Total 164 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >
nice anecdote
by satyarthi on Apr 21, 2008 04:06 PM  Permalink 

really very nice.

Kalam meets with Musharaff
by Nostra Damus on Apr 21, 2008 03:08 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dr. Kalam should have stayed in Pakistan, He would have got better respect and would not have to suffer humiliation at the hands of Congress thugs.

RE:Kalam meets with Musharaff
by Kris iyer on Apr 21, 2008 05:03 PM  Permalink
Nostra Damus,

YES, I think this UPA government treated Dr.Kalam badly, because during his term as President, he showed himself to be a person of INTEGRITY, a person of high culture and personal DISCIPLINE. He was not going to be useful to them to "play politics with". Every speech he made was that of an impartial "technocrat" reflecting the fact that he had headed teams of scientists to refine India's rocketry, space transport and nuclear weaponry. He was not going to "wheel and deal" and "wind and nod" at the intrigues going on in New Delhi. The UPA did not, therefore, like to having for a second term. Horrible, isn't it?
You may well say that a vegetarian, tee-totaler, not interested in making quick illicit money, who could talk about any spiritual issues, quoting the Bhagavad Gita has NO PLACE in Indian politics today.

You know, it is interesting, that another genuine person some of our UPA - Leftist people try to "rubbish"? Swami RamDev Maharaj, is learned in Sastras, is a nationalist and is well-informed on traditional medicine. The UPA and the Left do not like him. Do you see any parellels?

RE:Kalam meets with Musharaff
by Saugata Banerjee on Apr 21, 2008 07:26 PM  Permalink
if he is a man of integrity, then why he has pardoned/hold the supre court verdict of Afjal who has killed many police personnel and attacked on our core democracy system?

Intelligence of Kalam
by Raghupathy on Apr 21, 2008 01:31 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

What happened to this intelligence whil Signing President Rule in Bihar? why his wisdom did not come while dealing with Afzal Guru Clemancy Petition?

RE:Intelligence of Kalam
by Kris iyer on Apr 21, 2008 04:50 PM  Permalink
Raghupathy,
1) Dr. Kalam confirmed recently, he had NEVER seen the file on Afzal Guru. The UPA government may have lied to the Indian Public that they were waiting for the "Clemency Petition" to be "processed".
2) On Bihar, remember, Dr. Kalam was on an overseas visit when at mid-night, his time, he was woken up (so the newsreports said) and shown a fax of some emergency in Bihar. Presidents of India have to go by the information they are given by the Executive. Their own channels are somewhat limited. Each arm of government must expect the others to act with integrity. Dr. Kalam could not have said, "Wait, I will phone Nitish Kumar, Ram Vilas Paswan and a few others before signing this ordinance". He is not supposed to get too involved in "politics" or not so directly.
3) Given India's loud, dramatic and hard-hitting politics, I think, Dr. Kalam conducted himself well. You see, we must all appreciate anyone in India who can CALM US DOWN. Not only that his speeches were positive and full of significance for India.
I bet millions of young Indians will remember his "India A Developed Country by 2020".

RE:RE:Intelligence of Kalam
by Saugata Banerjee on Apr 21, 2008 09:09 PM  Permalink
At the same time , he should have not allowed others to misuse of his powers. He should not have been a rubber stamp. After all decision, if linked to president and on controversy , if he washed his hand likewur explanation, i will definitely tell that he is not putting a better instance towards our youth. on the contrary, i will tell that he also could not resraint himself to play dirty politics. He must have been strong enough to guard atleast himself. This is being like now as a general person speaking what we could have agreed but he was not a general person. with all supreme power if our ex-president is expressing now his inability to protect the respect of president office, it is not appreciated at all. when he was in power , he had not clarified all these doubt . i querstion, had he enjoyed his all critics? i will tell to some extent that there i have found a sign of irresponsibility and now he is not acting as a intelligent person.

by Nirpinder Singh on Apr 22, 2008 07:40 AM  Permalink
Saugata you should sleep off the drugs that you have taken!

by Kris iyer on Apr 21, 2008 09:58 PM  Permalink
Saugata Banerjee, I am trying to recall details of this Bihar event. If I remember correctly, he did make a phone call to his secretary or someone to get more information. He has never had anything to do with politics in his career, Now away from India, he may have felt, he was facing something entirely new. He may have thought that he would cause more trouble by implying that there was no "emergency" in Bihar. You see, most people have very good "hind sight". Suppose he had not signed and some dreadful event took place in Bihar [ like some Ran Veer Sena or Dalit Sena massacreing each other ], then the President may be blamed by another camp.
If I remember correctly, the government had said to him that "constitutional machinery in the state of Bihar had broken down". The blame lies with Governor Buta Singh, in this instance. How many Indian Presidents before Kalam had refused to endorese the state governor's report of such breakdown, I do not know. I think, those close to Dr.Kalam felt, he was not too happy about this episode. But to call him "irresponsible" as you do, may not be right. The President of India is "subordinate" in effect, to the Executive. He or She is a "formal" head. He or She is NOT a policy-maker.
Having learnt his lesson, if you remember Dr.Kalam returned some other bills back to Parliament without signing them. He began to summon the PM and other Ministers on certain other policies. That may explaon why the UPA did not have him a second term.

by Saugata Banerjee on Apr 21, 2008 10:12 PM  Permalink
what i am telling all that he was responsible in his decision whether he was given little time or not . now there is no word "suppose". this word is used by irreasponsible.why now he is justifying his all wrong decision in public. it is a fault. whether decisions were wrong or right, he should respect that then Kalam what then prez took on cosequence of the incident. justifying wrong his own decision is a act of irresposibility.

RE:RE:Intelligence of Kalam
by Saugata Banerjee on Apr 21, 2008 10:41 PM  Permalink
cont..i have not told him irresponsible but his act now is making him irresponsible. his silence is better for then prez kalam

RE:RE:RE:Intelligence of Kalam
by Saugata Banerjee on Apr 21, 2008 09:10 PM  Permalink
MY ABOVE REPLY WAS FOR @ kris iyer

by amit saxena on Apr 21, 2008 06:25 PM  Permalink
Well Explained

by guntner on Apr 21, 2008 04:34 PM  Permalink
because he is not a (pol)i tecian.

by Terminator on Apr 21, 2008 01:46 PM  Permalink
donot drag this gentleman into dirty politics...

by Nirpinder Singh on Apr 21, 2008 02:26 PM  Permalink
Righto!

REDIFF is simply outrageous..reporting nothing as Abuse?
by dp on Apr 21, 2008 01:06 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear Narpinder,

A person who is not a strategist cannot be a leader or politician...at least not at the cost of our country and its countrymen.

FYI, Kashmir has been a integral part of Hindustan for more than 25000years.

There were hundreds of Nizams and Rajah's who wanted their state to be seperate. So does it mean they were not part of Hindustan?
If it was not Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Nehru would have further divided our country.

Its better to invoke Patriotism in youth rather than defending people who are still dividing our country for some amount of money! The youngsters need not be told about this...do we?

Nehru was concerned more about his own/family interests than country.

Has our history books ever mentioned why Subhash Chandra Bose chose to be out of country after independance..why was it fabricated that he died in plane crash. The media cant be so weak Mr. Narpinder.

RE:REDIFF is simply outrageous..reporting nothing as Abuse?
by Kris iyer on Apr 21, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink
dp... My reply to you continues:
Nehru's foreign policy of "non-alignment" was idealistic. With Su-Karno of Indonesia, Tito of Yugoslavia and Abdul Nasser of Egypt, he thought he would keep India out of the clutches of the USA (of whom he was very suspicious - he did not like any of the large US "corporations" or America's crusade against Communism ) and Soviet Union (he did not like Lenin and Stalin killing so many of their fellow citizens in the name of Marxism). He did his best to include China in the "non-aligned block". At the Bandung N-Align Meeting, I think, 1955 or '56, he took Chou-En-Lai by hand and spent a lot of time walking and talking with him. He wanted an "Asian solidarity" bewteen Indian and China. But, alas, his foreign policy edifice was destroyed by China's, massive, military attack in 1962. No N-Aligned country, except, perhaps, Indonesia, supported India in this dispute with China. Within two days of the Chinese attack, Nehru had to swallow his pride to ask the USA for ammunition, artillery, transport planes etcetera. Most of what he asked for President Kennedy delivered to India. But what seemed like a massive invasion of India, fizzled out when the Indian army gained their composure and began to inflict heavy casualties on the Chinese. Nehru suffered a mild stroke, within a few months. This was not publicised. But he was paralysed by a massive stroke in 1964. When the news of his death came, believe me, INDIA CRIED. We could NOT control our tears.

by Kris iyer on Apr 21, 2008 05:28 PM  Permalink
Dear dp,
Pandit Nehru's record as India's first Premier, cannot be, should not be, seen in such stark "black and white" terms. I too am critical of Nehru in lots of important respects. But I think, his heart was in the right place, he loved India, he was NOT corrupt. He did not try to make Indira his successor during his life-time. She almost did not make it. She fought her way against the Congress (Syndicate) and defeated it through her skill. We need to remember the life Nehru led and the influences he came under. His family was nationalistic, Nehru learnt his Fabian socialism in Britain - a socialist thinking that suited post-war Britain only for two decades or so. He spent many years in uncomfortable prisons in India. Lost his wife very early on in his life. He had no time for personal "love" affairs and so on. He believed, "I have miles to go before I sleep".

On the negative side, Nehru, could NOT see how his socialism was breeding corruption in his own party; could not see that Communist countries were not as prosperous as "capitalist" countries; could not see that his land-reforms were not working; could not see that the caste-based election strategy of the Congress was DIVIDING India. He could have been more forceful in declaring, "I want to see this caste-thing kept well away from politics". His words would have carried weight. He could have deliberately selected candidates on their work in a constituency. He could have stopped the VP Singhs and Arjun Singhs.

by Nirpinder Singh on Apr 22, 2008 09:49 AM  Permalink
The fact that Nehru was not corrupt is debatable. It would take too long to say why but let us talk about Indira Gandhi's rule. She encouraged sycophancy (for the first time in the Congress) and tolerated corruption. The Indian Bureaucracy and Polity achieved its dubious distinctions of being the most corrupt of the branches of Indian Government during her Prime Ministership. All of the subsequent functionaries that have held office since then are merely following her "illustrious" example.

