Total 86 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
Likely Story
by Human Value on Apr 29, 2008 06:39 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The Reddys have made a business out of politics. This guy has come back to do his family business. So what's the big deal.

RE:Likely Story
by R A on Apr 29, 2008 07:52 AM  Permalink
If he was on work permit, then anyways he was bound to come back after 6 years.

by on Apr 29, 2008 07:47 PM  Permalink
yes, but would you contest election?

by debjyoti chatterjee on Apr 30, 2008 09:32 AM  Permalink
Sorry to say but guys...you and your thoughts stinks!!!!

Good luck!
by Mahesh on Apr 29, 2008 06:19 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

He left his job for the cause. Will other IT folks at least vote on the election day?

RE:Good luck!
by AJ M on Apr 29, 2008 12:20 PM  Permalink
Listen all you nay sayers, this guy has done what a lot of us should be doing. He has taken the lead and chosen the constituency well which is IT folks. I was smiling when I read his justification that IT folks have a lot of bright ideas (we all know from previewing the message boards) but do not come out in the real ugly world to fight politics and political dakus (goondas). He has also shown to a lot of us IT folks a raasta to an alternative career choice. After all there is a huge demand (scarcity) of good leaders at the top..with only Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka, Advani and Modi left. Everybody else seems to be a fruitcake of some sort. Not that Rahul or Priyanka are not furitcakes but the dearth (or void) is too glaring and obvious.

US techie returns to Karnataka to fight polls
by Suresh Gowda on Apr 29, 2008 06:08 AM  Permalink 

DECCAN HERALD, CNN-IBN POLL SURVEY

36 per cent voters still open to persuasion

Though the campaign for Karnataka Assembly elections 2008 has officially begun, no one is willing, at this stage, to take a call on the race for Vidhana Soudha. While it%u2019s hard to find takers for claims by the JD(S), political observers are unsure of the relative strengths of the two national parties: Congress and the BJP. Some key questions still elude a clear answer:

* How widespread and durable was the sympathy for Yeddyurappa as a result of the way he was ousted? How much of it will translate into votes for the BJP?

* Has the recent focus on the BJP-JD(S) fracas helped the Congress erase public memory of the Dharam Singh-led coalition government? How much will S M Krishna%u2019s return help a faction-ridden Congress?

* How real was the perceived popularity of Kumaraswamy government with the aam aadmi, between his dubious beginning and theatrical exit? If there was any, is there a residue of that goodwill that JD(S) can still exploit?

These questions have escaped a convincing answer. That%u2019s the reason why Deccan Herald and CNN-IBN commissioned the Centre for the Study of Developing Societies (CSDS) to conduct a wide-ranging pre-poll survey to feel the pulse of the voters in the state.

The survey was carried out between April 13 and 19, just before the nominations began for the first phase of polling.

A total of 5,124 ordinary voters wer

What will he do next?
by Sonia Bofors Gandhi on Apr 29, 2008 06:01 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

After losing the election (which is not impossible, right?), what is he going to do?

Will he continue his PR for next 5 years and work for politics full time?

Or will he go back to US after this election?

I assume that he will join some company in Bangalore or in US after this election and thats it.

He is not serious, otherwise he will be spending some of his own money.

RE:What will he do next?
by AJ M on Apr 29, 2008 12:36 PM  Permalink
Very negative way of thinking.. it is this kind of thinking that has stopped India from progressing. Why are you thinking about his problems and what he will do if he looses election? Even if he goes and takes up a job, I won't grudge him the money that he would have collected. I am sure he will enter politics again after sometime. Everybody needs to test waters and he is young. He would have responsibilities. If we support him (doesn't matter if he doesn't win), many others will step out and follow in his footsteps. That awakening among professional people itself will be a huge thing. Benefits will follow in the long run. You are jealous of the potential for him to make money. Why should he put his money? I can tell that you are a self centered person and also one who will criticize others for actions that you do not have guts to do yourself.

