RE:No future...
by Avinash on Aug 18, 2008 05:44 PM Permalink
mar gaya, first of all people like you should get rid of the notion that India is a "hindu" country.
India is a secular democratic country where equality before law is guaranteed irrespective of caste, creed, colour, religion, region, etc.
Yes there is corruption in our Country. Unfortunately there is no system in the world which is better than democracy. So we have to endure some corrupt leaders. We have come a long way in just 60 years after independence. We as a country would do well henceforth also. Be optimistic.
Many political scientists in history have called democracy as govt of fools, by fools and for fools and it is true to some extent. Democracy offers an equal right to begger and Tata in constitution.
If true democratic set up has to be raised then allow only educated people to vote. Those who can't write vote, do not know the names of ministers are allowed to vote. Such people sell their votes for some favours.
More is said about democracy but one thing we are missing is that the back bone of democracy is law and justice and the evidence of 12 lacs cases that are pending from 30 years are reflecting that how much we are concerned about law and order. Even every thing is disputed right from the border that India is maintaining from its neighbor countries from 1900.well said all is fair in love and war & that true for democracy “All is fair in Democracy”. In democracy how well a person having multiple criminal charges elected as MP in SIWAN and previous year Mumbai bomb blast master mind Abu Salem who eagerly trying to join politics because politics is a safe heaven for criminals. If for all these we are dreaming that one day India will become the super power then we are living in fool’s paradise. Now criminals and illiterate will decide the fate of the country. This is all because democracy. So don’t be crazy about Democracy.
we all know the meaning of democracy but one Thing that we are missing that the back bone of democracy is law and justice and the evidence of 12 lacs cases that are pending from 30 years are reflecting that how much we are concerned about law and order. Even every thing is disputed right from the border that India is maintaining from its neighbor countries from 1900.well said all is fair in love and war & that true for democracy “All is fair in Democracy”. In democracy how well a person having multiple criminal charges elected as MP in SIWAN and previous year Mumbai bomb blast master mind Abu Salem who eagerly trying to join politics because politics is a safe heaven for criminals. If for all these we are dreaming that one day India will become the super power then we are living in fool’s paradise. Now criminals and illiterate will decide the fate of the country. This is all because democracy. So don’t be crazy about Democracy.
RE:Caricature in democracy
by Shreeram Shah on Aug 18, 2008 05:28 PM Permalink
India will be superpower in the name of rawdism, creating more horror to the world by producing mafia, extortionist etc. HUM HONGE KAAMYAB EK DIN..
has not flourished. We have had some economic growth. The problem is we want freedom but not responsibility. The same Indians who follow all rules in US and other countries come here and break all rules. And we are not ready to take hard decisions. 1) Reservations->replacing one form of discrimination by another and motivated by revenge 2) Hindu Muslim issues-> none of the political parties want to solve this issues, all are busy using either Hindus or Muslims as vote-bank. 3) Kashmir issue-> we are not ready to any solution, we have to accept that most of the Kashmiris want to be Pakistani citizens. In short we want Kashmir the 'land' but not the citizens. We always cry that India always loses land etc, but we forget that US too gave up Panama Canal despite being the most powerful country. 4) Casteist politics->where each caste has its own political party and each caste indulges in violence and arson(Gujjars). Unless we solve all these we will never be a true country. Issues like poverty etc can be taken care with good economic policies, but the above 4 am not sure we will ever have a solution.
Indian democracy is fake but demonocracy in fact. It picks up local goondas, landgrabbers, mafia, criminal to rule the government. It is thriving because common people are cowardice, silent observer to wrongdoings. The fellow who has written the column is part of judiciary...and few people know that judges and lawyers are corrupt in India. In fact it is judiciary also in nexus with politicians and beurocrats have made India in pathetic condition.
Its true we need to be optimistic. But jsut being optimistic will do no good unless we learn from our mistakes. this sentense "One may argue that these promises have not been redeemed. Yet the very promise is important most of all for the dispossessed. The poor have nothing but the law on their side. The rich do not need the law, they have money with which to corrupt, power and prestige. " what crap.nonsense.