The Judgement is correct in view of earlier judgement of Supreme Court when similar reservation in Govt. jobs was upheld. What is needed is an independent review (protected from political interference, probably under a Supreme Court appointed Committee) of the creamy layer list every five years. This will ensure that maximum needy students from OBC categories get education in premier institutions. If wealth based reservation exists in Educational Institutions (from Nursery to Post Graduation), what is wrong in accepting the most embarassing reality of 21st Century India - CASTE ? Rajesh Pandey, Gwalior.
Why Not all Political and ruling parties give the reservation for the higher posts like CM or PM even every Ministry, make Priminister who is most backward cast.
RE:Why ?
by gaurang patel on Apr 10, 2008 03:12 PM Permalink
ya he was sleeping in the parliament when the parliamentary session was going on...have u seen him on TV?
do u know there is reservation in promotions too? in up govt. an sc/ st gets promotion in half the time their general couterparts. in this way all the top positions in civil services shall be filled by reserved category ppl. generals will occupy the lower ranks...
RE:reservation everywhere....
by krishna tripathi on Apr 10, 2008 03:04 PM Permalink
three things are rotting in india caste based politics women commissions cricket commercialisation...
RE:Muslims are the best
by krishna tripathi on Apr 10, 2008 03:05 PM Permalink
tu dilon me aag lagayega main dilon ki aag bujhaunga tujhe apne kaam se kaam hai mujhe apne kaam se kaam hai
RE:RE:Muslims are the best
by Sahadevan KK on Apr 10, 2008 03:11 PM Permalink
Sangh Parivar betrayed Rajeev Goswami, the first person to publicly burn himself in protest of Mandal Commission. He is the best example of the doll in the hands of corrupt leaders.
Since politicians hhave become shameless, so what is the useof saying 'shame on you?' This lop sided strategy will lead the country into a chaotic situation. Even Judiciary has lost its sense. Why should there be any reservation at all? Reservation shows that our Education system has become rotten, and meaningless. Has the Government any policy to make students who are deprived of jobs due to reservation policy, to give them jobs? It should be mandatory for the QUOTA- doctors to treat Politicians only. Where is India heading to?
RE:reservation?
by krishna tripathi on Apr 10, 2008 03:07 PM Permalink
u knw what maine ek din newspaper me padha...ek brahmin garib ladka ek amir sc ka purse chura ke bhag raha the...and the headline was "dalit asurakshit hain..."...
RE:Be ready for reservation in Pvt sector
by F17 on Apr 10, 2008 03:08 PM Permalink
Yeah if any other party comes to power it will also Push for reservations in Pvt. Sector... So we are Fuc*&d from both sides...
by Ashokan Kalakoduvath on Apr 10, 2008 03:09 PM Permalink
Why are you worried? You don't want that the down trodden should not come up in life. Only Caste Hindus should grow, and others only to sing according to your tunes. You have grabed almost all the top positions in each and every field, Still why are you barking?
by Baban Yelwe on Apr 10, 2008 03:12 PM Permalink
Why openategory people worry about future, be practical, OBC people was under your ruler till 2500 years now they also right to come up. Why u people worry. Give chance to them also. and rahi baat pvt sector ki education ke baad OBC apna khudka PVT sector chalu karenge vaha aap opencategari walonko kaap pe rakh rakenge. Jo aap nahi karte ho.
The CPM welcomed the judgement and asked the government to take immediate steps to implement the quota from the coming academic year.
''The Politburo of the CPM welcomes the judgement of the Supreme Court upholding the law passed for 27 per cent reservation for OBCs in educational institutions run by the Union government,'' the CPM said in a statement in New Delhi.
It also welcomed the court decision to exclude the creamy layer in the OBCs from the quota.
RE:CPM hails judgement
by Alam Wazir on Apr 10, 2008 03:04 PM Permalink
This creamy layer is of no relevance. Through another constitutional amendment in the Ninth Schedule, we can raise the Creamy layer limit to 10 lakhs from 2 lakhs. So, no creamy layer.
I think our grand parents did mistake.... they wasted their life against fighting with British to get freedom. Actually we are not matured enough to have freedom. We always need somebody to rule on us. I am just putting the words said by Winston Churchill after giving independence to India, he said that Indians will eat Indians" and yes Mr. Churchill was right ! !! ! !! ! We are doing the same.... dividing our country in different issue... somebody dividing us on basis of caste... someone one issue of BHUMIPUTRAs... and rest too many %u2026 Good keep it up %u2026 all credit goes to respected politicians.....one day again somebody will conquer us and will rule on us for 200 yrs... Then only we will realize the importance of freedom and unity...
RE:Congrats Supreme Court and Politicains too...
by Balaji Gopalan on Apr 10, 2008 03:18 PM Permalink
This side of freedom
It is not surprising to hear such comments, but I have seen a bit of what it means to be on the other side of caste system and such a judgment is surely welcome. I have also seen it work powerfully in practice in TN - now there is hardly a difference between Open and OBC cut-offs for engineering and medical. I am assuming those who are writing these comments are like me, having benefitted from centuries of reservation policy thanks to case system and therefore very detached from caste issue - except in marriage when one surely looks at the caste.
RE:Congrats Supreme Court and Politicains too...
by Kvins on Apr 10, 2008 03:19 PM Permalink
Actually very right.. Here are the famous quotes.
A famous quote by Churchill in 1945 opposing the granting of Independence to India:
%u201CPower will go into the hands of rascals, rogues and freebooters Not a bottle of water or a loaf of bread will escape taxation. Only the air will be free and the blood of these hungry millions will be on the head of Attlee. These are men of straw of whom no trace will be found after a few years. They will fight among themselves and India will be lost in political squabbles.%u201D
Sad that even our Supreme court cannot discerne between right and wrong. The judgement is a recipe for disaster and a booster for nincompoops. With people like the judges of our SC's and HC's and leader like Amar Singh, Mayawati, Vilasrao Deshmukh, Mulayam Singh, Raj Thakre's India does not need enemies to bring her down