Is it not good to have these carriers? Kitty Hawk can never be delivered after re-fitting before 2015. At that time we shall be needing one more Aircraft Carrier. We may be able to pay the cost of the Kitty Hawk.
By that time we shall be having our indigenous Carrier ready as well.
JIji is right. we can go for that and keep the same as a vinitage aircraft carrier. Already our defence ministry had done one mistake and murdered few navel persons from the big transport ship we purchased from US. we can go for this old junk under the mask of refurbished aircraft carrier from our taxes and we can keep on paying for this huge junk also.
Both Russia and US seems to make Indian Ocean a scrap yard. Becas scrapping a ship is always a problem environmentally.... and scrapping an aircraft carrier is a much bigger problem. Both US and Russia wants to offshore this problems to India and also they can earn some substantial amount of money out of it. Common India... ask these guys if they r sincere, they must provide the infrastructure help and tech support to build aircraft carriers in India. And as of today, we hav the economy to go for this and still if u lack funds then tax us more. Introduce an additional defense tax, we wud happily consider for the might of our mother nation. But remember u politicians... U HAV TO B SINCERE!!!
RE:Get out of this trap!!
by Onie on Feb 27, 2008 11:05 PM Permalink
Jiji sorry but your advice is not feasible. There are two separate costs to building an aircraft carier: one is the cost of building the ship itself and the second is the cost of acquiring the know-how and manufacturing base that can turn out aircraft carriers.
Your advise is unfeasible because of the second component. India doesn't have a need for half a dozen carriers. And investing in acquiring manufacturing ability is unfeasible for just one or two carriers.
There is a separate point to be made about indigenising components of the ship re-fitting or the aircraft manufacturing. As the article says, both the Russian and the America proposals include proposals to that effect.
Finally this is not about turning the Indian Ocean into a junk yard. This is about acquiring capabilites that are balanced against our needs. A second hand aircraft carrier fitted with state of the art fighter aircraft will still be a formidable detterent
Currently what we required and I have learnt is India requires 5 Nuclear Submarines with cruise Missiles hitting tgts above 5000 km deep inside every part of china. India must outright purchase atleast 5 Nuclear Subs and float tender and must redy to pay any Amount to avoid china threat. Noreover 3000 navy officers and sailors and DRDO scientist must have hard core training to operate. India must buy 5 uclear subs even if that cost 35000 crores but induct very fast in Next 6 months or Indian Navy must as Govt to give funds
RE:Stop buying weapons from west
by arp on Feb 27, 2008 04:34 PM Permalink
Too many Mig crashed in india.F 18 are better choice.these are tested.Many country have f 18.
RE:RE:Stop buying weapons from west
by sri on Feb 27, 2008 09:58 PM Permalink
Dont generalize. Only some MiG19s and some 21s crashed I think. Not the Mig29s.
goroshkov or kitty,if we are mighty enough,then lets have our own defence system which reduces our dependency on such carriers.both US and Russia are traders who are eying dollar rich India.outdated carriers are the way through which they are furthering their interests.lets be dependent on our own technology,develop it with war like efforts,and have our say.
The Politicians who deal don't understand the very nature of warfare system.. They will piss in their pants if threatened with a knife..
However these donkeys will go on for a deal with either Russia / US.. and get a old piece of crap.. Finally they will understand their foolishness after a year.. Then will fool the 90% of Indians who are biggest jackass of all...
This offer is a mirage. It is about confusing India and creating FAKE supplier prospects. No deal will ever materialise in reality. US, Russia and other big powers are making sure that whatever India gets with all the money doesn't 'FIT' together well. Russian AG deal has been purposefully disrupted to prevent India from getting a ac carrier. Idiot Indian politicians and half-educated IAS babus have no forethought and strategic mindset. They never bothered to develop India private enterprises in defense sector. Whatever heavy defense infrastructure (ship and aircraft building) we had in late 70s and 80s has been systematically disbanded for foreign deals so that Indian IAS babus and politicians get kickbacks.
RE:US carrier
by Mohan Kumar on Feb 27, 2008 05:30 PM Permalink
Absolutely. We just cant be a military might with imported weapons systems. If we can trust foreign private weapons manufacturers...why can we not trust our own private enterprises? But unless we do that, we will have to be happy buying vintage aircraft carriers from all those who want to junk it. Ofcourse we will pay billions for it.
RE:US carrier
by Sanjay on Feb 27, 2008 03:24 PM Permalink
U r right. Yet as of now we do need carrier. To man the Indian ocean and deter few rogue nations who are in process of building of massive military strength around us. Question is whether we need a single massive carrier like USS KH or smaller two carrier like AG.