RE:welll go ahead with the Deal
by All Right on Jul 09, 2008 08:21 PM Permalink
It is projected as anti-Muslim as the agreement is signed with Bush who is an object of hate in the Muslim world. But then he is also an object of hate in all other worlds and even in the US. But the fact is, that he has been good for India. If it weren't for Bush, our outsourcing industry would have closed down by now.
We must understand the NSG was constituted by the Bush Administration as a reaction to Pokhran II. After NSG was in place our uranium supply, spare parts etc were squeezed and this is the principal reason why our nuclear plants are operating at below 50%. If the Pokhran II did not occur, we do not need the deal.
The US controls the NSG and because of this even China needed to enter into a deal with the US. Now the Bush Administration wants to reverse their policy with regard to India. So the deal. Once we receive NSG waiver, we can trade freely with any country in the world and not exclusively with the US
by Shekhar on Jul 09, 2008 08:40 PM Permalink
The left should have younger leadership to understand what is good to the present generation. The old leadership is still in cold war era.
by ItsMe on Jul 09, 2008 08:22 PM Permalink
the NSG will agree only because US will influence them. US expects that decency from India that they will do 123 with them after US "influences" NSG to welcome India. So there is a US connection. If they are ditched, they can influence NSG again to go against us.
Congress is fooling the public that time is running out. It may be signed even after bush regime. But congress want to divert the attention of people from inflation, afzal guru issue, terrorism issue etc.
RE:Congress fooling the public
by All Right on Jul 09, 2008 08:32 PM Permalink
Anything is possible? Can it be signed as it is or on better terms after Bush? Not very probable considering the eventual Presidential winner - Obama was a major critic of the deal
RE:RE:Congress fooling the public
by All Right on Jul 09, 2008 08:32 PM Permalink
Anything is possible? Can it be signed as it is or on better terms after Bush? Not very probable considering the eventual Presidential winner - Obama was a major critic of the deal
I'm thoroughly confused. There are 45 nations in NSG group? That means there are 45 nations that can produce and supply enriched Uranium? Or, am I missing something here? I know that India has lot of Uranium or some other radio active metal's ore that can be used in fission reaction and subsequently produce energy. My question, India doesn't know how to extract and enrich from the ore, whereas there are 45 nations around the world that can do it?
RE:Need help!!!
by Sher Bahadur on Jul 09, 2008 08:19 PM Permalink
Actually India has a lot reservoire of Thorium not Uranium. India has limited amount of Uranium availble. So it requires the Uranium from other countries for it's reactors as well as technology is required for making advance reactors.
by Welcome on Jul 09, 2008 08:26 PM Permalink
Can’t we use Thorium? Even that’s a fission material. Even if it is less efficient, it's better to use Thorium rather than going through the painstaking international politics, regulations, safeguards, etc. unless we don't have the technology to use it.
by Sanjay on Jul 09, 2008 09:14 PM Permalink
India has plenty of Uranium for its planed nuclear reactor and the three stage program, but the failure of government’s inability to provide for the basics. We are in tropic having plenty of sun but still no solar power, we have plenty of coal but it does not get mined like uranium because of too much bureaucracy, corruption of Babus..We have plenty of people capable of teaching yet schools run without teachers. We have third class roads, but plenty of labor. We need so many hospitals but lack of governmental interest. What about clean water and other basics?
Government is of scoundrels whose only thought is how to loot. Since the time of Mangal Pande that he had to pay a cut which went to the British officer who became rich and then moved Back to Britain. Since that time such an abomination that looted and killed his own people were called the British Babus/Coolie, from the richest nation to the poorest, from the most educated to the most illiterate, from the most prosperous to famine ridden. After independence not one loyal servant who swore loyalty to the crown was fired, Nehru a true prot� of Mount Batton having affair with his wife allowed all Babus to infiltrate our country with their vile culture. Again another aspect of this Nehru did not allow one person from Indian National Army who fought for our independence to join military service. Only coolies were respected by Nehru who created a Coolie Raj.
by sachin sharma on Jul 09, 2008 08:30 PM Permalink
Thats partially true..while India is Uranium rich, the mining and extraction capabilities are limited. Commissioning these milling needs would take time, especially given the red tape. In the long run, domestic Uranium resources should suffice, but with the growing power needs, importing enriched U is the best option.
