you don't even know where you are from? sorry to say but you are damn idiot.
i can look in the mirror and i know where i am from. i can look in the eyes of others and know where i am from. i can talk and i know. i can understand and i know.
ok good to tell that you are a person who travelled much but at the core of your heart you know where you are from. now rediff stop publishing such junkies
RE:RE:what a crappy article
by shruti kapur on Aug 08, 2008 12:39 AM Permalink
Author knows very well who he is. He is leftist commie! People like him are plenty and can be found in commie associations liek SAJA.
Lot of my friends have taken US citizenship, i will be eligible in a year and as of now I have no plans to take; Since this is a persoanl choice, you cannot really challenge ones decision...
anyways, if one takes US citizenship, i think they loose identity -- they become an american by choice and have got OCI has safety net. one cant have both ways, OCI is their to just let people live in india but its not citizenship by anymeans.
If you take US citizenship-- you are american; dont fool yourself; this is a choice you made. That is your identity -- now how does it feel not to be indian? i sure bet it doesnt sound good! But hey thats the price you pay for the choice you made. You cant have bothways!
RE:Dual Citizenship, blessing or curse?
by kenny kruise on Aug 08, 2008 12:37 AM Permalink
Thank you NRI's for staying in foreign lands, give serious consideration to not coming back, India is already crowded.
NRI are real indians.They r being remembered by others that u r indian,so he is more indian to claim those who are living in India.While outside country he will sleep less,work more,think about his family and welfare of his home.Each remitted dollar or dinar will be added to foreign reserve to help India's development, Any NRI cannot be a communal like those who lives in India.But some time NRI will feel that he is not belongs to India or those country he works or lives because after 8-10 years of foreign work Indians need only theire money and foreign country needs only theire service ? some NRI openions that India is to born and die, rest will be in Foreign country. afterall all NRI's are better Indians by those who lives in India.Though inflation suck NRI's hardearned money,Tax deduction kills is happiness,but NRI is a working machine who wants to use his each penny in a good purpose.
RE:afterall all NRI's are better Indians by those who lives in India
by nikkie on Aug 08, 2008 12:38 AM Permalink
well. my friend, I think you are just satisfying yourself and making yourself feel less guilty by thinking like that. As my friend above states, That's a choice you have made. You just have to deal with it. However I personally think that Indians or in any race, Wherever they go will always remain who they are. I think the NRI, American Indian or whatever classifications they have are just for the name sake and nothing more than that. But one thing which I know for sure is that all those people who have left this amazing land for wealth, prosperity, dreams or whatever it is will long/dream/wish to get back here one day. and it's not far away! So, my request to my generation of people are that, make your choice wise now, so that your children and grand children will enjoy that. Our elders did something which they thought was good. Please don't repeat the same!
RE:GIRISH - ITS A NICE ARTICLE BUT...
by Santosh on Aug 07, 2008 11:41 PM Permalink
What do you mean by NRI money minded indians ? Do you work for free in India ? Are you doing any social service? What have you done for the country except living there ?
by Anil Bajpai on Aug 08, 2008 12:08 AM Permalink
NRI money minded Indians ???????? Do you even know the contribution of these so-called NRIs in lobbying for India abroad?? An average NRI feels strongly, protests strongly and is ever willing to contribute towards the betterment of India. What about you?? I am sure you have that typical "resident Indian" attitude of "sab chalta hai yaar".. Last time I went to India I was the only one protesting against something wrong that was happening on the street in delhi in broad daylight.... none of the likes of YOU supported me as if it wasnt your country. And you have the cheek to write about money minded NRIs.
by soumitesh chakravorty on Aug 08, 2008 12:33 AM Permalink
I guess it's the "grapes are sour" story when RI people try to lambast NRIs for any damn reason they get. What is the culture amongst the so caller "RIs" in modern Indian cities today? Aping the westerners, trying to speak with an American accent, quipping "hey wassup dude", night clubs, pubs, disco thecs etc etc...its the NRIs who feel a strong need to maintain their originality and identity in these foreign countries and make India proud. We slog our ass here trying to make a mark on this foreign society, as an "Indian' first with pride and dignity and anything else later. So before ridiculing NRIs please take some time to look back and think how much you owe to your motherland and what have you given back while consuming it's dwindling resources everyday
by Nikil Immatty on Aug 08, 2008 12:50 AM Permalink
how about living midst us for a start, soumitesh? i agree that you are doing your best to be proud as an Indian first and all that. But Why did you leave India anyways? Can you tell me? Was it to prove to the west that we are great people? you made your choice. Even like 4th standard students in India knows that the primary goal of going abroad is to make more money. So let's not just rule out that. But people who live here and still appreciate our motherland.. c'mon man, you've to agree that it's something else. I bet you won't know what I mean when you sit at Starbucks to write this article.
by soumitesh chakravorty on Aug 08, 2008 04:04 AM Permalink
Nikil, I must say that you think that you're either a psychic or have supernatural vision to see 10,000 miles away watching me sitting in "Starbucks". Get a life my freind! Before commenting on whether someone's loafing in a starbucks outlet try to know first what the person you're trying to ridicule is actually upto! I guess I'll try to make you remember the saying of Upanishad's (I'm sure you've read it being such a devoted Indian son).."Take me from unreal to the real...take me from darkness to light.." How do you know that thousands of hardworking NRIs are not here to gain knowledge and wisdom, which they want to take back to their beloved India for her betterment? Have you even tried changing your mindset for once?
by prashant verma on Aug 08, 2008 12:40 AM Permalink
janab you wont believe i have seen american CEOs of companies in US dressing in traditional indian dresses when we celebrate diwali. doesn't it tell what we are achieving for india but yes the progress in india is not due to us its by indians who are there. we also contribute to it but dont think we dont love India. its our motherland.
Ok. First things first - I am technically an 'NRI' as per FEMA and MEA rules. I am here because there was a career opportunity which I had to take.
Coming to the author - I find this attitude typical of the 'Lived outside of India for 10 years plus' category. Its called 'we are better than you indians' syndrome. In times gone by, to be an NRI was a matter of pride and probably respect. Today, it symbolises (in majority of cases) to me those that couldnt compete with the Indians and hence left to study in US universities. E.g - 'I couldnt get into an IIM, so I wrote the GMAT and came here' type. I am not saying this of all NRIs but most. There are indeed some who did both and I know that they are handling top quality jobs in the topmost organisations. I have a friend who did that - went to do his PhD after an engg degree and MBA from India in economics. He is a professor at an ivy league univ (not Harvard as he rejected an offer from Harvard). His dream is to come back to India and make a difference to her people. I have checked his resolve many a times and I am certain that every day he lives in the US - he prepares himself for India. Thats what I call the true talented NRI. Not the self loving, 'I am in the search of my identity' type of NRIs.
I may sound angry in my note and in reality I am. The brand of NRIs we are talking about are s/w professionals (which is not necessarily India's best) who have found money but not fame living abroad. They expect their indian frie
RE:Self Loving Rejects of India
by Vishit Kumar on Aug 08, 2008 12:03 AM Permalink
Hey by the way-now I am going to start any MRI v/s Indian debate by "Jerkovski Quotes that......"!
by Trish on Aug 08, 2008 12:37 AM Permalink
@Jerkovski: Some of your arguments are valid, but you seem to be generalizing your opinions about a section of NRIs like MBAs, S/W professionals...beware, not everyone is what you think. You have tried hard to show people why you as an NRI should not be labeled the way you stereotype other NRIs. Sad! stop finding excuses and justifying what you do is true. And, as for your dear fiend, let him return first and then you can call him a true "talented" NRI. The world doesn't work the way you think...the economy would simply die if all NRIs thought the way you want them to and returned to India. There's a place, a role for everyone...doesn't matter if he's a resident or non-resident. And as for NRIs who you think are opportunistic, there's nothing wrong in that. Whats is the value you are adding to India if you are simply sitting there and doing nothing but earning your monthly paycheck, and of course cribbing against all those NRIs. @Vishal: It seems you too are doing the same thing Mr. Jerkovski did...how stupid. India has a bunch of IIMs, but my dear friend they still are not at par with the ivy-league B schools. It takes time to build such reputation, and IIMs in India are simply not enough for all aspirants who wish to get a good MBA. I know many people who declined admits to IIMs and opted studying in US. What do you have to say about them? And then there are a bunch of IIM graduates who'd like to get another MBA in the US...Listen, everyone has hi/her personal priority so
RE:RE:Self Loving Rejects of India
by Jerkovski on Aug 08, 2008 12:50 AM Permalink
Trish - I didnt intend to generalize. But please try and read my statement in context of the article. I have also accepted the weakness of my character as I see it in other NRIs - we all want to go back to India 'next year' but stick on to where we are for selfish reasons. No denying that. But I am comfortable accepting that my being exposed to many cultures, a more liberal society, cutting across time zones to work in various places etc., does not amount to my not being an Indian. Everyone has a right to make the best of their lives and rightly so. But I object to this de-indianisation of one's identity with so called 'success' - which incidentally I think is relative and almost always a mirage.
by vishal srivastava on Aug 07, 2008 11:57 PM Permalink
Good way of putting your honest thoughts.. while it may be true in some cases(Read MBA) not in all for sure.. While we have IIMs which are very good for MBA , tell me one Indian university(including the IITs) which may offer you a good quality Phd education. While IITs are good for graduate education but certainly not as Research Institutions. Most of the indian students who have some interest in Research cant find a good option in India. Also, Funding is another issue. IITs offer something like Rs 6000-7500 per month to a Phd student which is not something you can have a decent living now days compared to $1500-2500 stipend that you normally get as a Phd Student in United States.
by Jerkovski on Aug 08, 2008 12:22 AM Permalink
I agree that it is not perfect in India. I agree that the brightest amongst us are forced to move abroad because the learning isnt much beyond a point. I am only objecting to these mediocre talents from India who jumped at an oppportunity (probably slaved for 2 years preparing for their GMAT or at a crappy s/w companies) to go and work in the US. Its when ppl of this ilk start de-identifying themselves with India that I get irritated. The truly successful ones dont have this self-loathing from the past that they want to wash off with the 'Global Citizen' soap. I like the variety that know that their culture and country had a lot to do with what they became and are proud of that and want to do something, even if it is a small little thing for their nation and culture.
by prashant verma on Aug 08, 2008 12:25 AM Permalink
beautiful. you just hit it right on sopt. hey dude its not true in all cases as i know where i am from and i wake up daily and i remember it. talk to parents back home and i know. walk with desis and i know. i love my nation and the tremendous rise of india is not just due to indians in india but the world looks at indians due to contributions of its sons/daughters abroad. i worked in UK and know that they still have the "British Raj" mindset but in other parts being an Indian is a matter of pride. I take pride in being an Indian and prepare my self for going back and to give my dues back to India.
Also I am a pass out from one of the best institutes india has :).
by Jerkovski on Aug 08, 2008 12:41 AM Permalink
Ok - you are my 'exception' of s/w guys - just kidding. Glad to know you have your heart in the right place :-)
by Jerkovski on Aug 07, 2008 11:41 PM Permalink
nds to believe that they are the better ones. Hence this nonsense about 'I am better than an Indian who is proud to be an Indian - I am a global citizen'.
The truth about about these sort of people is that when the going was good in the US/UK, they gloated about their NRI status. However the only ones who gave them respect where the Indians living in India. They were never accepted by the goras as a part of them. Now that the tide has turned, they find it difficult to accept that they were not the best India produced and now try to shun their identity in the 'Global Citizen' crap.
These are again the same guys who praise the western world, their work culture, infrastructure, civic sense etc etc when the economy is booming and they are having a good time. When the bust arrives - I have heard so many of my engg and MBA NRI friends turn to cribbing about how goras are lazy, how they have no culture and blah. My answer to them has been - you are selfish and too flexible in your views to be trusted. The right word is 'opportunism'.
I am an Indian - worked in many places across the world. I love India. I wear my identity with pride. I will never be a gora although I would like my country to learn a few things from them. I feel sorry for nont being bright enough or un-selfish enough to be able to sacrifice my cushy life for doing something for my nation. Only that is my regret and confusion. Not my identity.
I give my middle finger to these 'tried hard to be gora but fa
by Enjo on Aug 08, 2008 12:58 AM Permalink
If you are not confused about your identity, what is your adoption of "Jerkovski" name doing?
by Jerkovski on Aug 07, 2008 11:43 PM Permalink
Just to clarify - my friend that I refer to did his engg and MBA from India and then followed it up with a PhD in economics.
by Vishit Kumar on Aug 07, 2008 11:56 PM Permalink
What a brilliant write-up man! You hit the mark with your analysis of NRI's.Just goes to show that your experience in people is well structured! Very rational thoughs indeed!
Brown by skin white by heart. Driven by guilt of leaving India and parents behind. Driven by guilt of belonging to Indian hence over critical of Indian heritage in front of others to proove that "We are not like THEM". In interviews act smart and ask difficult questions to another person of Indian origin to make it a point that we don't show mercy. NRIs are like those who used to lick boots of britshers in order to retain some land and designation or government job. Like those indians who used to be in police beating up freedom fighters and will prove their loyalty to Angrez. It is such a pity that 1857 freedom struggle was lost because East India Company employeed INDIAN Soldiers to fight against other Indians. NRIs look for opportunities to make money even from masjid and mandir by organizing events in the name of culture and religion. NRI go to masjid and mandir less to offer prayers but to eat Indian food. NRI act as if the Indian walking next to them on street will loot them if they smile. NRI first try to find out what their Indian colleague is wearing and driving. NRI send money back to India and they think they are done with their duties. It is wrong to genralize but most of the Indians of wary of fellow indians might be because if u act friendly they mistake you as some from AMFI or other sales company trying to befriend you and then sell something or take u to some seminar.NRI most of the time compete with each other to be lesser Indians and use us accent.
RE:The Coconut Generation
by Jaya Bajaj on Aug 07, 2008 11:37 PM Permalink
> NRI act as if the Indian walking next to them on street will loot them if they smile.
I don't know about street but if you see a smiling Indian in a grocery store or walmart.. very likely he will come and ask you if you work with XYZ company and apparently ask for your number and try to get you into their cult called "Quixtar" !!! :)
by Hamzah on Aug 07, 2008 11:42 PM Permalink
Yes and hence poor NRI will refrain from smiling even on the street fearing so sales agent after him or want him to attend the seminar !!! I donno what is their to be so proud of by becoming less and less Indians?
by Jaya Bajaj on Aug 07, 2008 11:47 PM Permalink
I totally agree with you... however, I think not smiling this is true for resident-Indians also.. I hardly see people smiling at unknown faces on the streets of India..
by Jerkovski on Aug 07, 2008 11:48 PM Permalink
Bang on buddy. Exactly my sentiments. The place I live in - I see a lot of Indians - they almost make it a point to ignore each other. I think its more to do with being exposed that they are all the same inside - greedy, selfish and counting pennies variety - while back home they project success and a good happy life.
by Jerkovski on Aug 08, 2008 12:31 AM Permalink
I surely am. I am not money minded though. I dont avoid going to a restaurant when I feel like just to save some dollars.
That apart - I wouldnt say I am much different from somebody who is trying to make something of their life. But the difference is - I feel happy to see Indians. I laugh at the funny parts of our indian-ness with my gora colleagues. I do that with pride and a love for things indian. I can tell you with full confidence that I dont feel embarrassed at my brown skin or the poverty in my country or the stupidity of our politicians or whatver is wrong with India. I am a part of the same system - so I will never come out and say 'well, I am a bit different from you indians you know, i think I have evolved to being a global citizen'.
All I am trying to say is that the type of ppl i am expressing my loathing for are the ones who believe that they have taken a step ahead in evolution by negating their indian identity when I think that in reality its their low self esteem and false past pride of being an NRI that causes them to have this escapist fantasy of being a global citizen.
Reading the messages below, I am pretty sure, the article does not relate to everybody and people will just not be able to comprehend the identity issue. I, for example, was born in a small town in Andhra pradesh. But I studied my first 4 years of schooling in Bangalore,the next 4 in Muscat, Oman, the next 4 in Hyderabad. 4 years of Engineering in Chennai. And am now currently studying Masters in a University in Minnesota, US. I have no Idea where I will be next. And when people ask me where I am from, I grapple with the issue. Yet I know I am as Indian as anybody, only with different experiences, and different perspectives.
RE:Relating to the Article
by prashant verma on Aug 07, 2008 11:23 PM Permalink
betey main america main work karta hun ek american company main. article is a junk piece thats it.
i have worked in 6 different continents and have been more abroad then you. i earn more then 150k usd per annum( not to boast just to let you know the type of experience i have) and i know where i am from.
by Brijesh on Aug 08, 2008 12:36 AM Permalink
Prashant, it shows very well that your are definitely a India....we did not ask how much you make as that is no standard to measure how much Indian you are. I won't publish my earnings but if you meant to say that by making 150k you have more experience, let me tell you that I have more than double the experience you have. I am in Logistics and also have family own Motels in US. I am also working with pure American owned company with less than 2% of employees from any other nationality but Americans. Try to understand the article before writing and comment on it. I believe you must be looking at a fool when you look into a mirror.
by prashant verma on Aug 08, 2008 01:59 AM Permalink
Brijesh every thing is fine but what the hell were you thinking when you wrote: "Prashant, it shows very well that your are definitely a India" : so for you being an indian is an abuse. I think its an abuse when lowly educated people migrate to other nations and drive taxis or work in roadside motels and one day buy these motels. These are the guys who are a joke on being an Indian. :) . I hope that you don't take it personally. Well I meant it to be personsal so I really dont give a damn :))
by prashant verma on Aug 08, 2008 12:51 AM Permalink
Brijesh sahab i think you dont understand or dont try to understand the article. the article looks like being written by some one who wants to disassociate from the desi origins. I usually dont look into the mirror and find a fool and yes can easily identify one when i read articles published by so called world citizens. well 150k was a joke and i think you got something known as complex :). just kidding. lot of gujjus own motels after getting here illegally :) dont take it personally just kidding again
RE:NRI
by sumit sharma on Aug 08, 2008 12:15 AM Permalink
World is become a global village now, job are limited resources are limited, and above all reservation for ST, SC and now OBC making talented Indian go out side , you might feel said to know Who is the GM of Hewlett Packard (hp)? Rajiv Gupta
who is the creator of Pentium chip (needs no introduction as 90% of the today's computers run on it)? Vinod Dahm
who is the third richest man on the world? according to the latest report on Fortune Magazine, it is Azim Premji, who is the CEO of Wipro Industries. The Sultan of Brunei is at 6 th position now. Where he live
who is the founder and creator of Hotmail (Hotmail is world's No.1 web based email program)? Sabeer Bhatia
Who is the president of AT & T-Bell Labs (AT & T-Bell Labs is the creator of program languages such as C, C , Unix to name a few)? Arun Netravalli
Who is the new MTD (Microsoft Testing Director) of Windows 2000, responsible to iron out all initial problems? Sanjay Tejwrika Who are the Chief Executives of CitiBank, Mckensey & Stanchart? Victor Menezes, Rajat Gupta, and Rana Talwar.
We Indians are the wealthiest among all ethnic groups in America , even faring better than the whites and the natives. There are 3.22 millions of Indians in USA (1.5% of population) . YET, 38% of doctors in USA are Indians. 12% scientists in USA are Indians. 36% of NASA scientists are Indians. 34% of Microsoft employees are Indians. 28% of IBM employees are Indians. 17% of INT
by prashant verma on Aug 08, 2008 12:30 AM Permalink
woh sab theek hai jo tum bol rahey ho lekin hain to sab desh key bahar. aaisa kya anokha hua. :)
by Brijesh on Aug 08, 2008 01:40 AM Permalink
Sumit what has that to do with connecting the identity of being Indian....the article is about a confused guy name Girish who, though born and brought up in India cannot relate him self with India......He has some kind of complex were after going out of India and living abroad for some years he started thinking that he is not from India....Girish you are born in India to Indian parents and also as you suggested in your article you did you colledge in bombay....which means you spend atleast 15- 20 years of your life in the place were you are born.....what is the problem relating your self to India or saying that you are Indian....actualy you are a pure indian in case you are confused....Only kids who are born abroad to indian parents or kids born in india but than brough up outside should be confused..Your are complete DESI...You are just trying to fit your self in the so call " I am out of touch with India" thing.....but by doing that you are just looking fool and atleast I am ashamed of people like you to call them Indian......Please stay outside of India for rest of you life..THANKS.
you don't even know where you are from? sorry to say but you are damn idiot.
i can look in the mirror and i know where i am from. i can look in the eyes of others and know where i am from. i can talk and i know. i can understand and i know.
ok good to tell that you are a person who travelled much but at the core of your heart you know where you are from. now rediff stop publishing such junkies
RE:what a junk piece of article
by neelima neelima on Aug 07, 2008 10:48 PM Permalink
You don't know where you are from unless you 'look in the mirror'?
RE:what a junk piece of article
by Nischal Ever on Aug 07, 2008 11:27 PM Permalink
YOU = MONEY = piece of PAPER - NO IDENTITY.. IF you cannot understand an article stop commenting on it. you money minded buggers..