Total 96 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
Dismayed Sri Lankan Army target Tamil civilians. 20 Schoolchildren killed, 14 wounded as SLA attacks SchoolBus.
by Freedom on Jan 30, 2008 02:03 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

30.01.2008:

Dismayed Sri Lankan Army target Tamil civilians. 20 Schoolchildren killed, 14 wounded as SLA attacks SchoolBus using targeted claymore at Madu, near Mannar in Sri Lanka. SLA attack on Tamil civilians become daily occurrences being the silent casualties of current offence.

Few days back a northern airbase palaali was severely hit by Tamil Tigers where the Defense Secretary and Defense Minister returned back to capital coloumbo without landing after marginally escaping from a hit.

Day before yesterday a misadventure by SLA met with severe casualties killing at least 50 and harshly injuring another 150 army men.

What a helpless can do? But hit at soft targets like innocent civilians and tell the world that they are successful in killing fighters.

RE:Dismayed Sri Lankan Army target Tamil civilians. 20 Schoolchildren killed, 14 wounded as SLA attacks SchoolBus.
by national madraasi on Jan 30, 2008 02:23 PM  Permalink
dear DMK tambi,

u copy paste this article every 3 days in rediff.. nothin such has happened in lanka.. tamils in lanka, malaysia and TN will kick these LTTE and DMK,
jai hind

Let Albert...
by ksr on Jan 30, 2008 02:03 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Let Nelson mandela,albert einstein etc respect him-They dont know his over non violent approach-An approach where he asked ,on air, the Bengali Hindu women not to attack the Muslim rapists during the partition of Bengal-There are numerous such incidents-People who believe in non violence at all cost and abide by gandhi should ask themselves "will they reamin non violent if someone even kisses their sisters,wives?"It is impractical of what Gandhi preached-It is inhuman-People with self respect dont respect A-Z of Gandhi.I ask his followers-Why didnt he oppose appatheid in SA till he became a victim?

RE:Let Albert...
by Dheeraj Akula on Jan 30, 2008 02:14 PM  Permalink
Well said!

Non-violence is pure non-sense.

If people believe in Gandhi's ideals so much, how did so much violence take place during freedom struggle and why is so much violence taking place in our country all these years?

Relevance of Gandhiji
by Ganesh Parameswaran on Jan 30, 2008 01:47 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It is only to be expected that Gandhiji would be villified by his own men for that has been foretold centuries that a messiah would be disowned by his own men. The loss is not that of the messiah, though. It requires some intellect and maturity to have a peek into the greatness of one's kith and kin. Albert Einstein had it, Martin Luther King Jr. had it, Nelson Mandela has it and many millions in our own country have it. If a few don't have it, we can only wish them good luck and better sense, if not today then tomorrow atleast. The Mahatma would not be offended a wee bit even if all of us were to reject him, stop calling him Bapu, stop enjoying one day off every year in his name. Let all remember on this day, that the partition riots across the country stopped when he became a martyr.

RE:Relevance of Gandhiji
by Dheeraj Akula on Jan 30, 2008 02:05 PM  Permalink

"Let all remember on this day, that the partition riots across the country stopped when he became a martyr."

Ridiculous!

If what you said is true, then Nathuram Godse must be credited for stopping the partition riots.

immersion of ashes
by Ashok Gupta on Jan 30, 2008 01:42 PM  Permalink 

Is this symbolic that immersing the ashes of The Mahatma also signifies immersing the values and principles for which he lived and died.
Rather than all this fanfare it would have been better to learn from his teaching rather than the 2 occassions alloted to him in a year and during election time.

Gandhi's dress code
by Dheeraj Akula on Jan 30, 2008 01:32 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Gandhi used to wear minimum dress. He was scantily dressed like a poor person. What is the purpose of this?

Was he sympathising with the poor people of India, who can not afford food and clothes? Will his wearing minimum dress help the poor people in any way?

Was he setting an example for everyone to follow? Should everyone be scantily dressed like Gandhi?

When he went to UK to meet the British PM, there too he sat with minimum dress. What exactly did he hope to achieve?

RE:Gandhi's dress code
by Stone X on Jan 30, 2008 01:40 PM  Permalink
desperately hope that these are the last ashes and we hear the last of this great man...i am not blaming him but how he could take birth in hindu religion and this country that menas there has been some failure somewhere

by Junglee on Jan 30, 2008 02:03 PM  Permalink
Right mind and perception is needed to understand great men.

by Raj on Jan 30, 2008 01:42 PM  Permalink
Mr. Dheeraj,

Brother, I suggest you better read his writings. Though you are entitled to your opinions, have a look at his writings and it will help.

by Ganesh Parameswaran on Jan 30, 2008 01:54 PM  Permalink
I ditto Mr. Dheeraj.

Gandhi's fast
by Dheeraj Akula on Jan 30, 2008 01:27 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Gandhi used to go into a fast for every silly thing.

He used to go into "fast unto death" as a blackmail to achieve whatever he wanted. Isn't that silly and immature?

A mature leader influences and moulds public opinion. A mature leader does not go into silly blackmails like "fast unto death".

RE:Gandhi's fast
by on Jan 30, 2008 01:44 PM  Permalink
if he hadn't undergone fasting, you would openly criticing. It is He who have given you freedom of speech, thought. A democratic country where you can call your leaders'silly'.

by Dheeraj Akula on Jan 30, 2008 02:00 PM  Permalink

Ridiculous!

How do you say that Gandhi gave freedom of speech and thought?

What about millions of people outside India? Who gave them freedom of speech and thought? Gandhi?

If not Gandhi, Sardar Vallabhai Patel and Subhash Chandra Bose would have done that. If not them, somebody else would have done that.

Please don't credit particular individuals like Gandhi and Nehru for India's independence.

India's freedom struggle started much before Gandhi came into picture. Whether Gandhi's entry benfited the struggle or not is something debatable. We learn in our school textbooks about the great contributions made by Gandhi and Hehru. But that is only one side of the story. Perhaps the freedom struggle could have been better without him is another opinion, which is worth debating.

by amit mohan on Jan 30, 2008 02:12 PM  Permalink
There is a saying-little learning is a dangerous thing.Only a person with little knowledge and understanding of history can say something.The Kind of mass movement Gandhicould mobilise was first of its kind in History-It was because of Gandhis non violent method of peaceful resistance only India could acieve freedom without much bloodshed.It is the most common trait of Indians to vilify their own heroes especially the truly great ones

Indians
by Dheeraj Akula on Jan 30, 2008 01:22 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Somebody said, "Indians are emotional idiots". That is very true.

We are good in talking ideals, but zero in practising them.

RE:Indians
by Ganesh Parameswaran on Jan 30, 2008 01:52 PM  Permalink
But who prevented my dear Sir from practising the ideals? Let the good begin from you.

by Dheeraj Akula on Jan 30, 2008 02:22 PM  Permalink

I don't believe in his ideals, so I am not practising them.

I am talking about all those who praise him and his ideals, but do not practise them.

by Sahadevan KK on Jan 30, 2008 02:08 PM  Permalink
Hei Ram! Scapegoat of communalism.

Gandhi, Nehru, Sardar, Subhash
by Dheeraj Akula on Jan 30, 2008 01:18 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

India would have been better without Gandhi and Nehru.

Sardar Vallabhai Patel and Subhash Chandra Bose were one billion times better than these people. India would have been a much more prosperous and advanced country with them.

Gandhi's "non-violence" is most ridiculous non-sense. Gandhi himself died a violent death. So, where is non-violence? We Indians talk about ideals and think that is sufficient. Talking and practically achieving are two different things.

RE:Gandhi, Nehru, Sardar, Subhash
by Mohan Iyar on Jan 30, 2008 01:41 PM  Permalink
idiots like you are able express your views becas of ghandhiji. i am sure you can't give respect to your elders. better you go to road for begging. fool

by Dheeraj Akula on Jan 30, 2008 01:53 PM  Permalink
When India achieved independence, many other countries became free at around the same time - without the help of Gandhi or similar people.

So, idiots like me being able to express our views and our country's independence can not be credited to Gandhi.

by on Jan 30, 2008 01:45 PM  Permalink
if non violence could get you freedom, then you must have freed in 1857.

RE:RE:Gandhi, Nehru, Sardar, Subhash
by on Jan 30, 2008 01:46 PM  Permalink
If violence could get you freedom, you must have got the freedom in 1857

by sam disouza on Jan 30, 2008 02:21 PM  Permalink

shut up Dheeraj

When you say sardar and Subhash were better, you mean to say Gandhi & Nehru were good.

Shame on you

by Sivaraman Srinivasan on Jan 30, 2008 01:43 PM  Permalink
With due credit to Sardar and Netaji, Gandhian idealogy have been valued world over. It is truly a powerful weapon. It is just not non-violence, it was integrated in right proportion with non-cooperation; mass awareness; mass uprising; mass movement; self sustainability; involving women at every level of fight; Establishing the objective at diplomatic level etc.

It paid off. This strategy is practiced world over in some form or other today. South Africa; Abolishing racism against Blacks in America; Green Peace movement are big examples.

Violence would give quick results. But it will never last.

Yaa. Sometimes Non-violence has price in the form of violent death. But it does not mean that violence is the only solution. That is absurdity.

Mahatma Gandhi
by Rajesh Vyas on Jan 30, 2008 01:05 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Sir:

Today, it is sixty years since he was assaissinated by Godse.

Sixty years is a long time in a country's history. It is time we eneded our love affair with Gandhiji and put an end to the Gandhi obssession.

Afetr all, we have given only lip service to his views and thoughts and the Politicians have abused his legacy.

Short of going to his Samadhi on October 2 and January 30 every year littel has been done to remember him.

People have been fooled in the name of Gandhiji.

LET US PUT AN END TO THIS OBSCENE LOVE AFFAIR.

RE:Mahatma Gandhi
by Ganesh Parameswaran on Jan 30, 2008 01:57 PM  Permalink
If you are so offended by the very thought of Gandhiji, then stop enjoying a holiday on Oct.2 every year. Go out and help the poor, which you can do in so many ways.

by national madraasi on Jan 30, 2008 01:10 PM  Permalink
ya, u r absolutely right..

by Tataghata Mukherjee on Jan 30, 2008 01:17 PM  Permalink
The FIRST terrorist of INDEPENDENT INDIA is Nathuram Godse who belongs to the Pseudo Hindu ideology of RSS/VHP and now BJP

by sandeep beldona on Jan 30, 2008 01:26 PM  Permalink
Dont be judgemental boss you r niether godse nor gandhi to comment on it

by kedar bhide on Jan 30, 2008 01:35 PM  Permalink
the quicker we rid ourselves of this Gandhigiri..the better it is for India.

We should remodel our constitution based on the "Arthshastra" written by Arya Chanakya & the "Srimad Bhagavad Gita".

Only Then, will India be a prosperous country once again.

by Raj on Jan 30, 2008 01:45 PM  Permalink
have you read Chanakya Shastra and Bhagawad Gita?

or just posting messages just for the heck of it !!!

by raj verma on Jan 30, 2008 01:15 PM  Permalink
I hope at one time in your life you would express gratitude for this liberty to speak your mind.

father of nation for pak
by national madraasi on Jan 30, 2008 12:53 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This is good news.. Finally the ashes have been immersed in ARABIAN sea.
Native indians can live in peace now.. This name has been used and misused to the highest extent in the world.
He cannot be the father of a nation which was born millions of years back. He can be the father of pakistan as it was formed by lootin indian money, ripping the nation(courtesy gandhi).
He was a freedom fighter but not the father of the nation.
The british who could suppress the greatest of revolts in 1857 left due to non - violence? They lost everythin in II world war, hece prepared to escape.
His elimination was a bad thing, but was a necessity for the nation, else kanyakumari too would be in pakistan.
Jai hind.. Truth will prevail

RE:father of nation for pak
by Tataghata Mukherjee on Jan 30, 2008 01:17 PM  Permalink
The FIRST terrorist of INDEPENDENT INDIA is Nathuram Godse who belongs to the Pseudo Hindu ideology of RSS/VHP and now BJP

by willowtalk on Jan 30, 2008 01:22 PM  Permalink
No you are the first one.
Talk sense my friend.See the reasons behind the assasination.Then write.

by ravinder agrawal on Jan 30, 2008 01:18 PM  Permalink
well said, Gandhi ji did a great job for India, but this is true that post independance; his political stance was not in favor of India. It was only because of Sardar Vallabh bhai Patel ji that India stood united.

RE:RE:father of nation for pak
by c k on Jan 30, 2008 01:29 PM  Permalink
Our country has highest number of traitors and foreign agents of all parts of world.

by gabbar on Jan 30, 2008 02:17 PM  Permalink
ONE THING I WANT TO SAY IS THAT GANDHIJI IF COULD HAVE KEPT INDIA UNITED , WE WOULD NOT HAD PAKISTAN.I KNOW ALL MY INDIANS BROTHERS AND SISTERS WILL REALIZED WHAT I WANT TO SAY..IF INDIA AND PAKISTAN WERE ONE WE WOULD HAVE PROGRESSED MUCH BETTER AND BY NOW SITTING ON TOP OF THE WORLD.BUT PARTITION WAS A WRONG STEP. BECAUSE U SEE NOW BOTH THE COUNTRIES ARE CONTINUE IN TENSIONS AND THUS BOTH COULD NOT PROGRESSED THAT MUCH.

by willowtalk on Jan 30, 2008 01:11 PM  Permalink
I endorse your views.He cannot be father of nation. He never uttered the words "Hey Ram" when Mr.Nathuram Godse fired bullets at him. Read Godse's autobiography for that.He only uttered "aah".
Before worshipping him as a Mahatma, does anyone follow his principle of non-violence.We see violence and insecurity everywhere.
Godse assasinated Gandhi because he had no right to make 'sauda' of our country.Imagine the plight of Sindhis and others due to partition.
Gandhi had recommended the "visarjan" of Congress after independence.
When will we sit back and think realistically about national security and give up this false worship(political for some) of Gandhi ?

by national madraasi on Jan 30, 2008 01:14 PM  Permalink
good one friend

by Dheeraj Akula on Jan 30, 2008 01:16 PM  Permalink
Well said!

India would have been better without Gandhi and Nehru.

Sardar Vallabhai Patel and Subhash Chandra Bose were one billion times better than these people. India would have been a much more prosperous and advanced country with them.

Gandhi's "non-violence" is most ridiculous non-sense. Gandhi himself died a violent death. So, where is non-violence? We Indians talk about ideals and think that is sufficient. Talking and practically achieving are two different things.

by Sivakumaran on Jan 30, 2008 01:28 PM  Permalink
HI Guys,

The very reason why you are able to write and express freely right now is just because of few individuals who has put the country in that direction. Otherwise we would have been in another Pakistan. People who do not know Gandhi and or not read completely about him is not qualified to talk, although we all have freedom of expression, it should be informed one. And should not be for the sake of commenting. If you read Gandhi completely, you would definitely admire about his views on multiple things. He has been preaching Customer Satisfaction the mantra used in many corporates right now in those years itself, can you believe it. Just read about it, you would see how carefully he has chosed those words in that statement to make an impact.

Comment, you are free to do, but make an informed comment that would lead to healthy debate. Take care.

by Chirag Chandani on Jan 30, 2008 01:05 PM  Permalink
Are you out of your mind??

by national madraasi on Jan 30, 2008 01:08 PM  Permalink
hi chirag,

This is democracy and thoughts do vary..may be u did not loose any relatives during partition.. gandhi was busy fasting for muslims , when millions of hindus were murdered in pak and east pak..

Total 96 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >