He is so right but we as Indians fail to see the cliff tat we heading towards. There are enough warnings that his govt is taing this country towards disintegration and we can do nothing but just watch. What the UPA clearly lacks is nationalism which they beleive would be identified with the BJP or the RSS so thats taboo. The gap between the rich and the poor is only goilg to increase and even the so called upper middle class are going to come under pressure. God save this country from the congress and the communist and the secularists.
RE:Gautier is right
by arp on Feb 15, 2008 12:02 PM Permalink
In India only one leader is honest,strict,nationalist and visionary ,every indian know him.who is above all caste and psuedo,hypo politics.He is future of india and india will become no 1 country in his safe hand.
What you said is right. There is no one in This Great India, who is sincire.People with Great vision and sincire spirit brought Freedom to India and they were passed, but.... when days went....one by one the new Indians started using India, than living for India. Politics and Beaurocracy has become a big business in India. Even the common man. Every one is thinking of his own benefits only...,yes it is short term.For the personel benefits politicians using the common man and they are not willing to understand that, reacent happenings in Maharashtra... One man for his personel gains using the public. People are getting divided, They are not thinking, Every body becomeing self centered. Even Parents are teaching their childern ... " donot go to palce to play, he is christian ,he is muslim.... things going like that, In Gujrat even now so boldly they spred hatred, Nobody is there to stop him, because secretly every individual wants the benefit of that. Our common man also need to have the spirit and vision, with out that they are getting influenced by these politicians, for small small gains when each one goes behind these politicians, they are doing the same thing to this great Nations. Nobody is willing to realise it. And if this goes on India will not reach any where. India needs Vision, a spirit of unity and a strong will. Otherwise one day this country will split by the hands of the presnt day politicians.... Pls. my countrymen lern from
Its indeed amazing that in 2008, people like Lalu and Mayawati can still triumph by offering nothing to people...just a chance for their caste to get preference...and lets not forget the Marxists...they offer Bengali's and Mallu's a chance to pursue the easiest living ever, with no work or progress needed. Prospering states like Gujarat and Haryana have 26 and 10 seats...impoverished, backward states like Bengal, Bihar and UP have 42, 40 and 80 seats. The odds are stacked against India, until people in those backward states get tired of electing people who offer them limitless short-term benefits.
RE:Interesting Viewpoints
by RightSaid Fred on Feb 15, 2008 10:31 AM Permalink
Mr. Gautier, we know we have problems in India. Many problems. But, don't poke your white nose here. Go back to France, where your playboy, flamboyant Sarko is taking France for a ride. Try to solve your own problems first before "trying to help" others.
Despite having independence for 60 years, the political & bureaucratic systems work against the common man. He is used by these people day in and day out and is a victim of false promises.
Our democracy is nothing to shout about. It has not benefited anybody. The rich & the educated hardly participate in our democracy as they do not even vote. The rich can around the system while for the educated, the whole world is at their feet, provided they are enterprising.
Our politicians use every opportunity to stay in power. They make fools of the people and create one controversy after another. There are no national interests for them, only self interests. What they oppose tooth & nail while out of power, they support while in power. They can join with anybody to stay afloat.
Our infrastructure cannot compare with any developed nation and much inferior to China. While one can get decent accomodation at even less than $50, we cannot imagine that in our supposed poor country. The main reason is our system, which prevents business entrepreurship. There is no transparency and one has to get to our babus for basic needs. Our IT people implement hands on internet in many countries, while we are riddled with our antiquated cobwebs.
No wonder we pay unheard of of prices of basic hotel rooms which cost 5 times of that in other countries. Unless we get out of the frog in the well mentality, our progress will be limited and we can only wonder at China's giant steps.
You are right Mr. Francois Gautier when you say that Indians are only looking at short-term goals at the cost of long-term achievements. Here we are sowing the seeds of antagonism and enmity between individuals and groups in the name of religion/region/race/caste and so on. Even after 60 years of independence from the clutches of colonialism and imperialism, in the 21st century of cyber marts, our way of functioning and thinking belong to the era of bullock-carts. For example, whenever we advocate about the upliftment of the underprevelaged poor, we rarely take their economic status as a criterion rather grant them quotas in admission in educational institutes and in employment by their caste and the religion they belong to. No doublt, in the short-run we gain some votes and get to power but ultimately we take the national development a decade or two back. You may ask How?- Yes, if we are really concerned about the upliftment of the underprevelaged and needy; instead of providing them direct quota benefits in admissions and employment, we can build schools and colleges in their areas and bear all the costs of their education so that they can stand intellectually and professionally with their so-said general category citizens and it won't make their heads down that when they feel that they have been granted undue quota benefits at the cost of so-many general category people fared much better than themselves in the matters of profession or employment. Let God save India.
Dear Frns, Now as we all are aware that what might be our future. let us be united and take the responsibility to change and make our country better place to live. Let's seriously make an effort.......... dhanraj_upadhyay@rediffmail.com
People of vision and honesty brought independence to India. Now the country is taken by individuals who have no concept of equality. The way they neglected PV, the last of the freedom fighting heoros by most corrupt individuals shows that India has already lost independence. I recently read an article about who owns Indians news-almost every wing is controlled by outsiders. Caster plays most important role. Reservation system has gone into crazy levels. Surprisingly they could not keep independence even for 60 years after 1200 years of slavery.
Dear firends, Everybody is writing this person is corrupt that person is corrupt. Tell me honestly, whether we r honest. Dont we pay donation for your kid to get admission in school, dont we pay to the agents when others stay in queue to get your things done fast. Even when we get caught at traffic you pay some amout to aur great police. but we can not donate a simple cheap book to a libaray. We go on spitting on roads, but dont spit in our own house! How many of us pay the taxes honestly apart from that being deducted from salaries. Are we taking care of our mother nature (pollution)!
I think we can grow and gain long term gains only when we are honest. Not by blamimg others. Pahle khud sudhariye bad me dusare ko blame kijiye. Jaihind
Mr. Gautier is one of the few, if any, remaining Indophile scribes in the West, who literally loves the average Indian. What he is said is absolutely correct and to the point and his dispassionate views on Christian conversion merit special mention. Yes the present and several previous governments have eroded nationalism, degraded Hinduism and effectively shackled the explosive growth potential of India. We need to admit that first, and then displace and replace these corrupt self seeking anti-national politicians with politicians with nationalistic sentiments and integrity. It is the need of the hour and we owe it to the next generation. Unless all of us pledge to vote out anti-national and corrupt politicians in every election, regardless of our caste / regional affiliations, the country cannot survive, let alone thrive. It is for us to decide what we want to provide to our children- a life of strife, terror, and possible refugee status, or a stable prosperous life.
Needed: Vision, an honest mind & a dedicated nationalist spirit- Huh...our politicians and we Indian people dont have any of these. Raj T is running for short term goal by saying he is God of Marathis...Govt Of India and State Govt is watching silently brutal murder of common man.....
RE:What are you asking for?
by Sumeet on Feb 15, 2008 09:34 AM Permalink
lets see kiski lagti hai..Nashik toh Khaali ho gaya abhi dhire dhire teri baari aane waali hai. Saamaan Bandh ke bhojpur jaane ki taiyari kar le. Vaise bhi ticket toh tumhare baap ne bhi kharidi nahi hogi Mumbai aate wakt ab tum bhi mat kharido.
by Arya on Feb 15, 2008 09:59 AM Permalink
have the guts to drive illegal bangladeshis out first. you won't coz raj thakrey is getting money from ISI to weaken hinduism...
by CNET FUN on Feb 16, 2008 02:31 AM Permalink
If you or your dearones are beaten to death in bhijour or elsewhere...God damn it...Give Wisdom to these useless people...Mah..is not your damn estate...If you have real guts..don't go out of the Mah for any reason...