Total 1147 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25   Older >   >>
In the Name of RAM
by Amol on Apr 14, 2008 05:55 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Few of my intellegent friends have asked here, If Christians are selling their GOD, what's wrong if we sell ours. Very logical. But then where is Hinduism here. You are just copy cats. They are selling their GODS (as per your version) hence we have every right to sell ours. It is like following wrong steps of others. HITLER killed Jews so whats wromg killing muslims ? Here you accept that HITLER was right and we are following his righteousness.

Missionaries propogate Christianity by spreading the teachings of Jesus Christ. Buddhism was spread throughout the Asian countries - Japan, Korea, Sri Lanka, China, Thailand and many other countries by Buddhist missionaries. You can see the spread of Buddhism in these countries, how it has taken roots. Just for the fear that the superiority of Brahmins will vanish, Buddhism was not allowed to take its roots in India. Buddhist monks did not sell Buddha. It was the teaching of Buddha that was spread. People embraced it. Same is the case with Christianity. Brahmins have suffocated the masses for centuries making them live a life of Garbage. Many belonging to backward classes and few of the Brahmins embraced Christianity for the truth they understood about Christianity. However, when the Brahmins realised that their hold on people using the caste system was deteriorating as many people embraced some other religions to come out of the suffocation that their Brahmins brothers put them into, they started wholesale selling of RAM.

RE:In the Name of RAM
by Global Hindu on Apr 14, 2008 06:00 PM  Permalink
You are still stuck with catsteism. Come out of it brother. Brahmins of today are out of it.

RE:In the Name of RAM
by madhava nistala on Apr 14, 2008 06:00 PM  Permalink
what do you know abt brahmins.
Please know abt hinduism before u speak dont just lose your tounge

Waste of Time
by Square Drive on Apr 14, 2008 05:45 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Author has wasted his time spending on fiction story and dupe character. Please do not fool people in the name of 1000 years before etc...the article does not refer to historical events recovered by any historians, purely based on ramayana, which itself a big fiction story like this article

RE:Waste of Time
by on Apr 14, 2008 05:52 PM  Permalink
And you are wasting your precious time with your non-valuable inputs too. :D:D

RE:Waste of Time
by Rationalist on Apr 14, 2008 05:56 PM  Permalink
Off all the people in this country you are the only intelligent fellow. Ha Ha Ha. You deserve nothing less than a Nobel prize or atleast Bharatharatna.

very nice article.
by chinmay kulkarni on Apr 14, 2008 05:37 PM  Permalink 

article is very nice. everyone must read it. but i disagree with part that says Ram was not God.look in 1st point of coclusions,what writer says.he says r all the saints wrong???i am sayin r all the saints wrong if they say Ram was God???

Paying pension !!
by RRRChola on Apr 14, 2008 05:37 PM  Permalink 

the Sri Lankan government is still paying pension to the descendents of Ravan

Amazing!!!

Include the Vedas and Shastras in our Education Curricullum...
by Classified on Apr 14, 2008 05:36 PM  Permalink 

Sample chapters of a typical History text book of a 4th grader: Babar, Akbar, Shahjahan, Aurangzeb, Mother Teresa, Joan of Arc, Kabir...Looks like A Singh (HRD Min) cant see beyond these personalities.

HInduism
by Global Hindu on Apr 14, 2008 05:35 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The very difference between Hinduism and westersn religions is profetism and Human expression of GOD. Profetism says that it is revelation of GOD and there is no second truth. But human expression of GOD varies from person to person. As long as you eccept that it is Human expression of GOD, you accept other expressions of GOD and GOD realization. Hinduism never claims that it is ultimate truth.

Even today, Hindu leaders dont say that it is written in scriptures and I did not invent it. Hinduism has freedom that no other western religions has. Hinduism accepts Atheism is also a path to spirituality.

There is no absolute scientific proof that there is no GOD . Atheists use science the same way theists use to propagate their views.

If yoga and meditation can control you and your body tissues ( there are many experiments that prove this. One experiment shows that socialized rats are immune to heart problems compared to caged rats) , then why not external world?

Some experiments prove that emotionally connected people respond even if they are far apart . Like in those old movies . If one of the twins get hit, it hurts the other.

The quantum world is more misterious than what you can ever imagine. The existing sciense can not explain this. May be our accstors mastered this art of controling with Mantra and meditation as they always looked inward. Who knows?
Our Vedanta claimed that there is no external creator but the universe itslef is creator.

RE:HInduism
by on Apr 14, 2008 05:59 PM  Permalink
Actually if we listen to these so-called Mr-Know-Alls questioning the existence of our Gods, it's easy to understand that they are only focussed on proving that India has nothing in itself, and it learned everything from the WEST. These people are even trying to prove that Yoga originated in the West and not India.

Whatever Bible says can be true and the catholics claim to have proof. Now I am not questioning their faith, every person has a right to follow their own religion, but they should not forget that Rama/Krishna etc etc were there 1000s of years before Christ. It's not easy to gather evidence of what happened long long back. But there is no harm in showing respect to the people who have faith in those mythological/real characters.

Bad, too bad
by RRRChola on Apr 14, 2008 05:32 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

6. Even if by default we accept that Ram and Ramayana are the imagination of a poet, then at least we accept that the poet was real and lived on this earth, and was not imaginary. No one has ever doubted that Valmiki lived. His life has been chronicled in detail in Skand Puran, Bhavishya Puran and Adhyatma Ramayana. When Valmiki meets Ram for the first time, he says, as given in Valmiki Ramayana (7.96.19):

Just because the author existed, does his novel become true, then what about the present fiction is it all true. The writer of this article has illogical thinking.

RE:Bad, too bad
by RRRChola on Apr 14, 2008 05:38 PM  Permalink
i do exist, so that does not amke everything i say to be true with existence.

by mandook on Apr 14, 2008 07:57 PM  Permalink
Good, RRR Chola! Thank You for your revelation that what you write is not true!!

RE:RE:Bad, too bad
by MP Raju on Apr 14, 2008 06:25 PM  Permalink
Did you read the passage very well, other than looking for loopholes to blame author? I you have read properly, you would have understood what he meant by that statement... But you need to read other statements connected to that.

by cooldudelov on Apr 14, 2008 05:40 PM  Permalink
hey rrrchola why you hiding behind chola? Who is your GOD IS he or she or should i say it. Come out clear

by RRRChola on Apr 14, 2008 05:43 PM  Permalink
how does that matter? and why?

by on Apr 14, 2008 05:48 PM  Permalink
That matters cos it would help us in understanding the reason behind your delusional thinking and illogical reasoning.

by RRRChola on Apr 14, 2008 05:39 PM  Permalink
i am pointing out authors argument, valmiks existence or non existence is different matter.

i do exist, so that does not amke everything i say to be true with existence.

by Rationalist on Apr 14, 2008 05:52 PM  Permalink
Yes, but Ramayana is a very big epic and one person cannot write such a big epic with hundreds of characters, with so much details so perfectly with out any inspiration. Ofcourse there are metaphors. But Ramayana is itself in form of Kavya(poetry) and people tend to take everything literally because without exaggeration there is not poetry and that if you consider as lie then it is your ignorance.

by mandook on Apr 14, 2008 08:00 PM  Permalink
This argument of "rationalist" is highly irrational. Shakespeare could write so many dramas and poems and sonnets during a short period. If that be the case, writing 24000 verses is not a big thing for Valmiki! Have some use of your brain, if any, and dont call yourself rationalist.

RE:RE:RE:Bad, too bad
by Rationalist on Apr 14, 2008 05:54 PM  Permalink
And for your kind information the author has maintained all the stanzas in the same "anustup" chandas.

Proving the historicity of Ram
by Nirpinder Singh on Apr 14, 2008 05:23 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

What an age we live in! I think it is symptomatic of the Ills of India today that an article on whether Shri Ram existed many lakhs of years ago (as per the author) attracts a hundred comments within a few hours and many more counter comments. An article on the same website about the contemporary relevance of Bhagat Singh and his thought attracted not a single comment in four days (I tracked it). The same held true for an article on the plight of Indian Farmers. If Ram was a Karmayogi then we modern Indians seem to think little of our modern day Karmayogis and are satisfied with mere small talk and by running each other down.

RE:Proving the historicity of Ram
by on Apr 14, 2008 06:06 PM  Permalink
Not only Bhagat Singh, this goes for all the revolutionaries of Indian independence. If need be, we should defend them as well. There are also many more unknown revolutionaries who are never honoured. Anyways do not make a hotch potch out of everything please. If someone else is defending Lord Rama, why don't you take the first step and do something for the other things that you deem important? We can all share the load in different ways, instead of breaking up and throwing mud at each other.
PS: I started writing in rediff today, so extremely sorry for not contributing to the other articles you mentioned. But I am sure you did the needful then.

by chetan kotur on Apr 14, 2008 05:26 PM  Permalink
well u see Mr singh..
ppl are more interted in RAM than bhagat sighh or the plight of the farmers..

RE:RE:Proving the historicity of Ram
by chetan kotur on Apr 14, 2008 05:27 PM  Permalink
*interested

by Nirpinder Singh on Apr 14, 2008 05:36 PM  Permalink
How very juvenile! You and others of your ilk like fantasy more than reality. Buy a comic book!

by Indian Dictator on Apr 14, 2008 05:27 PM  Permalink
Bhagat Singh is a National Hero. No question on it? nobody can comment anything on Him!!! Hence no comments! and about Farmers, our Politicians should be made to till the land then they'll know what it takes to be a farmer!

Man first wrote true stories
by RRRChola on Apr 14, 2008 05:23 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Man first wrote true stories and history, and later learnt how to write fiction. India never had a tradition of writing about imaginary characters, as our country was never short of real-life heroes.

The author is making too many assumptions!!!

RE:Man first wrote true stories
by sandeep dhage on Apr 14, 2008 05:54 PM  Permalink
ye chup
bakwas saaala

by RRRChola on Apr 14, 2008 05:28 PM  Permalink
it is not the question of hero worship, hero worship and god are different, Then Rajnikant is a bigger hero and bigger god.

by RRRChola on Apr 14, 2008 05:35 PM  Permalink
its a matter of faith and worship, not of heroes. local or foreign

by on Apr 14, 2008 05:50 PM  Permalink
No one is stopping you from worshipping Rajnikant. I would say even that is a better thing to do than come here and blabber off.

Total 1147 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25   Older >   >>