Total 146 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
let farmers produce electricity
by sanjeev kulkarni on Apr 24, 2008 11:21 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The so called nuclear deal will fulfil 7% energy need is afact.Why to bind ourselve &depend on unreliable sources. years back in villages MOGALI ERAND a small bush was used to extract oil which was used for lanterns.With investment in research genetically better species of ERAND / JATROFA can be developed to get the BIODIESEL.With this biodiesel each farmer can generate his own electricity.Domestic consumption is mate by this method .Hydro electricity resources will be left for Industrial use.

RE:let farmers produce electricity
by mahabodhi on Apr 24, 2008 11:37 AM  Permalink
@sanjeev kulkarni -It is good idea!But who is stopping farmers or any body from producing the elecricty from Biodisel!Some one Pillai? or some body did claim to extract oil from bushes as you say!Mr. Karunanidhi was CM of Tamilnadu then!But later it petered out!It was said to be hoax !But it will be better if farmers generate their own electricty!Why farmers even industries should also do that!

by shatrudhaprasad on Apr 24, 2008 01:29 PM  Permalink
By the way, Mr. Sanjeev, if the farmers were to grow JATROFA, rather than food crops, where do you think is our food production going to come from. Instead of nuclear fuel, we may then be on the track to import foodgrains. Besides, JATROFA will not necessarily generate electricity for most farmers as their farm lands are small. A better idea is to develop solar technology, wind technology and so on. I can understand that people have plusses about nuclear energy, but the most basic issue is that of sovereignty.

U.S. is a country which in the name of promoting democracy has propped up dictators like Musharraf and kangaroo democracies like Iraq. Hence to believe US is like to shoot yourself in your own mouth, own foot and own head. I am totally against communists (for Nandigram, Buddhadev should resign or be hanged till death), but the point is that nuclear energy won't help much. Another idea can be to develop gobar-gas plants as we have a large number of villages and they can be taught this method to produce cheap electricity. If not one village, a group of villages can combine together, which can ensure that villages get enough electricity for irrigation and other domestic purposes. Such plants can be constructed in cities as well to ensure that organic wastes are properly utilised.

by Secularism on Apr 24, 2008 01:38 PM  Permalink
Pastor Walter Masih was brutally assaulted allegedly by VHP workers in Jaipur. A year later, he is making desperate pleas for justice because the BJP govt in Raj. refused prosecution of 14 accused & closed investigations.

The invitation extended to top BJP leader L K Advani by Mar Thoma Metropolitan Joseph Mar Thoma to attend the 90th birthday celebrations of Valiya Metropolitan Philipose Mar Chrisostum is developing into a stormy controversy within the Mar Thoma Church.

Advani has been invited in person by Joseph Mar Thoma to inaugurate the birthday celebrations in Kottayam on April 26. The decision was taken by the Metropolitan without discussing it in the Bishop Synod or the Church Council.

The meeting decided to give a memorandum signed by 10,000 believers to Joseph Mar Thoma requesting him to cancel the invitation. Former clergy trustee Rev. A P Jacob presided over the meeting.

This is a truth that killer RSS is now hardly trying to find a safer place between Indian people. The same people engaged now to join people who has been continuously trying to divide and attack.

WHY IS THE WHERABOUTS OF THIS DEAL NOT MADE PUBLIC..???
by Angry Indian on Apr 24, 2008 10:39 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

V ARE A DEMOCRACY..!!WE NEED TO KNOW CLEARLY, WHAT ARE THE PROS AND CONS OF THIS DEAL..!! WE DON WANT TO BE MERE SPECTATORS, WATCHING POLITICIANS PROVING ALLEGATIONS ON EACH OTHER..!!

INDIAN DEMOCRACY IS CHANGING INTO DEMO"crazy"..!!! please help us with some awareness oh almighty..!!
god save the country..!!

JAI HIND..!!

RE:WHY IS THE WHERABOUTS OF THIS DEAL NOT MADE PUBLIC..???
by ASHOK on Apr 24, 2008 11:14 AM  Permalink
Where were you sleeping all along.

Deal is well published on The MEA India web site and US govt web site. It was done next 24 hrs of signing the 123 agreement.

If you are talking about some thing else than be specific what you intend to write.

The Nuclear Deal
by ravi prakash on Apr 24, 2008 10:35 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The article seems to end abruptly.3 points have been raised, only one: Energy security seems to have been covered. The other two, weaponisation and strategic interests with the US need to be elaborated also.
There are several points that are important:
a) The poor dangerous waste disposal regime that applies to nuclear fuel will mean giving up our sovereignity to the IAEA. The record of disposal of biological waste is seen to be believed. The monumental apathy and the resulting pollution of our water ways and the seashore will make our beutiful country a garbage heap and gutter economy.
b) Weaponisation: Nuclear weapons are a waste of scarce resources.On the ground I do not think that our Govt would be mad enough to use it even assuming that hostile powers would seek to use them.The nature of warfare has undergone a vast transformation. The national resources include fuel, food, industrial materials, and also information resources. A modern day war would seek the total crippling of these resources in a systematic manner with a minimum of visible violence. This is the arena of strategic interests that we can build this even bypassing the nuclear deal.
All in all, the nuclear deal is a cat's paw of the US to control our economy by bringing in place a regime of controls in all spheres of life, the likes of which no one in our generation has experienced. Our preceeding generation would say that the British rule was mild.

RE:The Nuclear Deal
by ASHOK on Apr 24, 2008 11:24 AM  Permalink
you are over blowing Nuclear deal after effects. Imagine middle east in war with US and Crude oil supllies going to nil.

US has stretagic reserves, they can survive years. India can not survive more than 15 days of Crude oil black out.

Under these circumstance if India has additinal 50,0000 MW through Westren Block supllied Nuclear fuel, than what is your problem.
Other wise what is your answer to energy Security.

Can you assure uninteruppted Middle east oil supplies to India for next 25 - 35 years ( Nuke Reactor life cycle)

RE:The Nuclear Deal
by ravi prakash on Apr 24, 2008 02:48 PM  Permalink
Sir, I don't think that Nuclear Energy is a replacement for crude oil or petroleum. The need for oil is to meet out vehicular transportation needs and not our requirements of bulk electrical power. Today this is being met with coal and hydel.
Our poor energy management has resulted in a large stock of coal at Jharia mines of BCCL under fire. This has been going on for the past 30 to 40 years and we as a nation have no clue to stopping this enormous wastage of resources.
In any case Nuclear Power is not going to meet more than 7% of our energy demand. The price for this requirement is too high.

what an insane article
by Charan Chaupal on Apr 24, 2008 10:27 AM  Permalink 

Come on, this author has got some stupid notion, which he is supporting through inane arguments. I mean slowing down the growth to fight energy insecurity.. hahahah, give me a break buddy. And whatever you do to conserve fuel, supplies will run out. renewable energy, that's a joke which environmentalists keep playing to earn their bread. The only viable alternative today for hydrocarbon fuels is nuclear energy, which a deal with US would make much easier to generate. With that power, we can run our trains, have 24 hour supply (provided our electricity boards function), and acquire energy security.

N clear
by aga on Apr 24, 2008 09:56 AM  Permalink 

Every country needs nuclear power, as traditional fuel is very costly or going to be exhausted. Left and few others are anit US-(not with any reason but as a habit) We are democratic, can wait in next term.

Bad deal for India: U R wrong, Mr.Stupid
by Dogra Narinder on Apr 24, 2008 09:52 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

There are thirty new nuclear power plants planned to be built in the US shortly. Work on three has already started.
If you are counting on solar and wind energy, you math has been very poor. Try to understand the difference between Kilowatts and Megawatts, then you'll know why nuclear power plants are essential.
Once India signs the deal, all other nations are free to trade in nuclear energy related technologies with India. India does not have to buy any thing from the US afterwards. Hyde and 123 Act then becomes irrelevant. Is US going to go to war with India if India does not abide by Hyde and 123 acts. I think NOT.
Thorium needs Plutonium trigger to fission. Plutonium is produced by Uranium based Nuclear Power Plants.
So think again Mr. Srinivasan, why the treaty is good for India.
Dr. Manmohan is the Prime Minister and he knows what he is doing.
You are just a ten cent journalist whose math is very poor.

RE:Bad deal for India: U R wrong, Mr.Stupid
by Secularism on Apr 24, 2008 09:59 AM  Permalink
Church started to recruit RSS

The invitation extended to top BJP leader L K Advani by Mar Thoma Metropolitan Joseph Mar Thoma to attend the 90th birthday celebrations of Valiya Metropolitan Philipose Mar Chrisostum is developing into a stormy controversy within the Mar Thoma Church.

Advani has been invited in person by Joseph Mar Thoma to inaugurate the birthday celebrations in Kottayam on April 26. The decision was taken by the Metropolitan without discussing it in the Bishop Synod or the Church Council.

The meeting decided to give a memorandum signed by 10,000 believers to Joseph Mar Thoma requesting him to cancel the invitation. Former clergy trustee Rev. A P Jacob presided over the meeting.

This is a truth that killer RSS is now hardly trying to find a safer place between Indian people. The same poeple engaged now to join people who has been continuously trying to divide and attack.

by haris famil on Apr 24, 2008 10:53 AM  Permalink
NIce one Dogra

by Dogra Narinder on Apr 25, 2008 09:09 AM  Permalink
One near Allentown, PA by Areva.
Two in south Texas. Originally, Hitachi secured the deal. GE did the licensing work on the deal. Toshiba undercut Hitachi-GE. Toshiba/Westinhouse are in advanced stage of negotiation with the utility in S.Texas.
Southern Co is in talks with Toshiba/Westinghouse to build two plants in Georgia.
Scana Corp is in talks with Toshiba/Westingouse to build two plants in South Carolina.
Are you happy now Mr. Ravi Parkas?
Hyde act and 123 act are a lot of hot air.

