RE:Reduce population
by Ram Sharma on Aug 04, 2008 07:18 PM Permalink
Yr concern for high population is correct. We hv only 2.4% of world's land, but already hv 16% of its population.
But u r wrong in assuming that one child norm will reduce it, as two parents will hv one child. This is so, bcz population also depends on the average age of parents, when the child is born and longevity of parents. Average age of people at the time of death is increasing due to improvement in medical area. For example, China is following one child norm since 1979, but its population is still increasing @ 0.6%, compared to 1.6% of ours.
by ACM on Aug 04, 2008 06:50 PM Permalink
Population and corruption are side issues. The main problem is supply/demand. If there is not enough supply for the demand, corruption will find it's way. If on the other hand, there is a surplus everyone is happy and there is no need for corruption. Population is the not the problem but keeping the population fed/clothed/sheltered and progressing is. MMS is taking one step at a time - making India an energy surplus country.
RE:RE:Reduce population
by ramesh bansal on Aug 02, 2008 01:34 PM Permalink
You are mistaken, my dear friend. You say 90 % Indians are useless. Are you one of them ? No, then you have no right to say that for others. Our population is our strength. You say reduce population from 110 crores to 10 crores. Your thoughts need some rethinking on your part. Our biggest problem is CORRUPTION. Eradicate corruption to extent of 100% and most of our problems will be resolved and India will be a super power with 110 crores population.
RE:RE:RE:Reduce population
by Ram Sharma on Aug 04, 2008 07:23 PM Permalink
Ramesh. High population is definitely a big problem. Corruption cannot b reduced so easily, with corrupt, selfish and greedy leaders like Sonia, MMS, Lalu, Mulayam, Sibu Soren etc leading us.
One child norm will not reduce population, it will only reduce rate of increase of population.
by Guest on Aug 02, 2008 04:33 PM Permalink
I agree with Rameshji. Ofcourse the populaion is increasing, but the people whose population is increasing are the poor,uneducated people, who still think more kids more earnings. We need to really work on them to change their attitudes. Otherwise people who really think n are educated stop with 1 kid, which is more of a need than being logical! mian urge is for Eradicating corruption.Well it can b ONLY common man, who can chane the situations, dont u think...coz we all ''Commons'' make 1 COUNTRY!
by Pradip Parekh on Aug 03, 2008 12:00 AM Permalink
to hope for reduction in coruption in india is not smart as long as its govt remains huge. to hope for population reduction is also not smart as long as pro-islam congress is ruling the country. thus, the gandi party is responsible for both high corruption and high population. but i have a feeling both high corruption and high population will be the reasons for congressi electoral victory again. you can go in circles on this two issues all day long as long as gandi party rules the roost.
by KMR Overseas on Aug 02, 2008 12:20 PM Permalink
@ Venkat You exactly right. Population growth in India must be controlled soon! Mother India can not sustain with billions of people.
by roshan shahare on Aug 04, 2008 06:41 PM Permalink
Yes you are right. But what is the cause behind this large population? Dont't you think we are lacking to provide the good education to all levels of society. look at the world the countries where each persoan is getting good education are ahead or they have less problems...at least they can think about the problem...in india many people dont know that whatever they are doing is a problem... Provide good education your half of the probelms will get solved.
Kindly explain the benefits that indians going to receive from the deal clearly with short term and long term periods as no one explained properly. Secondly, what are the disadvantages to the common man with respect to HSE (Health,Safety,Environment) issues which is relevant to our political,social,climate conditions and security levels of the nation. Please do not write articles of assumptions. Give me complete detailed analysis so that everybody can understand well. Many people fear about three aspects,they are: 1.Cost of energy per unit. 2.Safety aspects of the production as now terrorists are using Ammonium nitrate which is not been controlled.Same fear to enriched uranium? 3.Waste management policy as it creates severe hazards if not properly managed and whether it will affect the underground water,plants and livestock and agriculture. 4.What is the "Economic Mileage" that indians are going to benefit from this deal in long term analysis.
Kindly submit the article which deep insight as touching the tip of the iceberg will not serve any purpose.
RE:Nuclear Deal and Post-Benefits for the people of India
by G A on Aug 04, 2008 06:46 PM Permalink
Real details and facts are never discussed by Indian media, Sheela Bhat is a fraud journalist, even the name of the person is not revealed, maybe it is a made up story.
1. The cost of the produced electicity and maintenance of the plant is very high.
2. The disposal of Nuclear waste is a big big problem, that we have not considered. The half life of Uranium-236, the Nuclear Fuel is 5,00,000 years, it will stay redioactive till then.
2. The transportation of Nuclear material across the counrty is very risky especially in terrorists infected country like India.
Will the self certified experts like Rahul Gandhi answer any of these issues ?
RE:At What Cost !
by Srikanth on Aug 04, 2008 06:13 PM Permalink
India has its own technologies for this N-waste unlike others and we have done it for quite sometime. You can findout from Adbul kalam or Anil Kadokar's interview on the latest N-achievement of India. Happy that these questions are being asked. I request you not to politicise this.
