Total 395 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>
population control
by Truth on Aug 04, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

A country without any population control should make abortion legal. I agree sex determination should be banned. When some one cant afford fulfilling the basic requirement of a child should not have a right to produce one.

RE:population control
by Nilanjan Coomar on Aug 04, 2008 06:17 PM  Permalink
Absolutely correct. Emotions, love, sentiment and God play no role in this. The biggest hurdle is that the level of corruption is so high in our country that we cant ensure that such a ban will not be misused...

selfish selfish and cruel world
by Bunty on Aug 04, 2008 05:51 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

couple say they are from middle class , and cannot afford health expenses. same is being said for daughters being born too. if couple has one or more daughters they say, it is expensive to raise them.
so justified to kill them.
selfish selfish selfish world.

RE:selfish selfish and cruel world
by pruodNorth on Aug 04, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink
r u willinmg to take care of the handicap child? We indians have big problem of bing hiprcratic. Produce only that much child which we can give good life. Understand this basics.

by Bunty on Aug 04, 2008 05:56 PM  Permalink
u c.. mehta wanted baby. they had it..
as a parent they have to take care.
why should i take care ?.
but i pray to god for better health of child.

by pruodNorth on Aug 04, 2008 06:02 PM  Permalink
pray to god also that give indians some brain. We have 115cr popultion and les & less food to eat. Have some population control on our socilty and also let socity give option to paranets to have only child when they are ready to take care

by sumitra rahi on Aug 04, 2008 06:00 PM  Permalink
As a parent if they have to take care then as a parent they only have the right to decide whether to keep or abort the child .
Who are u to give suggestion and opinions and call them selfish .Leave evrything on them then do not poke ur nose in between

Dont teach
by ware vm on Aug 04, 2008 05:50 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Instead of teaching what is right what is wrong, better, those who feel the child should be saved, go ahead, talk to the parents tell them, we will contribute for the medical expenses so give birth to that child, instead just calling them evil parents and let them live with their problems

I would appreciate those who are thoughtfully favoring the decision of couple. Because I feel they understand the practical pain.

I had my child in incubator for 8 days and during those days I have seen hospital-telling parent to shift their child if they cannot afford bills. Now how that child will survive without oxygen. Everyone know the situation of government hospital, they cannot keep you forever because other people are lined up.

RE:Dont teach
by Shivam Parikh on Aug 04, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink
YOUR CHILD or foetus..again it comes down to that very question.... CHILD I agree has to be kept alive and should be kept alive...

Ps - Im sorry to hear of your disturbing and tense time.

Foetus...? Another story all together .

RE:Dont teach
by raghvendra singh on Aug 04, 2008 06:21 PM  Permalink
I agree.

??
by ~ Necessary Nonsense => on Aug 04, 2008 05:48 PM  Permalink 

"BACCHE KI JAAN LOGE KYA????"

If Child will be ILL after Birth
by MJ on Aug 04, 2008 05:45 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

What will they do if a healthy child will become mental ill after taking birth?
Parents will file a Petion that they want to kill child bcz they wanted a Tendulkar like Son, so child should be hanged.

RE:If Child will be ILL after Birth
by Gyani on Aug 04, 2008 05:49 PM  Permalink
In the above said case parents should be given rights to chose whether they should give birth to child or not.

Although it should not be made a common practise but with consultation of medical & judicial authorities it should be allowed.

The consequences will be terrible.

Justice Khandeparkar observed "It is the job of the legislature to help you alter the provision. We cannot legislate the provision," my foot.

Is the court going to provide them all the financial help required throughout their future.....??? Is the court going to compensate for their mental torcher they will face throughout their life.....??? Is the court going to provide that child a good future.....???

The answer is NO. They just made a decision and ruined 3 lives. Im sure after this that couple wont dare to have another child.

I can't understand the law which is ready to destroy 3 lives to save one who is not even born......???

Black day in the history of High court.

by Ramanath Babu on Aug 04, 2008 05:57 PM  Permalink
Gyani,

Don't get emotional. Altough I don't spport abortion at this stage, I cannot but agree with the judge. Legislature and judiciary are two wings of democracy and there should not be any conflict between the two. the legislatures job is to frame laws and rules, and judiciary protect it and interpret it. Judges are not authorised to make any rule or law on their own. They can only interpret the laws that are in force. If in the current case, judges allow abortion, they would be stepping out of their limits set by the constitution.

