Total 111 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
A ticking bomb!
by A B on Jan 14, 2008 11:20 PM  Permalink 

Anybody who has been to Burrabazar's markets have marvelled as to how the buildings are still standing. Take a lift in those architectural horrors and you feel scared that the whole place will come down any moment.

This was waiting to happen (remember the New Market fire some years back?). There is no maintenenance as much of the properties are litigated, the tenants don't care to repair or check the infrastructure as they are busy trading and making money, and the authorities are bribed to look the other way.

Every old market in the city is a hazard, and its fortunate that there have been no loss of life.

The tenants are today angry with the authorities. It is indeed shameful that a fire cannot be controlled in 72 hours. But a couple of questions, if I may:
1) The lack of fire fighting equipment and the state of what exists show lack of funds. If the tenants who are today hurt had paid their taxes, maybe the same money could have been used to maintain the equipment, that could have saved them. Will the business community in the city, which has made an art form out of evading its social responsibilities, learn from this, and pay their dues?
2) I am certain much of what is lost was insured. I will not be surprised, knowing the commerical thinking of the tenants of that area, if it comes out that they set the place aflame to claim damages. After all, these guys have been known for these stunts.

Till then, lets wait, watch, and pray.

Sabotage
by vsgiri on Jan 14, 2008 09:46 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

bangals are known criminals. India has spent more than acrore lakh rupees on these criminals. These are the ones who call themselves communists and spent crores on Durga and Ka;li puja. These are the ones which hate the non-bengalees like anything but pretend as if they are like honey. They have captured the media through their own men and doing lot of propoganda to promote their own people . They need to be punished.

RE:Sabotage
by abhay das on Jan 14, 2008 11:46 PM  Permalink
virtual standard gira hua hai vsgiri ka

by A B on Jan 14, 2008 11:01 PM  Permalink
Mr.Giri, you are a moron who morons will be ashamed of. Whats the point you are making on this forum? Did a Bengali elope with your mother, that you are so piss*d with them?

I am no fan of Bongs, but having spent a lot of time in that city, can claim that your accusation is completely wrong. Kolkata is one of the metros where outsiders have come to and flourished. Its a city with least hang-ups over language, religion, caste etc. I remember meeting this Marwari lady who after more than 35 years in Kolkata, could not speak Bengali, and had no trouble with that at all.

Kolkata is no Chennai - a narrow minded, provincial city refusing to speak in any language other than Tamil or English, or even Mumbai, with its Shiv Sena goons. Kolkata may be a ruined city these days thanks to the commie dogs, but there is no "hate" for non-Bengalis there.

Almost every second business is owned by a non-Bong (Marwari, Gujarati, Sindhi etc.), every taxi driver is a Bihari, and they are all living without fear of being an outsider. what is more, minorities and women feel safer there that in any other city, after the recent cases elsewhere.

If you get your head out of your a*shole, and live there, you will see the same.

by rajiv dutt on Jan 14, 2008 10:00 PM  Permalink
can understand from various posts that most people out here condemning kolkata unnecessarily are politically motivated. ruling party out here extend some crucial support at govt. formation at delhi. these people are concerned about that fact and therefore giving vent to their frustration by scribbling irrelevant and derogatory messages about one of the greatest place on earth (3 nobel prize winners, 1 oscar winner ....). Their comments are not at all out of concern for bengal. as a apolitical person i appeal not to portray bad image of kolkata unnecessarily. if you say kolkata is bad then whole of india is bad

VIEW SHOULD BE APOLITICAL IN PASSING JUDGEMENT
by rajiv dutt on Jan 14, 2008 09:27 PM  Permalink 

i can understand from various posts that most people out here condemning kolkata unnecessarily are politically motivated. ruling party out here extend some crucial support at govt. formation at delhi. these people are concerned about that fact and therefore giving vent to their frustration by scribbling irrelevant and derogatory messages about one of the greatest place on earth (3 nobel prize winners, 1 oscar winner ....). Their comments are not at all out of concern for bengal. as a apolitical person i appeal not to portray bad image of kolkata unnecessarily. if you say kolkata is bad then whole of india is bad

It is the internal politics of CPIM
by Rahul on Jan 14, 2008 05:03 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The leaders like carrot,kichidi etc doesn't like the rise of Buddha,because he is Industry friendly and wants to bring changes. They want to tarnish his image and because of it nandigram,BurraBazar etc....

RE:It is the internal politics of CPIM
by arp on Jan 14, 2008 05:32 PM  Permalink
Rom jal raha tha Niro bansri baja raha tha.CPM is busy with rally.What irresponsible leaders.

Hatredness
by vsgiri on Jan 14, 2008 03:52 PM  Permalink 

Hatredness has culminated into this act. Not unexpected

Kolkata Fire
by Anand YNI on Jan 14, 2008 03:05 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

These commies are GFN, you know what I mean. Good For Nothing. They can not ensure water supply to control fire in one of the main locations & they talk of opposing Modi's entry to TN! What a joke. All these party fellows should ber sent to join Russian Circus. They may fare better at least there!

RE:Kolkata Fire
by Chandan Pandit on Jan 14, 2008 03:47 PM  Permalink
Look at the internet & see the congested area it is. By the way this market was during teh congress days. What do you want the commies to do, jump in the fire? It is the fire department's job. I guess your state ministers are hired on fire fighting certificates.....if you knew what I meant.

by somnath mahapatra on Jan 14, 2008 05:14 PM  Permalink
The Hoogly river is 150-200 meter by walking and at max 1 KM by driving!! I dont know why there was water scarcity!! what if dumdum or some other part of kolkata catch fire!! god only knows.

@Chandan
I agree that its job of fire department!! and that is under government and If I am not wrong then there is a minister for the dept!! What our beloved CM did for these 3 days apart from souting at brigade ground? Taking for argument that he was monitoring the situation from home!! then where is the result??
He is the CM and accountable!!

by Kalyan Das on Jan 14, 2008 04:07 PM  Permalink
Yes we want the commies , the chinese chamchaas to jump into the fire

Yechuri and gang
by Totoman on Jan 14, 2008 02:35 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Yechuri and gang are pouring petrol into the fire (as they normally do ) ..that is why it is not getting put off..

Brindaji is busy organizing a conference on the
"The immediate impact of American mosquito bites on the impoverished people of third world countries "

RE:Yechuri and gang
by The DoN on Jan 14, 2008 03:32 PM  Permalink
ROFL :D

by Chandan Pandit on Jan 14, 2008 03:50 PM  Permalink
At least somebody is challenging the cause, else more Quattrocchi's will dissapear with teh undercut money.

by Vijay urf Teesmar Khan on Jan 14, 2008 02:38 PM  Permalink
Good. LOL.

by saurabh dugar on Jan 14, 2008 02:46 PM  Permalink
good remarks.but remember the fire fighters are suffering due to lack of advanced equipments.the heat and poison gases will affect them ....

by The DoN on Jan 14, 2008 03:31 PM  Permalink
ROFL :D

time
by arun premraj on Jan 14, 2008 02:23 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

kolkata metro takes more than 2 decades to finish shabbily...
now a building fire can't be put out in more than 2 days.. .
living upto its name...

RE:time
by LaX Ray on Jan 14, 2008 03:24 PM  Permalink
Kolkata metro was the first metro and there is no shabbiness there.

RE:RE:time
by rajiv dutt on Jan 14, 2008 09:20 PM  Permalink
these people take slightest opportunity to derogate kolkata at the pretext of condemning a party. what an irresponsible comment! I fail to understand what harm has kolkata done to them. they would not be living in free india today but for kolkata people.

RE:RE:RE:time
by for education on Jan 14, 2008 10:11 PM  Permalink
"not" cover up facts . . .

by for education on Jan 14, 2008 10:10 PM  Permalink
Rajiv Dutt - many young Bengalees are ashamed to identify themselves as Bengalees all over the world. This is in stark contrast to young Gujaratis who take pride in ientifying themselves as Gujaratis. This is what your Communists have done to the image of Bengalees. People have lost faith in future of Bengal as long as the Commies are in power. So they take every opportunity to call a spade a spade, and cover up facts as taught by your COmmies. Hope this answers your naive question.

by somnath mahapatra on Jan 14, 2008 05:17 PM  Permalink
arun please get your data corrected. Kolkata metro was one of the first metros in asia and finished with in time. (dont take the extention part as argument :) I agree that it is taking time

by Chandan Pandit on Jan 14, 2008 03:51 PM  Permalink
Arunji ,atleast you know what a metro is from Kolkata. Else you will still travelling on bull carts.

He He
by Totoman on Jan 14, 2008 02:03 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Mamta didi wants 1 lakh Nanos free than she would ask her cadre to collect water in plastic cups to douse the fire.

RE:He He
by Chandan Pandit on Jan 14, 2008 03:54 PM  Permalink
Totoman, you are the lucky few that Mamta didi whispered in your ears. Look at the site on teh internet before you comment.

by somnath mahapatra on Jan 14, 2008 05:17 PM  Permalink
it's 10 lakh not 1 lakh :D

by Hot Winter on Jan 14, 2008 02:25 PM  Permalink
Dont worry. BUPC ( Bhumi Ucched Protirodh Committee) along with Mamata is working day and night to put off the fire. Mamata is running (24 X 7) with a water filled bucket in her hand from the Hugli river to Burrabazar to put off the fire. So there is no need of CPIM Cadres to do it.

Total 111 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >