Its a hard fact today that we all have lost our identity as an "Indian" within India. We all prefer our "other social tags" like Hindu, Muslim, Sikh, Gupta, Sharma, Punjabi, Bengali and so on and so forth. Not only this, we also think and behave like "sectarian folks". While the issues of over-burdeneing of Metros and marginalisation of local folks may be genuine to some extent, such matters need to be taken care of in a way that our social fabric remains intact and our "Indianness" and our being "Indian" is not lost...
I clearly remember that in a country in the Middle east there was an interview going on for a salesman's job, and there were many different nationalities applied for the job. And the interviewer asked one of the candidates "Where are you from?" and the answer was not "India" it was "Kerala". Thankfully He was regected.
RE:Where r you from?
by varghese on Feb 16, 2008 10:42 AM Permalink
THE SOLE REASON FOR THIS TYPE OF LAWLESSNESS IS DUE TO THE FAILURE OF THE CORRUPT INEPT INDIAN JUDICIARY!!!
THE COMMON MAN HAS LOST FAITH IN THE JUDICIAL PROCESS OF DELAYED AND DENIED JUSTICE,SO THE GOONS HAVE STEPPED INTO TO FILL THIS VACCUM..GOONS BEING OF 2/3 KINDS..
ONE IS THE UNIFORMED GOONS(GOONDAS) ANOTHER IS THE UN-UNIFORMED GOONS(POLICE) THE THIRD VARIETY IS THE POLITICIANS..
ALL OF THEM HAVE PICKED THEIR SPOTS DUE TO THE CORRUPT JUDGES,LAWYERS,ADVOCATES.
THE SOLE CAUSE OF RUIN OF DEMOCRACY,FERMENTING OF COMMUNALISM AND LAWLESSNES IS NOT ANYONE ELSE BUT THIS JUDICIARY..
WAKE UP INDIANS AND STOP BLAMING OTHERS THE REAL PERSON IS THIS JUDICIARY ..
THESE GOONS ARE THE REAL PLAYERS..IDENTIFY THEM EXPOSE THEM AND NAIL THEM..
WAKE UP INDIA!! SPREAD THIS MESSAGE...
JUDICIARY IS THE SOLE CAUSE OF THIS FAILURE OF DEMOCRACY IN INDIA...WAKE UP!!!!
by Piyush Gupta on Feb 16, 2008 10:37 AM Permalink
Brilliant. At least the foreigners understand the importance of being Indian and not Keralite.
by anoop sukumar on Feb 16, 2008 10:47 AM Permalink
Well i am a Keralite, I too have heard this story.. But i do think, keralites have never said or done anyting that is anti nationlist.. see.. it wld be unintentionaly reply.. unlikee.. these maharshtrians.. who wants all non maharashitrian out of mumbai... these... tamilians.. who dont want hindi in their state... kashmiris.. who dosnt want to be a part of india.... and the kannadigas.. who beats up every tamilian.. when there is an issue.. the comment made by the keralite... is just nothing.. We love always love our country... even though we are not a major part of the political system in our country...
by tamil on Feb 16, 2008 11:07 AM Permalink
Anoop am from TN , We too love keralites so much.. tis you can see by the indian population census.. of how many percentage of Keralites r living in TN( almost a small kerala popln).... do u think v dont agree on hindi made u to sit there in keralal itself.. can i know wat way it affected yr ppl.. dont jus critise others.. as in TN v dont go for any violence .. so the only point is hindi..
by anoop sukumar on Feb 16, 2008 11:25 AM Permalink
Well tamil i dont have anyting for tamilians.. but I was just comparing the unintentional comment that a keralite have made.. how insignificant that is... However regarding Hindi It is our national language.. if we want something to bind our selves together.. we need to communicate better.. which i feel can be done by HINDI... by doing not so.. we are getting secluded into our own shells.. right... i really love tamilians.. more than any people out of my state people in india... well.. mallus living in tamil nadu.. they are every where i guess.. [/:D]
by Manjula A on Feb 16, 2008 12:51 PM Permalink
Mr. Anoop sukumar, any resistance in Tamil Nadu was against the imposition of the Language Hindi but never any violence against any person of any state. You guys are in the habit of just going ahead to compare anything with anything. It is absolutely mean to compare fanatic violence with peaceful protest against the imposition of a language is admittedly 75% foreign.
by Sasikanth N on Feb 16, 2008 01:43 PM Permalink
learning a language or not is a personal thing.. In this Free india don%u2019t the Tamilians have even this freedom. nobody can force Tamilians to learn a language..
