Total 654 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>
Honour Afzal Guru
by vinod on Jan 09, 2008 07:55 PM  Permalink 

No the govt wont oblige,but they might to Afzal Guru if some mulla says so..

14 languages
by srinivas on Jan 09, 2008 07:55 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Mr. P V Narsimha rao can communicate in 14 languages and he is the only prime minister other than the Gandhi parivar to run a government for the full term

RE:14 languages
by Logo on Jan 09, 2008 08:01 PM  Permalink
you fool what about Vajpayee ???

RE:RE:14 languages
by srinivas on Jan 09, 2008 08:07 PM  Permalink
:- to vajpayee

This should have been initiated by entire parliament
by pradeep agarwal on Jan 09, 2008 07:50 PM  Permalink 

He is a politician of rare breed who commande respect from all & sundary.We don't see anymore leaders of his stature in Indian politics.

RE:This should have been initiated by entire parliament
by vishwanath basawraj shetkar on Jan 09, 2008 08:05 PM  Permalink
tell me some compelling reason why should he be awarded with 'Bharat Ratna'. Just being nice person and writing some poems, one can not be made 'Bharat Ratna'. Don't forget during his government India bungled in Kargil, coffin scam, Kandahar Hijack, Parliment attack(and massive mobilisation on the border without any plan)......list is long.

by Hyderabad Contact on Jan 09, 2008 07:55 PM  Permalink
Rexpect from all ? after killing minorities women and childerns in Gujrat, he has his hand full of blood.

by rightman on Jan 09, 2008 07:57 PM  Permalink
are u from charminar or some old city crap guy?what about the rowdy MIM leaders,i am sure u think they deserve the honour..

by Hyderabad Contact on Jan 09, 2008 08:00 PM  Permalink
Stick to Vajpayee now, or are you of those filthy ugly face RSS coward

RE:RE:This should have been initiated by entire parliament
by Gautam Sinha on Jan 09, 2008 08:01 PM  Permalink
That distinction is of another man. Not Bajpayee.

by Gautam Sinha on Jan 09, 2008 08:00 PM  Permalink
Also the one to lose that respect substantially faster due to not so efficient functioning of his govt. Yes his unique way of providing stable govt. in the times of co-alition turmoil is definitely mind blowing. Also don't forget his rule put one of the most honorable distinguished presidents of India after a very very long time.

land for poor
by srinivas on Jan 09, 2008 07:47 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

many of us do not know that it is Mr.P.V.Narsimhar Rao who has started distributing land for the poorer sections in the society when he was the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh

He more than deserves Bharat Ratna

RE:land for poor
by Hari on Jan 09, 2008 07:55 PM  Permalink
He is also the first PM to face criminal charges (bribing JMM MPs).

by PKN on Jan 09, 2008 07:56 PM  Permalink
Yes ! History will rate that man as the Prime Minister who took India to the 21st Century . His vision and Dr MM Singh's planning make India into what economists globally call the second fastest growing economy in the World.
But sadly neither the Congress nor the BJP will agree to that line of thinking since it conflicts with their current agendas

RE:RE:land for poor
by JGN on Jan 09, 2008 07:58 PM  Permalink
He had only unshakled our economy from the rigid Licence-Permit Raj, a legacy of Nehruvian socialism! It was in fact only the undoing of the disasterous economic policy followed by the Congress party since independence! So nothing great about it.

by srinivas on Jan 09, 2008 07:58 PM  Permalink
hari you are forgeting the most famous case bofors which belongs to our earlies prime minister sri rajeve gandhi

by Gautam Sinha on Jan 09, 2008 07:56 PM  Permalink
This step was taken by CPI and CPI(M) long time back in 1970s and that too by using existing laws. They never got nor claimed any Bharat Ratna for this. Till then the rights of the tillers existed only on paper.

RE:RE:land for poor
by srinivas on Jan 09, 2008 08:01 PM  Permalink
dear JGN the land distribution has happened when Mr. Rao was the cm, in kerela/wb land is given to the cpm pary workers that is the difference

by JGN on Jan 09, 2008 08:06 PM  Permalink
To a jaundiced person, every thing looks yellow! You will never say a good word for the Communists despite knowing that had it not for the Communists, the Chruches and imperialists would have swallowed the entire world long back! There might have been some mistakes but they were inevitable.

by JGN on Jan 09, 2008 07:56 PM  Permalink
The Kerala Land Reforms act was in existence long before Shri PVN Rao became the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. The said law was the pre-curser of all land-reforms in India.

No doubt he was an able PM and deserves the respect of all our Countrymen.

democracy
by KP on Jan 09, 2008 07:41 PM  Permalink 

In India, at least real democracy is there in rediff write up column, One can say what ever his/her thought without any boundary.

Atalji deserves it!!
by hrishi nandedkar on Jan 09, 2008 07:40 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Undoubtedly, one of the greatest politicians (yes politician, but with a difference) of his generation, Atalji is not just respected and honored within his party, but also within opposition! Not just within the country, but also all over the world! (I can recall how one of my American friends praised him detailing how US opposition had for the first time demanded for a joint session for hearing the best orator! I am not looking for some foreign %u2018approvers%u2019, just quoting the fact!)

