Amar Singh a night owl has become a laughing stock. His comparison of Advani with Bush is very amusing.It is certain that SP has written its political obituary along with Cong-I lead UPA government so early.
RE:Amar Singh laughing stock
by Loan Shark on Jul 05, 2008 07:26 PM Permalink
In fact, SP may get a lot of milage out of it .. they may be able to strengthen their lead in UP over mayawati, if they enter a poll alliance with congress
RE:Amar Singh laughing stock
by ANAND TEERTHA on Jul 05, 2008 07:34 PM Permalink
Well Mr.Loan Shark, SP might be day dreaming. Mayaweati is much more intelligent than the SP lunatics.She does not have the jealous feeling while SP is a fish out of water and are clueless how to pin down her.Earlier also may political parties in india chanted 'keep BJP out". But BJP ruled this nation for nearly six years!! This time around I feel that after lok sabha elections it will be a hung parliament and an opportunity may be available for the BJP to keep Cong-I OUT !!
does any body really think that the left will withdraw support...they ar enot going to kill the golden goose..they will find one way or the other to maintain support....80% chance is the statement will read "to prevent the communal forces(read BJP) from gaining strength we have decided to continue support to the congress government, we are not one issue party, we have to see the broader agenda...and keep the communal forces out of power and strengthen the secular forces(and keep on reaping the fruits of the golden goose)
All the arguments in favor of nuclear deal are childish, foolish and potentially dangerous for India's future.
Nuclear energy is three time more expensive, uranium prices like oil prices are going through the roof, nulcear plants are always in danger of sabotage, damage by an earthquake, and most importantly uranium comes from only a few countries ( Russia, Canada and Australia) ( and news to ignorant big font posters in this forum, USA does not mine uranium and imports its uranium from Russia).
Nuclear supply group can cut off uranium supply any time it wishes, deal or no deal. What will India do if supply is cut off? There are 42 countries and all have veto power.
Will MMS and Sonia go around the world with begging bowl asking for a few grams of uranium?
Lastly, a message to those who think US would make India superpwer----come out of your fantasy land. USA would keep India down as much as possible and worse India will be used as a vassal state like Pakistan. USA is not interested iin friendship with India- they have said it many times over. Who is Bush's best buddy?--Musharraf who was invited to Bush's weekend place near Washington DC
Stop this nuclear madness it is nothing more than Mungeri Lal ke Hasin sapne
RE:Jaldi karo Jaldi karo in nuclear deal- fools rush in where angels fear to trade
by Tushar Sharma on Jul 05, 2008 07:48 PM Permalink
Wind enery, Solar Energy.. Hydro power plant... Jo ham kisi ki daya maya ke bina bhi bana sakte hai... uske bare mai souch..
We have to use coal, uranium... but above this is free and unlimited. one time investment and then only reap
RE:Jaldi karo Jaldi karo in nuclear deal- fools rush in where angels fear to trade
by Sam on Jul 05, 2008 07:24 PM Permalink
Dude.. you are a moron.. whatever reason might be.. india needs nuclear power to satisfy its huge energy needa and u cant simply rely on gasoline as prices are soaring up and will remain so in future. US will not make india superpower and why they heck even US bother to do that. Bush has not married indian woman..so whatever.. the case might be or interest of US.. its still undenying fact that nuclear power will be in need in energy sector.. so lets get mutual benefit..in all the cities there is power cut of some times more than 12 hrs.. its sick to live without power and not to mention productivity loss as well..
RE:RE:Jaldi karo Jaldi karo in nuclear deal- fools rush in where angels fear to trade
by Hate Who divides on Jul 05, 2008 07:40 PM Permalink
Brother what do you think .........MMS sign the deal and then there will be no power cut .............. what do you think Nuclear Power Plant Installation is same as installing Windows or LInux on PC ............ It will take more than 5 years minimum estimation .........There is no guarantee of supply too ................ You talked about power cut that is due to lack of planning of govt on energy side ....... and aove all this will definetely make dependencies on US with restriction toooo ..........Go and study the outcome of similar deal with Ukraine and US ........... you will definitely get idea ............If not psychaitric only help you
RE:RE:Jaldi karo Jaldi karo in nuclear deal- fools rush in where angels fear to trade
by Sameer on Jul 05, 2008 07:35 PM Permalink
Sam,
Inida needs energy--nuclear energy is only a small segment of total energy. Even the most enthusiastic supporter of nuclear deal ( considering everything goes smoothly), India will not have more than 7% energy produced by nuclear power. Nuclear eenrgy is not the solution to India's power needs.
by ANAND TEERTHA on Jul 05, 2008 07:25 PM Permalink
Mr Sameer you are correct. In india all our existing nuclear power plants performance is below 50% !! And generating electricity thru coal is in shambles due to lack of stocks in the backyard of power generating plants!!All said and done we were told that our growth is around 9%. And after getting N deal also our growth will be 9% or 10% !! It is really funny to go for very expensive Nuclear energy courtesy UPA government lead by many idiots with just 1% growth target!!
by Loan Shark on Jul 05, 2008 07:23 PM Permalink
LOL ... you know nothing about the potential of nuclear energy. Even McCain has put nuclear energy on his agenda, although Obama is yet to come on board with it.