RE:What will he do next?
by hari ray on Apr 29, 2008 11:28 AM  Permalink
No, he will be working with Ranjan Bhattacharya Vajpayee post election

by Suresh Gowda on Apr 29, 2008 06:00 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Here is preview of CNN-IBN karnataka survey.
1) Main fight is between BJP and Congress with BJP ahead in all regions.
2) Congress had lot going for it but squandered all advantages first by sharing power with JD(S) when people rejected it and when it lost power never functioning as an opposition party.
3) BJP gained due to stint of power with its ministers gaining public image (in comparison with their aloof JD(S) and congress colleagues).
4) Inflation and infrastructure are big factors. Inflation is going to hit congress badly.
5) JD(S) is not being taken seriously by people. Its old strongholds in Old Mysore region like Mysore, Chamarajnagar, Bangalore Rural have moved over to BJP
6) Bangalore City BJP maintains 6 point lead over congress leading to sweep.
7) Coastral areas BJP continues to be ahead even where BJP rebels are present. BJP will maintain the lead of last election.
8) Hyderabad karnataka. BJP will gain 50 percent more seats and congress in decline.
9) Bombay Karnataka. BJP made major gains last time. It will maintain the gains and add few extra seats.
10) Old Mysore. Congress and JD(S) have a shock in this region considered their bastion. BJP has made serious inroads and will be the biggest party.
Overall Vote Share
BJP - 34 (Seat Share 110 - 135)
Congress - 30 (Seat Share 40 - 60)
JD(S) - 12 (Seat Share 12 - 20)
Others rest.

Popularity
Yediyurappa - 40
Kumaraswamy - 24
Krishna - 5
Imponderable.
BSP -

RE:US techie returns to Karnataka to fight polls
by Bharat Kr on Apr 30, 2008 03:53 AM  Permalink
I wish this becomes truth and Bhagavan save Karnataka from crutches of Sonia Quatrochi Gandhi and betrayer Deva Gowda.

Poor guy
by Pulsar on Apr 29, 2008 05:51 AM  Permalink 

He is probably idealistic person. But soon he will realize that the whole business of politics in India stinks.

by Suresh Gowda on Apr 29, 2008 05:45 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

SHIMOGA: He does not use the official car nor does he draw his monthly salary. He scrupulously avoids all perks and other facilities that go with his coveted post. This may sound incredible. But the first citizen of Shimoga has become a role model for others.

President of the Shimoga City Municipal Council M. Shankar has blazed a new trail, particularly when complaints about the misuse of official machinery are mounting.

He uses his old scooter for his morning rounds in the wards and for other official work. As such the official air-conditioned car is not in use. It is lying idle in the office garage ever since he assumed office while the driver assigned to this vehicle has been sent to the Shimoga Urban Development Authority on deputation.

His simple and unassuming style of functioning has come in for wide appreciation as it ensures a monthly saving of Rs. 50,000 to the Council.

And, his decision not to avail himself of salary of Rs. 3,000 and telephone allowance of Rs. 2,500 a month has not come in way of his routine work.

Mr. Shankar has made extensive visits to 26 wards and intends to cover the remaining nine shortly. He rides his scooter when he is on ward rounds. He, however, walks in the interior areas to be in direct touch with the people. He says this helps them pour out their grievances without any hassles.

Besides, he visits the Krishnaraja Water Treatment Plant in the night once in a week to oversee the water distribution work. He skips his war

he will also b correpted
by christo joe on Apr 29, 2008 05:26 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

in politics howmuchever sincere ur u will b forced to b correpted by ur clliges.however i wish him all the best

RE:he will also b correpted
by Vijay B on Apr 29, 2008 06:04 AM  Permalink

It is people like you who will be corrupted because you already are corrupt. This is the bane of India - bring down those who are coming up. It shows in the reservation issue so blatantly now. God damn people like you. Because of such thinking India has so many poor people who die of hunger.

RE:RE:he will also b correpted
by Dude on Apr 29, 2008 10:50 AM  Permalink
Vijay bhai Christo telling the fact. But you dont want that fact becoming fate.As long as caste and religon system in INDIA. Poor ppl will die in hunger. Indian save India.

6 years of H1
by Truth Seeker on Apr 29, 2008 05:20 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

He returned to India as US government expects. US Government and people expect HiTech workers to go back after 6 years, and he did that. Next time some goes for the visa interview, they can say they just want to go to US for 6 years and come back to serve the country as an MLA or MP :). Any Reddy, good luck with your new stint. Economy is not that great in US right now.

RE:6 years of H1
by Truth Seeker on Apr 29, 2008 05:22 AM  Permalink
If you want rest of the money, 6.5 lakhs to be precise, ask YS Rajashekar Reddy, or his son Jagan Reddy. They earned a lot of money being in politics. Billions, in dollars!!

RE:6 years of H1
by Ravi Jagirdar on Apr 29, 2008 06:58 AM  Permalink
Very few H1B holders wait the entire 6 years before getting a green card. He probably has one too. If you cannot wish him well, at least don't malign his intentions.

Total 86 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >