Maharashtra does not have power, Andhra does not have the power, most of the states are facing dark days and dark nights, this power shortage is destroying industries, Globally petrol prices rising, it will take at least another 40 years to develop thorium based technology. there is no alternative. We need energy and that too very fast. When China can enter into 123 agreement why our Lefts are opposing it. When Japan can enter 123 agreement, why the so called Right is opposing it?
RE:Foolish move by RSS and BJP will destroy Indian industries.
by R K on Jul 12, 2008 09:09 PM Permalink
the deal could have been pushed through in 2006 itself had the congress wished it then. why now? Reason left withdrew support is something else. who would like to be associated with inflation, price rise, farmer suicides and face the electorate 6 months down the line. this came as an opportunity for them to make a honorable exit. for congress who cannot find a solution to the above problems suddenly wanted to be more patriotic than all others. BJP as the opposition party will oppose. they are seeing a clear opportunity to make a come back. as for RSS you seem to have not read the full article. I appreciate their views. they have done this without taking sides. RSS still remains opposed to leftist ideas.
by Debanjan Das on Jul 12, 2008 07:48 PM Permalink
Idiot Left Rules best where people are living in dark Ages.If u r rich - then it is their concern-if u r poor - it is their benefit.So make peopel remain in poor!!
by Bronson Bronson on Jul 12, 2008 08:20 PM Permalink
You are 100% correct....thats the ideology of Communist! When India Tested Nuclear in Pokaran, they said it is against the Human Race, but, the same party wanted India to vote in favor of Iran...your quote simply answers it all....
by Ganesh Krishnan on Jul 12, 2008 07:54 PM Permalink
dear DAS, YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT. ONE COMMUNIST LEADER IN KERALA ASKED IF ALL THE YOUTH TAKE UP STUDIES SERIOUSLY, WHERE DO WE GET FLAG BEARERS FOR OUR PARTY.
We really thought u were nationalist parties with good values.Infact still an admirer of Modi and Atalji.By making such comments you will be going far from logical majority who found faith on you and your aprty as saviour.For Heavens sake use CPIM but don't sing with them.Learn from Congress - for benefit of country they are using they are using SP-they used CPIM.These parties are insect breed them and then kill them.Hope BJP doesn't become an insect soon atleast to educated Hindus.It pains reading your comments.
RE:I really feel ashamed of BJP and RSS :
by Calspadeaspade on Jul 12, 2008 07:57 PM Permalink
Well said Debanjan. It is despicable RSS is stooping so low. Commies should be treated with total contempt. They have no power but only tooth ache potential. RSS people still do charitable things.
If BJP votes with Karat, It will be presumed by the people of India, that BJP has started leaning towards the leftists, and Chinese who are killing indian industries without using a single bullet. BJP is generally pro capitalist party but they are showing their opportunistic attitude and thus opening themselves before the Janta.
RE:Opportunists walking into the trap laid by the lefts.
by Prem Mohan on Jul 12, 2008 07:42 PM Permalink
The BJP will loose its middle-class support if it persists with its antics.
RE:Opportunists walking into the trap laid by the lefts.
by Debanjan Das on Jul 12, 2008 07:51 PM Permalink
Exactly-I don't kno what has happened wrong with BJP!!Why does not Modi and come over and take Advaniji or the other Rajnath!!
They are fools and showing their foolishness. BJP will loose very badly in the coming elections because, people have started buying the theory of more energy. They are opposing for the opposition sake.
RE:Fools.
by ANAND TEERTHA on Jul 12, 2008 07:54 PM Permalink
Mr.Chokshi, look Cong-I lead UPA government has been showing dollops and announcing one subsidy after another at the cost of the honest tax payer but it has been losing one state after another and BJP has been on winning spree. And look at chnadrababu Naidu he was after IT and IT ruined him electorally, because all these middle class voters did not turned up to vote for his party!! Similarly, these very middle class voters will re- read writeups on N-deal and understand that N-deal is very costly with beggarly benefits after 20 years just 5% of the total energy contribution to the national power grid!! It was said that half baked knowledge is most dangerous and hence we should not jump to the conclusion that the N-deal being signed by minority government Indian and disctredited Bush government both are in poll mode.
by SUSHANT SINGHAL on Jul 12, 2008 07:50 PM Permalink
Calling someone names reveals how shallow a person you are. Rediff should not allow commenters to call others names in the name of discussing policies. But this person is not discussing policies at all !
by anil mahajan on Jul 12, 2008 07:54 PM Permalink
Mr Chokshi, Before opening your mouth, pls check the facts. The govt may fall because of the withdrwal of support by the leftists. It was the BJP who had done most of the ground work for the deal. The Congress should have taken all political parties and the public into confidence but they were acting so arrogantly as if they had 500 members in Lok Sabha. Even then they needed to take the nation in confidence. BJP had some concerns on deal but the govt did not do any thing as if they are the only party working for the interests of the nation. If the govt feels that the deal is in national interest, they should thank BJP for that. As for leftists, they have there own ideas. It is a fact that they are against engagement with USA and not the deal. But this fact was known to every body including the govt when they took there support. UPA has enjoyed power for more then 4 years with the support of left parties. It is UPA which keeps on changing its stance from time to time but leftists are always firm on there position, right or wrong. So what is the problem with the govt. It is in fact not the deal but congress wanted absolute say in every thing despite lacking punblic mandate for that. Why did the govt not open the deal to public and have a proper debate in parliament as also different forums. And they put secrecy clause in that. This secrecy matter was started by the British to serve there end and is being abused by the present govts for there purposes. What is secret in thi
by Vikas Bhatt on Jul 12, 2008 07:47 PM Permalink
After an investment of nearly 2 billion per reactor and 15 eyars before those energy generators operate, do we have that kind of money to give such expensive energy to our masses for a deal that will only serve 7% of our energy requirements? Our fiscal deficits will be severely strained even as we struggle to invest enough money for strengthening public education and healthcare.....Remember the members who control Nuclear technology in NSG have not set up more reactors for mroe than 15 years now themselves. If Nuclear energy is the way than why are the controlling developed nations not converting all their power needs to same?
by R K on Jul 12, 2008 09:27 PM Permalink
Let BJP lose. but u seem to be more pain than the BJP. everybody said the same thing during all the recent assembly elections and got different results. Lets wait till the elections are announced, every vote is cast and counted. dont u think it is wise to comment then.
by Calspadeaspade on Jul 12, 2008 08:00 PM Permalink
People dont give a dam about the deal. They have no clue. They will realise it when they get electicity. But what will determine election results is the general economy and security.
by Sachidanand Shetty on Jul 12, 2008 07:49 PM Permalink
Congress party brought down BJP's govt in 13 months without any reason, after that also can't make the govt, country goes to poll within two years. BJP govt's nuclear test also not supported by Congress. Now the want support from BJP for N deal. Why should BJP support sense less Congress?
The BJP is not fully against the deal, first you understand!! it wants to renegotiate certain class, but from first day onwards congress ignored the BJP even it did not include the co ordination committee, instead it included left.
the problematic area is the inspection of our areas even without our knowledge..
We want to develop our thorium, which cost is low and abundant in India. but America wants that India should lick them always for wanting of uranium!!
what will happen to our research till date? what about the mentality of our scientists? is it sin to develop something on our own?
In 2032 our power requirement is 8 lac megawatt and thru this deal we only get 30 to 40 thousands MW, then why so much hurry?
Mr. John, if you write without knowing this fact, you understand from this. if you speak from minority angle abusing BJP, no one can help!!
But for the difference in the appeasement policies of each of the political parties, i do not find anything significantly different. The degree of the vote bank appeasement is the Sole differentiating factor. Therefore it will not be a surprise if BJP Left decide to go together.
RE:Politicians can go to any length
by R K on Jul 12, 2008 09:32 PM Permalink
both left n BJP were opposing congress... left has a reason:US BJP has a reason: congress. both have decided long back to oppose congerss party. nothing strange in it. this happened even before during narasimha rao's govt. bjp was the opposition party. on many things which bjp opposed, left was also opposing it, just because being in the opposition they are all used to opposing for the sake of opposing. just see if BJP comes to power, they will see to that the deal is pushed through by hook or crook, just becuase it is now their turn to push it through.
RE:RE:Karat has reasons to fume, says RSS
by R K on Jul 12, 2008 09:34 PM Permalink
i want to know whether these condoms were spotted, ribbed, ringed or something like that...