U can't compare whats going on in Mumbai to TN... In Mumbai Marathi plp know hindi but targeting hindi plp. In TN nobody knows hindi.. but no other language people are targeted by any way.. You decide which one u want..
RE:RE:Where r you from?
by anoop sukumar on Feb 16, 2008 10:50 AM Permalink
Well.. I THINK THIS IS THE TRUE NATIONALISTIC INDIAN... AND THESE ARE TURE NATIONALISTIC COMMENTS..MR.pwnzorzz.. wotever.. ur a jerk... look yourself in the mirror before you make comments sitting the gallery...
What is this india any way we are talking about? Is it gandhis inida? Is it british India? Is it Muslim India?
What is the vision of this so called India? Is it the constitution .. To be like USA ..
What does it mean to be an Indian.. I this we have lost it as Indians .. We are becomeming more a& more materialistic and adopting Western Values.
We have lost touch from our ancient heritage ..It is so SAD, we should be ashamed of this so called modernity we could have done it without destroying the fabric of society.. but we all behaving like dos in the name of progress hankerin after american money , jobs, visas, investments and so caleed globalization , this is why indian is meaning to be less and less.. it has lost its meaning.
RE:What is this India ANYWAY?
by varghese on Feb 16, 2008 10:47 AM Permalink
THE SOLE REASON FOR THIS TYPE OF LAWLESSNESS IS DUE TO THE FAILURE OF THE CORRUPT INEPT INDIAN JUDICIARY!!!
THE COMMON MAN HAS LOST FAITH IN THE JUDICIAL PROCESS OF DELAYED AND DENIED JUSTICE,SO THE GOONS HAVE STEPPED INTO TO FILL THIS VACCUM..GOONS BEING OF 2/3 KINDS..
ONE IS THE UNIFORMED GOONS(GOONDAS) ANOTHER IS THE UN-UNIFORMED GOONS(POLICE) THE THIRD VARIETY IS THE POLITICIANS..
ALL OF THEM HAVE PICKED THEIR SPOTS DUE TO THE CORRUPT JUDGES,LAWYERS,ADVOCATES.
THE SOLE CAUSE OF RUIN OF DEMOCRACY,FERMENTING OF COMMUNALISM AND LAWLESSNES IS NOT ANYONE ELSE BUT THIS JUDICIARY..
WAKE UP INDIANS AND STOP BLAMING OTHERS THE REAL PERSON IS THIS JUDICIARY ..
THESE GOONS ARE THE REAL PLAYERS..IDENTIFY THEM EXPOSE THEM AND NAIL THEM..
WAKE UP INDIA!! SPREAD THIS MESSAGE...
JUDICIARY IS THE SOLE CAUSE OF THIS FAILURE OF DEMOCRACY IN INDIA...WAKE UP!!!!
Without taking anything away from what Union Minister has said on Mumbai,
I think only our constitution says that anyone can go and work anywhere in India, but the practical and painful fact is - one may just survive but not grow or prosper in a location other than their home state. The language and cultural barriers existing in the country have virtually put paid to consistency and thereby overall progress and competitiveness of the country.
Believe me or not, India is made of 16 or more COUNTRIES, not states. Can we say at this time, that someone from Bihar - I am talking about a common man - can go and survive in a place like Calicut in Kerla. There is a huge divide in how people look at things between the two states leave alone the language barrier. Due to this divide, we have practically taken away the competitive potential of a country of 1.2 billion population, because there is lack of consistency - which is seen in advanced countries like US, Japan, Korea, Germany, France and even China because of common business language that prevail within these countries.
There are no immediate solutions since the framework has so for a long time. I sometimes wonder if India is as progressive as it is primarily due to the sheer number of people it commands in each of its "States" more than any concerted government policy or strategy for long term growth - such strategies are practically inconceivable given the local constraints of cultural and language differences
The writer need not worry so much. The kind of anguish expressed in the article is not becoming of a fair editor. The words are thrown in only to pump in an argument, which are in no way moderate. The issue raised is only by unscrupulous, seld styled politiacal leaders. Unfortunate that they enjoy some followers who are nothing but blind and most of them appear to be non-thinkers, with brains shut off. All their thinking is loaned to their respective leaders. Even a silly comment by the leaders cause wide spread nuisance, terror, irritation and uncertainty in the minds of common man. Ultimately it is the common man who is made to bear the brunt, whatever be the issue.
RE:Extreme views!
by bhagwat goel on Feb 16, 2008 10:46 AM Permalink
Only a 'JUNGLEE' can take exception to the truthfull and sincere situations and facts expressed by Sh Tarun Vijay.
Most of Indian media is incompetent and do not understand their responsibilities. Regional chavunism existed for centuries regardless of what constitution says. Despite all the negative energies created by political system, India is progressing. So media instead of sensationalizing unwanted issues is playing in the hands of vested interests
RE:Marthi ppl are like Germans . They think they r no.1
by Nikhil on Feb 16, 2008 10:16 AM Permalink
That is a blunt truth. We are no 1. That is why all Bhaiiya and Loongis come here
by legned on Feb 16, 2008 10:21 AM Permalink
I am Marwadi (Rajastani-jain) from Chennai (forefathers settled in Chennai since 1910). If u r No.1 means why can't u take Marathi movies & watch them. Why Marathi are far behind IT field than AP,Tamilnadu,Karnataka,kerala. Why lot of underworlds are from Marathis Why lots of AIDS in ur state? Why no Marathi TV Channels Except Doordharsan? Why u cannot prounounce English properly
by Indian Vamphire on Feb 16, 2008 10:32 AM Permalink
Dont talk stupid. If you are staying in Chennai what world you know outside Chennai? Marathi movies are the 1st preference of Marathi people. In fact one of the Marathi movie was also nominated in Oscars. The 1st spoken movie of India "Raja Harishchandra" was in Marathi itself. The first Kranti of 1857 was from Maharashtra itself. Speaking about Underworlds.. Other than Gawli, all others are from UP & Bihar like Chotta Shakeel, Abu Salem, Chotta Rajan, etc. AIDS is spreaded mostly in mass population of outsiders in Maharashtra. There are total 7 Marathi Channels and this are viewed more than other language channels in Maharashtra. And please don't talk about English pronounciation. We all know how people from Chennai pronounce M & N. IT is most spreaded in Maharshtra. Go to Pune, Kolhapur or Sangli. You will see this the most. Whereas IT is only concentrated in Chennai or Hyderabad and is not spreaded in other parts of the state.
RE:RE:Marthi ppl are like Germans . They think they r no.1
by Ramjeet Gupta on Feb 16, 2008 10:34 AM Permalink
Marathis are no. 1thats why marathi is only spoken in maharashtra and not beyond maharashtra.
Whereas Bhaiyas and loongis are known world wide.
Example :- in singapore there is a town known as mini india due to the south indians majority over there.
There was a president of Mauritius (an island country in indian ocean) who is 100% bhaiya with surname gupta. He was from Azamgarh district of Uttar pradesh. When he visited india at the time he was president of mauritius he cried saying that the country of which he is president got indepence long back after indian was freed from british but today mauritius is way ahead compared to india.
Apart from that the language of bhaiyas are also spoken beyond india to name few of them are nepal. mauritius, new guenia, surinam, holland, west indies now also in singapore there is a society of bhaiyas which was also in news few months back.
Reading about the various incidents happening in our country..it definetly pains to feel that, being a Indian is no longer the identity, one needs to be seggregated in the name of religion, caste, language, the state one lives in, the state where one is born etc.. history is replete with instances where we have betrayed our own kin for power and this weakness was exploited to the hilt by the britishers to rule for such a long time.
what is the use in singing the national anthem and saluting our flag when we are killing our own country men in the name of caste, religion, language and state. every politician, leader sits in his ac room and its the common man who bears the brunt of all the stupidity.
where is peace in our country..you have marathi manus problem in maharashtra, telengana state in ap, naxal problem in MP/Orissa/WB, bhayya politics in Bihar..you name a state, there is unrest in anything..
the old saying " United we are strong " " Divided we fall " seems to unwind itself in front of our eyes. we seem to divide ourselves in the name of caste, language, state..and who gains in the end..the enemies of our country who are looking at the whole events with a glee in their eyes.
what the britishers did by diving hindu's and muslims and now we are taking a step further by dividing ourselves in the name of our caste, language.
our country is slowly disintegrating in front of our own eyes and isn't it time that we stop this..give it a though everyone..
Our faulty constitution has ensured that to be an Indian you have to accept Hindi as a national language. If there is no official religion of India then why official language. Why communities of other languages which are arguably superior to hindi have to sacrifice their mather toungue and culture? The result to day is that the new generation of vernacular communities are unable to speak their mother toungue. Its a shame and this is all because of the well planned strtegy to hindi bridage.
RE:What is the definition of an INDIAN
by a c on Feb 16, 2008 10:44 AM Permalink
Mr.Chakravarty is little confused.In the first sentence he writes "Hindi as a(?)national language" and in the second,he goes on to write "official language".I am sure he has no idea about the notion of "THE national language" and "THE official language".Hindi was never adopted as the national language of our country over other languages(it's only one of the national languages in a list that has got Bengali also),it was only recognised as the official language of this vast country which had more than 1600 languages.Even this was necessary only to have an indian language becoming a part of the administration so as to signify that the administration had an India-centric orientation.Hindi was considered appropriate for this purpose because even at that point,it was the language spoken and/or understood by the largest segment of population.Inspite of such concrete facts in its favour,it required Dr.Rajendra Prasad's casting vote to overcome stiff opposition from some members of the constituent assembly who had ensured a deadlock through voting.The constitution does not force anybody to accept Hindi as a national language,just as it does not force a person to accept Bengali as a national language or any of the other national languages.Regarding superiority of any language over the other,this clearly smacks of blatant arrogance and ignorance;something which deserves to be ignored with contempt.Finally,nobody has forced vernaculars to stop learning their own languages or use them.
by a b c on Feb 16, 2008 10:43 AM Permalink
Mr.Chakravarty is little confused.In the first sentence he writes "Hindi as a(?)national language" and in the second,he goes on to write "official language".I am sure he has no idea about the notion of "THE national language" and "THE official language".Hindi was never adopted as the national language of our country over other languages(it's only one of the national languages in a list that has got Bengali also),it was only recognised as the official language of this vast country which had more than 1600 languages.Even this was necessary only to have an indian language becoming a part of the administration so as to signify that the administration had an India-centric orientation.Hindi was considered appropriate for this purpose because even at that point,it was the language spoken and/or understood by the largest segment of population.Inspite of such concrete facts in its favour,it required Dr.Rajendra Prasad's casting vote to overcome stiff opposition from some members of the constituent assembly who had ensured a deadlock through voting.The constitution does not force anybody to accept Hindi as a national language,just as it does not force a person to accept Bengali as a national language or any of the other national languages.Regarding superiority of any language over the other smacks of blatant arrogance and ignorance;something which deserves to be ignored with contempt.Finally,nobody has forced vernaculars to stop learning their own languages or use them.
by a c on Feb 16, 2008 10:53 AM Permalink
And one more point Mr.Chakravarti,my mother tongue is Punjabi,not Hindi.It's a lovely language but I will stop short of claiming that it's far more
RE:RE:What is the definition of an INDIAN
by a c on Feb 16, 2008 10:54 AM Permalink
And one more point Mr.Chakravarti,my mother tongue is Punjabi,not Hindi.It's a lovely language but I will stop short of claiming that it's far more beautiful & superior to Bengali or Hindi because I am not as narrow-minded & stupid as you.A suggestion for you..rather than fighting the virtual ghost of hindi dominance,you better introspect and analyze how good you are at English(a language you do not seem to be having any problems with!).It is "tongue";not "toungue",it is "strategy";not "strtegy" and it is "brigade";not "bridage".So it may be English,not Hindi,because of which you have forgotten your language and culture as you have mentioned.And in the bargain,you are neither good at Bengali,nor English and to make things worse for you,you are showing it to the entire web community how stupid you are by writing an idiotic message :-).
What is this india any way we are talking about? Is it gandhis inida? Is it british India? Is it Muslim India?
What is the vision of this so called India? Is it the constitution .. To like USA ..
What does it mean to be an Indian.. I this we have lost it as Indians .. We are becomeming more a& more materialistic and adopting Western Values.
We have lost touch from our ancient heritage ..It is so SAD, we should be ashamed of this so called modernity we could have done it without destroying the fabric of society.. but we all behaving like dos in the name of progress hankerin after american money , jobs, visas, investments and so caleed globalization , this is why indian is meaning to be less and less.. it has lost its meaning.