Total 176 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >
Buy Both to attack China
by piyushmody on Feb 28, 2008 10:01 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

India must go ahead to Buy both Gorshkov and Kitty or ask USA to offer better Aircraft carrier which india can use it for china.

By Bing Kitty and additional F/18 is good deal for india.India must also ask USA to offer 5 Nuke Submarines which has cruise Missiles and can Hit tgts upto 6000 km and above and deep inside every chinese cities. China will attack taiwan after olympics and then will turn to atack india. If US wil not interfere during chinas attack on taiwan then accpet China as Super power. Indian Nvay has vested interests not in Indian Ocean but from Straits of Malacca to straits of Hormuz. So but both Aircraft carrier and ask US to deliver in 6 -9 months.

RE:Buy Both to attack China
by kshitij tumbde on Feb 28, 2008 10:03 AM  Permalink
What do you think? Is India boss of USA?

by mahesh lakshminarayan on Feb 28, 2008 10:12 AM  Permalink
do u think buying wepons can win a war?There is a lot more than that.India is not intrested in Neculear War.India is a country of peace we already have russian backup to fight against china in any situation.US is just another country.There are many super power countrys more than US,say in europe.There is a lot to collaburate in a diplomatic relationship more than defence machines,spy sattlilites and radar systems.You are now crossing 20th Century do u think missiles and fighter planes only required.Its much more than that.If those are only required we can buy from Isrel and many more countries.Many thing are Cyber war fare and virtual attacks.these are completly diffrent and dangerous.Just Think and See Some powerfull countries neculear plant pc's are hacked and does a self destruction.These may be the types of attacks in future by the terrorist or the other countrys defence.Here any powerfull communist or democratic country will also collide.But diplomacy only will stand for long time.

by raj sreedhar on Feb 29, 2008 12:13 AM  Permalink
mahesh lakshminarayan , Speaking of Europe, most of them come under NATO. Who is funding NATO? USA. US is far stronger than any West european nations. US bases are all over europe. I dont know what the heck you talking about?

RE:RE:Buy Both to attack China
by Gurdeep Singh on Feb 28, 2008 11:42 AM  Permalink
Russian backup against China. Are you nuts? Have you completely forgotten the 62 war.

by Sachin on Feb 28, 2008 11:50 AM  Permalink
Great thoughts man, if only your dreams come true... but please wake up!!

by Sahadevan KK on Feb 28, 2008 10:09 AM  Permalink
History will prove Indian people are not ready to sell of India to America. They remember a Gandhiji and old Congress as well as how Britishers ran away from here.

by Rajeev on Feb 28, 2008 10:12 AM  Permalink
Looking at time frame of 6-9 months.. I assume you are talking of play models and not real ships..

by SAYED JAFFAR on Feb 28, 2008 11:07 AM  Permalink
I dont think India has that kinda money to buy an aircraft carrier from the US. Remember this is not Chinese or a Russian ship but a US made ship. I dont remember if US has ever sold its aircraft carrier to any other nation?

Defence Trading is not easy pie.It takes time to see the right armor.
by mahesh lakshminarayan on Feb 28, 2008 09:59 AM  Permalink 

The National Security Wepons must be bought with Higher Quality,Easy Training for our Force and Right Deployment.IAF should setup a Seperate Team for Build or Buy Analysis of each weapon it is going to utlize in future.Same with Navys Requirments on War Ships,Submarines and Aircrafts.The Aircraft carrier and specilised Ships should been seen with much more specific parameters as this should serve us in any critical scenario.There is a lot more to add in purchase of this massive machines as u have to provide them operational security too.US Spents 10 percent in Forced Protection for all its Naval Vessels.India cant afford so much all the time.Hope IB sees to setup a seperate team with in IAF which works effectively in carrying out the massive orders.

RE:Gates is frightening our PM and our reformers. MMS must recognise what were happened Mushraff, Tony Blair, Japan PM, and Australian PM.
by ASHOK on Feb 28, 2008 09:58 AM  Permalink
Yesterday My Cat died, should I blame Bush for that ??

RE:Gates is frightening our PM and our reformers. MMS must recognise what were happened Mushraff, Tony Blair, Japan PM, and Australian PM.
by Rajeev on Feb 28, 2008 10:02 AM  Permalink
LOL.. good one..

by Sahadevan KK on Feb 28, 2008 10:07 AM  Permalink
Your words proved that you are not less than your cat.

by Patrick on Feb 28, 2008 10:02 AM  Permalink
Our PM should be more worried about the ones in power that can do a lot of damage to this nation. reformed capitalists like Putin, Jintao and raul castro might be a lesser concern than many of our retarted CPM leaders nationwide. Its scary. If you so believe that being america's friend is a problem, Saudi might be your best bet. They might give u a oil well.

So Pls, lets have a discussion on merits. Not the myopic single point of agenda of communists.

by Patrick on Feb 28, 2008 09:58 AM  Permalink
Your concern for these leaders is worthy. But it is time you showed your true concerns.

RE:US offering world terrorism.
by Rajeev on Feb 28, 2008 09:52 AM  Permalink
Mr Sahadvean, I admire your efforts for making a heated discussion..-) some stuff which can start an instant one is
1) religion
2) caste
3) anti -india - which i wont advise.

by subish achamparambil on Feb 28, 2008 09:58 AM  Permalink
Hey really good one rajeev .. i am fed up reading those south indian - north indian conflicts .. relegion, caste conflicts here

RE:RE:US offering world terrorism.
by Rajeev on Feb 28, 2008 10:05 AM  Permalink
true.. most of the time our blogs are filled up with the stuff you mentioned. Of late, I had reduced my viewing of rediff..

by akshay gupta on Feb 28, 2008 09:56 AM  Permalink
If your name is really Sahdevan, one wonders whether you are from Saudi or Sudan, the seat of Islamic terrorism. Many Indians died (Mainly Hindus) in twin towers, mumbai blasts and even the mumbai train blasts. The sponsors were Islamic people not USA

Kitty Hawk
by s kumar on Feb 28, 2008 09:46 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Why to purchase a aging aircraft carrier Kitty Hawk, which is going to be decommisioned soon from US Navy. When Kitty Hawk is of no use to US, how will it be useful for India....Should not go for this deal...Instead spend money on buying latest and sophisticated Aircraft Carrier.....

RE:Kitty Hawk
by kshitij tumbde on Feb 28, 2008 09:51 AM  Permalink
I think India should not look at price of aircraft carrier. It should look for a "better" aircraft carrier. If Gorshkov is more expensive yet better aircraft carrier then $1.6 billion dollars is 40 Rs extra per person for India. Not much! if its a top aircraft carrier.

Another factor is reliablity. Russians are proven reliable suppliers of military hardware to India. Americans use these sales to gain control of foreign policy and then later on force countries to do stuff their way. Just look at pakistan. Also we dont want a country to cut off supplies once they sell aircraft carrier.

It has been proven that aircraft carriers are aggressive security systems. They are protected by airplanes, radars, battleships and even submarines. Submarine based navy is defensive where as aircraft carriers are offeinsive. US won the WWII because of aircraft carriers could be taken near to Japanese shores to launch strikes. You can take aircraft carrier anywhere in the ocean and lauch your fighter jets there. USA itself maintains atleast 8 on each coast. total around 16. Kitty Hawk is too old and India can get a better deal elsewhere.

by Rajeev on Feb 28, 2008 09:59 AM  Permalink
would say Russians are providers of military hardware but of late their quality has gone down. We should not risk our defense personnel life just because the weapons were sub standard..

by akshay gupta on Feb 28, 2008 09:59 AM  Permalink
India shud get beter roads, better maintained courts with toilet facility and cleaner rivers all of which can be done by putting this money to use of indian citizens. The railways make a profit by giving dirty train compartments infested with cockroaches, dirty stinking toilets because the cleaning staff only get salaries but do not work and unhygienic food etc. Mera Bharat Mahan fails here

RE:RE:Kitty Hawk
by Rajeev on Feb 28, 2008 10:01 AM  Permalink
its true.. But these 2 are diff tasks..
One task is India should develop internally and second is India should be able to protect itself from external enemies. So would say this discussion is on the 2nd task.

