Total 1262 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45   Older >
Room is Yours.....Not The House... :-(
by sachin shet on Feb 15, 2008 03:30 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I felt a little dampness in my eyes while reading your article Vijay...Well said....
I dont understand why everyone wants to live in rooms of the homes rather owning & developing the Home itself.....Com-on People its high time we have to stop concentrating on petty issues like this......Lets build a Better India, which means Better regions in a way too.
Agreed we have lot of cultural differences when you travel Kashmir to Kanyakumari, & Gujrat to Bengal....Please respect the localites & try not to hurt their sentiments.......
Again Good One Vijay

Is Being Indian Not Enough?
by keeth Lapersonne on Feb 15, 2008 03:27 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I must congratulate Mr Tarun Vijay on the above Article.It's now a proven fact that if you've got to belong to SC/ST, Minority, OBC, or what have you, to being called an Indian. These Bloody Politicians have made a mockery of our country. This Article is an eye opener I certainly hope one and all read it and do some real thinking as to where we are heading. So my fellow Indians lets one and all sincerly cast our votes ( Next Lok Sabha elections ) and rid ourselves of these parasites ( Netas ).

RE:Is Being Indian Not Enough?
by arp on Feb 15, 2008 03:36 PM  Permalink
Tarun Vijay ,well said.Hope Laloooo,Mulayam,Mayavati,Paswan,Raj,Udhav will read this article.Please send one copy to congress party who played dirty politics in Maharastra with the help of Raj.

RE:RE:Is Being Indian Not Enough?
by arp on Feb 15, 2008 03:39 PM  Permalink
Maharastra govt must take action against lalooo and amar singh.Both are trying to make this bad issue alive.

Who is a Maharashtrian ?
by Vivek Vadke on Feb 15, 2008 03:23 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Tarun ji, I think you miss a point here. Of course, everyone is welcome to Maharashtra; but, having been welcomed, she/he should mix well with the local population. The key for a good mix is the language. The problem with many Uttar Hindusthanis (UH) is that they refuse to learn Marathi even when deciding to make their career, and livelihood, in Maharashtra. Not only would they not speak Marathi, they would agressively insist that two Marathi persons should converse in Hindi in their presence as they (UH) would not understand the langauage. That is simply not acceptable anymore ! It is high time the UH adopt to this simple expectation of Maharashtrians.

Dr. Vivek Vadke
Thane

RE:Who is a Maharashtrian ?
by pradeep kumar on Feb 15, 2008 03:44 PM  Permalink
Dear friend suppose you goto France and if two people there talk in french then u would also ask them to speak in lang which u know....its as simple as that......use some brainsss

by manish kalia on Feb 15, 2008 03:50 PM  Permalink
Vivek ji
Did the MNS workers who burnt the Bus in Nasik asked the people whether they can speak marathi?
If knowing marathi is so important then why marathi medium schools are getting closed year after year in Mumbai?

by Peaceful Protest on Feb 15, 2008 03:31 PM  Permalink
all the others you are saying do not come in open....they are employers...sit in their cabin...no harm...

the UH actually are on street and affect common man..

by Mahesh Gokhale on Feb 15, 2008 03:35 PM  Permalink
yeah...very true..please remember this is possible ONLY in Maharashtra....try teaching these things in Chennai... will you please dare to do this ?

RE:RE:Who is a Maharashtrian ?
by Murli on Feb 15, 2008 03:33 PM  Permalink
Superb reply!

by prashant suryawanshi on Feb 15, 2008 03:37 PM  Permalink
Solution is here......

