If India goes ahead with the test and forgoes the uranium supply from NSG, then it's India's choice.
Even SEBI rules for IPO clearly tells us that if a company raises money from the market for a particular purpose, the company should use that money for that purpose only.It can not divert that money for something else.
Here we are talking about Nuclear materials !!!
There is no rocket science involved here to understand the process !
If India picks up Nuclear Technologies and raw materials under 123 agreement, then India must use these for civilian purpose. Not for military purpose.
For military purpose India would secure resources from different sources, not under 123 agreement.
I do not see much hazard in this.
The politicians are only opposing for their own vested interests.
Besides this,the future of Nuclear Test may be in the lab itself, now that people are becoming environmental conscious.
This would actually create a greater divide amongst scientifically advanced countries and not so advanced ones.
Think which side are you.
Are you a scientifically advanced country or (let's say) a future rogue country like syria ( hypothetically speaking ) ?
Infact it might just be in favour of India, if the World goes for strict ban on Nuclear Tests.
India would stay in the exclusive club, for a long time to come.
Think strategically.
Take your own country's strength and weakness into account.
RE:We are nobody's slave. This deal is good.
by prabhat mohanty on Jul 03, 2008 09:50 PM Permalink
- Let's not parrot what a street politician says in a roadside corner meeting.
They would change their colour at the slightest pretext.
RE:Don't drag Kalam saheb in your dirty communal politics.
by desh videsh on Jul 03, 2008 10:08 PM Permalink
Dont remember him doing anything else other than helping Amitabh getting out of his financial worries,
RE:Don't drag Kalam saheb in your dirty communal politics.
by prabhat mohanty on Jul 03, 2008 11:28 PM Permalink
- He does all horse trading and receive all "artis" from Anil Ambani for SP.
SP said, communalism is a bigger danger. That is for sure. But who are the forces? SP is a rabid communal force, it even allows a fanatic muslim minister to issue fatwa against Danish cartoonost. What our country has to do with Danish man? People have not forgot Maulana Mulayam days, when he butchered hundreds of Hindus marching peacefully. Then, Communists asked SP not support the deal, as they loose muslim votes. Congress revoked a small piece of land for Hindu religious purposes, only to appease few fanatic muslims. Now, look who are the communal forces.
RE:SP, Communist, Congress are real communal forces
by GGG on Jul 03, 2008 10:25 PM Permalink
you better knows who are anti indian (because you are literate)
RE:no deal
by JI HUA on Jul 03, 2008 09:44 PM Permalink
than why apart from cong. BJP and shiv sena said they will accept it if they will be in govt and also Dr. kalam accepted it
RE:N-deal
by JI HUA on Jul 03, 2008 09:46 PM Permalink
it is right now we are losing about 10 crore rupees daily because of not signing it which will go up several times more in 2010 (expected loss will be around 1000 crore rupees per year delay)
RE:Sir Kalam
by padmakshi amma on Jul 03, 2008 09:13 PM Permalink
I have already mentioned this in rediff last week in response to another similar discussion regarding nuclear deal. Why every one so confused. Sir Abdul Kalam is the one and only person to give an imparital and authentic view on Nuclear deal. What ever he says, every one has to accept. More than him, no one else love our country so much.
by Sastry on Jul 03, 2008 10:04 PM Permalink
without suspecting the credentials of the respected former president, I think we should appreciate the simple fact that there are equally competent and patriotic scientists and persons of eminence who are against the deal for several other reasons. So it is not necessary that the view of the former president and scientist should necessarily be correct. Although I do not claim any eminence for myself, I have two simple questions a) Why should we not have a similar treaty with Russia or France who are more trustworthy than US? b) Is there is any quid pro quo promise from the Indian Govt to buy everything from the greedy US and bail out its capitalists from our hard earned money.
by Bharat Kr on Jul 03, 2008 09:22 PM Permalink
Kalam is not a nuclear scientist and expert. He was a missile engineer. Just because, he is a scientist and a former president, does not mean his words are Veda-vakya (God's words). The fact is that the deal in its present form are not our nation's interests. It will ban our future nuclear test and weapon program upgradation. Do you want this? Do you want China invade us and colonised us? US will not come that time to help India.
by Meenakshi Sundaram on Jul 03, 2008 09:26 PM Permalink
Dear Bharat Kr, are you a nuclear scientist or another commie from kolkatta to criticise the deal in totality? Please do not discount the knowledge and experience of Kalam.