Seems Dipankar is worried at the prospect of an increased number of OBCs ate JNU ... I think he shouldn't be a worried man. Even OBC students respect good teachers ..Focus on your teaching skils sir..
RE:It is OK dipankar..
by Ranjith Parakkal on Apr 14, 2008 07:07 PM Permalink
My dear rationalist, What kind of a rationalist are you ? U dont even read the article and then try make some irrational comments.
The authors only against creamy layer. Irrespective of what the Govt does about this issue Dipankar will have to teach OBCs in his college.
RE:RE:It is OK dipankar..
by rajana on Apr 14, 2008 07:43 PM Permalink
Ranjith - the fact is that he may have to teach more OBCs than present. Perhaps Dipankar is casteist so he is worried at this prospects
Do not understand what is new in this article? Which politician or Party is for the true development of country or people? OBC leaders are all in creamy layer need more of the cream do not want it to be shared, Raj Thakre shouts against poor migrants from Bihar but does not do anything for Maharashtrian poor,Karunanidhi is a multi millionaire by shouting from rooftops about Tamilians but does not want to give his thrown to any other Tamilian othrthan his son/daughter, Jyoti Basu remains a communist but makes son a capitalist... Sir, we know this all, need only Rang de Basanti in practice
Hence it is imperative to appreciate 'cultural' aka 'caste' diversity in all temples in India.
Government of India should implement 'reservations' in all Indian temples as per the 'caste' census in India.
1. 52% of all temple staff including Pujaris/Priests should be from OBC communities. 2. 29% temple staff including Pujaris/Priests should be from Dalits and Tribals. 3. Remaining all temple staff including Pujaris/Priests should be from other castes.
RE:India is democracy....and NOT 'meritocracy' like Singapore or Taiwan.
by devdass on Apr 14, 2008 06:00 PM Permalink
Democracy does not mean rule by mass majority but rule by constitution which provides fundemental rights to every single individual! If population % fixes everything then there is no need for a general election but only nomination from various casts! If this type of arguments are put forward it would be necessary to start movements to ensure all casts have the same % of population!
by sambb on Apr 14, 2008 05:49 PM Permalink
Meritocracy like Singapore. Joke. If you th majority - the Chinese you stand to one big advantage. Indians have a uphill task to succeed in Singapore ndiand are migrating
by Sincere Citizen on Apr 14, 2008 05:47 PM Permalink
Actually there are many temples where the so called "dalits" are working as pujaris.
So this is already implemented by the society itself.
by Harish Manwani on Apr 14, 2008 06:00 PM Permalink
USA bhai, pujari posts don't pay. So the OBC wallahs want only IIM seats. The Brahmins can go around chanting hymns, the OBCs want to get into investment banks and make millions..only problem is which investment bank will take a quota fellow...no problem there also. The OBC champions will promptly say, have a quota for us in the investment bank also..haha..wonder whether these guys have even an iota of self-respect.
by devdass on Apr 14, 2008 06:03 PM Permalink
Creamy layer may volunteer to be excluded!
Reservation could have been abolished if we would have arround 30 crores. But who will accomodate 110 crores baba. Its is very dificult. I worked in Africa, Middle east and europe polulation there is very low and people required to work are very scare. People do not believe in our ideas like reservations because there is planty of work and every one got employment and rather they import human resources from third world countries. ALthough its difficult these days due to human traficking. But human resources are doing well there unlike India we are fighting among oursleves for one job.
RE:No Reservation is Best Reservation But?
by Sanjai on Apr 14, 2008 07:46 PM Permalink
I do wish people like you and Dipakanar get into Politics and address the main problem as you have identified it.
If we had the popluation we had at independence, ie 35 crores, we would have been a developed country by now. No need to even talk about reservation