Why are Indians afraid of their own shadows?

by Jayanta Ganguli on Apr 24, 2008 11:23 AM  Permalink
Why is it that if nuclear power is so important, that the UPA Govt has cut the budget allocation for DAE in this budget? Why has the production of uranium from the desi mines been reduced drastically? No one gives you technology free of cost. If you think that it will be so easy to bypass US in future nuclear commerce, you are mistaken. I think the author has raised some very valid points that need to be clarified to the nation before the governt proceeds further on the deal.

by ravi prakash on Apr 24, 2008 10:57 AM  Permalink
Sir,Could you enlighten us about where these plants are located.
Secondly, I don't subscribe to your position that breach of Hyde Act,and other provisions would not attract punitive measures.It is patently wrong to sign a contract and then breach it!!!

Former British PM caught riding without a ticket
by Spiderman on Apr 24, 2008 09:42 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

LONDON -- Former prime minister Tony Blair was caught travelling on a train without a ticket and any cash to pay the fare, his spokesman said on Wednesday.

Blair was confronted by a ticket inspector as he travelled to London's Heathrow airport to catch a flight to the United States on Monday, spokesman Matthew Doyle said.

"Mr Blair just didn't have any cash on him," Doyle said. "One of the policemen travelling with him offered to pay for the ticket, but the ticket inspector said it wasn't necessary."

A ticket should cost 24.50 pounds (49 dollars, 30 euros).

Blair, 54, is believed to have earned around one million dollars on the speaking circuit since standing down in June after a decade in charge.

Soon after leaving office, he took up a post as the Middle East envoy for the international Quartet of the European Union, Russia, the United Nations and the United States.

He also has a lucrative part-time post as advisor to Wall Street bank JP Morgan and advises Swiss company Zurich Financial Services on a range of issues including climate change.

Blair's wife Cherie, a judge, was fined after being caught riding a train without a ticket on her way to a court case in Luton, just north of London, in 2000.

RE:Former British PM caught riding without a ticket
by aus ant on Apr 24, 2008 10:34 AM  Permalink
Arre Bhai, Spider,
What's the big deal.
Come and check the trains of bihar and u will find lots and lots of Blairs and Cheries.
Just 'cos they are firangi, u put it up here.
Our own desis get no recognition!

Deal
by Fried Yakov on Apr 24, 2008 01:59 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The matter is in today's world scenario, we cannot get nuclear fuel from anybody without the blessings of the US- that is a fact whether we like it or not. Even France or Russia is not willing to supply nuclear fuel, unless the US via NSG grants an exception. After the deal, we can always try to get the French reactors, bypassing the US ones. This will give us time to develop our indigenous thorium technology and other renewable sources of energy, while nuclear power generation in India can be maximised. Simultaneously our precious stores stores of uranium can be freed for military use. One cap we should never agree to is the cap on military nuclear research, and we should also push for inclusion of a clause guaranting uninterrupted nuclear fuel supply in case of any eventuality. Even the present Labor government of Australia has no pity on our Left, and continues to supply fuel to China and not to India. Our decreasing dependence on Middle East oil, would have geopolitical implications too, which all can well understand. This is something that the Left does not want- it prefers that India remain dependent on the Gulf countries for its energy needs, so keeping a votebank intact and happy.

RE:Deal
by Nirpinder Singh on Apr 24, 2008 09:29 AM  Permalink
Why do we need nuclear fuel from anybody? Why do we not develop our own technology using Thorium which is in abundant supply in India? There is something fishy going on! Manmohan Singh has apparently reduced research funds for thorium reactors instead of increasing them.

by Good Luck on Apr 24, 2008 10:03 AM  Permalink
Don't blame someone just for the sake of doing it.
Dr Manmohan Singhji is one of the best PM ( non corrupt ), we could get.
The author has clearly mentioned about the issue with Thorium reactors - " Thorium-based fast-breeder technology would be an exception to this, as India has 31 per cent of the world's reserves, but the technology is far from being commercially viable. "
These technologies are cutting edge technologies , which cannot be developed overnight or the government can just declare the technology as part of the budget speech. I would prefer this forum to be used for more of healthy discussion.

by debjyoti chatterjee on Apr 24, 2008 10:42 AM  Permalink
Hi Nirp...Good question...actually if recall that your science book of class 10th then I am sure you will get the answer. Its mentioned why we can't directly use Thorium. Whats the composition of Uranium and Thorium? How a nuclear chain is generated. No one is corrupt here. Only thing is Dr.Mannu is lil' more educated then us and remembers his science unlike most of our Netas.

Total 146 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>