Nuclear plants have high installation costs but low operational costs. Nuclear fuel is cheaper than coal for the energy taht it produces and plant cost amortized over its life, makes nuclear energy cheaper than energy from coal.
Besides, nuclear energy is environmentally friendly as it does not release the toxic carbon dioxide into the atmosphere.
by Hate Who divides on Jul 05, 2008 07:33 PM Permalink
he he good joke ............... no carbondi oxide only powerful radiation which can cause cancer .......... we know about the potential of Nuclear energy ........we know about Tsar Bomb
by Sameer on Jul 05, 2008 07:33 PM Permalink
Sharky, we have gone over this hundred times. One more time- example of Finland nuclear plant- it is costing 20000 crores for 1000 MW plant. (This plant is subsidized by nuclear industry as it is a show case for revival of nuclear energy)..as compared to Coal or gas based plants which cost 4000- 5000 crores. How will India afford it. Do you even know what is India's total budget?
Second, tarrifs in France, which has 75% of nuclear power, are close to 8 rupees per unit( equivalent in Euros) .
India cannot afford it.
Aur tu begging bown laker niklega jab uranium nahin milega?
SP grabbed the finest chance in this political melee.It has seen the advantages looming large on the horizon.Left is now left with nothing.Their behaviour on the Nuke deal is very strange.Gas line through unpredictable surface areas such as warlord rules pakistan areas and Isreal threatened Iran lines seems to be OK in the place of civil nuke energy inside our own land.Strange are the ways of politics.Left who saw itself as anti communal, has pathetically coloured itself with some thing time will prove them to very wrong. Their stubborn opposition to nuke deal is giving space for speclations among the general public about their real intentions!!!. Finally, Congress has pulled a smart one. BJP is in squanders . They are busy on the streets with communalised issues.As of inflation, I challenge any media chap to give a switch on switch off solution to control it. General public are aware that both PM and FM and RBI too are well geared to control it and the process is already on. Media is spreading misgivings based on their political lineages.Very sad for the country.Thanks.
RE:trust vote
by Krishna Chaitanya on Jul 05, 2008 07:28 PM Permalink
The relevance of supply and prices of oil is irrelevant in this matter as most of oil in India is used for transportation only. Moreover the supply of Uranium is also not without problems as the reserves are expected to last only 85 years. Further nuclear technology has the most flat learning curve and cost incurred increases with time, unlike other technologies / products. Even US, France and Russia are not way ahead on the nuclear spectrum; building reactors is fraught with cost and time overruns while some parts are manufactured by only one firm in the entire world and have a lead time of 6 years!! It looks like India can't go anywhere with the nuclear deal. If someone has facts that counter the ones above, I will be glad to be educated.
by menda vijaya on Jul 05, 2008 07:36 PM Permalink
Few thousand crores are worth for 85 years cosidering your estimate.When there is huge NSG and Indian technical capacity I think it is worth a try.We have been running civil reactors and theyre was no complaint.So what could be the problem now?Ad thanks for reacting to the above notes mine.
by RAVINDRA NATH on Jul 05, 2008 08:02 PM Permalink
`the reserves are expected to last only 85 years`But how long you want a new reactor to work for it become feasible? Increasing the cost is true of not only in nuclear processing but also any other industrial activity.But what you mean by `cost incurred increases with time`? It is also not expected that our full need of power will be met by this nuclear deal, but only supplement it.France meet its power need to the extent of 95% by Thermonuclear process.
Our political parties stand for principles. Now Samajwadi Party has discovered that 'communalism' is more dangerous than 'imperialism'. In fact the theory of 'secularism' or 'communalism can always be used for political alignments and dis-alignments. The debate is never on real issues. Keep it up.
RE:Communalism
by All Right on Jul 05, 2008 07:13 PM Permalink
The NDA is in fact an alliance of a "Communal" led BJP of "Secular Parties. The UPA is an alliance of "Secular" Congress many of its members where formerly part of "Communal" BJP led NDA.
So knickerwallahs crying opportunism in SP-Congress link up is in fact smacks of hypocrisy.
Unless we give a single a party a majority, these kind of alignments are something we have to live with it.
by Sanjiv Yadav on Jul 05, 2008 08:05 PM Permalink
Our politicians need two things corruptions and filling their pockets. The don’t care what is the future of India if they do treaty with USA on nuclear deal? If USA does not even have enough storage of uranium then what kind of nuclear deal is this? I can understand if you tie up with that country that had enough uranium. Then it makes sense. USA is never in favour of India!!! About the gas pipeline through Pakistan.. it would be the worst thinking for future. You think opponent country can let it be smooth if something wrong happens in future?
by Prem Mohan on Jul 05, 2008 07:19 PM Permalink
Khadiwallahs are worse than knickerwallahs! Please don't base your opinion on personal invective.