Credible minimum deterrence is a very complex domain in technology. The quantom of fissile material would decrease with realibiltiy and response time of early warning system and sophistication of the deterrence. It can not be understood by anybody except highly trained and disciplined minds.
The import of the N-deal is profound. In 1947 we got political independence and now we shall get genuine techonlogical integration. It shall metamorphise India in coming years.
The strategic capability is of equal import to such a transformation. Governance begins with law and order i.e. security internal and external.
Bidwai is an antinational leftist traitor and a mouthpiece of China and Pakistan. He has no credibility to comment on the nuclear deal. All he wants to do is to justify his leftist/commie propaganda.
RE:Another antinational leftist propaganda!
by All Right on Jul 19, 2008 06:49 AM Permalink
Yeah... he has clearly explained how Manmohan from the Left has betrayed the nation on several counts.. .;-)
by Virgo on Jul 19, 2008 08:21 AM Permalink
Manmohan has done what is right for the nation. The effing commies thought that by delaying the deal they could finally kill it. The lefitst/commie traitors wanted to make sure that their chinese slave masters could freely threaten India.
Bidway traitor is talking about promise to the left! What was the left going to do by talking to it? Vote for the security and interest of the nation? Of course not. They are nothing more than traitors looking out for what is best for China.
Allt the leftist mofos like Bidwai should be shipped off to China so that they can practice their "democratic rights" and rights of free-speech there.
Bidwai traitor, remember that you supported China in 1962 and chanted "China's chairman is our Chairman" ?
by Anup Nair on Jul 19, 2008 01:27 PM Permalink
Bidwai has written things in national interest which nincompoops like you will not understand now, but when a day will come when due to this dangarous deal we will have our own chernobyl. When generations of Indians born crippled and broken, that will the day of reckoning.Pray that nuclear faciliy does not come anywhere near your home or family.
And US can dictate terms to you whether u like it or not. If you fail to listen with folded arms, you are done,son. No fuel and you have recipe for disaster.
Re: Another antinational leftist propaganda!
by Sandy Bhardwaj on Aug 28, 2008 01:32 PM Permalink
Anup, are you talking childish? Have you read the whole Nuclear deal carefully? Do you understand that signing nuclear deal does not mean bombarding India with Nuclear weapons. Fire is also dangerous , electric shock is also dangerous. Don't you use both of them? It is just about the usage. Same thing you can use destructively while the same you can use constructively. Just close your eyes for a second and imagine the darkness... do you want that millions of Indians remain in that darkness for years? Don't you want India to be economically competitive , sustainable in global market? Don't you want Indian industries flourishing much effectively than now? Don't you want your children should live in an environment which is much secure, affordable and sustained? Those who are opposing the deal, really do not understand the repercussions and the positive synergy it will bring. Very sad... Anyway, all of the above, you might have seen the general surveys what Indian public want. For your information I tell you that majority of the public supported the deal. And you also saw the triumph of Manmohan Govt. on it. What extra proof/evidence you want? Why don't you come out of this devastating mentality. India is a democratic country and whatever majority wants , that will be done. Yours or Bidwai's or Karat's comments are immaterial against that. Believe me you will thank me and others like supporting N-Deal 10 years down the line when benefits will start flourishing.
Pl donot write the garbage. Are u pro BJP, left or what. You have written nonsense about all political parties. we'll have to live with them. BJP started the Next Step in Strategic Partnership with USA. Now when the time has come to coop, they are opposing b,coz they r in opposition. BJP will jump to deal, when they come to power. USA wants to engage India, that's very good. this is an opportunity for India to take advantage of. Our left parties won't oppose China signing similar deal with USA, have trade dealings with USA. But if India improves its relations with USA, they feel uncomfortable. They are opposing the deal not on its merit but they feel we r getting closer to USA. So is China, why donot they oppose that, r they paid by the chinese so that we donot compete with China for US & other developed ctry market. Deal is not only about nuc energy but about getting out of the technology denial regime. Have not we realised how the leading ctry of the world in 14th Century becomes a developing ctry in 17th & 18th century & is not able to progress faster even now in 21st century. Friend it was b,coz we missed the Industrial Revolution. Now it's time to get the latest available dual use technology, this deal will open the door for us. india has enough nuc deterrence, moreover reactors not under the safegds will look after our future requirement for bomb. India needs to grow at a much faster rate to look after our large poor population, new tech made avilable after this d
Mr. P. Bidwai is a well known pro-Pakistan, Pro China ( and hence anti India & anti Hindu) journalist who was long back thrown out of the Atomic Energy Establishment. The deal is not only going to provide fuel to the starving power reactors (existing), going to accelerate setting up and commissioning of advanced power reactors to help bridge the energy gap, and deshackle the death grip of the leftists on the industrialisation policies of the country that is not allowing it to become more productive and competitive. Co-operation with the advanced west in this field is going to generate jobs more rapidly and give boost to agriculture by way of paving way for exports. It is a god sent opportunity for Mr. Singh and Mrs Sonia ji to take the country to prosperity. The only thing to be cautious about is the cost of power generated including costs of fuel, inventory (stockpile), reprocessing, waste disposal, and decommissioning. Other wise the clever west may try to take this warring country for a ride. If the nation is united and bargain strongly, no one can fool us.
This is one of the most stupid articles written on N-Deal. Bidwal character is the first cousin of Karat. Govt of any country has the executive power to enter in to a deal. All the developed and developing countries in the world who have close alliance with US have benefitted. They have become prosperous. Even BJP wants close ties with US. More than 61 years after independence India still is a developing country because this country followed the stupid 'socialistic' growth strategies. It's guys like Bidwal who wants to take India backward for the interest of China which has strong influence in countries around us - Pakistan, Srilanka, Nepal, Burma. India needs to have its own strategic alliance. This is the need of the hour. Look, not a single terrorist attack happened in the US after 911 (2001) and muslim terrorists make India bleed several times in a year. Are we learning anything???
Can we all who read rediff articles and post messages start a healthy debate on whether the NDEAL is good for india or not. Pls provie pros and cons.
First of all, lets start with what exactly is this deal and what are the terms and conditions etc etc.
then we can move over to pros and cons.
Since I have been following this topic I am hearing both sides of the story.
While left parties and other people are worried abt this deal, I read an article that one of US senators said that deal is totally one sided in favor of india and if this deal goes thru rite now India has nothing to comprise.. and it will have all the liberty as far as N programme is concerned.
So initially I was against India signing this deal but honestly now I am rite in between and in dilema...
RE:IMPORTANT-- N DEAL Good or Bad ??? --Your thoughts
by Sandeep on Jul 19, 2008 08:27 AM Permalink
Actually, BBC which has generally very independent reporting also has a discussion on this: "Some critics who have seen the draft have said several points in it appear to restrict international monitoring of India's atomic programme. " " Critics of the deal fear assistance to India's civil programme could free-up additional radioactive material for bomb-making purposes. "
Clearly this deal should only benefit India in catching up in electricity generation which is becoming a bottleneck in manufacturing and by extension help further improve standard of life etc. I have not come across one convincing reason to say N.Deal is bad for India. Some people have ideological differences, some are simply poor mis-informed folks, others have obsolete knowledge, some too idealistic. Do a quick research on reasons people give to stop this deal and you will see how shallow those are.
According to this report, what the deal gives India is:
1. a close but unequal political and military partnership with the US ---
GREAT - coz practically that is true and good for India.
2. erode India's foreign policy and strategic independence and make New Delhi complicit in Washington's disastrous plans to retain its global hegemony
HOW? WHY? what strategic independence is compromised?
3. normalises or legitimises India's nuclear weapons
GREAT - as an Indian, I will take that.
4. India will only put 14 of its 22 civilian reactors under IAEA inspections. From the remaining eight reactors, it can produce 200 kg of plutonium a year -- enough for 40 bombs
GREAT - as an Indian, I will take that.
5. As far as energy goes, it's another Enron in the making
RE:Read between the lines
by All Right on Jul 19, 2008 06:52 AM Permalink
What favors you, you say GREAT without understanding... it might actually not be that great, coz you didn't take the trouble to understand it...
AS to what is outside your comfort zone, you are too eager to understand.... :)
Keep going... you are on the right path of learning.... just ensure that learning should be a complete learning, and not partial one, as your journey seems to be...
I said "Great" on three of the answers above. On #3 and #4 I understand the concerns of nuclear proliferation and the concerns about global peace and the other lofty ideals preached by the west, which I must say, they have not followed up on so far. I see no reason why India needs to follow up on the same until India is on a equal footing with the western nations.
As for #1, I said Great coz the writer pits India as almost equal (close) in a political and in a militray partnership with the US. In neither case, are we any equal. If with this deal, we are going to get close, (obviously unequal), then yes, it is advantageous for India and to me. I think it is a great step forward.
As for the rest, it is not quest for knowledge or the right path of learning etc; it is simply to ask the writer to put the facts forward for the rest of us, that he has based his Enron theory and the foreign policy theory. No nation can blackmail, force, push, prod or thrust their opinion on any other nation. It is only upto India to take whatever foreign policy decision that India needs to take once the deal is signed, sealed and delivered. So, I dont really agree with the absurdity of those claims above.
by Sahadevan KK on Jul 19, 2008 12:02 PM Permalink
People of entire India will dance and explode crackers when MMS govt fall down. People have no hope. UPA became Untruthful Purchase Alliance. Peoploe will praise the Left who beaten this govt.
Congress is in a pathetic way, because Congress has to distribute 25 crore to its own MPs, because they are against pappu MMS. He goes with lallu Bush without those MPs permission.
We again say that MMS and Company are selling our country. Who gave permission to Congress leaders to give classified advertisment, "India on Sale"? Legal experts say that an Italian Sardar cannot sell our India.
by CatchTwentyTwo on Jul 20, 2008 01:05 PM Permalink
IF your point is personal and something that needs you to show me and to the world that you understnd things too well and that you are superior to me and to the rest of us, Indians, ok.. no problem... I will concede that to you. Yes, you are the all knowing saint.
Now, what is your point about the nuclear deal as that is what I am concerned about here. IF there are any concrete reasons why you are for or against the deal, list them out and we can discuss it more.
We all know that all indian parties are corrupt and power hungry. They act in their self interest. We should also not that, the LEFT are not only corrupt but also anti-nationals. Dont forget the support for China during the Indo China War!. They never act in the interest of the nation. Manmohan Singh was only one who atleast see what is good for the nation but this guy does not have a base. To get the things done with the crooks and Thugs the UPA has to do all the dirty work. Remember all Indians deserve to have 24/7 electricity! We are a nation of shame!
take a break..ur fingers must b tired of typing garbage which only u and commies would read. I sometimes wonder what makes one think so stupid and top it up by publishing on a website. hats off to you man