Total 313 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>
Nation building India ! is it will or lack of political will ?
by AMIT CHATTERJEE on Jan 12, 2008 11:38 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Comparison is made with equals but not amongst unequals. We as Indian love the word diversity and democracy as it is convenient for an indivual or a group of individuals to be in the mood of pseudo growth. Growth in India, is either skewed towards Retail, Software or Service sector, whereas Nation building demands that we look beyond and add real value towards Infrastructure, Heavy Industries and Core sector. We are myopic about opportunities and stare at small numbers as wonderful achievement. Industries are happy to deal in 100 crores as achievement while in the drawing board vision is shown in terms of 1000 crores. GDP growth of 9% looks alluring but its a bubble as core sector suffers. If we have to eliminate starvation, political will must score over petty will.But who will take this lead ? India is too bogged down with the dichotomy of diversity and coalition survival, not bothered about people on the road and reconstruction of a country.

RE:Nation building India ! is it will or lack of political will ?
by IndiaWiNS ALL on Jan 12, 2008 12:04 PM  Permalink
yeah I guess both the author and you are right.But,since I have had both the China and the India experience I can write.In India,we are looking in the world of diversity,but the attractions of the diversities are growing lesser by the day.I find people educated but still have closed minds to alot of things,be it sex,life etc.They have still based themselves on antiquated techniques of life whose logic(may be good),have been long forgotten.
China is another intrigue,no doubt.While they have their own set of antiquities,they are modern in some respect.
A fundamental thing that the author does not mention(may be due to communist background),is the hate they have built in their minds against many communities around them.They want Japan to disappear,Taiwan to be part of them,Tibet and dalai lama etc.And all of them are, as told by the author,part of the mind set of the educated and young mass of the country.
And for me,a groeing country that fosters that kind of attitude in ts youth can be dangerous when it becomes strong enough to march any political solution.And believe me,they love solutions a lot,an uncompromised one.

RE:Nation building India ! is it will or lack of political will ?
by Tathagata Mukherjee on Jan 12, 2008 12:10 PM  Permalink

Well said Amit.

Its politics for the sake of politics which is destroying India. Not allowing it to take its rightful space.

Identities are being created, manipulated for political purpose.

We need string leader like Modi's rule for next 20 years.

RE:RE:Nation building India ! is it will or lack of political will ?
by Suresh Babu on Jan 12, 2008 12:41 PM  Permalink
Tathagata, should go to Modi's land and see the interiors in Gujarat - poverty ridden gujarat villages and it is in bad shape.

Indian political system: Mother of all corruption
by Chakravarthy Muralidhar on Jan 12, 2008 11:03 AM  Permalink 

It is time Indians mature in their thinking. It is time to look inward than all the time gawking at everyone and also seeking approval of everything we do.It is not just individuals like professionals, artistes, sportspersons, etc., even the Indian government has this disease of gawking and seeking approval or behaving like a whining, grumbling spinster when they are slighted. The reason for this is lack of moral uprightness. Be it MMS, Sonia, Pawar, Chidambaram, Shivshankar Menon and all their predecessors. They are all spineless buffoons when interacting with foreign governments negotiating on some matters of national importance. They all behave like nincompoops with uninspiring body language and even worse verbal concluding statements -which invariably compromise the nation. The root cause for all this is the incorrigible corruption that these so-called leaders have indulged in and literally living in to achieve the 'successes' in their cariers all along in their lives. There is no need to investigate too deep .Look at at any politician or bureaucrat.99.5% of them have their sons and daughters sent abroad for studies and gaining citizenship abroad.Then they ensure that all their kith and kin get dual citizenship and enjoy the best of everything in the most immoral and exploitative way.All these politicians have a base abroad.The crowning fact is that so called party leaders of Cong party have an estimated USD 200 billion stashed away in assets and accounts in the West.

She is right
by sg sg on Jan 12, 2008 11:00 AM  Permalink 

I think the article is great, we as Indians move extreamly slow specially in the infrastructure development front. We cannot compete s a nation unless we put these into place. China has moved decades ahead in this which attracts a lot more investmenrs than India. Our politicians make trips abroad to study their success but end up spending money on personal holidays. We lack basic conviction and lack a purpose. Every country has their set of corrupt leaders but India takes that to another level and dosent deliver. Because we lack nationalism and pride in taking our nation forward.

Girls be careful.......very funny babes
by Deepu on Jan 12, 2008 10:59 AM  Permalink 

wtch here...
yep.it/careful

Tenderize the meat before cooking .....
by SoftWords BigStick on Jan 12, 2008 10:54 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Why is it that everytime an Indian leader is about to visit China (or vice versa) you have all these "journalists" emerging from the woodwork and waxing eloquent about how much China is better than India .....

When you want to cook tough meat, you first tenderize it and then toss it into the cooking pot. Is that these folks are trying to do with Indian mindset ? Who are these journalists working for ?

RE:Tenderize the meat before cooking .....
by Tathagata Mukherjee on Jan 12, 2008 11:53 AM  Permalink

Well said.

Indian English Press has been infiltrated by anti-Indian interest.

India is not far away from China
by Hitmee S on Jan 12, 2008 10:16 AM  Permalink 

People talk a lot about China & India. But I think India as a country is more strong than China. India has seen 3 wars, terrorism, corruption, big natural calamities, corruption but still it is growing. It is spending huge amount on anti-terrorism (i guess spent more than combined 3 wars) but still growing.

China has never faced such issues in last 40 years.

It is our attitude to life
by shiva on Jan 12, 2008 09:37 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

We expect miracles. We do not take charge of our lives.

Chinese are different. They suffered during the Long March & the Cultural Revelotion, but learned the lessons. Never again, these meaningless drivel!

For eg., in Malaysia when Indians took to the streets against racial abuse, the Chinese did not participate, as it would affect the business. They are spread out and cooperate to thrive. We seek to divide and very emotional. We can learn a lot from them.

Should we believe china
by ravinder kumar on Jan 12, 2008 09:27 AM  Permalink 

MMS says we are not a party to "contain china" initiative and relations with china are more imp. but can we rely on china (owing to past experience and border plans of china)

I am an Indian in China
by Arun Verma on Jan 12, 2008 08:55 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

China is really growing very fast.I can see India is behind not 50 yeasr but 100 Years Behind China.We Indians and India Must have to Learn many things from China.This is not ego or proud but we must face the fact,Not only big cities but also small cities also developing very fast.
Any questions are welcome nihao@rediffmail.com

RE:I am an Indian in China
by SoftWords BigStick on Jan 12, 2008 10:58 AM  Permalink
You must not have visited India in the last decade .....

Enjoy your stay in China !!

by cj on Jan 12, 2008 10:41 AM  Permalink
Have u seen Indian cities growth??

by gadhiraju ravi on Jan 12, 2008 11:49 AM  Permalink
india frist enemy is china.who said china was developed. it is just another cover. see one day will come, china also divide like ussr.

absolute hoax
by kumar saha on Jan 12, 2008 08:53 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

this is absolute hoax. dont believe these Yellow Journalist. They are paid to write such story. Poverty is increasing in China. At the same time china is experiencing social tension. U can say china is extended Bihar. Just imagine Bihar, same type of crime and poverty U will find in China.

RE:absolute hoax
by prabhakaran natesan on Jan 12, 2008 10:27 AM  Permalink
You ahve never seen China. Just don't shoot in the air

by gadhiraju ravi on Jan 12, 2008 11:52 AM  Permalink
indians wake up, do not prize enemy.it is real.ussr also like that once upon time.

by rajeev ranjan on Jan 12, 2008 08:58 AM  Permalink
Have you ever gone to China?? Which part of china are you talking about?

by R K Reddy on Jan 12, 2008 08:55 AM  Permalink
Ostrich Syndrome ???

Total 313 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>