Total 313 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13   Older >
Long way to go, India
by Parshuram on Jan 12, 2008 01:36 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Can't compare India with China. We may be a so-called vibrant democracy, but that still doesn't ensure food for a large section of our people. Our politicians are not sincere in running the country. In India there is no consensus like "Nation first, politics later". China has a think tank in place since several millennia that decides a consistent domestic and international policy. The author praises "vibrant diversity" in Indian society, while actually, our society is divided on lines of religion, caste, language, financial status, etc. Politicians thrive in these vote banks and ensure their return to power successfully, term after term. For Indian politicians it is power at any cost...the nation can go to hell. Indian politicians and govt officials have no accountability while in China they are jailed or shot dead. The smallest man in big Chinese cities may have no voice, but he has bicycle lanes on all the major roads with cheap access to health and education. Chinese universities provide abundant facilities for athletics and sport, and that's how their medal tally is rising in every successive meet. Even tax rates are much lower in China. I was happy to see rickshaw pullers taking their families out to dine in decent restaurants at the end of the day. A bottle of beer is available to them for the equivalent of Rs. 12. while similar beer costs Rs. 70 or more. Here, our govt taxes people's happiness in a rather sadistic fashion, courtesy Chidambaram and Sharad Pawar....

RE:Long way to go, India
by sickularindia on Jan 12, 2008 01:49 AM  Permalink
move to china and place this coment fool.Flawed democracy is beter than no democracy.A beer cost Rs 12/- and Rs 70 here because the fluctuation in the currency in two countries.And again you realy want to take your family for beer--------wow

by aoneall on Jan 12, 2008 02:04 AM  Permalink
Ignorant people will certainly keep India a perpetually poor country.

by sickularindia on Jan 12, 2008 02:19 AM  Permalink
COMMUNISTS ARE FAILURE AT THE END OF THE DAY.YOU FORGOT ALL THE ACHIVEMENT OF USSR ALREADY

RE:RE:Long way to go, India
by Parshuram on Jan 12, 2008 03:46 AM  Permalink
For your information, 2 Yuan (Rs. 12) is the price of beer in China. Anyway, you're free to pay Rs. 70 for the same, the laid back idiot that you have chosen to be. It is your kind of "sick" mentality that's keeping our Indian nation backward and lethargic more than anything else. With such attitude as you have displayed, it is no wonder that people like you have allowed barbaric islamic hordes and later the british to run down our country. Guys like you will happily let corrupt Indian politicians even take away your pants in the name of "flawed democracy". Tomorrow China will try to usurp more territory of our country, and your comment will be "hota hai, chalta hai, democracy hai"... May God save this nation from laid back people like you. Our flawed democracy has allowed terrorist mullahs to piss all over your face. Wake up before it's too late.

by Parshuram on Jan 12, 2008 03:45 AM  Permalink
For your information, 2 Yuan (Rs. 12) is the price of beer in China. Anyway, you're free to pay Rs. 70 for the same, the laid back idiot that you have chosen to be. It is your kind of "sick" mentality that's keeping our Indian nation backward and lethargic more than anything else. With such attitude as you have displayed, it is no wonder that people like you have allowed barbaric islamic hordes and later the british to run down our country. Guys like you will happily let corrupt Indian politicians even take away your pants in the name of "flawed democracy". Tomorrow China will try to usurp more territory of our country, and your comment will be "hota hai, chalta hai, democracy hai"... May God save this nation from laid back people like you. Our flawed democracy has allowed terrorist mullahs to piss all over your face. Wake up before it's too late.

by Shilpa Jain on Jan 12, 2008 02:03 AM  Permalink
Well Said

CNN NEWS --China blogger beaten to death
by sickularindia on Jan 12, 2008 01:21 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

(CNN) -- Authorities have fired an official in central China after city inspectors beat to death a man who filmed their confrontation with villagers, China's Xinhua news agency reports.
The killing has sparked outrage in China, with thousands expressing outrage in Chinese Internet chat rooms, often the only outlet for public criticism of the government.

The incident has also alarmed advocates of press freedom, who say municipal authorities had no right to attack a man for simply filming them.

Police have detained 24 municipal inspectors and are investigating more than 100 in the death of Wei Wenhua, a 41-year-old construction company executive, Xinhua reported on Friday
The swift action by officials reflects concerns that the incident could spark larger protests against authorities, whose heavy-handed approach often arouses resentment.

On Monday Wei happened on a confrontation in the central Chinese province of Hubei between city inspectors and villagers protesting over the dumping of waste near their homes.
A scuffle developed when residents tried to prevent trucks from unloading the rubbish, Xinhua said.

When Wei took out his cell phone to record the protest, more than 50 municipal inspectors turned on him, attacking him for five minutes, Xinhua said. Wei was dead on arrival at a Tianmen hospital, the report said.

RE:CNN NEWS --China blogger beaten to death
by sickularindia on Jan 12, 2008 01:23 AM  Permalink
yes kill the SHEELA BHAT to wipe the poverty out of INDIA too.

'FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION has been wiped out in China'
by sickularindia on Jan 12, 2008 01:16 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

When there is no FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION then there is no poverty to report.Yesterday they killed a guy who recorded an ugly incident on his celphone camera.So let implement same methods in India too,kill the Sheela bhat then there will be no bad incident in India ever.

RE:'FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION has been wiped out in China'
by crazy on Jan 12, 2008 02:06 AM  Permalink
Go and see it for yourself you pathetic little frog! India need 1000 years to match the level of development of China.

RE:'FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION has been wiped out in China'
by sickularindia on Jan 12, 2008 02:18 AM  Permalink
GO AND SEE USA THEN TALK ABOUT

Whos knows the actual scenario!!!
by fire desire on Jan 12, 2008 01:05 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

China is a communist country where everything is censored. Who knows the actual ground reality?

RE:Whos knows the actual scenario!!!
by Shahir on Jan 12, 2008 02:16 AM  Permalink
did u even read this article. Pallavi Iyer is a correspondent based in China for many years. She has been following the place fo such a long time, she knows the country beyond its upper surface - Shangai and Beijing...she knows the interiors as well, and thts how she strts comparing it with India.

Teach India's dirty politicians
by Sammer Bhagwat on Jan 12, 2008 12:52 AM  Permalink 

Teach India's dirty politicians. They are busy in their poverty allevation.

Sad title for such an article
by Amarjeet Singh on Jan 12, 2008 12:35 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

All through the article the author talks about problems with Chinese society - one sided education system, taboo on discussing about politics, increasing gap between rich and poor, environmental degradation due to increasing construction and other projects in India. A trip through Yangtze river and one could get a clear view of environmental destruction that the biggest dam in the world in causing. And whoever is the editor conveniently chose to ignore all these and put one statement as title that truly does not represent the complete article. Thats a shame for rediff editors!

RE:Sad title for such an article
by raman gupta on Jan 12, 2008 01:28 AM  Permalink
I agree - very bad title.
When I started reading it, didn't think that it will be so diverse and well studied.

RE:Sad title for such an article
by Parshuram on Jan 12, 2008 12:57 AM  Permalink
I have myself taught in a Chinese university, and saw and experienced life the way the author described. However, this is just one article from her, so you can't expect her to write abt Yangtze, gap between rich and poor, or other topics that exist in your mind. Maybe you should be patient and wait for the book she will bring out before expressing your sorrow and shame.

Title and the matter??
by senthil kaliappan on Jan 12, 2008 12:35 AM  Permalink 

"In the new economy, peasants do not have provision for health care, social security or education. Previously they had 'cradle to grave' employment and so on. Now, they see the gap between them and others who are very rich. There is a lot of corruption within the party. Poor are victims of this corruption and there are no independent channel to vent it."

has she really studied in the UK
by sai on Jan 12, 2008 12:34 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

doesnt look like shes studied in the UK and she claims to be the writer for The Hindu..

China is more secure politically than India..We in India dont even know when some politician will run a hate campaign(not talking about the BJP others are much worse but they do it silently)..We arenot safe in India coz of the Islamic terrorists(not talking about the better muslims)....Our roads are not safe, our air is polluted(people suffer from heart attacks at 25-30 yrs now)....We dont feel safe when we go out
of home or when we are at home...
The politicians are ripping of the poor and the middle class of their money...These politicians have amassed billions of dollars and are all set to leave the country in case of turmoil so who are the people who are going to suffer??the middle class and the poor in case theres any fighting...

So what kind of democratic dream is the author living?? A dream - where she thinks India is better than China...

RE:has she really studied in the UK
by raj sreedhar on Jan 12, 2008 01:01 AM  Permalink
What ever it may be. We dont need their way of political system. Well individual freedom is better than anything. A free and democratic nation , that is India. In that case India is far ahead of Red China. Religious freedom, political freedom , free press and individual rights are dennied in China. Yes,India is far better indeed.

RE:RE:has she really studied in the UK
by raj sreedhar on Jan 12, 2008 01:38 AM  Permalink
"It is not Bush mentality that says you are either against us or with us." those words perfetly fit for that day (sept11th) By the way China's economic system changed to US style Captitalism. Bush mentality is needed to deal with certain people.

RE:has she really studied in the UK
by Don johnson on Jan 12, 2008 03:49 AM  Permalink
I have visited southeast asia, India is a big hype by west and even has worst infrastructure then there neighbor pakistan comparing by all the investments that have been pouring into india. China is a reall change and can be compared to any developed country. It will take india another 100 yrs to where china is, both countries have different dynamics it will take a lot to change in india

RE:medha patkar
by raj on Jan 12, 2008 12:27 AM  Permalink
there are more important things to worry about than pollution or traffic congestion for her to hold dharna. there's teething issues with hunger. let her solve that first.

Message(s) deleted by moderator not displayed on this page
Total 313 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13   Older >