Lets get this straight, if you do not travel much and have not been exposed to different culture and places you are bound to have stereotypical image that you see around you(media too is reponsible). Mind you we indians are no different with people in Cow-belt thinking Chennai is the place where all are absolutely dark and it is so hot that they cant survive. And people from South and other places might think all in cowbelt are poor and have no food to eat and are illiterate and criminals. The only thing we fail to understand is that we cannot generalise people and stereotype them. I mean you look at this article, I can very clearly evolve analogy that seems to be what most of India thinks about UP/Bihar and what the entire world thinks of India...
RE:americans
by koblenz koblenz on Feb 28, 2008 11:02 PM Permalink
Nisha SI gh is aPakistani, i have seen her many a times supporting Ialamic Terrorism.... so need nee to to take "him" seriously
by Dhruba Chakravarti on Feb 28, 2008 11:03 PM Permalink
Nisha..your perception is only skin deep. You will get over it one day, when you grow up :-)
by Arun Mittal on Feb 28, 2008 11:04 PM Permalink
There is a saying;People get the government they deserve.Likewise Indian women get the men they deserve.
The worlds richest person fame is shuttling between Anil and Mukesh , and L.N.Mittal is close behind, How come anybody think that india is still that much poor. Absurd.
RE:RE:Era of Ambanis and Mittals
by kuppam viswanath reddy on Feb 28, 2008 11:06 PM Permalink
sorry, i am not an NRI. I live in a small town in A.P. Certainly we all should accept that the poverty levels are not as high as the economic journals are projecting. the standard of living is improved a lot even in small towns and villages around.
RE:Era of Ambanis and Mittals
by Sam Walton on Feb 28, 2008 11:27 PM Permalink
and yes, we continue having farmers committing suicides in two economically developed states of Mahrashtra and AP, while the soul-less poilticians have grand wedding buffets for their hungry and soul-less kinds.. So what the socialist regime has failed in even providing basic, clean drinking water to every village? We are a progressing...progressing towards denial and ignorance.ie.
RE:Era of Ambanis and Mittals
by drunken monk on Feb 28, 2008 10:55 PM Permalink
The point is normal american citizen will not know much about mukesh and anil or mittal. However its the same from our side as well. Leave this topic.
Dhruv, It is not frightening for India to find the americans not knowing much about India but it should be frightening for the Americans that they know so little about the world outside their own little backyard. There are surveys that shows they know so little about their own country too.
India Has come a LONG WAY Post Independence, and its we Indians who should Market India Worldwide. The Western media always boasts of their countries achievements.
India has got some superb advantages a) The Indian Postal Syatem is one of the best and US had adapted it b) Indian Railways has one of the densest network c) The infrastructure created by Konkan Railway is wonderful d) Indian Space mission is another big achievement. on top of all these "WE INDIANS ENJOY FREEDOM" to criticise anybody unlike some neighbouring countries.
Every country has its own grey areas, Its time we Indians count our achievements and educate others. Quoting an stanza from our national ANthem "BHARAT BHAGYA VIDATHA" - Indians will show the path to the whole world in future.
RE:India HAS COME A LONG WAY - WE INDIANS SHOULD MARKET IT
by someone on Feb 28, 2008 11:02 PM Permalink
Hi, Do U know that our National Anthem was written by Rabindranath Thakur when British King Edward VI, who was the father of Queen Elizabeth was visting India. The song refers to him as "BHARAT BHAGYA VIDATHA". Animal Nehru after being PM decided on his own to make this our National Anthem, as he was the No 1 pro-British Dog. Remember one thing my friend in India everything is possible, and it is really a Strange Country, as said by Alexander The Great (i.e also known in North India/Middle East as Sikandar Shah) around 330 BC to his General Selucus Nikator. That comment by Alexander is still valid.
How many Indians, know about America. Although, they speak Englsih becos of their Mother toungue there are uneducated people and beggars part of them. Pls. have this in mind.
RE:its common
by on Feb 28, 2008 10:51 PM Permalink
RE:Is India any different? by kunal kishor on Feb 28, 2008 10:39 PM
True, I come from bihar, and have faced very similar questions from my colleagues(I'm in bangalore).
Its just that people who dont "know" and dont travel, have some kind of perception which is mostly dependent on the inputs from different sources of media and by rumours-of-mouth. Can't help much about these guys :-|
RE:RE:Is India any different? by on Feb 28, 2008 10:41 PM | Hide message
Kunal Bhaiya,
"rumours-of-mouth"?
Are there "rumours-of-the-anus" too?
Where? Must be in Bihar!
I guess that is why Lalu had to recite poetry while presenting the budget so that the people would know which "end" he is communicating from!!
RE:its common
by sanjay kumar on Feb 28, 2008 10:51 PM Permalink
tell him to read some books by Indian writers. Provide him some CDs about Republic Day parade. Even if he/ she does not understand Tamil or Hindi, help him to view some Indian films (not Satyajit Roy variant).
For a 15 yr old livin in U.S, and trying to improve the image of India is child talk.Indians are in this globalised times running afterthe Western ideas of happiness and impulse gratifications.Ultimately a plasma TV,a mobile phone or Mercedes is not what a tru Indian beleieves is happiness.Millions of Indians toil under Hot sun for a few Rs get back to their families share their meagre earning with no support from the Govt. in terms of health(luckily Railways have improved),education or housing.We say not a single Idea?Do we have single dedicaated teacher who can inspire his students to look for new ideas and improve his lot.Never.Our glory is in sitting in a bunch and repeating aloud what our so called Guru keeps shouting.If you are creative in India you will be lynched.the art,films in India are mere reflections of common mans dreams on the canvas,very little of creativity there.As a true Indian one is not bothred about technology because Brain,conciuosness etc.are still not understood by the biggest univesties in the west
RE:India is still India today
by R Singh on Feb 28, 2008 10:49 PM Permalink
Sujith, very well said. I'm saddened about how the common folks in India are treated. The growing disparity in wealth is absolutely mind boggling. The recent IPL auction was one event that crystalized my perception that India is not headed in the right direction. If the rich can afford to buy people by throwing crores at them then why can't they do anything worth while for the poor. Maybe they do help them but there's hardly any leadership from anyone.