Due to Lack of Political will, according to my Experience NAVY expansion plans is very Slow. With Just 7 Shipyards nothing more can be achieve so progress will remain slow. Indian Navy must Demand and chalk out atleast 2,50,000 crore expansion plans which Includes: 10 Nuclear Subs for 50000 crore 100 New warships for 1,20,000 crore 10 more Frigates at 35,000 crore 100 Aircraft 20000 crore 20 more Subamrines at 40,000 crore. This are all if ordered in NExt 8-12 months then will be ready for inductions till 2015-2018 and Indian Navy will be able to give punch to China. Over and above defence budget, Govt must sanction 100 billion $ 4,00,000 crore for all 3 serives Hije Pay scales by 20 % more to attract talents. India must have Proper plans for Akhand Bhaarat and in Long term must keep in mind and block china as Policemen in this region. Building ships.subamrines takes long period form 2-4 years and over night it is not built. Our Stupid leaders always says where we are having war with any Country that funds requires so much? Ships/Submarines are not Vada Pav and Pepesi that it gets ready made in Markets. To reduce dependence we need to have transfer of technology also.
Actually Frankly speaking Navy Chief must ask MOD and Govt and Prime Minister of India to fund only 1 time 100 billion $ to be spend over a period of 2-3 Years and Provisions can be easily made. Who says Govt is Poor? All Listed PSU in stock Mkt value is 25 Lacs Crore. Divest 10 % give defenc
At least the Navy is looking for self-reliance. We need to constantly update our requirements. Now we are not without any carrier...which does our capability no good. The Government needs not only to plan, but execute them as well in a phased manner to that our armed forces are in a state of readiness always.
First we heard about Advance Technolgy Vehicle then we heard about INS Vikramaditya.....then acquiring the USS Kitty Hawk then the HCL Tejas and then acquiring the 126 fighter jets under the name MRCA..but when will these be incorporated...in our country there is money for cricket, money for the movies and movie stars then there is money for the corrupt politicians but there is no money for the above mentioned projects.
The article says India a building own nuclear submarine "secretly" at mazagon docks and also it is code named advanced technoly vehicle......HA HA HA HA....secret......they writer must have got this information from police station constable of bangladesh, nepal or bhutan.......everyone knows it all and we say "SECRET"
RE:What a secret??????
by sri on Aug 10, 2008 11:13 PM Permalink
It was less well known until recently. But more importantly the design and capabilities are still very well guarded.
by V S on Aug 10, 2008 11:25 PM Permalink
ya because it is not really a design. do you think DRDO can make an underwater nuclear submarine ?
by murty on Aug 11, 2008 01:14 AM Permalink
No need to laugh or redicule.The navy has done excellent job in encouraging Indegenous development of its requirement.Unlike Army which kept on rejecting Arjun tank.What the government should do is to order few more Air craft carriers,on Private companies like Larson and Toubro,by giving the the indegenously developed,Designs and drawings and speed up their commisioning.The same they should do in case of advanced technology vessel.Thus the indegenous capability will increase many fold.I request our readers to read Bharat rakshak.com for more details on Military equipment and Military affairs
by Guest on Aug 11, 2008 01:26 AM Permalink
Its become a fashion to critize one and all,sitting in an AC cabin in front of a laptop and sipping coffee.Even if DRDO does precious little,at least it does little for our armed forces,with talent pool from only small towns and their engg colleges.Most of the bright sparks writing comments here sit in big cities working for a BPO and earning few dollars for themselves and their firm.Similarly,IITians rush abroad and feel happy that 35% NASA employees are Indian working for US.(And it is certainly not like an East India Company run there,after all we are the slaves and they the masters)We have so many excuses for not working here.But then who will bring change here,if not we ourselves.Certainly not Mian Musharaff or Mr. Bush.Its time WE wake up.
And now I'll be called ....,...,...so many names.Because I made a reference to BPO employees here as an example.We cant even listen to healthy dissent.
by Dharmendra Kumar on Aug 11, 2008 10:06 AM Permalink
very good comment. We should not forget that DRDO has given AGNI,NAAG,AAKASH,PRITHVI and other missiles. DRDO has developed INSAS assault rifle. No one get success in one day. it is long journey. on some project DRDO might not getting expected success.But in so many arms DRDO makes country self depend.
by Bharat on Aug 11, 2008 08:37 AM Permalink
Most of the western country technologies were developed by joint collaboration and espionage....So don't feel bad if it took so long to reach here when nobody wanted to share technology with India...Developing technolgy that too under government that wanted to keep India poor and were funded by CIA is really great progress.. It is same party whose PM Indira Gandhi was afraid of her life when she wrote letter to Kissinger to spare her. She and Rajiv Gandhi despite being leader on Top couldn't trust the folks around them.
What we need is a world class Intelligence agency like CIA, Mossad, KGB etc. Even Pakistan's ISI is much better than our IB. Capability to do Surgical-strikes is more important in today's world than an all-out war. Well trained commandos with latest gizmos, supported by a highly sophisticated infrastructure and good intelligence can do what these expensive toys (nukes/subs/jets) cant.
RE:Scrap IB
by Pradip Parekh on Aug 11, 2008 06:23 AM Permalink
you said it. yes, i agree. without first class intelligence, india is like a giant without eyes. it is unacceptable for india to buy these huge equipments and be so vulnerable to terror. of course, granted the main reason for india's vulnerability to terror is its stupid politics that compels a floodgate opened by gandi party to terrorists via lahore-dillie buses.
by RK Express on Aug 11, 2008 08:21 AM Permalink
The political interference is too much in all our systems, Let it be Defense, Intelligence or any other... For Example : The decision making in Defense for latest technology or equipment takes several years, even decades, by which the planned purchase of equipment becomes obsolete and then we have to re-work the entire thing. Indigenous technology is better, but time consuming as we all know. No doubt that the DRDO is really doing a great job. Any research would take time and consume lot of money, we have to take this into account and encourage the scientists. Failure should not be considered as the end... but as the begining of a search for better technology / equipment.
About the intelligence wing, the wing is mis-used at times by our corrupt political system for own gains or to benefit some others in their own wing. Many considerations are given to cases and an independent working of the intelligence system is just impossible under present political scenario. Even if the intelligence agencies bring credible information, a timely action is never initiated in many cases. The entire system to be re-vamped and made independent with less political interference. Let us hope for the BEST.
by murty on Aug 11, 2008 01:25 AM Permalink
While these heavy equipment needed for deterence,I agree we should have a strong Intelligence agency,who can covertly eliminate potential elements which are dangerous to our security.A simple thing like destroying the terror training camps looks to be an impossible task.Cross the border destroy them and come back use heavy artillary fire support for such operations.Dont bother of violation of cease fire. Its all bunkam.Reminder of enemy should not be there at all.Terrorise the terrorist.Thats all is required tobe done
RE:good...good
by murty on Aug 11, 2008 01:35 AM Permalink
Thats what every citizen of this country wants the government to do.Unfortunately Our Politicians,their advisors,the babus donot have the guts.They dont listen to the Military Generals.They think that every thing under the sky canbe solved diplomatically,which India always failed.It is said that where diplomacy failed, the Military takes over.In India its always diplomacy failed and The Military never allowed to step-in.What else can u expect under these circumstances except failure.