Kudos to our PM as his one historical bold step has taken India closer to the Deal. But the bumpy roads are ahead for its to take a final shape. In all probability US Congress is not possible in the present set up as IAEA Board of Governors would take their own time to approve. Besides, NSG may also take several months but in the meantime, US Congress which needs 30 days to clear the deal, would be winding up the business in Sept early. But once the IAEA clearance is obtained, it is possible to bring the NSG countries around to supply the required nucler materials to India's starving reactors. However, for US companies to supply, they need the Congressional nod. This may take sometimes. All said and done, the deal would clear the deck for the NSG members to supply to India which otherwise would not be possible. Thanks to the bold step taken by the PM, this hurdle would soon be crossed. But the first major hurdle being the Govt to go through the Trust Motion in the Parliament which will arms the Govt with some authority. If not, it will again go to the cold storage and the next Govt which has the political will to do it alone could muster courage and sign the deal. Till then one has to keep the fingers crossed as the number has already begun in the capital. SP is a divided house with so many of its MPs have revolted against the decision to support the deal. Mayawathi is up against Mulayam and play a game or two to disturb all calculations. All these would upset UPA Trust move.
RE:kando
by Guest on Jul 09, 2008 08:26 PM Permalink
Advani is a cheater - He did Ayodha and showed he was for Hindus - one shld not forget India is a democratic country and belongs to all Hindus, Muslims, Sikh and Christians. Congress is not doing this discrimination at least under MMS raj - Advani is a person who suppports hatred and such ppl need to handged till death
Nuclear Deal was one of the agenda of BJP which they couldn't do - Congress laid the foundation of Nuclear test but nuclear bomb was ready only when BJP came into power. It was all their luck and BJP didn't felt ashamed taking the credit of Congress - Now if this time, BJP backs, request you all to thrash BJP so hard that they don't get a single seat if election happens bcos of them making the govt fall - they shld work for best of India and shld not have passed No Confidence Motion - At least my whole town is not voting for BJP in next election - which has around 10 lakh citizens - i will take out rallies to support Congress in next Election in my town.
RE:kando
by Guest on Jul 09, 2008 08:26 PM Permalink
Advani is a cheater - He did Ayodha and showed he was for Hindus - one shld not forget India is a democratic country and belongs to all Hindus, Muslims, Sikh and Christians. Congress is not doing this discrimination at least under MMS raj - Advani is a person who suppports hatred and such ppl need to handged till death
Nuclear Deal was one of the agenda of BJP which they couldn't do - Congress laid the foundation of Nuclear test but nuclear bomb was ready only when BJP came into power. It was all their luck and BJP didn't felt ashamed taking the credit of Congress - Now if this time, BJP backs, request you all to thrash BJP so hard that they don't get a single seat if election happens bcos of them making the govt fall - they shld work for best of India and shld not have passed No Confidence Motion - At least my whole town is not voting for BJP in next election - which has around 10 lakh citizens - i will take out rallies to support Congress in next Election in my town.
Neculer deal/123 etc. and over oall the last 4years of MMS Gov. if we see all ther acts in totallity they have given a body blow to our socity the effects of will will last for enerations and non will have the guts to undo it for political reasons. It is clear to all the political Parties to day that singal party rule at the center is not possible in our country for at leat a decad and all the partiers since 80's have acted in a manner that the new government is unable to function fteely by doing the acts in such a manner that expenses and laws enacted acts agenst it. First it was the IMF and the runaweay inflation that we still see, then RBI bonds through SBI, befor it Mundal and the stage they will reach is 'Kamadal' eltemantly. Law of the licienced goon is clearly vesible,daily murders iare the order of the day, judgements now are coming after a generation and in future it will be three,as such the cost of even approaching the corts is beyond ordinery persons ( because magistrat courts starts with 15000/- and 10 years and High cour its 2lac and 30years, suorem cours is but lucky draw for public)OUT TODAYS POLITICENS ARE BUT FILLING THER OWN POCKETS SELLING OUR COUNTRY- pL. WAKE UP FELLOW CITIZENS AND START ACTION BEFOR WE ARE AGAIN ENSLAVED......DESA.RU
RE:Karat
by All Right on Jul 09, 2008 07:59 PM Permalink
The only commie that could have occupied the chair and could have done a good job of it, Jyothi Basu was stopped by Karat to taking the job. Basu called this a historical mistake.
Karat in 1-2 years will be lucky to retain his post as Gen Secretary of the CPM. I am sure, dissent within wil oust him
RE:Karat
by All Right on Jul 09, 2008 08:05 PM Permalink
But I doubt your mindset will suit the BJP. It is better you undergo therapy and then decide whether politics is your call
Dear, you have pointed out what the Critics of this deal have been missing. May be they knew this, but just to oppose it, they did not discuss it. What seems simple is, If we get exemptions and clearance of nuclear trade from NSG, it is not binding on us to BUY anything from the US ONLY. The market will be open for us. Get what you like and that too at very competitive price from any of te NSG member