A son of the govt. school teacher, Mr Vajpayee for over 60 years of his political life, has never been accused personally! An achievement very few in the world can boast of! His honesty and integrity is remarkable, unparallel, and widely-accepted!

A poetic man at helm, he is more-or-less responsible for steering the country onto path of rapid developments, in spite of having a factored mandate.

Atalji has a number of times represented the country into various forums and have successfully defended the country over important issues including disputes with Pak!

An unparallel orator, and man who gave his life for selfless service for the country, based upon principles really deserves the country%u2019s highest civilian award.

RE:Atalji deserves it!!
by nitin on Jan 09, 2008 07:44 PM  Permalink
Know doubt he is one of the best politician india has at present but that's not the only qualification. He should be awarded Sahitya Kala Akadami for his poem's and not the BHARATNA.

RE:RE:Atalji deserves it!!
by Gautam Sinha on Jan 09, 2008 08:08 PM  Permalink
Please note that Vajpayee cannot be responsible for Musharraf. Be fair. When Zia ul Haq came into India, his used arial photography and got away. Also betrayals by Pak have happened with other leaders too. Also note that whatever you saw on tapes was not something unique to his rule but was prevalent in South block for decades, almost all the cases pointed to an already existing system of corruption in place. Vajpayee's comments were on the choice of words of the visiting minister. Swadeshi in global environment is and was a bunkum concept and everybody knows that. Why do you blame UTI mismanagemnt on Vajpayee? Please be fair. Dont support Bharat Ratna for him if you do not want to but allege correctly like his useless negotiation of hostage crisis and ignoring common mass of India for the bunkum of India shining etc.

by hrishi nandedkar on Jan 09, 2008 07:46 PM  Permalink
"Isse pharak nahi padta ki aadmi kaha khada hai,
Path par, ya rath par,
Teer par ya pracheer par,
Fasi ke takhte par ya Dilli ke takht par...

Pharak isse padta hai, ki jaha vah khada hai,
Ya jaha usse khada hona pada hai,
Vaha uska Dharatal* kya hai?"

-From Atalji's famous poem.

Dharatal* means base, for what you stand for, for what you are! (as Bhagat Singh was hanged, and so is the ordinary criminal. But the difference is the "Dharatal"- for what they stand for, for what they are!!

An unparallel orator, a man with remarkable honesty and integrity, and man who gave his life for selfless service for the country, based upon principles really deserves the country%u2019s highest civilian award.

Having said that, would like to quote from his another poem%u2026
"Kya haar me, kya jeet me?
Nahi kinchit vichilit mein...
Kartavya path par jo mila,
Vo bhi sahi, ye bhi sahi."

RE:RE:Atalji deserves it!!
by vargies on Jan 09, 2008 08:10 PM  Permalink
Rukmesh singh...you can oppose the political stand of politicians but whatever your political affiliation you shoud learn to respect others who did great thing for the nation. Otherwise like you people are just called brainless followers of some stupid politicians.
Indira Ghandi was awarded with Bharat Ratna for her great deeds for this nation not for imposing emergency. if you dont know anything about Vajpayee ask someone who knows it before writing some of your madness in public.

by rightman on Jan 09, 2008 07:59 PM  Permalink
Even then it is limited to a few lines ass head Rukmeh...there is 60 years of blood in congress "hands".Brush up ur history and ur current affiairs.

P.V.Narsimha Rao
by srinivas on Jan 09, 2008 07:38 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The best prime minister India ever had.

RE:P.V.Narsimha Rao
by Babu Muralidharan on Jan 09, 2008 08:06 PM  Permalink
to some extent correct. but you know one thing...congress has got the habit of celebrating only gandhi-nehru dynasty's birth and death anniversaries. PVN and lal bahadur shastri are forgotten breed. congress does not want anyone outside its fraternity to get limelight.

Any one outside Congress is not an Indian citizen
by Gopalan Ramachandran on Jan 09, 2008 07:38 PM  Permalink 

Tough luck. Only members of the Congress-Nehru-Gandhi family are citizens worthy of being called Indian citizens. Others? Who are they?

best
by ramji on Jan 09, 2008 07:37 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Among ALL THE POLITICIANS india had Vajpayee is the best . he should be honoured with bharat ratna

RE:best
by srinivas on Jan 09, 2008 07:41 PM  Permalink
i feel u r from pakistan hyderabad

by Hyderabad Contact on Jan 09, 2008 07:51 PM  Permalink
Not me Advani is from Pakistan, now oppose him.

by greatbush on Jan 09, 2008 07:53 PM  Permalink
or you must be from SAUDI RABIA

by rightman on Jan 09, 2008 08:01 PM  Permalink
hE must be from PORKistan or charminar or some old city crap guy?what about the rowdy MIM leaders,i am sure u think they deserve the honour..ass head.

Total 654 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>