RE:RE:Kitty Hawk
by kshitij tumbde on Feb 28, 2008 10:01 AM  Permalink
If you wont be able to protect yourself. How would you build your dream then? Economy and national security go hand in hand. Liberty is supreme

by Sahadevan KK on Feb 28, 2008 10:09 AM  Permalink
History will prove Indian people are not ready to sell of India to America. They remember a Gandhiji and old Congress as well as how Britishers ran away from here.

by raj sreedhar on Feb 29, 2008 12:28 AM  Permalink
kshitij tumbde , Communist are the prime threat to India's progress and security. India need back bone. Come out of this age old Coldwar mentality.

Dumping ground?
by Rinku on Feb 28, 2008 09:43 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

My God, it seems that America, Britain, France and Russia has made India as dumping ground of its aging warheads. We have lost many of our AF pilots to Russian aged fighter planes, the gas was leaked in aged warship, which India bought recently. Now, what these IITs and IISc are doing? Can't they produce such scientist who can built warheads here? Are they just producing copy-cats? Dr. Kalam talked about self-sufficiency in arms production, is it the way doing so?

RE:Dumping ground?
by Patrick on Feb 28, 2008 10:05 AM  Permalink
Its about time we all realised that. The soviets were the only ones dumping on us. Atleast now you can choose the filth.

OH BTW, DRDO does not exist anymore after wasting thousands and thousands of crores on scrap metal and sivakasi firecrackers

by Rajeev on Feb 28, 2008 09:48 AM  Permalink
what will happen if our DRDO's scientists just come to office just for chai pani and personal discussions. If such is the situation then no amount of IITians will be of help. DRDO should be made accountable for each and every project and they should invent things which can be used in a war and not just for museum usage.

by kunal kishor on Feb 28, 2008 09:51 AM  Permalink
the IITians & IISc guys are busy making warheads for the western countries, because of the salaries!

by subish achamparambil on Feb 28, 2008 09:46 AM  Permalink
HAL is manufacturing new fighters .. well we have 3 series already in pocket .. we are manufacturing our own flight carrier ... we manufacture our own missiles ..

well we are only 60 years young country dude .. In future we will manufacture all our defence equipments .. but please wait .. and till that date we cannot give toys to our army ..

SCORPENE
by hari krishnan on Feb 28, 2008 09:42 AM  Permalink 

wats new wid the scorpene submarine???????anyone knows??

????
by hari krishnan on Feb 28, 2008 09:39 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

y should we pay for thier age old stuff???

RE:????
by subish achamparambil on Feb 28, 2008 09:43 AM  Permalink
Yes !! that is just a proposal !! we are manufacturing our own aircraft carrier from airforce base cochin .. and in these kind of offer ship comes free and repair and flights we have to purchase along .. instead of de-commissioning they give to us ..

by Anirudh Narasimhan on Feb 28, 2008 09:48 AM  Permalink
not cochin.. chennai and vizag

by subish achamparambil on Feb 28, 2008 10:03 AM  Permalink
No its frm Cochin shipyard The steel cutting took place at Cochin Shipyard Ltd on 11 April 2005. The Cochin shipyard plans to complete eighty percent of works on the ship before its launch in 2010.[2] The aircraft carrier is expected to enter service by 2012.

Sorry i am not sure whether this plan is shifted or changed ..

Kitty Hawk killed lakhs of people in Vietnam and Iraq.
by Sahadevan KK on Feb 28, 2008 09:27 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Kitty Hawk killed lakhs of people in Vietnam and Iraq.

RE:Kitty Hawk killed lakhs of people in Vietnam and Iraq.
by Ravikumar Parthasrathy on Feb 28, 2008 09:44 AM  Permalink
nut, a warship is built to fight and if need be killed people...

by Sahadevan KK on Feb 28, 2008 09:49 AM  Permalink
So you are killing in Gujarat, isn't it?

by Rajeev on Feb 28, 2008 09:30 AM  Permalink
so what ak47 killed thousands in kashmir so we should stop buying ak 47's?

by adn on Feb 28, 2008 09:35 AM  Permalink
Good reply Rajeev.

by Sahadevan KK on Feb 28, 2008 09:40 AM  Permalink
Rajeev has no problem.

People knows Rajeev and Quotrochi.

by hari krishnan on Feb 28, 2008 09:38 AM  Permalink
hey ,anyone knows wat is goin on about the SCORPENE submarine???

Total 176 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >