Total 652 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Older >   >>
Kya bola bhai!
by GURU on Feb 07, 2008 05:55 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Sahi hei bidu!

RE:Kya bola bhai!
by Pune Java on Feb 07, 2008 06:06 PM  Permalink
Had the same said by Raj Thakre in Mumbai , what would have been the reaction of media then..?

Why Double standerd?

Finally SATYAMEV JAYATE

bhaiyya...
by Anil Kumar on Feb 07, 2008 05:55 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Sach hamesha kadwa hota hai.....

baat to usne sahi kahi hai, isme bura maanne waali koi baat nahi hai....

uski baat ko sahi tarah samjh ke apne me sudhar lana chahiye...

RE:bhaiyya...
by sachin ahuja on Feb 07, 2008 05:59 PM  Permalink
You are right. I have stayed in south for almost 8 years and what is said is correct.

RE:bhaiyya...
by Raghvendra Choudhary on Feb 07, 2008 06:04 PM  Permalink
Mr.Anil,
We all understand the sense of measuring the innusance but there are set processes for top Govt. Position to address the problems. Genaralised statements are quite hurting to those who believes and spreads good sense in the community or society. It is required Mr. Khanna to restrain on policies like once he made compulsory to carry I-card wwhen walking in Delhi. Does he understands the trauma one undergoes while making an I-card.

Its the laws that are stupid, not north or south Indians
by tomcat on Feb 07, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Forget North vs South etc..
If the laws of the country itself are so bad, illogical, oppressive and corruption-promoting, then there is no alternative for ordinary people like us..
For example, you cannot take your vehicle from one state to another in India without permissions, NOCs, and faaltu ke RTO ke documents and bribery.

1. It took me more documents, forms to fill and hassles to get my vehicle re-registered than getting a passport !!
2. Spending Rs 3000-5000 to re-register a 8-year old second hand vehicle that would not even fetch 15000 if I sell it. Nonsensical !
3. In Europe, you can buy a vehicle in France and drive it across the country or even across borders without NOCs and RTO permits. You can buy a car in Hamburg and drive it anywhere in Germany (Frankfurt or Dresden) legally without NOCs and RTO permits and registration taxes or octroi. The world is simplifying processes and scrapping redundant laws, while our hare-brained politicians continue to amend old ones with more and more clauses and create borders even between the states of India.

RE:Its the laws that are stupid, not north or south Indians
by Web Monkey on Feb 07, 2008 06:00 PM  Permalink
Fre points:
1. Corruption doesnt give you an excuse to violate the law.
2. In any part of the world, regitration amount doesnt have anything with value of car. If it doesnt have much value, scrap it as they do it most developed countries.
3. Indian states have more diversity than the entire europe. We have achived what they can't - we are a part of the same country and use same currency!

Ofcourse we have miles to go in getting our system fine, but if you start thinking that anyone can take the law into hand, we are not goign to go anywhere.

by T a s i n on Feb 07, 2008 06:04 PM  Permalink
Kiddo his point was not about sarson ka khet in punjab and backwaters in Kerala kind of diversity... what he was hinting at was "stoopid laws". Why do u require re registration of vehicle everytime you move from one state to another... have it centralised..Re registration and NOC everytime sounds so silly and painful..

by Datta Hegde on Feb 07, 2008 06:01 PM  Permalink
Boss,
even in Germany, when you move from frankfurt to say munich, you are allowed to use your original number plate only for 3 months. You have to re-register anyway!!

just though of sharing this info since i live here and experienced it.

by tomcat on Feb 07, 2008 06:13 PM  Permalink
Datta,

Not anymore.. heck I know someone in germany who bought a car in Netherlands because it was cheaper there.. !!!

by Sreelekha Nair on Feb 07, 2008 06:03 PM  Permalink
VERY WELL SAID !

natinal language
by mohit gupta on Feb 07, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The Indian constitution, in 1950, declared Hindi in Devanagari script to be the official language of the union.[5] Unless Parliament decided otherwise, the use of English for official purposes was to cease after the constitution came into effect, i.e., on 26 January 1965.[6] The prospect of the changeover, however, led to much alarm in the non Hindi-speaking areas of India, as a result of which Parliament enacted the Official Languages Act, 1963, which provided for the continued use of English for official purposes along with Hindi, even after 1965. An attempt was made in late 1964 to expressly provide for an end to the use of English, but it was met with protests from across the country. Some of these protests also turned violent. Widespread protests occurred in states such as Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Karnataka, Pondicherry and Andhra Pradesh. As a result of these protests, the proposal was dropped,[7][8] and the Act itself was amended in 1967 to provide that the use of English would not be ended until a resolution to that effect was passed by the legislature of every state that had not adopted Hindi as its official language, and by each house of the Indian Parliament.[9]

RE:natinal language
by Web Monkey on Feb 07, 2008 06:04 PM  Permalink
Still orth indians have an unfair advantage of being able to use their mother tongue in all competitive exams. You can not force any language over anyone, that didnt happen even in Ottoman Turki! Be realistsic - ours is a huge country with differnt culture and language and we are going to remain the same.

Imagine a case the south Indians outnumbeing northies. Would you then accept a saouth indian language say Tamil as national language and start speaking it? C|ommon - we know the north Indina racism, we know what you are.

Stop creating the divide between Indians!!!!
by Santosh Tripathy on Feb 07, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I don't understand who has given them power to speak about a community.
A person is good or bad. A bad man/woman doesn't have any religion,caste,creed and race.
I want to question this man with such a big mouth, how many year has he spent in south.

As a responsible citizen of India, we should refrain ourselves from passing such loose statements

RE:Stop creating the divide between Indians!!!!
by Vishy on Feb 07, 2008 06:00 PM  Permalink
time to introspect mr tripathy .

by Santosh Tripathy on Feb 07, 2008 06:03 PM  Permalink
Thanks vishy..i need to introspect
but to speak about something bad should be ok at times

by Web Monkey on Feb 07, 2008 06:05 PM  Permalink
He just made his opinion public and it is mostly true. Whats the issue here? Situation in south is far better than a UP, Bihar, Kasmmir or Assam.

by Santosh Tripathy on Feb 07, 2008 06:17 PM  Permalink
If we feel so, we should something for it. Therez lot of history behind the development of different parts of india.

by Asif khan on Feb 07, 2008 06:14 PM  Permalink
beta if ur south india touching the border with such place it will give u pain in ur ass

Some statistics about UP/ Bihar
by Sreelekha Nair on Feb 07, 2008 05:52 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Lets accept the facts and statistical truth.

1. Literacy is lowest in UP and Bihar.
2. Crime against women is highest in UP/ Bihar.
3. Child Mortality rate is the highest in UP/ Bihar.
4. These states also have the higest Birth rate.
5. These states have lowest life expectancy rate.
6. Male: Female ratio is dangerouly towards Males here.

RE:Some statistics about UP/ Bihar
by nikes on Feb 07, 2008 06:03 PM  Permalink
I wish you should have done some research. At least the # 2 & # 6 are absolutely wrong.

Internal family crime againt woman is highest in kerla (are u a keralite)

by Asif khan on Feb 07, 2008 06:15 PM  Permalink
she works in middleast as a maid for some sheikh and when they beat them they came running shouting we r indian try to be good indain then a southi or northy uncultured....

by Santosh Tripathy on Feb 07, 2008 05:57 PM  Permalink
Please excuse me mam, could you provide stastical proofs for your statement. Understand the point. He is not talking about UP/Bihar. He is talking about delhi where there is a big population of north indians.
Good stastician will provide the figure not in numbers but in percentage.

by Sreelekha Nair on Feb 07, 2008 06:39 PM  Permalink
This is from National Statistical Survey Organisation (NSSO) which have the official statistics complied for Govt of India.

NSSO under ministery of Finance and Planning Commission uses their data widely.

by T a s i n on Feb 07, 2008 05:57 PM  Permalink
Quote the data source.. mere typing of alphabets wont make u an analyst.. As far as my knowledge goes (National Comission for Women report Feb 2006)Highest birth rate is in West Bengal and Male female ratio is alarming in Haryana and Punjab and not in UP Bihar. Other facts i do not have info..

RE:RE:Some statistics about UP/ Bihar
by CB Prasad on Feb 07, 2008 06:04 PM  Permalink
Cool it buddy, there is no facts-parading competition going on !!!!
If people stick to the overall topic in question, there's no much harm.
We need not go into specifics like what percentages, exactly what states etc ?
Don't you get the general drift ?
And am sure she did not claim to be an analyst.
Shows you are alarmed in the first place !!!

by arp on Feb 07, 2008 05:57 PM  Permalink
I do agree.It is failure of Big local leaders like lalu,mulayam,mayavati,Pasvan.these leaders only know how to play dirty politics.Did nothing for their state like,huge investment ,big industries,good infra for UP

RE:RE:Some statistics about UP/ Bihar
by OM on Feb 07, 2008 05:56 PM  Permalink
And what about the cunning people in Kerala..who fight with every other Indian..and play dirty politics.

by rexberry on Feb 07, 2008 05:54 PM  Permalink
so wat r u doin sreelekha nair...
enjoying the discussion by proving yourself great... if you dont have solution then u dont have any right to pin point anyone

by CB Prasad on Feb 07, 2008 06:02 PM  Permalink
hello rexberry,

it is NOT mandatory that the ONLY people to comment on something should be the ones with answers.
If that becomes the case all movie critics should be Directors, all opposition party leaders should be ruling the country...
Why don't you simply read the statements made, and keep quiet, IF YOU DO NOT have anything to contribute ?
By commenting on Shreelekha Nair, DID YOU COME UP with the answers ???
Shows intolerance, and nothing more.

by rexberry on Feb 07, 2008 06:09 PM  Permalink
@CB prasad
SHE HAS IGNITED FIRE DEAR
why u guys are educated

Entirely different issue.
by peekay first on Feb 07, 2008 05:52 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Raj Thackery's statement and Khanna's statement is entirely different. RT is advocating for Racism & regionalism..but here Mr. Khanna is advocating for the law & rules. Both shouldnot be taken similiar. As Khanna himself as a North Indian, he cannot make such statement in the view to sectionize the people.

We should take his statements positively and have to co-operate with our laws.

JAI HIND

RE:Entirely different issue.
by Sreelekha Nair on Feb 07, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink
well said !

RE:Entirely different issue.
by T a s i n on Feb 07, 2008 05:58 PM  Permalink
Very true.. Media will make a monster out of this guy for sure..my sympathies with u Mr Lt Governor.. :-(

wn
by Aakash on Feb 07, 2008 05:52 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

when god was distributing beauty, he started from north india n so it finished by the time he reached south india.... but when god was distributing AKAL (sense / iq) he started from south india n ..... u know wt !

RE:wn
by OM on Feb 07, 2008 05:58 PM  Permalink
This is ridiculuous, then what happened to countries like Australia, UK USA

Total 652 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Older >   >>