If parents/Govt in UP Bihar know..their next gen gonna work in Maharahtra...why do not they add language marathi in thier curriculam??
Or atleast they should be given some cultural oeientaion about maharashra...
1.DO not eat paan n spit on road.
2.Do no use rail tracks for morning activities/
3.Do not break traafic signal.
4. DO not open roadside shops
5. do not sleep n live on platform
6.do not built slums around ciy
7. do not leak water lines
8. do not have illigal water , electricity connections
9. do not attain political raliies..

its so simple..then their next gen is well come to Mumbai n maharashtra

by Ajay Mishra on Feb 15, 2008 05:13 PM  Permalink
Mr Prashant,
I think u have not seen the real Mumbai
1. Just be a keen observer and check that how many outsiders are consuming tobacco in local trains and spitting it from the window on the platform.
2. Check that after mashing the tobacco along with "Chuna" how many of them throw it inside the compartment.
3.Regarding breaking traffic signals, these poor people dont own any vehicle (maybe cycle sometimes) so there is no question of breaking signals.
4. Travel in any ST bus and you will find that all people spit inside the bus along with the conductor which is a rare sight to see.
5. U can have illegal connections only if you give bribes to the persons who are working in these divisions. They are also equally responsible for it.

I have lots more but I just dont want to make u feel embarrased about it.
May be the Govt of UP/Bihar should learn a lesson and try to increase job opportunities in their state to help these poor people so that they can earn their living. My head dropped in shame when I learnt that a pregnant lady was also made to flee from Nasik and she delivered a baby in a toilet of an Express Train. I hope this is not the culture we are looking out for in a democratic country like ours.

by manish kalia on Feb 15, 2008 03:53 PM  Permalink
mr prashant

Maharastra state is number one
1. producing Gutka
2. consumption of Tobacco.
3. You will find pan wala shop at gate of every resturant in Mumbai, who is buying those PAN?
4. travel in any red box called ST you will who spit more.

by Ritu Goyal Harish on Feb 15, 2008 03:30 PM  Permalink
You are so small in ur thinking. Is language everything? If so, then why have u adopted English? Stop speaking the language and communicating in it.

by prashant suryawanshi on Feb 15, 2008 03:39 PM  Permalink
exactly........ur answeing ure own question..

U want to earn so u larn language...
the way u learnt english

why not try to learn local language

by Asheesh Sinha on Feb 15, 2008 04:00 PM  Permalink
learning or not learning a language is my personal business. If i really wish, i would learn the local language. But if i dont, and I know a common language then I dont see a need of violence to make me learn it..

I have a question, if I was a mute person, could I stay anywhere in India? coz i wont be speaking any language then

by pradeep kumar on Feb 15, 2008 03:46 PM  Permalink
good reply rits

by neha on Feb 15, 2008 03:40 PM  Permalink
Mr. Vivek,

Do you have the same feeling for these fims stars, if ues then dare to ask mr. bachhan & mr. SRK to leave the maharashtra.

Pl. stop this game of politics otherwise that day is not too far when the whole country will burn.

neha

by suren h on Feb 15, 2008 03:46 PM  Permalink
Dear Neha, The point here is about the living & thinking.

by prashant suryawanshi on Feb 15, 2008 03:50 PM  Permalink
These stars actually adding value to our state..
ppl like them are always welcome/

but ppl who spit on road, live in slums, sells rediculas stuff on footpath are not acceptable

RE:RE:RE:Who is a Maharashtrian ?
by sehil on Feb 15, 2008 04:17 PM  Permalink
haha good excuse becuase if u ask them(amit shahrukh) to speak in marathi they will laugh and kick ur as4s hard.

by shalini verma on Feb 15, 2008 03:35 PM  Permalink
I dont see why there should be any compulsion to learn the local language and adopt the local culture when you move a certain state. this is the most rediculous thought, especially when a lot of the culture is archaic, and should have been discarded by the local community too!!

by Viral on Feb 15, 2008 03:32 PM  Permalink
Dear Sir,
I think the real issue is not abt the migrants being unable to speak the local language, it's abt how they are affecting the lives of existing occupants

by suren h on Feb 15, 2008 03:43 PM  Permalink
Rightly said Viral

by The DoN on Feb 15, 2008 03:26 PM  Permalink
Majority of them do the same in Bangalore

by chethan m on Feb 15, 2008 03:51 PM  Permalink
Bangalore is the same case. Where other states people do business,Occupy all jobs ,But reject to speak ,respect locals in anyway. They bread and butter from this land, They want cauvery water But not kannada.

by jayesh desai on Feb 15, 2008 03:36 PM  Permalink
Dear Mr. Vivek:

Your version is certainly contrary to national integration. What Raj Thakrey did is very akin to Jinnah's movement for a separate muslim country. Certainly, people should be encouraged to learn local language. Howevr, this should not be at the cost of livelihood for poor taxiwallah or pan wallah. India is one and we should not let politician divide it based on their vote bank politics. Educated people like you should not fall in such trap else we are again going back to the days of 1947.

by sehil on Feb 15, 2008 04:08 PM  Permalink
what rubbish logic is this. i doubt u r a doctor or living in a stone age. how somebody can force u to speak hindi(its a lame logic) to hide ur insecurities. if they dont learn marathi then its their loss. why u should bother that they must learn marathi. why r u feeling so much of responsibility on ur weak shoulders. why dont u ask ur son/daughter to go for a doctatrate in marathi language. that will be the true tribute to marathi culture.

by Adi Adi on Feb 15, 2008 03:38 PM  Permalink
idiots ..All Maharashtrians who think so should be thrown out of India..u ppl are really backword.. Does Maharashtrians living in other states adopts other state's colture?? Should those Maharashtrians who don't know tamil sud be thrown out of TamilNadu and should those Maharashtrians be beaten up in public...All other states sud send Maharashtrians back to their beloved Maharashtra after taking all their money and property...

by prashant suryawanshi on Feb 15, 2008 03:51 PM  Permalink
ADI ,
you should be greaful n not arrogant
you are getting bread n butter here

RE:RE:RE:Who is a Maharashtrian ?
by sehil on Feb 15, 2008 04:13 PM  Permalink
who the hell r u prashant. why r u feeling so much of social responsibility on ur weak shoulder. its just to hide from real problems of ur life. even after this bull shit u will remain same frustrated prashant. only raj is going to gain some political space. why r u spoiling the marathi culture. ye sab kya hai bete prashant . please write ur messages in marathi.

by Adi Adi on Feb 15, 2008 03:53 PM  Permalink
see who are talking about namak haraam..we eat Indian namak not of Maharashtra's kadi ;) .why dont u ppl make seprate country ..we are indian ok...not Maharashtrian, Tamilan,kannad...And tamil ppl are not idiots like Maharashtrian thats why they have made Rajnikant super hero...you have only one example Rajnikant i can give you lakhs of example of Maharashtrian who are staying in other states...

by aatyeuka on Feb 15, 2008 03:36 PM  Permalink
Yes,I agree to Vivek fully...Tarunji,any normal Maharashtrian would never separate you alone.That's not Maharashtra's culture.You would agree that...but what about those who are not getting gelled in local culture?if you say as long as they are Indians it does not matter which language they speak,then I would go beyond this and say-as long as they are humans it does not matter.This way we would even welcome Bangladeshish...because as per teaching given by Sant Dnyaneshwar,we believe in Vishwa-Bandhutva.
Every rational person has to agree this-you can not and should not stay in a land without mixing with it...may be it Mumbai,Maharashtra,India,US or planet earth.

by pradeep kumar on Feb 15, 2008 03:51 PM  Permalink
The thing is that u people are afraid of others caz they r more intelligent than u and u cant get past them....u want everything on ur laps and mouth whereas these people from outside work hard therefore they are at high position not like u.......baap dada ki daulat.....

by Asheesh Sinha on Feb 15, 2008 03:47 PM  Permalink
People migrating from Bangladesh is unlawful. People moving from "Indian" northern part to Maharashtra isnt illegal. This is a simple fact that suddenly has been forgotten. I know a common language, English, and as far as gelling with others go, I can gel with others who speak English ( or Hindi if they would).

By the way IMO the reply to non-gelling cant be beating to death

Leave all this nonsense, first is there a equal law for everyone?
by khader syed on Feb 15, 2008 03:23 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

We should first ensure that all Indians whosoever they might be get justice, let all those terrorists, rioters, cheaters, scamsters, rapists, hate mongers, intruders on our soil, brought to book and given speedy justice, then I would believe everybody would feel he is an Indian.

RE:Leave all this nonsense, first is there a equal law for everyone?
by Jitesh Kumar Agrawal on Feb 15, 2008 03:42 PM  Permalink
Well thats what uniform civil code says but muslims are the ones who have protested it all along.

Hyppocracy,they name is RSS
by Aadi Manav on Feb 15, 2008 03:22 PM  Permalink 

why the heartburns Mr Tarun Vijay when you see the dream of Hindu Unity all over India getting Shattered ? Did you and your organization support the divide on religeon basis in India? Weren't people belonging to non-hindu faiths are Indian? The answer is yes but still as far as the divide is reaping the votes for you,you would like to go ahead for it.
ZIts only when culture takes over the religeon then you have reservations isn't it? So when Raj Thackrey talks about Marathi pride and Kannadigas Geheraoed Laloo over the recruitment of Biharis in Banglore for Railway jobs,one thing you need to clearly understand thata cultue would be always greater than religeon. For a Goan Hindu a Goan Christian would be very close than a UP or Bihari Hindu.

Can RSS accept muslim who are indian
by cracy on Feb 15, 2008 03:20 PM  Permalink 

TH eauthor is right but this great organization has started all this. I am an indian and do my duty honestly and obey all rule of law. But I am average and cann't do anything like pathan or Dr.kalam has done either i have no qualification to be in army. Can RSS or Tarun Vijay and his RSS call me an Indian which I sincerely believe i am. I am muslim for them and cann't be an indian For me I am proud Indian muslim. when u have divided the country on religious line then u cann't help further division based on regional line. ITS goes like this an apple is an apple for everyone when u start giving it different name based on certain charater u cann' t stop others from doing that. RAj is doing the same thing in his own interpretation. So now after congress bjp Bsp...... we have another player in the field. To be just an Indian u need to accept all the indian in whichever colour and creed there are, If you as a person can accept each of them then u can expect the same from each other. TIll then Mr. Tarun Vijay u have no right to complaint.

Good article
by on Feb 15, 2008 03:19 PM  Permalink 

by Dinakara

After a long time, i read a good article in rediff. Hats off to the author for such a thought provoking article.
Particularly the clarity of thoughts and the real concerns expressed by the author are appreciable..

Lot to learn from America
by abcl on Feb 15, 2008 03:18 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

See in America there are more states than us but we havent seen any street fight like this. We need to learn lots from US.

RE:Lot to learn from America
by Peaceful Protest on Feb 15, 2008 03:23 PM  Permalink
our diversity in terms of language, culture, race, religion, castes, etc etc is not comparable to America.

I believe they need to learn a lot from us.

by abcl on Feb 15, 2008 03:26 PM  Permalink
But in this case i must believe that their diversity is more real and acceptable than us because they are not fighting on the bases of their region.

by Viral on Feb 15, 2008 03:37 PM  Permalink
Dear Friend,
Even US do suffer from street fight, violence etc. it is jst that we always see Newyork, Las vegas as US. So we create an illusion that it's a HEAVEN out there, but it's NOT

by Peaceful Protest on Feb 15, 2008 03:22 PM  Permalink
No. There is one unique culture all over America and the states are based on geography and not on language, religion, race, etc etc. You can see some states are exactly square in shape.

by aatyeuka on Feb 15, 2008 03:39 PM  Permalink
WTF.I dont think u really understand it dude..U can NOT get driving licence in Michigan unless u are a Michigan resident.

A VERY SAD STATE OF AFFAIRS
by narayanarao nagvar on Feb 15, 2008 03:17 PM  Permalink 

It is really a shocking truth but then we have to digest it as it is. being a hindu is the first major disqualification to be in Hindustan(India). Unless you belong to minorities group you cannot survive in our country or is it their country and that we are all intruders. Here, you should be a politician, millionaire, police or a business person who gets protected at the cost of exchequer. comman man is thrown to the wolves. see, the PM is least concerned about the shocking state of affairs of internal security and the state of farmers who are commiting suicide since they have no right to live. This PM goes behind the great Sonia Gandhi who has never understood hindu culture. She is openly and covertly propogating for Christianity. Between Abdullahs and sonias our country will be wiped out and we become slaves for ever under these tyrants. where is the identity of a hindu? lost for ever. GOD save us all.

Total 1262 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45   Older >