Total 1935 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 56 | 57 | 58 | 59 | 60   Older >   >>
After seeing the replies..
by preeti on Feb 24, 2008 07:20 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I was not very sure about Raj's politics before. I had sympathy for the poor north indian workers who were thrown out. But after seeing the abusive, arrogant and immoral behaviour of north indians right on this rediff forum, I have to admit that I was naive to consider north indians as good people.
They really have no affection for marathi people or culture. They really are dangerous. Raj is right. These people are not ready to debate peacefully..they are only selfish and they take pride in that sort of behaviour. Extremely immoral people.

RE:After seeing the replies..
by Priya on Feb 24, 2008 07:26 PM  Permalink
Its sad when people of a region consider others region natives as "dangerous".
Are we living in a same country?
You may well want your Maharashtra to be a seperate country one day....pity

by Mubeen Pasha on Feb 24, 2008 07:22 PM  Permalink
You kick them and expect sympathy and affection for marathis.....what was the provocation and reason for Raj to start all this nonsense....and do you think the poor migrant who have been assalted and kicked are the ones who are posting in this forum.....Preeti you still need to grow up in your thinking

RE:RE:After seeing the replies..
by Priya on Feb 24, 2008 07:27 PM  Permalink
I agree with you friend

by Satish Saxena on Feb 24, 2008 07:44 PM  Permalink
Who are North Indians? Do they include Punjabis, Haryanavis, Rajasthanis including marwaris, Gujratis, Sindhis,Madhya Pradeshis Delhi walas,and Kashmiris? Every community has its own customs, food habits, living style and they celebrate their religious festival in their own style. They feel more comfortable in living the way they have been living through many generations. There is nothing wrong in letting them live the way they want to live so long as they do not step on the toes of the local people.The best example is the USA. People will change in time on their own.
Raj Thakeray is only trying to gain political mileage and that Marathi Manoos should understand.

by on Feb 24, 2008 09:30 PM  Permalink
First of all Raj Thakare has openly said in Press Conference he means migrants from UP and Bihar; and not all North Indians. It is Channels and Media constantly refering to "North Indians "

by on Feb 24, 2008 10:16 PM  Permalink

okay so what have the poor "migrants"
from UP and Bihar done?

they are just pawns in the hands of the
currupticians of their states just like
some -- not all -- Marathi manoos are
playing into the hands of the bafoonist
family of Maharashtra.

They love Hitler and even draw cartoons
like Hitler used to.

by Fun Lover on Feb 24, 2008 07:22 PM  Permalink
And why are they dangerous madam? What did the poor North Indian worker do to you? Please tell me.

Question to Marathi people
by Fun Lover on Feb 24, 2008 07:19 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I have a sincere question for Marathi people. What is your problem with North Indians settling in Mumbai? Do you know that Mumbai's local trains are being subsidized by the rest of India? Your state has produced great men like Shivaji and Ambedkar. In Hyderabad, the Ganesh Chathurthi festival celebrations are inspired by the Mumbai ones. In AP, your Shiridi Sai baba is very popular. We in AP had no problems in adopting some of your Marathi customs. Now please answer my question. What problem do you have with North Indians? What is the problem if North Indians want to celebrate Chath puja in Mumbai? Please be sincere in your reply.

RE:RE:Question to Marathi people
by Fun Lover on Feb 24, 2008 07:27 PM  Permalink
Huh! For 50 long years we were under socialist economy. During this period, the Indian politicians only concentrated on developing the metros and their adjoining areas. Mumbai also initially had a high advantage because of the British people developing it. So during the initial 50 years, UP and Bihar were highly neglected and these states slid backward because of unequal development policies. And you guys in Mumbai took a lot of resources from the rest of the country. Now you don't even have some courtesy to return the favour?

RE:Question to Marathi people
by Mubeen Pasha on Feb 24, 2008 07:24 PM  Permalink
And you want to say that maharastra was a heaven before all this people migrated there....have you heard "kuan ka mendhak"

by Ajmal basha on Feb 24, 2008 07:38 PM  Permalink
I think and feel Raj is right, I am a hyderabadi and was staying some time in Nashik, due to my work I have seen many places in india and also many towns in maharashtra. The condition of mumbai specially is vulnerable, believe me all you folks including all North indians who feel this is wrong will behave the same way as Raj is doing if outsiders come and occupy your land, your work oppourtunity, create havoc due to excessive population./...... Biharis specially are people who can work anywere in india, this included UP guys as well but Marathi guys are a bit different they cannot work outside maharashtra, this could be possibly due to the fact that the development in Maha has been quite good from ages and hence they didnt got the oppourtunity to go outside. Know things are becomming different for marathis and in any of the case it is their land and they have the first right and hence we should understand them as our brothers and let them live happily and lets create space for ourself in our place. Let me tell you the day is not far that similar agitation will come for hyderabad, in a span of 3-5 years we hyderabadis have become less and andhrites have phenominally grown, every street is packed, no space, trafic all these due to Andhrites, we hyderabadis are acepting as we dont have option but if it was due to kerelaites, biharis we wouldnt have tolerated. So what Raj is doing is not wrong, his intention may or may not be wrong but the issue is of concern for marathis and tha

by Gopal Patil on Feb 24, 2008 07:50 PM  Permalink
Correct

by swapnil daingade on Feb 24, 2008 07:37 PM  Permalink
dude! Mumbai accounts for 35% of India's tax collection. You arent paying for Mumbai, Mumbai is paying for you. I aiant from Mumbai, I dont live in Mimbai but still have a great respect for the city.

by shalini verma on Feb 24, 2008 09:56 PM  Permalink
Yeah dude! But the Tax is generated when people from the rest of India the stuff. It just so happens that the HQs are in Mumbai. Anyway now not many companies want to make Mumbai its HQ. So very soon Mumbai's tax base will go down and then you will be eating your own words.

by Fun Lover on Feb 24, 2008 07:39 PM  Permalink
And Mumbai is accounting for 35 % because people from all over India have set up industries there and developed that place. Not because of Raj Thackeray's gang.

by Ramesh Arya on Feb 24, 2008 07:29 PM  Permalink
U r wrong Mr. Fun lover. Mumbai local trains are not subsidised by rest of India. Check up your records. Mumbai Local train service is the highest revenue earner for railways, Comparatively facilities are very few compared to elsewhere like at Kolkata and Delhi.

by Fun Lover on Feb 24, 2008 07:38 PM  Permalink
Huh! Why do you think that the fares of local trains are low in Mumbai? Because they are subsidized by the rest of India.

by Ayan Roy on Feb 24, 2008 07:21 PM  Permalink
HI Fun Lover, I asked a similar question yesterday. No logical replies!

by Fun Lover on Feb 24, 2008 07:23 PM  Permalink
Yes sir. Unfortunately, on rediff, we rarely get any rational replies.

by Mubeen Pasha on Feb 24, 2008 07:28 PM  Permalink
The problem is most of the people posting here mean to say people using foul language are the internate cafe operators who dont have anythign to do and with there little knowledge become great politicains of country

by Priya on Feb 24, 2008 07:28 PM  Permalink
Biases are never logical

by Suraj Singh on Feb 24, 2008 07:23 PM  Permalink
The use it as a political rally. Live in Mumbai to know the facts.

"We participate in Gujarati garba and Bengali navratri. When south Indians perform Ayappa puja, some Maharashtrians offer special prayers," Raj said.

"But Chhat puja is not celebrated as a religious festival in Mumbai. It has become the arena of Bihari leaders and goondas to show their strength to the state," he said.

by on Feb 24, 2008 10:18 PM  Permalink

Go tell that to Sanjay Nirubum and
that Kripashankar.

by preeti on Feb 24, 2008 07:22 PM  Permalink
Read Raj's reply again. North indians not only want to 'settle' , they want to humiliate local people, insult local culture and eventually wipe it out. The marathis living in AP are not insulting AP culture or people. That's the difference.
And it's not just marathis, but every one else including Sheela Dixit having problem with north indians!

by Vijay Shanker on Feb 24, 2008 07:58 PM  Permalink
No doubt that north Indians particularly people from UP and Bihar are a bit either ill-cultured or arrogant or to some extent ignorant. I myself is from UP and aware of this fact. There is a saying in Hindi - " Jaisa Raja Vaisee Prajaa." Therefore, I would say that it is not the problem of people in general but few create problems for everyone. But solution is not to throw them out of Maharashtra. Rather, a system should have been worked out to make each and every person conscious of being in a discipline. We Indians do not believe in being in a disciplined manner within India but the moment we go to Europe or USA, we automatically start inoculating their disciplinary norms. It is simply because their country's disciplined way of life is so strong that there is no room left for anyone to disobey. On the similar grounds, leaders in Maharashtra should take some pain and introduce systems and make them mandatory for everyone to follow. Those who will feel uncomfortable in living in that situation will automatically leave the state and those who want to live will amend their behaviour automatically and move alongwoith the mainstream. But for that the local leaders whether he is Raj Thackery or Udhav Thackery or anyone else will have to be in discipline first and then they would be morally right in asking other to follow the rules. Simply throwing out someone or any community without any fault in particular is just like Gunda Raaj. If in the eyes of Raj Thakery, North Indians are

by amit sharma on Feb 24, 2008 07:27 PM  Permalink
how come by celebrating any pooja..marathi will threatned?

by preeti on Feb 24, 2008 07:26 PM  Permalink
It's time we castrate and sterilise them ! problem solved!

by rexberry on Feb 24, 2008 07:26 PM  Permalink
u all guys need a peg...
go n enjoy... this debate will never end....

by Fun Lover on Feb 24, 2008 07:28 PM  Permalink
Humiliate local people in what way? Please be more specific.

RE:RE:RE:Question to Marathi people
by Gopal Patil on Feb 24, 2008 07:33 PM  Permalink
leader of oppn in BMC one Bhaiya demanded tomake Hindi as official langauge. How this bhaiya can dare in Mumbai? This is humiliation of Marathi pride. He should be thrown out of Mumabai immediately. This is pure Bhaiya Giri

by preeti on Feb 24, 2008 07:33 PM  Permalink
They say that language of business in BMC should be Hindi. In this ENTIRE country, NOWHERE the language in local corporation is other than the state's local language. Why should Hindi be made the language of work in Maharashtra? This is one example. They REFUSE to learn local marathi language. Is that fair? Can u imagine someone going to Tamilnadu and demanding Hindi be made language of work in corporations across TN?

by Gopal Patil on Feb 24, 2008 07:36 PM  Permalink
right preeti. thanks for support.

by Gaurav Goel on Feb 24, 2008 07:35 PM  Permalink
Preeti but Northy create Business for Marathiies right? Zee, Sahara, Jet, UB group, Air Tel, and many small indutries. From 10,000 people entering into Bombay, atleast 1 becomes a successful Businessman. So logically migration has always been a key factor in any country's success. Now these leaders are frustated not because migration but because they have to work there butt out to improve infrastructure to handle so many people. Tell me one thing. We have money, cheap labor. Can't we make mumbai inot honkkong or shangai. But the fact is Marathi leader deshmukh doen't want to. That's my Argument . Look at newyork. Newyork Handle more people than Mumbai. There are local train running in 4 levels. We can make that. We have technonology. But Marathi leaders like northy leaders have failed us. I tell you the in the absense of compettion marathi will suffer. In US also I see all the high post are handeled by Northy or southy and poor marathi working as an avg. guy in a company. In just 3 years after competing my education, I have 5 marathi working for me. I being from BIMARU state. That's agression that these states bring to Bombay and mrathi Lags.

by preeti on Feb 24, 2008 07:40 PM  Permalink
Gaurav, Northies as in UP-Bihar lalu-mulayam type people! They do not create business for marathis! Businessmen are marwari, gujrati, parsi, punjabi, bengali, south indian, and MNCs. Nobody is talking of throwing them out! All big cities are cosmopolitan. But if the northies occupy mumbai at this rate, not just marathis, but even the marwari,gujrati, south indians and others living in mumbai will suffer big time.

by Gopal Patil on Feb 24, 2008 07:42 PM  Permalink
How can ypu say marathis are workilng at low level. You dont know Vikram Pandit is CEO of one of the biggest bank ( Citi Bank) in US. Let me tel you only iliterates can critisised Marathis. If any body is self respected, should live Mumbai and go to their own state. If I willbe offered big post in Bihar I wont accept. Check any IAS preferes 1st Mah, Guj, Pujab etc only bottom merit accepts bihar/up

by preeti on Feb 24, 2008 07:45 PM  Permalink
Also, even if the industries indeed move out of Maharashtra due to this issue, it won't affect marathis because they were not getting any profit/jobs from these industries anyway!
Marathis were not so good at business earlier but the new generation is pretty business savvy..we can develop maharashtra on our own..u go and develop ur bihar first!

by Gopal Patil on Feb 24, 2008 07:56 PM  Permalink
Due to this issue no inds will move out of Maharashtra. Becuse it is having natural co hecieve atmosphree for business that is why Indies are purchasing land at worlds highst cost. and expanding their business. in one discussion Shekar Suman told that Amitabh, Shaharukh etc ( out siders)had brought Mumbai fame. It they go out, fame will also disappear. here I want to tell They not brought fame. Mumbai made them famous, other wise they would have been really chhoras

by Gopal Patil on Feb 24, 2008 07:25 PM  Permalink
Raj is not having any problem to celebrate chhat Puja, but to demonstrate their north India srength they wanted to celebrate "uttar Bharatiya Diwas" from where they derive this Diwas? Just to show Dadagiri and that Raj dont want.

by Priya on Feb 24, 2008 07:29 PM  Permalink
you also seem to suffer from same prob...grow up man..

by Gopal Patil on Feb 24, 2008 07:28 PM  Permalink
Do you know one bhaiya in BMC ( leader of oppn) demanded to make Hindi as MNCs officil language. How this Bhaiya could dare? In Mumbai.

by amit sharma on Feb 24, 2008 07:31 PM  Permalink
CUM ON..PEOPLE IN BMC..SAID circulars should also be in hindi ..along with marathi and english..whats the problem in 3 language formula

RE:RE:RE:RE:Question to Marathi people
by Gopal Patil on Feb 24, 2008 07:46 PM  Permalink
What is the problem if Bhaiya are told to leave maharashtra?

by Fun Lover on Feb 24, 2008 07:31 PM  Permalink
Dude, just because some body said that Hindi should be made as an official language of MNC, it does not mean that it is an insult to Marathi. And it doesn't justify driving out N Indians from Maharashtra.

by Fun Lover on Feb 24, 2008 07:29 PM  Permalink
What is the problem in celebrating an Uttar Bhaarteeya divas?

by amit sharma on Feb 24, 2008 07:27 PM  Permalink
dont manipulate things..raj..said chhat puja is natunki

RE:RE:RE:RE:Question to Marathi people
by Gopal Patil on Feb 24, 2008 07:30 PM  Permalink
When they wanted to show strenghth, than Puja. It becomes nautanki.

by Gopal Patil on Feb 24, 2008 07:29 PM  Permalink
When they wanted to show strenghth, than Puja. It becomes nautanki.

RE:Mission to Occupy
by Satish Saxena on Feb 24, 2008 07:59 PM  Permalink
You are absolutely wrong. No Bihari/Bhayya ever imposed their language, culture or style on others. They are from the lower rung of the society and they never had the clout to impose their will on others. If Hindi has spresd in the areas where you have mentioned, it has spread because the people wanted it. Why people wanted it? The reasons may be plenty. Even inspite of your wish Hindi as it is spoken in innumerable ways will go on spreading inspite of your objection. Unfortunately or fortunately the fact is this.Let things take shape the natural way.

by amit sharma on Feb 24, 2008 07:33 PM  Permalink
Gopal krishna..first of all change your name ..krisna was bhaiya too..

