Such news should not be openned to discussion board. There is nothing to be discussed on an elder person's death and some make crual and funny statements on the issue
I don't agree with you Cheryan Jacob, this need to be discussed here.
If you landed at Chatrapati Shivaji International Aipport, Sahar, Mumbai and have had to walk (for what seems to be a million miles) with or even without your hand-luggage before reaching the immigration counters, you will know the trials and tribulations faced by the international passengers arriving into this maha city ours.
That is the main cause of the problem. Breathlessness which leads to seizures and collapse. If I have seen it so should have our Custom officials and doctors !
There is a solution too. I have seen it in use other countries where passengers do not have to walk more than 20-30 steps -- they simply step on to thoughfully installed conveyor belts.
RE:please dont.............
by Neptune Agassi on Jan 24, 2008 03:38 PM Permalink
I agree with you cutlet, at the arrival lounge the gates are far away & people have to walk a long distance. I would be happy if there were conveyor belts, but would recommend that all people above the age of 70/75 should be provided wheel chairs without them asking for it and if they don't require they can refuse it.
RE:please dont.............
by K.L. Kashyap on Jan 24, 2008 01:46 PM Permalink
Yes I Agree. Such tragic personal misfortune should not be open to Message board. I am appalled at agressive language used by some of the readers
Firstly May Mr. Jagjivans sould rest in peace. Now to my point. His wife mentioned that her husband was suffering from Hypertension and had forgotten to take medication then how come their relatives are accusing the airport authorities of negligence. I have been travelling for a long time and have seen many international airports and Mumbai airport although is not all that shiny and flashy but it has got a lot of facilities that ease a passengers journey especially the flat seats in the departure lounge where all transit passengers or departing passengers can relax and have a small nap comfortably. There are international call booths, reasonably priced food stalls, i'm not sure about the toilets but it is similar to the one in Bahrain. it was an unfortunate incident and people must move on rather than crying foul.
RE:Not Airports Fault
by Kaushik Ganguli on Jan 24, 2008 01:29 PM Permalink
Mumbai airport has improved a lot after being taken over by GVK. I have recently been to South Africa and Johannesburg airport is far more chaotic. Cape Town is about the size of Bangalore and small. As for Bangkok's new Suvarnabhumi airport, there are lot of thefts out of check in baggage - as is common across the whole of Thailand where you have to guard your passport with your life. Heathrow has maximum baggage losses and New York airport is plain rude and unfriendly. So much for airports all over the world. The best in my experience are Dubai and Singapore. Riyadh is sprawling - the whole of Andheri West and East would fit into the Riyadh airport.
RE:RE:Not Airports Fault
by madan menon on Jan 24, 2008 01:43 PM Permalink
Your comments are positive and encouraging. Bombay airport has changed for the better. gone are the days when the airport was dirty and even drinking water was not available. Now we have one of the best airports in the world. Looks more spacious. Mumbai keep it up.
RE:Not Airports Fault
by talk cool on Jan 24, 2008 01:34 PM Permalink
Right on !!! You said what I was thinking. Actually I was surprised to see the comfortable seats in Mumbai Airport which I saw in no Airport
Mumbai airport authorities are one of the worst ever, last time, the bus which takes one to the plane caught fire and the driver refused to open the door, only when the passengers started to break the window to get out the driver opened the door.
well rediff what have happend to you, lots of people die everyday but nobody bothers, He was NRI that could be the reason to publish, well he was already 69yrs ,ab kya 100yr ka plan tha, well he was fortunate that he died at his country.
I feel sad to read this news but at the same time is it not the responsibility of the family members who has accompanied the passneger to take the advice of the Docotr before starting the Journey as the situation in the aircraft is totally different than in your vicinity. So next time you travel please take care of of taking your medicines on time and Please Please take the advice of your doctor before you fly.
RE:Sorry! But take care of your decisions
by rati wadhwa on Jan 24, 2008 01:07 PM Permalink
Yes I also agree with u .If a person is suffering from some ailment it is the duty of the concerned person & family to take care .it is just useless to blame the airport authirities .The airport can have doctors to assist patients but we cannot think that there will be all facalities of a hospital .So it is our duty to be carefull then to feel sorry later & get into the blame game .
RE:NRI dies at the Airport
by ashish bhagat on Jan 24, 2008 01:14 PM Permalink
it is not ulterior motives or anything else. it is just a first reaction in the state of shock.
RE:God Bless his Soul
by Hi, I am Ajay on Jan 24, 2008 01:12 PM Permalink
well jindgi to bewafa hai ekdin thukrayegi, maut apni mehboba hai ekdin gale lag jayegi
RE:why these oldies dont get medical check up done before bording a flight.?
by Anniyan on Jan 24, 2008 12:58 PM Permalink
That is a Fact, death alone is not a risk but aging too is a risk factor.
RE:why these oldies dont get medical check up done before bording a flight.?
by satish shinde on Jan 24, 2008 01:35 PM Permalink
if same thing had happened to someone in your family, would you replied in same manner?