As per defence weekly report, the Arjun MBT is a failure and is to be used as a test platform for building next generation tanks. DRDO should take it up as a challenge and produce a design which will beat comparitive technology. India has a good space program and good Naval program, now even ARMY should get its act together and collaborate with DRDO
RE:RE:Defence Weekly report
by Guest on Aug 25, 2008 05:49 AM Permalink
If Arjun is really a failure then why did they even buy the 124 Arjuns.. N why is the army not ready to test the Arjuns up against the T-90s or T-72s ... I think that will best gauge the performance of not only the arjun tanks but also the T-90s which already have a very big snag in their fire cntrol systems .. Looking at the reports and the specs of T-90s and Arjun on paper the Arjun seriously looks a mean machine .. It looks powerful although far bigger in size. I am sure it can be used my the Army and further changes in the Arjun to make it a superior tank to any in the world can be done..
only few countries in this world has the ability to build MBT.. we have developed but MBT went 15 years of trails.. that is the resason we delayed.. now our govt should take strong decision.. to induct more noof arjun in ARMY. in very near future.. Arjun will prove its supperirity in compartive trails with T90. all the fellows who have given wrong message will realize themself..
RE:proud about our MBT
by ahtesham akhtar on Apr 21, 2008 12:29 PM Permalink
Every new system has problems... even us abrams had problem in iraq which they modified from m1 to m1a1 models. the t90s faced a lot of problems in desert trials which are being sorted out. to develop a system which works efficiently in the cold of ladakh, the river and/or nullah fordings in punjab nad the extreme heat of thar and corrosive salt flats of kutchch and fights as well needs more investment of money, time'n effort in metallurgy & ballistic science as well as engine tech. the best in the field have had to sort problems... we can not afford to blink... if we aim to have something our own.... it would be better if instead of mudslinging.. we put uor head togather n sort things out... before the world starts laughing at our half hearted approach.. success is achieved only by clever and dogged determination n some prayer.
If indeed Arjun tank is world class, then DRDO can earn billions by trading it on the international market. The question is will it sell. Secondly, some of our esteemed guys who understand R&D so well say that a country of billion people should wait another 20 years for the technology & DRDO to mature. The question is will China or Pakistan wait that long to attack India if they know that India's advanced tank tanks easily? And the above article very well says that Arjun Tank should be labelled "Assembled in India" and not "Made in India". I hear that's what all the electronics giants do with their products...assembled in China, but instead put it as Made in China. So, what kind of R&D are we talking about. What is so indegenious about Arjun tank except that it has a Indian name. DRDO continues to function like our government. If insurance, banking and postal sectors can be privatized, why not DRDO? Given Indian army's apetite, I would definetely buy some of its shares if it is privatized and traded on the BSE.
Salaries may be low in DRDO compared to the industry. But that's true for all national laboratories. I don't think DRDO with the budget and time it had, can hide behind that salary argument for defense.
When at one hand, DGS&D approves plastic typewriter on thin thread/various such items which are obselete in civilian market and other hand reject product produced by country
RE:Our Army needs an Intel-Dual3Core, not a 286 computer!
by Nirpinder Singh on Apr 21, 2008 09:49 AM Permalink
Read the post above! It is no good having a wish list for sophisticated equipment and not having the qualified manpower to operate and maintain it. In an Army manned by Matriculates who have to pay a bribe (more the rule rather than the exception) to be selected one can only surmise that the status of skilled manpower is woefully inadequate. The same holds true for the Air Force where there is severe shortage of trained technicians. If we can not operate or maintain good equipment what is the point in splurging on buying it?
RE:Our Army needs an Intel-Dual3Core, not a 286 computer!
by shanmuganathan u on Apr 21, 2008 09:38 AM Permalink
no man arjun is supperior only.. only our army needs mind set change...
Why cannot the Arjun, T-72, and the T-90 be assessed independently by any assessing council / body/ reviewer and a report submitted to portray its faults and strengths? But this needs to be done fast say within 3 months and a decision reached.
RE:Assess the MBT
by ahtesham akhtar on Apr 21, 2008 12:34 PM Permalink
for that to happen we need an authority which is competent enough as well as unbiased.
To state it very briefly and concisely, Army is not biased in favour of or against any specific Tank or Equipment. They draw up their General Service Qualitative Requirement (GSQR) for an equipment after very detailed analysis of their requirements (operational). Then vested interests step in. The biggest problem is India's most precious "White Elephant" -- the DRDO. They undertake to produce the required equipment, overshoot target dates by many decades, send many specialist teams abroad to study the contemporary equipment (where possible), finally they produce an equipment that neither matches the GSQR, nor is comparable to any of the contemporary equipment (in service with other countries), and is generally a total hybrid of components imported from other countries (in Arjun Tank other than its name practically nothing is the produce of DRDO). By then, the DRDO has blown up thousands of crores on so called 'research and development'. It becomes very embarassing even for the Government to concede rejection of the much touted DRDO wonder product. Therefore, Army is forced to accept the product. Initial product is introduced with much fanfare, and soon the supply is allowed to dwindle to zero, without the countrymen being any wiser. The Referred to praise of Arjun Tank is a concoction doctored by the DRDO and the Government, enunciated through people who are assured prize resettlement after they hang up their uniform. Finally, when it is convincingly found that the DRDO prod
RE:INDIA'S BATTLE TANK
by on Apr 20, 2008 07:19 PM Permalink
The pay scale of scientist in premier research organizations should be at par with best in world;India shouldn't be base for training grounds for MNC's. We take pride in IIT's and IIM graduate but these graduate leave India in search of good lively hood; why is the same work environment and basic amenities not provided in India. Most of our netas are anghuta chap, they only know how to be rich and break rule of land ; their son or daughter live rich and lavish life abroad with Indian tax money. wake up babies before India is under another countries rule; may be some can wait and see the drama of living under another countries rule. Those who believe in receiving technology for the cash are living in la la land
by linux linux on Apr 19, 2008 06:51 PM Permalink
Except that the Army is running scared letting the Arjun go up against the T-90 and T-72 one on one. Proves the army knows the Arjun will beat these tanks hands down. Army is totally controlled by arms lobby.
by umesh thakur on Apr 19, 2008 07:43 PM Permalink
If thats the case then why not any missiles resureched by DRDO is not powered Indian Force yet.... its problem with DRDO.... they lack somewhere...... They should be forced to get the targets
by on Apr 20, 2008 07:12 PM Permalink
Hi some great fools and great supporter of indian technology. You may pay trillion dollars for a product but no country in the world will sell the critical technology; Russian has been our laungatiya yaar as claimed by many great think thanks in defense; the fact is not a single aircraft or tank has been developed in India; those who talk of 286 and duo 2core should understand that aliens(if one believes) have far advanced technology than humans. This is for some babies in India, prior to LCA /Arjun tank we never had any strong R&D base; we used to import materials, tools, even design to integrate every parts; I hope some pandits who behave foolishly or make lose comments will understand meaning of R&D; the first product any where in the world is not perfect; with support from govt. the product takes perfect shape; we Indians think the first product is perfect product, wake up kuch gadhe log no first product is best product, it take years to reach perfection.
by shanmuganathan u on Apr 21, 2008 09:41 AM Permalink
we were started all after 70 only. but w3e have not having critical technology.. if we still supporting T 90 then when we will produce ours.. find the preplem we r facing and find solution
Hi all There Here People have said many a thing, But ever did anyone mention, Why cant India Build such tanks, ships and fighter crafts. If India can wait for a ugly tank for 25 years. It could have developed hundreds of it. I know what ever I am saying is not imaginable. But Guys can't we do this. It will take around 25 to 50 years. But what after that is we dont have to depend on anyone else. Please Be creative and dont appreciate others creativity. Deepak Poolamdai
RE:Dont We Have the capability.........
by ahtesham akhtar on Apr 21, 2008 12:49 PM Permalink
to develop a tank we need not just the vehicle itself but a lot of subsystems like fire control systems, target acquisition and designation system, automated engine control system, self defensive systems & counter measures, GPS n networked battlefield management systems among others... if u start from scratch all alone how do u intend to do it. u wll hv to go to experts today or tomorrow. first find out how they did it then do it on ur own.. just dont sleep on all the experience gained each tme.