RE:RE:Mission to Occupy
by amit sharma on Feb 24, 2008 07:35 PM  Permalink
hahaha..what a irony person by the name of gopal krishna..spreading venom about north indians

by Vesel Sha on Feb 24, 2008 07:28 PM  Permalink
FKER!!! Dont u know HINDI IS THE NATIONAL Language?? If not go back 2 school and recite "jana gana mana"....& IF U WANT UR LOCAL DIALECT TO OVERRULE, make ur state a DIFF. COUNTRY, DONT BE PART OF INDIA DAMN IT!!!

by Manish Prateek on Feb 24, 2008 07:40 PM  Permalink
This is something to be thaught about.. why not have seperate countries in place of all the states? Divide India into several countries and then have your own rule.. Visas norms and passport.. why to call India a cuntry? Better we should be known as Bihari, Gujrati, Marathis etc.. and our different countries .... with our own reginola language...
Same stratagies where opted by Britisher... divided us in name of religon.. now our own politicians must divid us in the name of Caste, Language, Culture...infact we should be divided even on the name of elder brother and younger brother... The whole bunch of so called politicians must kick our butt and they must enjoy the power... as we Indians are nothing but bunch of Sheep's mentality human... Oh sorry not human.. but we are worse than animals...
When world is moving ahead towards new horizon.. we must try to become "Cave Society"
Let us live divided... for that any reason of division is acceptable. Salute to our Politicials and their "Followers"
Jai Hind

Independence gone waste
by Mubeen Pasha on Feb 24, 2008 07:19 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Looking at the state of affairs in this country be it politicians or the thinking of common man I feel it would had been had Britishers still ruled us....just look at the way we all are fighting among ourselves at least under colonial rule India was united, people felt for others and respected others now a days the thinking is who cares the damn about others be it his relatives.

Abuse others or stoop down to any level to make your presence felt even though nobody cares a damn about you.....and the funny thing is we havent been still able to come out of colonial rule mentality....we still bend from waist against any foreigner but dont want to respect fellow Indians.

Whats the point cursing Raj or north indians for that matter.

RE:Independence gone waste
by on Feb 25, 2008 01:40 AM  Permalink

Thank you we don't want you back.

In 60 years you've unlearnt everything
that we taught you.

You could not even preserve
our Victoria Terminus or our
Prince of Wales Museum.

-- Elizabeth Queen of England --

to Mr.lalu prasad yadav & Central Govt.
by ajay pawar on Feb 24, 2008 07:18 PM  Permalink 

Political leaders should enforce all state to develop , which will create earnings to the locals maily. take example - Bangalore & Hyderabad as well as Noida -should work on it will help those who keeping there families at native and work in other state.

raj thakrey is like a street dog. he is barking. if he barks too much and tries to bite people, he will face consequence. a mad dog is eliminated for safety of all
by rediffistp on Feb 24, 2008 07:18 PM  Permalink 

plain and simple

by SM on Feb 24, 2008 07:22 PM  Permalink
Well said Shri Gopal Krishna, As a Indian we always respect our Rashtra Bhasha. But it doesnt mean that one should forget his own mother lounge. Even while conversation between two UP person, they speak their local language and not the pure hindi.

by pakaya on Feb 24, 2008 07:20 PM  Permalink
g8 said.

WhyBihar and UP are left behind.
by Suraj Singh on Feb 24, 2008 07:17 PM  Permalink 

Growth performance has been equally varied, with the slowest growth in state per capita income in Bihar, at -0.2 per cent per year during 1992-98, compared with the fastest growth in Gujarat, at 7.8 per cent per year.

The differential performance across states has begun to raise important policy questions within India.

To what extent are the differences a manifestation of global economic forces acting upon India, especially during a period of economic liberalisation, and to what extent do they reflect differences in economic policies at the state and union level?

Will market reforms tend to make the rich states richer in relative terms, with the poor states lagging ever farther behind, or will market reforms lead to economic convergence across states?

Specifically, are the poorest states (especially the so-called BIMARU states of Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh) condemned to fall further behind the front-runners, at least in relative terms?
rediff.com/money/2002/feb/26spec.htm

Total 1935 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 56 | 57 | 58 | 59 | 60   Older >   >>