-confidence motion men to Advani ji kee jhanten saaf ho gayee! Ab kyaa hogaa is buddhe kaa!
what did u ppl want to prove by bringing money into the house? is the house the place to display ur sting operation...
abs useless politics here...
the nuclear deal is an important issue and u make a mockery out of it..mayawati is a disgusting politician...and advani i am afraid is losing it completely
RE:Money hai to Honey hai..
by srivatsa yb on Jul 22, 2008 11:07 PM Permalink
keep brow beating...don say anything thats substantial...we are not UPA or congress supporters..we are indians..we want advancement
RE:shame on all UPA supporters..
by hemanth kumar on Jul 22, 2008 11:20 PM Permalink
this is called typical indian mentality you will not grow and let others. US is a developed nation and much much advance by technically compared to India. SO it is always good to take that as a launching pad..u want to study in US work in US and want dollars and develop yourself..why dont you apply the same rule to country also..so that country will develop the required infrastructure...and energy is one of the basic need for infrastructure needed a lot in near future...
common India get mature dont say all sentimental bull sh** like we will become slaves...until Indians are intact no one can do anything take control over them..