Babu

by thebedazzled on Aug 04, 2008 05:52 PM  Permalink
We see daily when courts step into legislature's area. Why today suddenly they realized that the areas are different?

RE:RE:If Child will be ILL after Birth
by Ramanath Babu on Aug 04, 2008 05:58 PM  Permalink
beddazzled,

Can you just cite one instance where judiciary stepped into legislatures right?

Babu

by MJ on Aug 04, 2008 05:46 PM  Permalink
Ridiculous, Child has full right, so after 20 week as per order,

by sumitra rahi on Aug 04, 2008 05:54 PM  Permalink
U have been long advocating through ur posts that the concerned parents shld not terminate the pregnency .If u r feeling so much may i give u a good suggestion in place of wasting time and energy writing on this board go & talk to the parents of this unborn child & give an application in court that u want to adopt it & will take care throughtout life .
OK .
Let me c if u can practice what u r preaching .
It is very easy to give lectures to others bcoz the problem will be faced by others and not u .

Lets not interfere in anyone's life
by pooja nagpal on Aug 04, 2008 05:44 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear Friends,
Who are we to take the decisions of other people's lives and comment on their morality?
If those who are calling the mother names had a mentally retared child or a child with a disease which makes his/ her life uncertain and miserable , what would they do themselves ?
No One knows how we ourselves will react in face of such adversities.
It is the responsibility of the govt. to provide good and free medical care to all of us like in other developed countries.
After all we pay taxes.
To see a child unhappy struggling suffering and dying would be such a pain for the mother and may be she does not have enough strength to deal with it. There is every possibility that the doctors may be right or wrong. May be the child could lead a healthy life later on if provided good medical care or with the medical advances anything could be possible.
Or the child brings suffering to himself and his parents.. This may also be true.
There is nothing white or black.
To bring a life into this world is a decision that parents make. Let them decide and may God be with the mother to give her the strength to decide whatever is right for them.
'Judge not so that you may not be judged.'
God Bless all.

RE:Lets not interfere in anyone's life
by Mahesh on Aug 04, 2008 05:51 PM  Permalink
So if the parents suspect that the child might have abnormality it is enough to abort even if over 20 weeks? Parents take the role of God? Where they sleeping the first 20 weeks? If they develop cold feet they can give the baby to an ashram. They don't care for the baby anyway.

by eskinol on Aug 04, 2008 06:29 PM  Permalink
You can call whatever you want the role of God. Why should these parents suffer for your God? Their God tells them unborn handicapped fetuses aren't as important as their own well-being. If you have moral arguments to make, make them, WITHOUT religion. Hinduism, Islam etc aren't how this country decides what is right and what is wrong.

by ANTHONY SHEERAN on Aug 04, 2008 05:55 PM  Permalink
CARDIAC ABNORMALITIES ARE DETECTED AFTER 20 WEEKS ONLY--SO THEY WERE NOT SLEEPING

by Bunty on Aug 04, 2008 05:47 PM  Permalink
those selfish who want to see child killed have no right to have any babies.

by sanjay on Aug 04, 2008 05:45 PM  Permalink
well said!

HC is right
by MJ on Aug 04, 2008 05:42 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hi,
MOther can't terminate the birth of the Child. Now, all parents want their children as Tendulkar, Ash. If not, then they can not go for Abortion.
A middleclass family can manage Rs 1 lakh per 5 yrs for Chil treament.
Otherwise, they can give child to an Ashram, Hospital after Birth.
Otherwise, all parents will file petion to court on similar Grounds.

Lady health will be compromised if she will go for Abortion at this time.

RE:RE:HC is right
by Shivam Parikh on Aug 04, 2008 05:47 PM  Permalink
MOther can't terminate the birth of the Child. - agreed

However they can teminate a FOETUS, right? :-)

RE:RE:HC is right
by Divakar Hombalgatti on Aug 04, 2008 05:54 PM  Permalink
No mother will say I want to give birth to a child like Tendulkar or Aishwarya Rai. It is only the inner feeling that her child should become a famous personality. Don't you have such a feeling at all ? If the mothers on this this earth had only such feelings, we wouldn't be on this discussion board.

RE:HC is right
by Atanu Niyogi on Aug 04, 2008 06:20 PM  Permalink
Do u belong to middle class family? How the hell u can tel tat spending rs 1 lakh per 5 year is OK for a middle class family.
Moreover you think about the poor child...going through operation every 5 year...is it sounds OK for you.
You fool...

by Lekha Menon on Aug 04, 2008 06:47 PM  Permalink
go ahead, MJ. if you are so sympathetic, go, pledge your support for this child. give them the money, lifelong moral strength to bring up an ill child. u will comment and lead a comfortable life, remember, it is THEY who have to deal with this for the entirel life. Not easy, pal!

by Gyani on Aug 04, 2008 05:47 PM  Permalink
MJ is out of sense.

In the above said case parents should be given rights to chose whether they should give birth to child or not.

Although it should not be made a common practise but with consultation of medical & judicial authorities it should be allowed.

Justice Khandeparkar observed "It is the job of the legislature to help you alter the provision. We cannot legislate the provision," my foot.

Is the court going to provide them all the financial help required throughout their future.....??? Is the court going to compensate for their mental torcher they will face throughout their life.....??? Is the court going to provide that child a good future.....???

The answer is NO. They just made a decision and ruined 3 lives. Im sure after this that couple wont dare to have another child.

I can't understand the law which is ready to destroy 3 lives to save one who is not even born......???

To the supporters of court's decision
by sanjay on Aug 04, 2008 05:42 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

will u ppl help the couple in dealing with the crisis in any way??

RE:To the supporters of court's decision
by Mahesh on Aug 04, 2008 05:44 PM  Permalink
There are many people ready to help but that is not the point. Just because they are in hardship they don't get the right to kill the baby.

RE:To the supporters of court's decision
by sanjay on Aug 04, 2008 05:47 PM  Permalink
@mahesh
well as per the medical termination act 1970,u can terminate the baby till 20 weeks under medical supervision....wish ppl were more logical in approach than emotional balbbering..here the issue was baby is of 26 weeks old

court decision is wrong
by Sparrow on Aug 04, 2008 05:41 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

it is still following the victorian morality it seems...

RE:court decision is wrong
by Mahesh on Aug 04, 2008 05:47 PM  Permalink
Oh yeah? Not killing a life that has already taken shape is victorian morality? Modern morality is parents own their children and they have a right to kill them? Great. You might be a suicide bomber who doesn't give a damn for life. I have no problem with the law that give the option of abortion early in the pregnancy.

by Sparrow on Aug 04, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink
Nobody is asking for the right to kill. The right to abort has been denied not on the basis of some medial reason but one's moral high ground.

by eskinol on Aug 04, 2008 06:34 PM  Permalink
The question is not "is it alive." Of course it is alive. So are buffaloes, cockroaches and mushrooms. The question is: is it capable of thinking, feeling and feeling pain etc like a baby or child. At 26 weeks, not much. If you say yes, you still need to weigh the parents' and child's own future interest.

Any body can cay silly things like 'all living things must be protected at all costs'. To be sensible you have to consider the costs and benefits as well

termination of pregnancy
by vjmumbai on Aug 04, 2008 05:40 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

IF SHE KILL HER OWN CHILD, GOD FORBID, GOD MAY NOT GIVE HER ANOTHER CHID.
Sequeira from Mumbai

RE:termination of pregnancy
by Bunty on Aug 04, 2008 05:41 PM  Permalink
and she shall be born impotent in next life as well.

by girish bhatia on Aug 04, 2008 05:45 PM  Permalink
abey gadhon.....
Think about that child who will born with some disorder and he wouldn't be able to enjoy life as normal child.... and also as these parents are of middle class hen how they will going to take care of all medical expense after words.... I hope you people or people like you will going to provide them some help.... you are really great to support them financially...... LOL

by Atanu Niyogi on Aug 04, 2008 06:23 PM  Permalink
Bunty...just think if u r going to be a father of a baby like that, whom u know will suffer from the time of his/her birth...will u still want to see him/her born and suffer...

How much senseless person u r making such a nasty comment...

by Passionate Indian on Aug 04, 2008 05:43 PM  Permalink
Shut up, you idiots! Are you gonna support the kid once he takes birth and is suffering from the disease!

by Gyani on Aug 04, 2008 05:46 PM  Permalink
Very correctly said by Passionate Indian

by Lekha Menon on Aug 04, 2008 06:54 PM  Permalink
totally agree with you gyani and passionate indian. Dunno where these people leave their senses when they make comments such as these! as if, people don't do abortions in this country! I guess people like Mahesh and Bunty should start a fund for disabled children instead of just barking and calling a hapless mother, names. Bringing a child into this world WITHOUT ensuring that he/she gets a chance to lead a decent life is a crime far worse than abortion.

Total 395 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>