RE:RE:REDIFF is simply outrageous..reporting nothing as Abuse?
by Roni gavaskar on Apr 21, 2008 01:11 PM  Permalink
Arrrr..!Itna garam kyon hota hai yaar..!

DRDO, Defence, Mills, All base organizations...and many many initiatives were taken by Nehru..! Why are you angry with Nehru..! Just in 60 years of independence what else do you want to achieve..!

Can you name any country as big as India who got DEVELOPED just in 60 years...! Just name ONE Country..!

India is way ahead in that pretext..!We are proud of it given the Size, population, and Indian History..!

by Nirpinder Singh on Apr 21, 2008 02:31 PM  Permalink
What he is talking about are military matters! It is correct that the nation's political leaders are expected to be knowledgeable about the nation's defense. If they are not they should not get in the way of persons who are. Witness how Lal Bahadur Shastri gave carte blanche to his military generals. They in turn brought Shastriji and the nation that is us Victory.

by Netra Maithun on Apr 21, 2008 01:13 PM  Permalink
China!

by Roni gavaskar on Apr 21, 2008 01:23 PM  Permalink
Yes..I know..!But do you really like to compare India with China..! Have some self esteem dear..!

by Netra Maithun on Apr 21, 2008 01:29 PM  Permalink
Actually they developed in the last 30 years! I have self esteem hence I find no problem to acknowledge China's development. Rivals we are, but we can learn from each other. China has no problem acknowledging that they lost out on software... Their Premier personally invited Indian firm to China and help them develop the software indusrty.... Dear Roni, I visit China quite often.... and am speaking from first hand knowledge...

RE:RE:RE:REDIFF is simply outrageous..reporting nothing as Abuse?
by Good Will on Apr 21, 2008 04:59 PM  Permalink
(Dubai)United Arab Emirates. Dubai was nothing 40 years ago. And it has become the one of the most influential cities providing jobs to hundreds, thousands and lakhs indian middle class worker and even technicians , engineers, doctor's. whats better development of India or development of Dubai

Another Example of NO DEMOCRACY
by dp on Apr 21, 2008 01:04 PM  Permalink 

My post which had not even a single letter of abuse has been posted as "Abuse' because REDIFF is ADVERTISING for CONGRESS!

Sorry ! Kalam Diched India..!
by Roni gavaskar on Apr 21, 2008 01:02 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

He was a President of India. He should have taken this an an opportunity to tackle Kashmir issue with wisdom..He just avoided it !Stupid!

All Indian Presidents are just like that..They just come to celebrate their post retirement HONEY-MOON in rashtapati Bhavan..and go..without doing anything for India..!

Shame on Kalam.

RE:Sorry ! Kalam Diched India..!
by Saugata Banerjee on Apr 21, 2008 09:14 PM  Permalink
WHY U ALL SHOUTING ON RONI. HE IS TOTALLY RIGHT EXCEPT "STUPID"

RE:RE:Sorry ! Kalam Diched India..!
by Saugata Banerjee on Apr 21, 2008 09:18 PM  Permalink
and also " shame". this is wrong word for prez.

by Netra Maithun on Apr 21, 2008 01:10 PM  Permalink
Roni! Shame on you! for your comments on Dr Kalam. You do not understand our government structure for one. Second, you do not understand our stand on Kashmir!!!

RE:RE:Sorry ! Kalam Diched India..!
by firefly on Apr 21, 2008 01:13 PM  Permalink
Dont reply Rediff is marking Indians messages as abuse and Pakis messages as none!WOW!

They both are Pakis using Indian Mythological and Indian Cricketer names for spreading violence. Especially they are using Hindu names so that people think HIndus are not patriotic

by Roni gavaskar on Apr 21, 2008 01:15 PM  Permalink
What stand on Kashmin..and govenment Structure r u talking about..Dear..!

Don't nothing..Just Waste Time..!Hear Bomb blasts at times..! Do you understand all that..! Half of the Kashmir is with Pakistan...Do nothing..FULL Kashmir will be with them..!

Then just show your STAND to the whole world..! Fold you hands and invite the enemy..!

by amit saxena on Apr 21, 2008 06:31 PM  Permalink
Indian President dont have powers.PM has all the powers.He rejected the office of profit bill.Does our present president can do this.Wait for some time Afzal Guru will be free

Man with mission
by Ally on Apr 21, 2008 12:52 PM  Permalink 

Man with mission !!!

Just a hypothetical query!
by Vishvaksenah E on Apr 21, 2008 12:45 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Just imagine what MP3 [Madam President Pratibha Patil] would have done,if she were in APJ's place during the meeting with Musharraf.

Total 164 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >