Total 652 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Older >   >>
My dear Indian friends
by Barak Obama on Feb 07, 2008 05:46 PM  Permalink 

What you need is a change.
A change in mindset.
A change in leadership.
A change in the atmosphere as a whole.
Please join my campaign.
Together we will change the world.
Together we will the world a new dream.
A dream that we will will realise together.

SATYAMEV JAYATE
by Pune Java on Feb 07, 2008 05:46 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Had the same said by Raj Thakre in Mumbai , what would have been the reaction of media then..?

Why Double standerd.

Finally SATYAMEV JAYATE

RE:RE:SATYAMEV JAYATE
by mohit gupta on Feb 07, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink
beating poor taxi drivers is not an act that could be justified in anyway. these poor chaps leave there villages for a decent living. they abide by law as the other marathis and does not deserve to be ill treated only because they are from bihar or UP. there is no comparision what lt. governer has said and what raj thakrey has done.

South,North doesn't matter here.
by Chandu on Feb 07, 2008 05:45 PM  Permalink 

It is the tendency of every Indian to do so. At the same time these people are the most meek fellows when they go abroad. It is the lack on discipline and our pathetic education system which produces citizens like this. Of course, it might be more in North since literecy is poor in those states. Bihar, UP, Uttaranchal, Orissa and MP are the most illiterate states in India.

Sons of the soil
by vsgiri on Feb 07, 2008 05:45 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This 'Son of the soil%u2019 slogan was started by the refugees from East Pakistan who are otherwise called Bangals . They started this during Dr. B.C.Roy's time in late 50's or say early 60's. Today they are keeping quiet because they have settlements all over the country like Chittaranjan colony, Kalibari colony, Deeshbandhu colony, Netaji colony etc. They have spoiled the innocent UPite's and Biharis and created an inferiority complex in them. They use to show hatredness against centre and particularly Nehru.. These are the people who are also controlling the media by illegal means. They have their own people all over India and so can do any number of wrong things they want.. We have spent more than one lakh crores on these refugees as if the rest of the population in India are rich. They are misusing all central facilities and even today 90% of them in the Sealdah Division do not purchase rail tickets. This has been going on from or even before independence.

RE:Sons of the soil
by SUPRATIK BHATTACHARYA on Feb 07, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink
U BLOODY GIRI DON'T SAY RUBBISH. NEHRU WAS A STUPID PM WHAT EAST BENGAL PEOPLE DOES IS THE RIGHT THING HE IS THE PERSON BEHIND THE MURDER OF SUBHASH & SHYAMA PRASAD MUKHERJEE AND HIS DAUGTHER IS BEHIND THE POISOININ OF LAL BAHADUR SHASTRI. SO MUCH BENGALEES HAVE GIVE FOR THE THIS COUNTRY NO ONE HAS GIVEN THEM ANY CHANCE TO BECOME A PM OR PRESIDENT EVERY BIGGEST AWARD, PRESTIGE HAS BEEN BROUGHT BY BENGALEES NOBLE LAUREATE RABINDRANATH & OFF LATE ECONOMIST AMARTYA SEN. OSCAR BY SATYAJEET. THEY ARE NOW MAKING POLITICS WITH JYOTI BABU & SOURAV GANGULY INSPITE OF THEM THEY ARE LIVING LEGEND LIKE KISHOREDA, HEMANTDA, RD, BAPPI, SD BURMAN SALILDA.

Maharashtrians are law abiding people
by Chanakya on Feb 07, 2008 05:45 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I may agree with the Governor in generalising North and West for law-breaking. but, I will never agree or accept if someone says that Maharashtrians are not law abiding people...I am a mumbaikar for the past 30 years and I love and respect the maharashtraians for the co-operation, hospitality, affection and the law abiding nature. If Maharashtra falls in the West (particularly Mumbai), it is the people who migrated from other states have created most of the problems (and ofcourse some ignited by Shiv Sena in the past) and todays's pathetic situation of my lovely Mumbai is the result of uncontrolled influx from other states, North in particular.

RE:Maharashtrians are law abiding people
by Barak Obama on Feb 07, 2008 05:50 PM  Permalink
What we need is a change........
and you and me together we bring it about...

by Pune Java on Feb 07, 2008 05:50 PM  Permalink
I would say further ... The maharashtrians are most law abiding people.

It is all because of Sanskars which one get at early age.

And Remeber , because of this virtue , Maharashtrians are "backward" then others in Politics and Bussiness.

by a g on Feb 07, 2008 05:57 PM  Permalink
Stop your regional based rhetorics!!! When the author is talking of west of india it includes Maharashtra too (specifically Mumbai). Accept the fact that our people in North and West voilate law easily and take the rules for granted. Ofcourse, that doesn't mean South India is so clean. Even here, there are law breakers. Only thing is, its relatively less in number. Come out of the regional based thinking and think yourself as an Indian first!!!

by Pune Java on Feb 07, 2008 06:05 PM  Permalink
Yes it include Mumbai.. and LG is refering to North Indian Mumbaikars.... Understand!!

Becuse of north Indian population in Maharshtra & Gujrat , LG mentiond it

I agree
by Rajesh Jain on Feb 07, 2008 05:45 PM  Permalink 

I do agree. this is an unfortunate truth.
certainly on national leval it is true.
Systems are been personalised at the place of standardisation. people feel pride by showing their high connection.

we all are corrupt
by Ateequr Rehman on Feb 07, 2008 05:44 PM  Permalink 

we all are corrupt, just accept it, we all thinks that rules are for others , just a imaginry superiority complex, its matter of road cross, traffic, or bribe.,
Its in our Blood

Lets accept statistical TRUTH about Bihar and UP
by Sreelekha Nair on Feb 07, 2008 05:44 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Lets accept the facts and statistical truth.

1. Literacy is lowest in UP and Bihar.
2. Crime against women is highest in UP/ Bihar.
3. Child Mortality rate is the highest in UP/ Bihar.
4. These states also have the higest Birth rate.
5. These states have lowest life expectancy rate.
6. Male: Female ratio is dangerouly towards Males here.

RE:Lets accept statistical TRUTH about Bihar and UP
by george chandy on Feb 07, 2008 05:50 PM  Permalink
These are all not reason that others should feel bad about Bihar and UP. Think in the positive way. BIHAR and UP have together 30 crore. Consider benifits it will bring if 30 crore people could be uplifted. The country can surge far ahead. A country developing at 9 % should have enough resources for the upliftment of these two states. . If these two states are not progressing, India can never become a developed country

by Sreelekha Nair on Feb 07, 2008 05:51 PM  Permalink
cut them off India , !

by Konga on Feb 07, 2008 05:45 PM  Permalink
7. they steal kidneys as well
8. kidnapping is a profession

by Vishy on Feb 07, 2008 05:50 PM  Permalink
9 - They migrate (which is leagal) and spread the above 8 in other major cities of INDIA

by Rahul Singh on Feb 07, 2008 06:00 PM  Permalink
shall i explain abut kerala but before pointing a fingure on other see in urself. ok i can show u the list, before speaking like this
do u knw how these keralite is being treated in middleeast shall i tell .....No need to tell try to clean ur home but nobody worried for country stupid person

by Mayank Sharma on Feb 07, 2008 05:52 PM  Permalink
Taken but no one in north supports LTTE. Pls take a note.

by Vishy on Feb 07, 2008 05:57 PM  Permalink
for ur info mr mayank most muslim terror networks have their base in UP. further even mumbai 93 blast operators were hiding near gorakhpur for months.
Mr george is right, we all specially who come from north should help these two states to move up the ladder of devt.
There is no point in studying in Maharashtra working in some bangalore IT firm and still saying Bihar/Up is best - you must go back to do something for your states if you really love it.

by Rajesh Rajendra on Feb 07, 2008 05:57 PM  Permalink
But many of them supports Al-Quaida, Taliban, Lashkar-e-Toiba etc. etc.

He has no Idea!
by Narinder Singh on Feb 07, 2008 05:43 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This man has no Idea of Chennai. The Auto rikshaw drivers in Chennai are the worst goondas on earth. The traffic situation there is also horrible.

RE:He has no Idea!
by acharya on Feb 07, 2008 05:45 PM  Permalink
f-off a-hole. as if autowallas in delhi are saints.

by Narinder Singh on Feb 07, 2008 05:48 PM  Permalink
You have proved your character. Must be a bloody Southy. And keep your southy litter off these pages in future.

by King of Hyderabad on Feb 07, 2008 05:46 PM  Permalink
the traffic there is dense, not unruly. ppl dont shoot or run over each other on purpose like in delhi.
where in india would you find 'good' auto drivers? anyway the southie autowallahs are better than the bihari ones in delhi

by DIGITAL GLOBAL on Feb 07, 2008 05:54 PM  Permalink
THE COMMENTS OF LT.GOVERNOR IS NOT A CRITICISM; BUT A PROBLEM WE ALL HAVE TO OVERCOME BY ASKING OURSELVES OUR DUTY TOWARDS THE STATE AND OUR ANSWERABILITY. WHAT WE DO OUR CHILDREN FOLLOW.

WHETHER EAST SOUTH NORTH OR WEST INDIA, WE ALL HAVE SOME GOOD THINGS AND SOME SHORTCOMINGS. THE EASIEST WAY TO OVERCOME SUCH ISSUES IS TO CHANGE YOUR VISION AND THINKING. LET THERE BE A BEGINNING . ACCEPT AND SAY WITHOUT FEAR YOU ARE INDIAN FIRST. REST WILL FOLLOW. AND YOU WOULD REALISE HOW THIS THINKING OF YOURS HAVE CHANGED THE WHOLE OF INDIA.

by Narinder on Feb 07, 2008 05:58 PM  Permalink
Well Said. My objection is to the comparison. I have had my most horrible auto rikshaw experiences in Cheenai not in Delhi. The Lt. Governor's remarks have also come at a wrong time when North Indians are being targeted in Mumbai by a clown of a politician. But you are right. We are all Indians first.

by visvanathan narayanan on Feb 07, 2008 05:57 PM  Permalink
I am a Chennaite and a tamilian, but i can't agree with Narinder Singh more, Auto drivers in Chennai are the worst in the country in terms of rates, am not sure whether they are goondas

Indian hospitality
by ganesh tambat on Feb 07, 2008 05:43 PM  Permalink 

Foreigners who think Indian hospitality is great should read these forums :)

Total 652 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Older >   >>