Total 1355 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>
Once an American asked me..
by Preeti on Feb 29, 2008 09:49 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

few questions.. Like Dhruv, I too was shocked.. actually pitited the ignorance of these yankees. India, all set to overtake them and they still don't know anything about it.. The guy asked me :
1. Do people in India live on trees?
2. You guys commute by elephants?
3. Do snakes freely roam around on roads?

This is true folks.. Zero exaggeration. I was dumbstruck!

RE:Once an American asked me..
by Sandeep on Feb 29, 2008 09:51 AM  Permalink
I think these yankees need to watch news more often, they know only to munch on hamburgers and pizzas, nothing else.

India is INDIA !!!!!!
by gk on Feb 29, 2008 09:45 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

God was confused to find a place for himself after creating the universe ! He was searching for the best place to sit and rule the universe..Finally, he created a land on the earth which spreads inbetween Himalayas and Sethu (aa sethu himachal) and decided to live there with all godly men in peace and harmony..with love and care..with spirituality and religions..with rich and poor..with whites and blacks.......etc..etc....
INDIA is like a PUJA ROOM if world is a House !!!
Be proud to be INDIAN...
JAI HIND !!

RE:India is INDIA !!!!!!
by Srikanth Manchukonda on Feb 29, 2008 10:02 AM  Permalink
Jai Hind!
Beautiful explanation of India.
This is what India is.
Thanks gk for giving something good to read on this rubbish rediff comments (I mean other articles and their comments)!

Ignorance
by Vijay T on Feb 29, 2008 09:42 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

what is India? Ask our great politicians, the so-called rulers, when they are away from their secretaries and speach-writers. You will get as many answers as there are politicians. Why blame Americans?

If you answer is there are many India, Americans' view is one of them. That is all. First let us clean up our house.

RE:Ignorance
by on Feb 29, 2008 09:50 AM  Permalink
Abey Unko Namastey London Dikha Deta bajaye itna bada article chapney ke.

by Anil Bharali on Feb 29, 2008 09:47 AM  Permalink
Ordinary americans are ignorant about many aspects america even.

by SHAAN on Feb 29, 2008 10:16 AM  Permalink
AMERICANS ARE VERY LESS KNOLEDGABLE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD. THEY HAVE VERY LOW KNOWLEDGE ABOUT HISTORY & GEOGRPHY AND THESE SUBJECTS ARE RARELY TAUGHT IN AMERICA IN JUNIOR LEVEL CLASIS.

Outdated perspective - then I saw your age
by C Kr on Feb 29, 2008 09:40 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

These kind of articles have been around forever, and many Indians even spice up the so called incredulous observations. There are so many cliches like the 'Oh I speak Muslim too', or 'are you a Hindi'? Good job you didn't try including snake charmers in here. There is nothing new in what's been written - as 'what americans think of India' write-ups have been running forever and they all have the same cliches as in this article.

This a 'I want an article in Rediff, and Rediff will oblige with a headline on the home page' article.

Boring.

But UPA will not study the lesson 1 or 2. Arms deal with Kitty Hawk, Logistic Support Agreement etc. are good for Manmohan Singh and his colleagues.
by Sahadevan KK on Feb 29, 2008 09:40 AM  Permalink 

But UPA will not study the lesson 1 or 2. Arms deal with Kitty Hawk, Logistic Support Agreement etc. are good for Manmohan Singh and his colleagues.

sahadevan.wordpress.com/

Asian
by Madhu on Feb 29, 2008 09:39 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

First of all for them asian means chinese ,like south means chennai for north in INDIA .Dhruv no need to think or worry much about this .If they are ignorant or fools what we can do.they will realise soon once INDIA becomes super power any way US is started to come down .

RE:Asian
by Reel on Feb 29, 2008 09:44 AM  Permalink
And i guess according to u, all blacks are thugs, and all whites are executives, women have equal opportunity, the best food is available in mcdonalds and kfc's , levis and nike are the only brands, microsoft controls all the software....as much as indians dont know abt USA, americans dont know abt india....as simple as that.....

RE:Asian
by subbu on Feb 29, 2008 09:52 AM  Permalink
it is not the fact. there are more indians travelling to US than americans travelling to India. So Indians know more about america than americans know abt India.

RE:in usa, some people asked me why farmers were committing suicide? i told them they were gh*a*tis, unwanted burden, and it did not matter if they died... they were unwanted scum. LOL
by on Feb 29, 2008 09:44 AM  Permalink
I THINK U R SIC..IF U CAN REPLY IN SUCH A FSAHION

RE:RE:in usa, some people asked me why farmers were committing suicide? i told them they were gh*a*tis, unwanted burden, and it did not matter if they died... they were unwanted scum. LOL
by on Feb 29, 2008 09:45 AM  Permalink
i think u r sic if u think of such...god save u

HUMBUG
by Anil on Feb 29, 2008 09:34 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

India cannot be judged by American's who themselves are not aware of thier own country! We cannot allow this judgemental people. We Indians know what we are and we are proud that we are growing at a tremendous rate. It is Americans to learn what India is all about. I Care a Hoot what they think. BE PROUD OF BEING AN INDIAN! HARVARD comes to learn business from a 'ordinary man' who has turned fortunes of one of world's largest railway systems.

RE:HUMBUG
by Bihari Lalu on Feb 29, 2008 09:38 AM  Permalink
I agree about the last statement. See my name.

Logon ko India pata hai kya
by Hind on Feb 29, 2008 09:30 AM  Permalink 

All south Indians are assumed to be Madrasis in north. There are 3 other southren states Andhra, Karnataka and Kerala have great distinction in language spoken, food habits etc.
Worse many Indians see any North east Indian specifically People from Nagaland or meghalaya, assume them to be chinese.
No Doubt so much ignorance in India Itself, what to talk about foriegners in distant lands.

Poor Americans ....
by pyare yadav on Feb 29, 2008 09:27 AM  Permalink 

Its not shocking.....
Most of the American do not know history because they themselves don't have any history.
they are most ignorant of History ... nothing serious buddy..

Total 1355 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>