RE:SANIA is acting in a YashRaj movie after Olympics
by Shonia on Aug 13, 2008 05:47 PM Permalink
she is relaxed that if Tennis doesnt work for her then glamour industry is always there. Thats why her game is deteriorating day by day instead of improving.
by Rupesh Pandit on Aug 13, 2008 05:53 PM Permalink
Shonia itna easy hai film line main aana to aap try kar lo :) ...I will give u mirror FREE
by lekh ram on Aug 13, 2008 05:51 PM Permalink
sani is a good actor.. khelne ki acting karti hai...
by Rupesh Pandit on Aug 13, 2008 05:45 PM Permalink
Lekhu ji kam se kam wo acting tak pahooch gayee...aap kab tak dusaroon par comment karoge...kuch to zindagi main karo
pl do not compare Sania to Paes and insult him.....if anyone has played with passion for India, it is Leander....Ramesh Krishnan and Amrithraj also played with passion in Davis Cup.....sania...her arrogance grew up with her...her disregard for wearing national dress during opening ceremony at Beijing and refusal to play at Bangalore are typical examples...and when she was about to lose in the I round, she faked an injury and surrendered..she should see video of Anil Kumble bowling with a bandage across his face to know what it means to represent India...
RE:Insult to Paes
by parveen baig on Aug 13, 2008 06:14 PM Permalink
Everyone is behind her for not waering the national dress but no one know the name of the girl who wear a saree but not the one which was suppose to be the dress code. All you guys try wearing a saree then only you will know who difficult and time consuming it is to wear a saree. If the country is so much bother why cann't saree be replace with salwar which is also a indian tradional dress
The greatest ever tennis player India has produced is Ramanathan Krishnan. During his era there were players like Jaideep Mukherjee, Premjit Lal and Mr Naresh Kumar. The next generation gave India Vijay Amrithraj. Mr. Leander Paes is no where near any of these players. He has contributed nothing towards improvement of indian tennis. He has only done politics and has had regular fights with Mahesh Bhupati who is no doubt a much better doubles player than Paes. Yes Sania has shown by example with limited facilies for playing tennis in Hyderabad. Please praise sports persons who deserve and do not give undue credit. Atleast Leander has not done anything so great to make him a Icon of 61 . It is a shame if we do it.
RE:Tennis
by Manoj Nag on Aug 13, 2008 05:55 PM Permalink
Mr. Venateswaran, It seems, u r nothing but a narrow minded South Indian, who cannot think beyond his region, and has no national feeling. It is very clear by ur comments that u want to say that only South Indian tennis players r good. Players from other region are no good. World knows very well between Leander and Bhupathi who is the better player and whole world knows Leander is much much better doubles player than Bhupathi, as far as singles bhupathi does not come anywhere near to Leander. It is becoz of Leander made bhupathi his doubles partner in the early part of his carrier, bhupathi could come up as doubles player. Without Leander's favor, no body would have known who Bhupathi is. We all know every former player advised Leander to against partner bhupathi, but it is due to Leander sacrificed, bhupathi got chances to play in big tournaments, and later on Bhupathi stabbed in (team captain) Leander's back by going aganist him in Asian games and davis cup.
No body needs ur opinion. World knows very Leander is the best Davis cup player India ever produced.
RE:RE:Tennis
by bharath on Aug 13, 2008 06:08 PM Permalink
Why don't you stick to your Hindi, man! Your English with North Indian accent and syntax errors sucks!
by Calspadeaspade on Aug 13, 2008 11:21 PM Permalink
Just because the players he mentioned happen to be South Indians you are narrow minded enough to jump to a conclusion and lecturing him. It is true Amrithraj by far is the best tennis player India produced. He was a genuine serve and vollyer. In his times he was considered on par with Borg and connors who were base liners. Because of Asthma problem he could not last in long plays. He has served match point against connors in US open in the semi finals.
by Calspadeaspade on Aug 13, 2008 11:16 PM Permalink
I agree fully. Ramanathan reached the finals of wimbledon and Vijay reached semi finals of one of the slams more than once and won Volvo tournament once. Leander got trounced in the first round itself in singles in major matches. One thing in his favor I would say is he knew his limitations and switched to full time doubles player.
by Pramod Pillai on Aug 13, 2008 05:50 PM Permalink
i guess u must be 65-70years old now sir..we have moved forward from Krishnans...there is no denying their contributions...but there are others too...mahesh's only contribution is misguiding Sania offlate....
by Calspadeaspade on Aug 13, 2008 11:23 PM Permalink
We may have moved from Krishnan. But the quality of tennis players we have now is inferior. That is what he is saying. Hopefully some one better comes soon.
by GIREESH MM on Aug 13, 2008 06:06 PM Permalink
What a stupid analysis! Paes is the most succesful Daviscupper of India. He is almost zero in professional SINGLES circuit.Yet he defeated none other than Pete Sampras and likes.He is one of the best DOUBLES player in the WORLD.No doubt about that. He got Olympic bronze at Atlanta.Did you know the situation then Mr?Before that olympics,anyone who says "Paes has atleast a little chance of winning" must be referred to a psychiatrist.Because Paes was noone then.Even winning the first round was a big achievement.Everyone knew what happened.Paes FOUGHT like a true warrior and in the end he got the BRONZE medal.Anyone who closely followed the events will surely value it more than GOLD.
Paes is not a player.But he is the ULTIMATE WARRIOR whom the younger generation must make a ROLL model. Instead the idiotic media-the mafia- project the useless,spineless cricketers who always run for cover when seeing a MAN as a roll model.You just seem one of them.So what?
We(may be less in number) always consider LEANDER PAES the ultimate Fighter whom noone can be defeated. Remember,BRAVE men die only once!
Vijay Amrithraj is by far the best tennis player India has produced. Poor guy has asthma because of which he could not last in long matches. He was at the same level as Borg and Connors when they started. Mahesh Boopathi is also the same level as Paes. I dont know why rediff is being partial to Paes and the useless Sania. Probably this article is their promotion and not a neutral journalistic article on sports.
RE:Paes is lucky to be at the right time
by rediffblogger on Aug 13, 2008 05:37 PM Permalink
plz don't do character assasination by comparing Vijay Amritraj with Bjorn Borg and Jimmy Connors.
by lekh ram on Aug 13, 2008 05:39 PM Permalink
yes dont do assnation..vijay won more slams than corner and bojh
RE:RE:Paes is lucky to be at the right time
by vipin bihari mehrotra on Aug 13, 2008 07:09 PM Permalink
Not true. But he was by far best,india has produced.
RE:RE:Paes is lucky to be at the right time
by Prasanna Risbud on Aug 13, 2008 05:45 PM Permalink
Did you know that the trio Amritraj, Borg and Connors were called the ABC of tennis in their days ? Idiot.
by Calspadeaspade on Aug 13, 2008 07:18 PM Permalink
You donknow anything about tennis. Vijay won volvo tournament once which is played by big stars. He has come upto semi finals in one of the slams againstt connors. He served match point but could not last. That is what I am talking about. Later I came to know it was asthma that prevented him from his achievement. Compared to that upto what round in singles Leander or Bhupati last. They get beated in the first round and so they gave up singles.
by Prasanna Risbud on Aug 13, 2008 05:44 PM Permalink
Did you know that the trio Amritraj, Borg and Connors were called the ABC of tennis in their days ? Idiot.
Sania Mirza did not deserve to be there after her disrepect to the inaugural ceremony requirements. She has let all Indians down. I stringly feel that this was done intentionally by her. She has serious attitude problems and the IOA should have taken her off before she could participated at the singles match that pulled out mid way. Discipline in sports is more important than medals and trophies. She is a disgrace to the nation.
RE:RE:SANIA SHOULD HAVE BEEN PULLED OUT OF OLYMPICS
by ranjit sinha on Aug 13, 2008 05:38 PM Permalink
I completly agree on you, her eyes is always on wealth creation, but not on ball, she is going on cricketr's way.
RE:SANIA SHOULD HAVE BEEN PULLED OUT OF OLYMPICS
by Rupesh Pandit on Aug 13, 2008 05:47 PM Permalink
are to tu Job kisliye kar raha hai...Paisa kamane ke liye ya u r thinking ur company should reach at top...Sinha ji upar utho in sab cheezon se
Whatever Paes and Sania have done they have been given their due recognition. Let us talk about the present, we would like to know how many gold they have got for their country in the recent past. Their earnings through the endorsements are well a known fact.
RE:'Sania and Leander have done a fantastic job for Indian tennis'
by Rupesh Pandit on Aug 13, 2008 05:36 PM Permalink
Pehle naam to likha seekh ja...She is SAINA not Sania....and ur name suits u
Sania has come a long way...among 4.5 million womans population in India she is number one...Sahe has given face to female tennis in India...against all odds...Muslim clergics opposed her a lot...but she fought and we all should respect her....we do not have right to comments on others...first excel in your field (what ever u r doing) then comments...we feel same that among that much population she reached to OLYMPIC and inspite of encouraging her....we shitty people trying to pull her...Typical INDIAN mentality...If any event of Leg pulling organized in Olympic then definitely India will bring tons of GOLD
RE:I Appreciate Sania
by Nisha Shukla on Aug 13, 2008 05:39 PM Permalink
Rupesh, Your comment is highly prejudiced. You claim Sania to be number one in 4.5 million woman. NO. She is indeed the best female tenis star but to say her number one in whole India is totally wrong. How can you compare Saina Nehwal, Mandakini Amte, Kiran Mazumdar, Lata Mangeshkar, P T Usha, Sobha Dey, Tarla Dalal etc to this glamor doll and claim that she is best amongst all females in India. As a matter of fact she isn't even a role model. I have daughters. I will always put Kalpana Chawla, Mandakini Amte, Indira Nooi or PT Usha as a role model instead of this glam girl as role model. Just that you are fan of someone because of looks does not mean that person becomes number one in whole ccountry
RE:I Appreciate Sania
by Rupesh Pandit on Aug 13, 2008 05:49 PM Permalink
Nisha ji pehle poora pado to :) aap poora dhang se pad nahi pa rahe ho and pointing out fingers to SANIA MIRZA....this is the irony of the country