Total 127 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Energy Independence
by vikas sethi on Aug 21, 2010 08:45 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

There r many options to energy sources and no 1 is denying that. But even with the contribution of different energy sources in the most liberal fashion, India will be energy deficit in terms of availability. The only way to meet this deficit is to import energy.It is clear that when you import energy in the form of fossil fuels, you will have to keep importing it for all time to come. On the other hand, if you import that energy in the form of uranium, you can recycle the uranium used in the reactor because it contains a lot of energy value. In fact, you get more and more energy out of the same fuel. So it becomes an extremely valuable additionality to our indigenous programme as we have a significant multiplier of energy production on the basis of our three-stage programme. We have only a limited quantity of uranium and we can set up only 10,000 MWe of PHWRs using this uranium. But when you recycle this uranium and adopt the three-stage strategy, you can go up to 200,000 MWe. Likewise, whatever uranium we import, we can bring in a similar multiplier on that uranium.This is moving towards energy independence.

I do understand some people resist change as they lack foresight. But change is for the good which will be realised after a few yrs.

Re: Energy Independence
by vikas sethi on Aug 21, 2010 08:46 PM  Permalink
MMS will be remembered just like his economic reforms for changing the face of India.

India is signing a nuclear treaty and a lot will be done in this area in the coming years. We will be leading in nuclear technology in the world and soon it will be time to introduce nuclear engineering courses in engineering classes. In future, Indian engineers will go to the US and build, create and operate nuclear power plants.

RE:time for pay-in and pay-out
by galilio on Jul 21, 2008 02:21 PM  Permalink
IAEA predicts nuclear power generation will drop
to 13% by 2030 from present 16% as most of the countries scarping their age old plants or not
investing big amount to put up a new generation
plant due to heavy investment and fuel supply problem. Then why MMS shows interest? USA will
supply their old dismandled power reactors in new reconditioned way to india and will get rid of old nuclear reactors which otherway can not be disposed off.Congress will get suitcases for sharing with amar/sibisoran ect. greenpeace is against putting any nuclear reactors worldwide
and stopped successfully france expanding further power production.only public appointed
committee must examine in details about this deal and not MMS/SONIA/RAHUL ect.

Keep off from horse trading
by Gopal on Jul 19, 2008 10:41 PM  Permalink 

All these kala-bulee is for the sake of just 10% max of total energy at a total cost of 3 lakh crores of rupees scheduled to be spent in 20 years crippling the financial system of India. The waste disposal and safety against radiation hazard is the biggest problem -technically and financially. Twenty years from now Uranium will be a rare material!! The congress is in for any kind of back-door deal to gain support from anybody in the parliament.

I hope there are some congress men still there who can influence the leadership to change the attitude.
It is unpardonable to divide society vertically for the sake of a N-deal -'sign-off' of our sovereignty and freedom. All the good works done by congress will be made opaque by this single act. Let the present congress leaders emulate the old generations of congress leaders who lead freedom movement. At the moment I can only pray to God to give them sense and allow them to think without prejudice and biases.

Why this 'undue haste'?

Let a VIDURA be born in congress to guide them.

Prestige of an individual is nothing when we talk of NATIONAL INTEREST.

Avoid number game. Uphold values in public life.

Keep away from HORSE TRADING!!

Probable drama
by Ram Sharma on Jul 18, 2008 10:25 AM  Permalink 

Sonia, MMS, PC all get worried, when inflation crosses 8%. PC says he will reduce inflation by various fiscal methods. These methods fail. Inflation rises upto 11%. UPA & Left all r worried. Someone suggests, why not to dramatise the nuclear issue. Before that MMS had said that nuclear deal is not everything and the deal got delayed. Now there is imaginary fight between Left & MMS on this issue. MMS raises pitch and Left withdraws support. SP immediately comes to UPA's rescue.

End result - PC used to get nervous every Friday due to rising inflation. Now he is no longer worried. It is not an issue though inflation is nearing 12%.

Due to delay in pursuing nuclear deal, the deal seems already dead as far as the present President of USA is concerned, as there is election for next President and it may b impossible to pass the deal through US senate. However MMS & Left must keep the issue hot as long as possible. So they decided to take a time of about 15 days to prove UPA's majority (Earlier in a similar situation President had asked NDA to prove majority in 7 days. But now the President is also a dummy of Sonia.)

There is nothing to hurry, as this US President will not b able to do anything now, June was his deadline. But the next US President will also sign the deal, as it is very lucrative for US businessmen. If we hv patience, we may even get a better deal.

Great drama.

nuclear deal
by murty on Jul 17, 2008 08:06 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

When we explode our nuclear and thermonuclear,devices the world will put a ban on accessbility to advanced technology.We have seen the effect of this.The LCA project was inordinately delayed.There can be no. of similar prjects quoted including the our own nuclear programme.Every business has a lobby,whether indegenous or imported.Then why now all these objections.Do we use these nuclear bombs. If it is only deterance, have only minimum force level of deterance.The nuclear isolation will be avoided by this deal.The deal will be good for India.Go ahead and sign it

RE:nuclear deal
by galilio on Jul 21, 2008 02:10 PM  Permalink
Heavy investment to 40,000 crores running parallel to problems of supply of fuel,disposal of spent fuel and reprocessing,high cost of electricity, accidents of radiation similar to three miles and chernobyl and other reactors in japan will run risky compared to thermal units

which use only coal.coal supply from indonesia

is plenty and prices are stable always except on freight changes.in short india does not want

to trust shekhs mullahs and moosalmans in arab

sitting on oil wells but now MMS decide to trust

pope,cross holding pastors,vatigan oppusdei,CIA

who are more dangerous to our country.

Re: RE:nuclear deal
by vikas sethi on Aug 21, 2010 08:45 PM  Permalink
Galilio,
There r many options to energy sources and no 1 is denying that. But even with the contribution of different energy sources in the most liberal fashion, India will be energy deficit in terms of availability. The only way to meet this deficit is to import energy.It is clear that when you import energy in the form of fossil fuels, you will have to keep importing it for all time to come. On the other hand, if you import that energy in the form of uranium, you can recycle the uranium used in the reactor because it contains a lot of energy value. In fact, you get more and more energy out of the same fuel. So it becomes an extremely valuable additionality to our indigenous programme as we have a significant multiplier of energy production on the basis of our three-stage programme. We have only a limited quantity of uranium and we can set up only 10,000 MWe of PHWRs using this uranium. But when you recycle this uranium and adopt the three-stage strategy, you can go up to 200,000 MWe. Likewise, whatever uranium we import, we can bring in a similar multiplier on that uranium.This is moving towards energy independence.

I do understand some people resist change as they lack foresight. But change is for the good which will be realised after a few yrs.

Hidden motive
by Gopal on Jul 17, 2008 07:01 AM  Permalink 

The manipulation behind this deal is to stop our effort to develop Thorium technology. By going with n-deal all our financial resources will be drained. We will not be in a position to give serious thought on Thorium. Remember stock of Uranium in the world is depleting fast, reaching the end-point by 2070. It is not far. The present projected target is 40000MW in the next 20-30 years. It is an unrealistic projection, in my opinion. There may be some thought of PREFABRICATED PLANTS for the plants to speed-up the commissioning. A disastrous thinking for the nation. Think of the radiation hazards connected with it. By that time Uranium will reach near its end point. Then what is the need of the deal? The nuclear deal is for getting Uranium. Then question arises-what is it for? The aim of the western powers is to take away our (60% of world deposit) Thorium at their dictated price. Our leaders should be intelligent enough to read these facts. All investments made for building Uranium based plants will be wasted. Should we waste such a huge astronomically large investments?

Money for Election
by BahujanHitay BahujanSukhay on Jul 16, 2008 06:03 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear Friends, it is well know fact that every election needs money. Ruling parties can get money through developmental work’s percentage. But it is not always sufficient and they need some big financers. In last election Congress got Petrodollars through Oil-for-Food Scam and made Mr.Natwarsingh scapegoat. Although Congress was in opposition but they came into power with the help of this petrodollars and Mr.Natwarsingh was rewarded for his work with External Minister's berth. This time, Congress is dying to in-cash American dollars through this nuclear deal. Earlier, NDA (BJP) got some percentage in American dollars to initiate dialogue about this deal. Their leader Mr.Pramod Mahanjan was in-charge of this financial boosting for which he was murdered by his own brother. Thus, unless and until Indian people demand transparency in election money this type of deals will emerge and we will think of Patriotism etc..

RE:Money for Election
by Sandeep on Jul 16, 2008 10:28 PM  Permalink
Conspiracy this conspiracy that no solid facts.
Maybe if nothing was done for the country by anyone some people will be happy.

RE:Money for Election
by arshad mirza on Jul 16, 2008 06:42 PM  Permalink
Food for thought..hmmm...conspiracy theory...hmmm..looks like very close to reality..

Is it Big Business? Absolutely!!
by Hari on Jul 16, 2008 05:50 PM  Permalink 

What a silly question?? The Americans stand to gain billions of $$$ for this crap of a deal and also our UPA and the Congress leaders have got many suitcases for themselves!!! Last heard that there was shortage of Suitcases in the Market!!!

india
by prabha on Jul 16, 2008 05:08 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

US likes to invest in india and make money in future that was bush's plan.To sell his frozen tec market in india he needs energy otherwise in power cuts he can't make profits out off it.He is very cunning. our relaince group is trying to help them too.Why you didn't approach 5years before? Where is this USBIC went? You need to make money from india through your business.Who are you? Are you a messanger for US to cheat your own country. Shame on you nooyi.All countries wants to invest in india because they knows that india is growing sure they can make big profits out of us. Indian politicians please don't let this to happen. Help inside indians to grow.

RE:india
by Girish Rao on Jul 16, 2008 05:18 PM  Permalink
another nutty socialist, who thinks big business is evil. You do now want big business to invest and want Indians to remain poor. If big business commits some harakiri do not blame them, blame the politicians who allows rules to be broken for money.

by prabha on Jul 16, 2008 05:38 PM  Permalink
Yes you like CO"s like indra nooyi because through big business she is making indians to drink this sugar poison pepsi and generating more diabetic patients you fools? Why spoiling poor people? sell it in your families and die it for that.

by Sandeep on Jul 16, 2008 10:07 PM  Permalink
History has shown only big business is succeeding in these times. With their success, the people around it and by extension country also benefits. Even CPMs master, China has relaized it and is rapidly privatising.
So nothing wrong with big business. It needs some regulation though..
Anyways, you can end up all the wierd conspiracy theories about any and everything.
Even computer is big business now. Thank your stars there were some who were not blindly opposed to big business and you cna type whatever you want.
What do you think is your plan though?

Look at the Positives
by All Right on Jul 16, 2008 03:46 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

There were only 2 accidents - Three Mile Island and Chernobyl and that happened decades ago. So safety standards have improved.

Secondly, like IT it opens India to be a major player in the nuclear market. Our technology is cutting edge. The only place we trail is uranium. That too will change when our fast breeders go operational since we have abundance of thorium and the process converts into uranium

The author of the article is known nuclear dissenter. We can ask him, why he did not quit
Bhabha Atomic Research Centre and instead retired as its head. Couldn't he had made a point while in service? Why now? Are egos involved or is he a commie or knickerwallah?

RE:Look at the Positives
by Ram Sharma on Jul 18, 2008 10:20 AM  Permalink
Easy to criticise anyone who criticise n deal as 'commie or knickerwallah'. 'commie or knickerwallah' r the only people who hv some principles. All others, incl Congress, r controlled / dictated by a person or dynasty.

RE:Look at the Positives
by Girish Rao on Jul 16, 2008 05:19 PM  Permalink
he is typical hypocrite angry Indian, only knows to criticize but does not have any guts to change anything. Typical excuse for not doing anything daring is mere do chhote chhote bacche hain)

Total 127 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>