This guy sounds to me like he has been paid off by our friendly neighbours to mislead the public so that any more R & D fundings are scrapped & we become totally dependant on imports. Witness the delays & arm twisting by our erstwhile "friend in need " Russia for critical equipments & tech. In today's world, nobody is going to support you unless we can develop on our own.
RE:Trojan Horse
by commander hans on Jan 18, 2008 08:31 PM Permalink
with a name like trojan horse..you sound more dubious than anyone...hope you arent actually what you are referring to?????
Does this editor know what he is talking.....? We should praise those guys working hard in DRDO... With their less salaries and no recognition for their work....
RE:how come rediff posted this on thier main page?
by pankaj mistry on Jan 16, 2008 02:22 PM Permalink
It's not about people in DRDO working hard. it's about getting results. It's time defence industry get's privatized like in US. Drdo should become a co-ordinating agency
RE:how come rediff posted this on thier main page?
by Rumale on Jan 16, 2008 05:22 PM Permalink
Well I agree with you regarding salaries, but recognition would only come if the show some results
DRO is filled with useless bureaucrats who call themselves scientist, one big reason is that they do not interact with any other scientists and are isolated from their peers in the name of secrecy, even the BARC lot are better than these useless fellows by magnitudes. these guys would not clear a basics physics course what are they going to build modern weapon systems.
I agree with the writer that DRDO has let the nation dow with no results or achievments to say in the last 2 decades. But a big challange to the organization is from within and beurocrate the funding etc. Im sure we have some brilliant people who choose to stay and work with not so good talent. And knowing Indias red tape Im sure funding and expertise would not have come when required most. Benefit of doubt will be given to the present team. First match salaries with the present IT industry standard across the board after vetting them, then you will see the results.
who is this joker? what does he know about technology - he must be the one cofused between IT and these complex technology - he must be one of those who is tied to US or other countries - no wonder he found a job as a lousy editor in a lusy magazie called IDR!
Pakistan's missile program??!! This has got to be the biggest joke of all times! Their missile program consists all of exchanging centrifuges for the Nodong and painting them green! and you guys compare the DRDO with those fellows!! Grow up and smell the grass! The DRDO worked during a tech-denial period and it has done wonderful work in which we had absolutely no expertise in !! Stop blaming them and blame the damn MoD! Compare the budgets of the IGMDP and that of corresponding programs in other countries! and the salaries of their scientists!!
RE:Farce!!
by on Jan 16, 2008 12:14 PM Permalink
this article is biggest piece of bull shit i've ever come across..Do you know prithvi and agni have lowest CEP for the missiles in their class.. crap, the author might not even know what a CEP is.. go get some tution child.
and yeah.. that pak stuff. i cant stop laughing. The fact is DRDO is doing a fine job with all the little funding that it gets..ever compared entire DRDO's budget with that of a single US programme or for the matter of fact that of CHINA's.. And yes.. for ARJUN being overweighted..u noe its the ground pressure of tank that actually matters and arjun's ground pressure is less than T-90.. so the T-90 is actually the sitting duck not the ARJUN..it will indeed eat a T-90 for a breakfast...army fears fielding its T-90s against ARJUN, coz they noe what the result will be and the criticism that army has to face afterwards :) and did u forget the latest ABM test.. ofcourse they were mere test, but how many countries have even managed those successful tests.. only 4.. not even CHINA.. and at last.. the main thing.. IGDMP was not shelved.. it was formally closed by DRDO..these fanatic, publicity carving journos want to make their living out of anything, even if it being on the cost of twisting the facts and misleading the people of this country
RE:Farce!!
by commander hans on Jan 18, 2008 08:35 PM Permalink
i dont know about making a living or not..but they sure are able to drive vermin like u out of their hovels.....
But only reason behind ISRO's success and DRDO's utter failure (from my point of view) is ISRO didn't have to deal with clients like arm forces. I think it is the passion for work, for R&D that few people are still there in DRDO, earning some few thousands to survive, and getting criticisms for their remarkable research. These people can easily earn in Lakhs by joining some MNC. In-fact I would suggest it is high time to stop all these defence R&D, be dependent on US or some supper power, and after sometimes restore colonialism, since we people have the inborn talent of being a %u201Cgood slave%u201D. OR else I would suggest if you have some talent try to use it for the development nation, be a part of DRDO try to turn its failure into success, rather than working as data coolies for some MNCs. OR else stop CRITICISING. The same implies to the author also.
What ever the problem reported in Arjun regarding electronics and engine is also present in T-90. Now that all the problem of Arjun are resolved and DRDO is insisting the arm forces to have a one to one trial, arm forces are just bunking out. In-face MoD had quoted - T-90 is maruti and Arjun is BMW with lots of a add-on features.
Another example I can give is regarding a weapon system which has gone for final field trial. As per specification given from army side the range of the system should be 25 kms. All the components, embedded softwares are developed with that specification. But now in final trial army wants to increase the range to 30kms. This seems to be ambitious from the part of army but from the part of DRDO the whole system re-engineering is required. So at the end this system is utter failure and after few days newspaper headlines will be coming %u201CDRDO failed in...%u201D. I think you people, who are dealing with clients would understand, what does changing specification after final release would mean and that too in a real time, embedded system. Not even god will be successful in these types of trials.
Frankly, I feel pity for the %u201Cidiot%u201D scientist who is trying to satisfy the arm forces, who doesn't understand the ABC of technology or systems, takes for granted that system from outside are superior then developed by DRDO. Its something like %u201Cghar ke murgi daal barabar..%u201D. DRDO has also got some good man power in-fact could be better than ISRO. But only reason behind
My dearest friends, its nice to see that people all over India are becoming conscious about defence R&D, composing articles and filling Guest Columns with criticisms. Its seems you people have done enough research on this topic, but its utter disgusting that you people are also behaving like army persons good for nothing except from criticizing. The author has rightly mentioned %u201Cmilitary lost 25 precious years and the taxpayers' nearly Rs 2,000 crore by keeping the IGMDP program%u201D . If this is the case why you people won't go and protest in Delhi to stop all these nonsense. I am sure the decision making body of our country will appreciated, since you are the taxpayers.
Actually things are not that bad, as mentioned in the article. I have got some %u201Cinsane%u201D friends who are still working in DRDO as scientist, sarcastically, dedicating their life for the nation. According to them it is the army, arm forces who is responsible for all these defamation. Just for getting some huge commission in arms deal they are too eager to get it from outside, good example are Bofors and Barak deals. It is the DRDO which stands a hurdle in their so called %u201Cambitious mission%u201D. And this is one of the reason arm forces defaming DRDO. One example I can give is regarding the ill famous Arjun tank. What I have came to know is arm forces are comparing Arjun with T-90. In-fact T-90 is inducted in arm forces without any trials. What ever the problem reported in Arjun regarding