RE:At What Cost !
by Parag K on Aug 04, 2008 06:16 PM Permalink
stupid U-236 is not radioactive. despite terrorism, nuclear fuel is being transported across the country. and there are technologies to dump nuclear waste. there are thousands of scientists and engineers work for running nuclear power plants in India. And the good luck of India is none of them is dumb like you.
The cost of production of electricity per unit through a nuclear reactor is 7.00 where as through thermal is 1.19 per unit.Who is going to buy nuclar energy at this phenomenal high cost.Government is making ground for increasing the power rate. Nuclear community is not making any business since past 35 yrs US has not constructed any new reactors and 22 yrs we have not seen any european country going for nuclear power. NSG WANTS TO MARKET ITS PRODUCTS AND FOUND NEW BUYER IN THE FORM OF INDIA.
RE:Nuclear Power at what cost
by mailme alladin on Aug 02, 2008 03:19 PM Permalink
our govt didn't sign n-deal for common indians. The common people for household and small indian companies cannot afford to but n-power at this high cost. n-power is mainly for american companies - for them Rs. 7 per unit is nothing given the business opportunities they have in India.
by SS on Aug 02, 2008 08:47 PM Permalink
u fool from where u getting these figers. unit cost of new koodamkulam reactor is 2.00 Rs. it's a false propaganda from commies
by Harimau Iyer on Aug 02, 2008 09:21 PM Permalink
That is because those reacors are from Russia. If those reactors are from USA, the Commies would be telling us at the electricity from Koodankulam would cost Rs. 20 per unit!
N-deal mean NPT, Very High cost of energy, compared to the conventional energy cost (solar, wind, tide, plant), N-deal energy will be 3 times expensive. VERY EXCELLENT for INDIAN POOR/MIDDLE CLASS PEOPLE: BIG DOSE from UPA Govt under MMSingh and Sonia. Moreover India will be place to dump nuclear waste. Indians will suffer from N-waste because of complete mismanagement, we have seen many times.
RE:N-deal mean NPT, Very High cost of energy.
by Chander Malik on Aug 02, 2008 04:20 AM Permalink
people like you will never let India grow with their conventinal ideas. You seemed to be a supporter of Left. Why India could not build Infrastructure for these ways. Has your BJP govt secured India's energy Interests ??
RE:RE:N-deal mean NPT, Very High cost of energy.
by Jo Ho on Aug 02, 2008 06:17 AM Permalink
Don't consider it as a bias. For nuclear fuel, we'll be dependent on NSG and nuclear is not going to be an immediate resolve for Indians. we have plenty of hydel and tydal potential but we never cared a straw for them. At least, we must maintain our sovereign as Indians. But this 123 is becoming a prelude to NPT only. Am I incorrect? Kindly explain.
by vineet on Aug 02, 2008 09:26 AM Permalink
As if we are sitting on the massive oil stocks.The point here is for us to develop we need energy fast and clean nuclear energy will be the available in a reletively less amount of time.In the meanwhile continue working on the alternatives,nobody stopped has stopped us from it.The Manmohan has done what no Indian PM apart from the Indira has shown that is some guts.Advani is only interested in fulfilling his dream and in the process abused the PM of the nation.It clearly shows his culture and mental makeup.BJP shold hang its head in shame and instead of proclaiming itself to be the natural choice to rule they should accord full respect to the national verdict face election and and prove their point and if successfull then do what they promise and till that time just get out of the way of governing and in the national interest.
by Jo Ho on Aug 02, 2008 12:48 PM Permalink
Your point is absolutely baseless. I never mentioned about crude. This deal will benefit US industries and to some extent, Indian ones also but if we have to sacrifice our sovereign for this where we have other pragmatic options available which your 'the' Manmohan never cared for. He rushed to sign the NPT. Don't you really smell nothing? Can you tell me whose interest it was? It's the plain slavish mentality which the slave party are used to. Your Madam and 'the' Manmohan found a new Boss in Washington. Let us congratulate them for a big success! Yes, this is called 'guts' - you are absly correct.
by Jo Ho on Aug 02, 2008 06:13 AM Permalink
IAEA safeguards is alright for civilian reactors but can India declare a future reactor for Military purposes? Does that right stay with India?
RE:RE:N-deal mean NPT, Very High cost of energy.
by Manoj M on Aug 02, 2008 05:26 AM Permalink
So dont buy energy. With the nuclear deal you are just making a provision where if you need to buy nuke energy when it makes economic sense to you you are free to buy it. It's like having money in the pocket while going to a market. Nobody is asking you to spend it, but if you dont have it, even if you want to spend you cannot.
N-deal mean NPT, Very High cost of energy. Compared to conventional energy cost (solar, wind, tide, plant), N-deal energy will be 3 times expensive. VERY EXCELLENT for INDIAN POOR/MIDDLE CLASS PEOPLE: BIG DOSE from UPA. Moreover India will be place to dump nuclear waste. Indians will suffer from N-waste because of complete mismanagement, we have seen manytimes.