Total 116 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7   Older >
Rush before its too late
by Aroop Dhar on Jul 01, 2008 10:23 AM  Permalink 

The heavy downpour of the morning gave me an indication that things wont be good in this overcrowded city. I wanted to leave for office asap to avoid the traffic jams and the overcrowded buses (I take the BEST route).

Wading through the waterlogged streets of santacruz, I managed to get a bus at about 8:40. The roads were surprisingly free, and I reached the Worli office by 9:15..Guess things worsened only after that.

I prefer being an early bird on such days!!

Hats Off to all those bus drivers n Conductors
by ilesh savla on Jul 01, 2008 10:23 AM  Permalink 

Was on my way from chembur to nariman point.there was watter logging at sion n matunga.Was abt to get down but the bus driver asked me not to walk in the waters as it would be painful n dangerous.I remembered that i lost my uncle n my best friends father during july 2006 rains.He assured me that we will reach our destination may what happen and he did.Seriously hats of to those Guys....

Stay in House
by ghansham khudabadi on Jul 01, 2008 10:21 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I got the 7.56 AMB train and got stuck at vithalwadi & came back. No trains towards CST from KYN AMB BADLAPUR KARJAT.

RE:Stay in House
by Sameer Arshad on Jul 01, 2008 10:46 AM  Permalink
RAIN RAIN GO AWAY COME AGAIN ANOTHER DAY...This suits to Mumbai Rain.
well iam iam working in New york...but i love Mumbai, as this is my City. ummmmmm Mum

Andheri Flooded (SV Road, Andheri Market, Subway)
by Fahed Zariwala on Jul 01, 2008 10:19 AM  Permalink 

I tried to go to my office which is at the Airport, i stay in jogshwari west. Took SV Road and went on my bike till Andheri subway but it is flooded and so is andheri market so i cameback

FROM ANTOP HILL TO LlOWER PAREL
by Guest on Jul 01, 2008 10:18 AM  Permalink 

Hi, I left Antop Hill at 9 am and reached Lower Parel in slightly over half an hour. This may be ten minutes more than the regular time taken - there is water logging in a lot of places beginning with the Wadala flyover slope on at the St. Joseph's School end. The roads parallel to harbour are also slightly waterlogged between Wadala and Sewri but motorable. After that if you take the inside roads like Parel Tank road and the Chichpokli railway bridge to come to lower Parel all is okay. After reaching office, we were told to take an off as very few had turned up!!!

Not surprising
by anoop padmanabhan on Jul 01, 2008 10:18 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Congratulations to BMC for doing a wonderful job of clearing the storm water drains well before monsoon. Thanks to BMC everyone is enjoying the biggest swimming pool in the country

RE:Not surprising
by vidhan bhartia on Jul 01, 2008 10:29 AM  Permalink
What can the BMC do ???

Lets stop blaming BMC.Water gets logged because of :-
1. We are living virtually at sea level so at the time of high tide there is no place water can go.
2. Garbage blocks the drain points on the roads.
This is only in case of first few rains,after that the garbage is flushed out due to pressure.if u observe even last year this had happened.july 26 was one off day and we should stop cribbing.
enjoy the downpour.
Good rains will result in good yield and inflation would come down.

vidhan bhartia

by anoop uppot on Jul 01, 2008 10:49 AM  Permalink
Thanks for your comment. But I believe this high tide event takes place everyday and not only when it rains heavily. BMC could have flushed the drains with high pressure and not waited till the rains fill up all the drains. What is your opinion?

by vidhan bhartia on Jul 01, 2008 01:15 PM  Permalink
1. i dint say that high tide is causing road blockages.at the time of high time,water from the drains doesnt flow into the sea.

2. as far as flushing the drains is concerned, drains get jammed ue to garbage & plastic which is on the roads etc flowing in the drain due to water.

in this regard,drain pipes with more width have already been installed all along LBS marg.

Heavy traffic due to rain
by Guest on Jul 01, 2008 10:14 AM  Permalink 

Hi I am malkesh working in adheri m.i.d.c. area due to heavy rain. I am come to my office by walk in heavy rain. And also andhri subway is ful fllow with water. so in andhri every were you found water

thanks

Feeling Romantic
by bharat on Jul 01, 2008 10:10 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Whenever it rains heavy, my GF & I lock ourselves in the house and get real real naughty! Today seems to be the ideal day to get naughty again. I'm going to switch my phone off. No one dare to ring my door bell!

RE:Feeling Romantic
by omkar kale on Jul 01, 2008 10:15 AM  Permalink
Good idea, just njoy...,
Mereko bhi angadaeee aa rahi hai...

RE:Feeling Romantic
by Niraj Prasad on Jul 01, 2008 10:24 AM  Permalink
dhakkan kya ulloo bana raha hai ... when you are acting naughty tab tumhare aur tumhare GF ke parents kya kaan band kar ke bahar baarish dekhte rahte hai

Me toooooooo
by Sandeep Aggarwal on Jul 01, 2008 10:09 AM  Permalink 

Hi all. Well for me it is the first experience of this. Mumbai has become a good swimming pool... I came early in the office...and look I am the only one here...Great..
Bhaiyon tairna seekh lo...
Raj thakre truly loves and cares for North Indians..Mumbai Chhod Do!
He should be awarded UP Ratna.

Total 116 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7   Older >