I was in Sion School at 6.00 AM to reach my child. It was not heavily raining then. By 7.00 AM it was pouring like cats and dogs. I went home and had break-fast by 7.30 AM; was little drenched. Took BEST and reached SEEPZ by 8.40 AM. As usual, I noticed only MIDC area, near new Akruti Bldg, was having knee deep water. Highway was clear.
RE:As usual, MIDC Andheri (East) was having knee deep water
by subhash marathe on Jul 01, 2008 11:45 AM Permalink
Today it's everywhere in mumbai heavily except SEEPZ,andheri
Today morning I headed to Office, Nariman point from Govandi as regular. I saw heavy rain pouring down the road. More than one and half feet water logging on the road . Its very diffcult to walk. I came to Govandi railway station, it's was very crowded . I wait for approx. 45 minute for the train (Every day i have to wait 4-5 minutes)then the train came i get in with hard effort . It halted nearly 25 minutes between Tilaknagar station & Kurla. Then it moved & halted 15 minutes between Kurla & Chunabhatti. Then it moved & halted between GTB Nagar & Wadala then again it moved. It moved and halted. Like this it take 2 hours to reach V.T.If our government have put the proper drainage system for water flow , then people would have not effect it. People lost their lives beacause of water logging everywhere.
RE:Heavy rain in mumbai on 01.07.08
by Raj Thackeray on Jul 01, 2008 12:17 PM Permalink
Your English is very good. I wonder where you work at Nariman Point.
RE:Heavy rain in mumbai on 01.07.08
by nikhil vaidya on Jul 01, 2008 02:44 PM Permalink
pendyaa, are you teaching the queen's language here? ever heard about the scholar in a fisherman's ferry, chiding him about lack of knowledge on scriptures, even told him that half your life is wasted.... when a storm was sinking the boat, the ferryman asked the scholar if he knew how to swim; then told him that his full life is wasted. poor you.
What is Shubha Raul doing? Sena's leader has big dreams for Mumbai, rather during this crucial season she only focussed on hooka parlours!
The roads were so bad today! The highway was jammed, the link road and SV road at Mumbai western side was flooded. I got through only because on second thoughts (God's intervention) I did not decide to take the usual road and instead chose to come to Bandra via link road. The worse thing was only one side of the road was flooded. This shows poor road planning and drainage work. There was not a single outlet for the water to flow out! The dividers in between were so packed that there was not a single outlet for the water to flow to the other side where there was no water at all. I have a video of the situation I could send it to rediff!
HI ALL, INSTEAD OF POINTING FINGERS AT THE GOVERNMENT AUTHORITIES AND THE BMC, IT WOULD BE OFF GREAT HELP, IF ALL U YOU GUYS,GIVE US LATEST UPDATE ON THE WATER-LOGGING CONDITIONS AND AND AROUND U, IT WOULD BE A GREAT HELP FOR ALL OF US. AM SORRY IF I HAVE HURT THE SENTIMENTS OF ANYONE. THANKS, GOD BLESS
RE:LATEST UPDATES
by Anurag Katriar on Jul 01, 2008 11:37 AM Permalink
P.D'mello road near wadala, sewree and reay road is quite water logged. There is quite of water on Ambedkar raod too near parel/lalbaug area.
Me and my GF shruthi went to VT station to go to bandra ,while going it was fully raning and both become wet on the road,Look around nobody in the rainy today,We had a nice kiss today on the road Near VT station,unbelievable..Cannot forget this day.
RE:Nice rain
by Royal King on Jul 01, 2008 11:41 AM Permalink
And you can also now sleep with your GF on the road, as nobody on the road, or else somebody will sleep with her and you will have to watch the entertainment.
It was first rain since i opened my paan ki dukaan... that street was narrow and in rain, it gets flooded with rain and sewer water... she came out to do her purchasing in mall near my shop... and rain started... after finishing her shopping when she came out to the street, the street was full of sewer and rain water... she requested me if she can sit on my shop until rain stops, as her driver can not drive in to pic her... she sat just besides me, she was white and in blue suite... some times her hand touches me unknowingly due to limited space in paan shop and some times i use to touch her knowingly ... hehe ... her perfume was a kind of "too hard to resist..." ... i prayed to God to keep on raining for my entire life.... but unfortunately rain stops after 2 hours and as soon as water logging gone she called her driver to pic her ... she said "Thanks" in english and waved her hand for me after sitting in the car... I never saw her then after... but she will be remain with me in my memories for my rest of life... whenever rain comes it reminds me for her... may be some day she will return back to that mall and i will get a chance to see her again...
We were on way to Pune on a officla visit that had to aborted. Thanks to severe water clogging all along near Goregaon Highway and Aary Coloy.
I don't know till when?? we will keep facing this problem. Are we saying no one in Mumbai administration understand a better drainage system. Answer is NO! Frankly water flows inside the people's houses in Mumbai while all the money allocated for improving drainage system flows inside the corrupt Politicians and respective civic bodies officers POCKET.... We have no escape from this mess ever....
It is a shame that the first time ever since last 10 years , i have seen such water logging at the highway at vileparle. BMC work has turned from bad to worst. Stop building more sky scrapers. it is request from this common man . Regards Anup
RE:heavy water logging at vile parle highway
by Jessica Monteiro on Jul 01, 2008 11:43 AM Permalink
this is the same BMC run by the Shiv Sena that has been voted into power year after year by our Mumbaikars for not doing anything at all! We blame the Congress Govt. at the state who change once in 6 years, the SENA has been ruling BMC for 10 years in a row and this is the outcome of their work!
I feel time has come to make the process of awarding contracts more transparent and accountable.
Do away with the sealed tenders and make it a public auction process with a clause that if something like this happens the contractor will not be paid a single rupee and the babu who awarded the contract will loose his job!
BMC Spends crores every year to desilt mumbai drains. But waterlogging is never avoided. A little rains and traffic & trains are thrown off gear. Agreed Mumbai receives more rainfall in a single day than a few nations receive in a year. But its the government responsibility to find a way out. Move the offices to Navi Mumbai, that is the easiest way. Once the courts , the central govt and the State govt offices are move d to Navi Mumbai automatically congestion on Mumbai roads will reduce to half. Instead the govt is creating more problems for Navi Mumbai offices by introducing powercuts , Higher licensing fees etc
RE:BMC is helpless , the alternative is to decongest mumbai
by Royal King on Jul 01, 2008 11:39 AM Permalink
Alternative is to shift UP & BHIHARI people to their home town, then the problem will be solved automatically.
RE:BMC is helpless , the alternative is to decongest mumbai
by RAM PRASAD on Jul 01, 2008 12:05 PM Permalink
and then there will be no one left to clean the drains any longer. Even in summer you will have water logging
I can recollect the incident. I was in my client's place ner mumbai cst stn andin the afternoon, i saw people running aimlessly towards rly stn. even mobiles and landlines failed and internet connection went dead all of a suddend. I boarded the 16.04 hrs bandra local from mumbai cst to reach home. unfortunately in reay road stn, a tree fell on the rly pentograph and we all had to disembark. the water was nearly 3.5 feet high outtside rly tn itself. from 16.30 till 19.00 hrs i walked across d'mello road -rak marg and finally reached the fag end near kings circle fly over at 19.15 hrs. it was a horrific sight as people were forced to come out of home every where and people were stranded in trains, buses, taxis, private vehicles etc. The next 4 days I was forced to skip from going to work. Thats why when i saw water everywhere today I choose to skip work as i could not reach railway station and trains in main line and harbour are cancelled.