Sir I have read your article ,it is very well written.I would also like to add that during the world war tour atleast 4to 5 indian bn were destroyed fighting the Germans in Europe,stories are there village after village in Maharashtra,Haryana and Punjab were widowed,but we hardly find the mention of fact in world war II,we need to do something about it.
RE:Gen Palit
by Aditya on Apr 08, 2008 09:01 PM Permalink
You claim 4-5 bn which means 'billion' died in wwii thats is highly impossible as that would include more people there were in the world leave along india... Its only in India where there is not much recognization for Indians who died in Europe And N africa during the wwii... all over the world the indian contribution has always been held in high regards.. Actualy Death Toll of Indians duriing WW II is 87,000 military deaths and 1,500,000 Civilian casualties....
RE:Gen Palit
by debasish dey on Apr 08, 2008 09:06 PM Permalink
but i thought that it ws mostly gorkha units from the british indian side that fought in italy agnst germans in WW II ? never heard of the marathis!
It is fact now that politics and politicians have made our India a dirty mess and made the lives of countrymen miserable. At least all educated voters now try to support militarymen come in politics and run government. Due to military service they have great feeling of unity irrespect of cast,creed,region.
RE:Military personnel should run the Indian Govt.
by anand ramachandran on Apr 08, 2008 11:51 PM Permalink
DON'T FORGET PAKISTHAN'S FAIT...... if they can then each time military ruler comes they should outperform atleast in the south asia????
By readying this article, I realy feel myself very small. What a struggle you people have done for our country. If Marathas and Rajputs would have come together, our history would have been different. but still their work is great inspiration to our indian military always. Salute to the great soul again.
why such names like Maj. Gen.Palit does not become so popular among general public while a very small leader of any state becomes highlighted.As a civilian we salute this brave hero and hope India will have such great persons in the future.
Yes, truly this is something out of the ordinary. The question of how the marathas lost so tamely was indeed very thinking of great depth. Our own politicians and vested interests have done us a disservice by ensuring Indian history is palatable to the british taste buds. It is not just history but many other areas even in our cultural, medicinal, educational areas where rampant misinformation and deliberate interpretations have made us a nation that stands without an identity in many respects.
RE:he looks great in the pic
by debasish dey on Apr 08, 2008 09:09 PM Permalink
no dude ! its padmaja naidu! sarojini naidu ws never governor of WB! she was of a generation earlier to padmaja!
RE:Politics/Defense
by PP Y on Apr 09, 2008 04:09 AM Permalink
my friend , how many family members of yours are a part of indian military. It's not the fault of leaders solely, we are equally responsible.ew8mp
by ashok patil on Apr 08, 2008 04:36 PM Permalink
I fully agree with you. Our Netas have their interest above country's interest They will easily dilute everything that is good by implementing so called secularism and cosmopolitianships
by debasish dey on Apr 08, 2008 09:13 PM Permalink
do u know the correct meaning of the word cosmopolitan? gen palit is one of the best examples of a cosmopolitan indian!a cosmopolitan is everything that a parochial.. communal and frog -in -the- well shiv sena type goon is not!
RE:hardly
by Big Moe on Apr 08, 2008 04:21 PM Permalink
And for your kind information in 1965, Company Havildar Major Abdul Hamid from 4 Grenadiers was awarded India's Highest War Time gallantry Award, the Param Vir Chakra.
Its a pitty that regardless of religion, in todays situation not many people are joining the army. That is an entire different topic altogether.
RE:RE:hardly
by Vishwamitra Singh on Apr 08, 2008 04:35 PM Permalink
In Army the religion is soldiering nothing else. Abdul hamid was as Hindu as anybody else
by Big Moe on Apr 08, 2008 04:14 PM Permalink
Dude... if we write, then we get bombarded with abusive words, if we dont...then we are not patriotic.... make up your mind. Perhaps self righteous people like you can declare a charter of things that muslims in india should CONSTANTLY do inorder to prove their loyality. If needed, get it ratified as a law so that it becomes compulsory for all muslims like me to obey them! Can i be any more submissive than this? Honestly, if it was upto me, I will dismantle those mullah run organizations that claim to represent all the Muslims in India as a first step. Join the people to build the Ram Mandir, and finally remove all quotes for back ward class. And ofcourse remove the subsidy paid towards Hai pilgrims or give the same kind of subsidy to hindus and Christians for their own pilgrimage.
by srikanth bhadra on Apr 08, 2008 04:24 PM Permalink
perhaps the problem lies here ,among hindus if some one wrong's there is lot of opposition within but with muslims one don happen to c such criticism from within which allows others to suspect.perhaps on some future day we will better understand each other n don fall prey to likes of politicians n build a strong india. lancer u have a contaminated thought cleanse it.
RE:Thamil Eelam Independence by United Nations
by Pakkiri on Apr 08, 2008 04:20 PM Permalink
Hey guys up North, Thuriothana is our own bhai Duryodhan. Lord Pirapaharan (manifestation of Lord Shiva, Lord Krishna & Mahatma Gandhi all in one..so it says here) is none other than LTTE chief V. Prabhakaran. Just to clear any confusion
Maharaja Rana Pratap Singh, King of Mewar is considered to be the greatest legend in any nations' history.My humble pranams to Maharaj! Sivaji is equally great with his tactics and pure intentions of freedom for motherland. But these people faced major opposition from people who betrayed this nation for mere political or other gains by helping the invaders and enemies.You can co-relate these traitors to new age politicians who try to divide and disintegrate people on the basis of region, state, language and religion. Honour our national legends by staying united against these ill-mannered creatures for the benefit of our country..Jai hind....Jai Bharat matha....!